Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,842 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Uplander body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Uplander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Uplander Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Mar 102015

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 94,100 miles


As I am driving the electronic sliding door on the passenger side starts to buzz like it does when the door is opening and I can hear it clicking as if it is going to open. This has happened several times. I am afraid I will be driving down the highway and the door will open.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #27

May 142009

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 102,650 miles
Sliding doors kept messing up, dinging even after being closed, won't latch all the way.

- Anderson, IN, USA

problem #26

Sep 102012

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 52,700 miles
The rear sliding door on the passenger side came open while driving down the road with my two children in the car. This has happened on multiple occasions and the dealership has been unable to fix the problem. The doors continue to open without warning while driving. The car was purchased new on 6/7/05. I started having problems with the doors right away and took it in for the first repair on 7/7/05 with 980 miles. The doors were also repaired 7/25/05 with 1338 miles, 10/25/05 with 2,768 miles, and 11/4/05 with 2,865 miles. The doors continued to not open or close at times and/or the door chimes would ding and not turn off from 2005-2012. We tried to avoid using the car with the children and use our other car. In September of 2012 the problems with the doors progressed and at times it would take hours to get the doors to close or the chimes would not go off at all. This is when the doors started coming open while the van was in motion. The dealership worked on the van again 9/28/12 with 52,782 miles. From September 2013-June 2013 the doors continued to not want to open or close at times. We still tried to avoid using the vehicle with the children. The issues started again in June of 2013 with the doors opening while in motion. I took the van to another dealership on 7/2/13 with 60,873 miles to service the doors and flickering headlamps. On 8/2/13 I took the van to the dealership because the doors are opening again while in motion and I refuse to pick it up due to dangerous conditions.

- Porter, IN, USA

problem #25

May 162007


  • miles


Rear drivers sliding door would open in parked position on its own, would repeatedly have to close door, once while driving down the hghway it opened on its own. Took it too dealer in longview Washington, quoted price of $1400 to fix or have it disengaged and open and close manually. I chose the latter, an inconvenience but cheaper. This is a safety hazard for families with children or for that matter it is a safety hazzard for anyone sitting in the passenger seat. This is just another example of the GM workmanship. Would not ever buy another GM product.

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #24

Feb 202011


  • 121,003 miles
We have had 3 Chevy Uplander vans recently and the power doors like to come open on their own when you are driving at various speeds. This is very dangerous if you have children. The door chime also keeps dinging and making noise even when the door is closed.

- Youngstown, OH, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

Jan 042011


  • 120,000 miles
I own a 2005 Chevy Uplander. The passenger rear door doesn't seem to want to close. On a few occasions the door has opened while driving down the road. Other times the door randomly starts beeping and will not stop, even if you turn the van off and get out it still beeps. Is there a recall on the doors of this type of van. I have found many complaints expressing concerns over this same issue.

- Dunlap, TN, USA

problem #22

Jan 192011


  • 51,500 miles


TL contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Uplander. The contact stated that while trying to close the sliding door of the vehicle his finger was amputated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 51, 500.

- Marlton , NJ, USA

problem #21

Sep 202010


  • 109,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Uplander. The contact stated that the two seat belts on the middle row are starting to split and the rear seat belts were stuck and would not move. The vehicle was taking to a car seat inspection station and the contact was told that the seat belts could not be used because they were a safety hazard. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was told that since the vehicle was not under warranty, there was nothing that could be done. The contact also stated that the side sliding door on the left would not automatically close properly. If the door was not closed by hand, the door would open randomly. The contact also stated that the side rails have been replaced twice on the vehicle because of rust. The failure and current mileages were 109000.

- Gulf Port, MS, USA

problem #20

Sep 052009


  • 49,000 miles
Power sliding doors open / close by themselves at times (usually right door, but sometimes left). Sometimes, when the door has been closed it will reopen & have to be closed manually. At times the door will stay closed, but the 'dinging' noise will continue for the entire time I am driving. There have been occasions when it continued dinging well after the ignition was turned off. We have had it in the shop and 'fixed' a few times. The fix sometimes lasted a week or two. Sometimes, it only lasted a couple of days. We were never able to pinpoint or predict when the malfunction would occur. Finally, we have removed the fuse permanently and only operate the doors manually to prevent a serious injury from occurring to the children. In the rear (3rd) seat, the right seat belt has also retracted & will not release. This happened one day when I was trying to remove a child from the vehicle. He was in a booster seat and strapped in by the seat belt. When I unlatched the belt, it retracted slightly, but would not pull back out. Now it is too tight to place a car seat, booster, or have someone sit there. I have not made the trip to the service department for this situation. No one is allowed to sit it that seat because the safety restraint is not-usable.

- Dyersburg, TN, USA

problem #19

Feb 032009


  • 28,000 miles
In 2005 Chevy Uplander lt AWD automatic sliding doors open and do not close properly while vehicle is in motion. This also causes the audible alarm indicating the doors are unlatched to "ding" or ring. Even after the vehicle is stopped and doors are re-closed this issue persists. This is a huge safety issue in a van that is fairly new with 34,000 miles and used to carry children between activities in local area.

- Cheshire, CT, USA

problem #18

Feb 272009


  • 54,000 miles


We purchased a used 2005 Chevy Uplander from a dealership in vancouver Washington. We only had the van for a couple of weeks and we were having problems with the drivers side door not closing. We would close it and it would latch then a couple seconds later it would reopen. We took the van into a Chevy dealer to have the door repaired. They repaired it, but only to have the same problem accrue a day later. We called the dealer and took it back in only the dealer checked the door to see if it was working or not. The door did the same thing of closing then opening right back up. The dealer then drove it around to the back of the shop, only to later have the mechanics say that they could not get the door to malfunction. So they called us to pick up the vehicle. I went and picked it up and on my way home from the dealer the door was trying to open well I was driving. It did it quiet a few times. So I took the vehicle all the way back to vancouver to the dealer we bought it. I did not want to have to drive this van with our children setting right beside the door and something happen. I told them this and they said that the only thing they would do is take the vehicle as a trade in. They were not willing to look at the vehicle at all and we had just bought it from them five months before that. I am scared to drive the van on the highway because I never know when it is going to malfunction. The van also sometimes will not start I told the dealer about that to and they didn't know what to do because we never knew when the van would malfunction like this to.

- Fort Lewis , WA, USA

problem #17

Jul 152008


  • miles
I own a 2005 Chevy Uplander. I purchased it on July 7, 2008. A week later the passenger side power sliding door opened on it's own as I was driving down the road with my 3 year old right by it. I pulled over and it took me 25 minutes to get it to close. It finally closed but the alarm went off for the next 20 miles of my trip. I have taken it for repair over 5 times and spent over $1000 and it still is not fixed. They removed a magnet from the motor, replaced both modules, reprogrammed both module several times.

- Taylorville, IL, USA

problem #16

May 182008


  • 24,000 miles
The passenger side sliding door on my 2005 Chevy Uplander does not latch properly. It will pop open or not close all of the way. If you have to manually close the door (which I have done several times), you will hear this intense and high pitched dinging when you drive, even when the door is shut. Currently, the vehicle is in the shop at the dealer, under warranty for the fifth time.

- Franklin, WI, USA

problem #15

May 032008


  • miles
My 2005 Chevrolet Uplander has been in the worked on at the dealership 4 times for the automatic rear sliding malfunctioning. It opens on it's own while driving. I have contacted GM regarding this. The dealership has told me that they cannot guarantee that they can fix this permanently. My van was just in the shop again last week and it is already messed up again. The latch has been replaced more than once and this is not helping.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #14

Jun 112007

Uplander 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,500 miles
I have a 2005 Chevy Uplander. Both rear sliding doors like to reopen by themselves. We bought the van used in February 2006. The first time it started happening was March of 2006. We finally took the van in June of 2006 to see what was going on. The dealership could not seem to figure it out. We had it in a few more times and they finally told us that the driver side sliding door latch and lock needed to be replaced. That did not fix the problem. We took it in a couple of more times and still they could not find anything. I contacted GM and was told to take it back to the dealership again to see if the seals were getting in the way. Again, nothing. GM then told me to take it to another dealership for a second opinion. That dealership could not figure it out. GM them told me that they couldn't do anything for me because the dealerships could not duplicate the problem. Now what?

- Onalaska, WI, USA

problem #13

Jun 202005

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 700 miles
Our 2005 Chevrolet Uplander has serious on going problems with the power passenger sliding door opens while the vehicle is being driven. The failure occurs while driving under normal conditions between 5 and 35 mph. The passenger door often opens by itself and when the button is pressed to close it, the door begins to close and then reopens. The vehicle has been to the dealer four times while it was still under warranty, but the failure continues to occur. GM knows about the problem because the last time our Uplander was in we were told that there is internal service bulletins on record: Service bulletin:3278 NHTSA item number:10011754 service bulletin:3532 NHTSA item number:10016718 service bulletin:050864013 NHTSA item number:10017349 service bulletin:3798 NHTSA item number:10021078 service bulletin:070864007 NHTSA item number:10021456 the current mileage is 42,000 and door problems started at 700 mile with a complete rear driver side power sliding door failure resulting in the dealer completely rebuilding the assemble cables, drive motor and sensors.

- Indio, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 102007

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
Both, left and right, power sliding doors will not shut properly. You have to open and close the doors several time to make them shut properly. The left power sliding door will shut then the alarm bell will sound until you stop the vehicle then open and shut the door. The right power sliding door has came open while driving, at slow speeds. The right power sliding door rear latch will not latch properly 95% of the time. The van has been to the dealership for service on the doors twice so far and will be returning Aug 20th for more service on the doors.

- Winnfield, LA, USA

problem #11

Aug 062007

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
The right power sliding door has been in for service on numerous occasions at the dealership. It continues to malfunction in opening and closing. Currently, the door has opened while the van is in operation and on other occasions, the alarm bell has started to ring while the door was closed and the vehicle was in operation, not stopping until the vehicle was turned off.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #10

May 202005

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Uplander. The contact stated that the automatic passenger side sliding doors fail to remain closed. While driving over a bump on two occasions, the door opened on its own. He stated that two months after purchasing the vehicle, the door would only remain closed when he would quickly shut and lock it with the automatic remote. The contact returned to the dealer and they repaired the failure temporarily. However, the failure has recurred. The purchase date and speed were unknown. The current mileage was 65,450 and failure mileage was 6,000. Updated 02-01-08 updated 02/01/08

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #9

Feb 012005

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Uplander. When the contact closed the electronic door using the remote, he heard a beeping sound and the door re-opened. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of failure. The dealer sent the vehicle to a body shop and they aligned the door. Approximately three months later, the failure recurred. The dealer aligned the door, however, the problem recurred approximately two months later. The contact opened the door and a black cable popped from the inside of the door track, making it impossible to close the door. The dealer replaced the pulley cable and the door motor. The current mileage is 35,981 and failure mileage was 2,000.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?