Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
37,342 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chevrolet Uplander brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chevrolet Uplander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chevrolet Uplander Owner Comments

problem #4

Nov 062009


  • 71,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Uplander. During brake application, the pedal popped back against her foot. Also the anti-lock brake system would activate without warrant. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealership. The current and failure mileages were 71000.

- Oregon, OH, USA

problem #3

Dec 052007


  • 26,773 miles
This is a accident has taken place at this point. 2005 Chevy Uplander purchased new from maroone Chevrolet took van into deal of pembroke pines Florida on March 17, 2008. ABS system issues on star diagnostic reports sent monthly advising to check ABS system. 12/05/07 (mileage 26773). 12/31/07 (mileage 27853) {27853 re-route harness warranty checked for codes found code C0035 passed in history. Checked for bulletins found docid #2006283. Performed bulletin as further precaution re-routed harness and secured from any chaffing, and rubbing, verified repair, ok. 3 hr wire repair} 01/31/08 (mileage 28260).. operating to factory specs...lno codes stored in system} 03/04/08 (mileage 30083) took van into dealership to check out system {30083 wheel speed sensor warr diagnose by tech to replace wheel hub, removed/replace front wheel hub, verified repair..ok at this time, also ness to replace brake position sensor due to failure code, removed/replace brake position sensor, ok at this time} 03/07/08 (mileage 30118) {left front wheel speed sensor harness internal open H2531 harness, wheel speed sensor jumper wiring (ABS) front left replace. 30146 left front wheel speed sensor harness internal open warr called tac. Case #10185701 was told to thoroughly inspect left front sensor harness, upon inspec found harness had internal failure. Removed/ replaced left front wheel speed sensor harness, ok at this time} 03/24/08 (mileage 30532) this was initiated by GM because I submitted a motor vehicle defect notification. Final attempt repair. {N6608 wiring an.or connector emissions system repair/replace. 30540 wire repair per tac warr called tac. Case #10185701 was informed to replace the remaining harness from ebcm to speed sensor, performed repair} I pray to god that my brakes work every time I am in the car.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 152007

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,043 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chevrolet Uplander. The sliding door on the rear driver side would not stay latched. The contact called the dealer and manufacturer and they stated that she was responsible for having the door repaired. The vehicle has been in the shop six times now for the latch failure and the door opening on its own. Each time the vehicle was retrieved from the dealer, they stated that it was repaired when it was not. When the button was pressed to close the door, it would begin to shut and an alarm would sound; however, it would not shut and flew open while driving. The instrument panel does not indicate that the door is ajar. The rear passenger side door is beginning to experience the same failure. Neither the weather nor the speed were factors. The current mileage was 51,800 and failure mileage was 49,043. The dealer stated the vehicle would not start, check brake condition, and humming noise left front hub area. Updated 12/12/07

- Stilwell, OK, USA

problem #1

Sep 192005

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,550 miles
My wife had driven from our home 7 miles away to the maggie moo's ice cream shop. She went in to the store to purchase some ice cream for my kids and her mom who stayed in the vehicle which was left running because of the heat. When she returned she backed the vehicle up with no problem but when she attempted to pull forward she heard the wrongest noise emanate from the front of the vehicle she has ever heard and the vehicle jumped and bumped and came to a grinding halt. I did not think it could have been so bad as she explained to me when I arrived. So I backed the vehicle out of the parking space that she managed to get to and pulled forward. Oh my god! what she had explained to me wasn't even as bad as I experienced. The stability control activation message appeared in the dash display and the antilock brakes on the driver side front wheel began to growl then screeched the vehicle to a grinding halt. I was scared. My kids were thrown around in the car since they had unbuckled their seat belts while eating their ice cream. I made them buckle up and I tried it again. The same result over and over again until I finally got to a parking space. I called Chevrolet to come tow the vehicle in to repair my 2005 Uplander. They called me the next day and informed me that they found no problem and that the error codes pulled from the computer showed not error ever happened. This scares the hell out of me and my wife refuses to drive the vehicle. Our fear of this malfunction occurring at highway speeds could result in catastrophic results. I am in contact with GM but they are so far unwilling to admit or take any action to resolve this safety issue. I need help!!! we all need to know if there is a major problem with the stabilitrak system being deployed on these new vehicles. Please take this up and open an immediate investigation. I am documenting this malfunction everywhere I can think to because no one needs to die because of a defect.

- Frisco, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?