If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,001 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chevrolet Uplander electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chevrolet Uplander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chevrolet Uplander Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Sep 292006

Uplander

  • 4,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sliding doors would start to automatically open on road and later on freeway. Now, when wear seat belt it catches on seat control and starts to move seat

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #29

Mar 312014

Uplander

  • 58,343 miles
While driving the engine shut down. Was able to maintain control. Vehicle had to be shifted into neutral to be restarted. This is the third time that this has occurred.

- Altoona, PA, USA

problem #28

Feb 142014

Uplander

  • 151,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle from a private owner on 2/14/14. The dashboard lights do not work which is a problem at night, which means I can only drive it during the day and without it lighting up there are no codes available. I do not know how fast I am going on the highway, or if I am low on fuel, or in any other kind of danger. One evening I was on my way home from a family members house at night and it was raining and I was so afraid. I had no lights on the dashboard, so I had no idea how fast I was going. Also, a new battery was put in the van on 2/14/14, and on 2/17/14 the entire vehicle died on me in the hospital parking garage. I had to have it towed to a repair shop. They said that the battery was not supporting the electrical system in the car, even though it was the battery that was recommended by the vehicle manual. I travel a lot with my church and am so afraid that this vehicle is going to leave me stranded on the highway or worst. The wheels at times seem as though they are about to come off. I put two brand new tires on it when I purchased it. The tire company said the other two were okay, so why does it shake and feel as though they are coming off? the sliding door on the driver side does not open, and the radio lighting works sometimes and sometimes it doesn't. I was told not to use the radio because it causes the battery to run down... there are just too many problems with this fairly new vehicle. I am concerned about having an accident when the car suddenly shuts off, or the dashboard suddenly stops working in a rain storm or at night when I cannot see, or worst, being involved in an accident and trapped because the only way out is the passenger door on the driver's side that doesn't work... or the wheels coming off while driving at 70 mph. A recall of this vehicle is definitely needed!

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #27

Jul 122013

Uplander

  • 169,543 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1) multiple occurrences of a) check theft system alarm dings and lights up B) all other trouble lights on instrument panel flash on and off C) after few mins the entire instrument panel becomes inoperable including the mileage and ac will also go off...no RPM, no fuel ind no temp no oil pressure..all this will stay off until car is left off for few mins then it all repeats itself over and over. D) this all makes this vehicle dangerous as there is no speed indicator or any other necessary gauges..also the ABS, air bag etc may or may not work correctly

- Alsea, OR, USA

problem #26

Mar 182012

Uplander

  • 170,000 miles
I kept getting false codes when using test meter to diagnose and repair vehicle after replacing fuel pump evap canister gas cap plugs wires brakes rotors the ECM had it reprogrammed to car I was still having the same problems after careful inspection I found under the drivers side passenger seat a series of lines that just simply plug through the vehicle exposed to all elements when driving I carefully unplugged the wires and noticed that they were all corroded and not functional while noticing this I had noticed its proximity to the fuel tank and fuel rails just days prior to my repairs I had smelled some burning smell it is to my opinion that this is not only a safety issue because its closeness to fuel rails and tanks but it is poor design in the manufacturing of the vehicle I now have a vehicle that sits in my driveway that I am afraid to put my family in because of the opportunity to explode at any given time or catch electrical fire at the very least I have pics of the wires removed as well as the location of the wires please help sincerely [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #25

Nov 202007

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
The rear power doors on my 2006 Uplander have constantly needed service. There have been times the door alarm goes off when the door is not actually open, we have to pull over and reset the doors by opening and closing them. The roller bearings have been replaced twice on the drivers slider. Both doors have been serviced at least 10 times for improper closing, faulty sensor alarm dinging even when the doors are closed, sometimes it takes many attempts for the doors to close. The driver side door almost came completely off when the roller bearings broke. These doors are unsafe and beyond defective.

- Holt, MI, USA

problem #24

Jun 152008

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle has occasional flickering headlights. There are other occasional electrical system problems that last for one day only, but all day, and the next day are gone, until they repeat, but only for one day, every time. These are: The radio will not work; the alarm audible signal and dash indicator light for the parking brake being on will sound when driving, even though parking brake is not on; and the rear heater fan will come on and stay on at high speed even though it is switched off at the dash. Have taken the van to two dealers and they could not duplicate. Took vehicle to dealer service manager while the rear fan was blowing on its own. He observed the problem, but I had to make an appointment for the next week, and then, of course, the fan was not blowing. I now open the fuse box under the hood and pull the rear heater blower fan fuse when this happens; and replace the fuse in the morning of the following day when (I know by now) the problem is corrected... until the next time it happens again. The odd thing is that these three problems will only last for one day. But they will last the whole day. The parking brake alarm will sound sporadically at the start of the day, but will be a constant ringing while being driven as the day goes on. But the next day the problem is gone, until it happens again, weeks or months later.

- Milton Freewater, OR, USA

problem #23

Jun 172012

Uplander

  • 4,200 miles
I bought my Uplander at dealership milage was at 24,000. The door would open and not close we finally got this fixed I hope. Just yesterday at milage 45,000 we had to replace tie rod on passenger side. Found out that it did not have grease pin on it called manufactor and they say someone had to have replaced it. I do not believe it had ever been replaced and this is what is causing tire wear and vibrations in the Uplanders which also could cause accidents even deaths. Also when driving all lights will go off until you hit brakes I have had diagnotics checked to see if anything would show up. Nothing does. So this is a major concern also. There seems to be the same problems listed from almost everyone and some of these things could cost consumers their life or their families. While I like the Uplander I am concerned that the safety issues are not being handled by manufactor and no one seems to care. What will it take to make this vehicle safe.

- Summerfield, FL, USA

problem #22

Nov 062009

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Rear passenger sliding door opens while driving. Motor dies. Motor replaced. Rear passenger sliding door opens while driving. Motor dies. Motor replaced. Rear passenger sliding door opens while driving. Motor dies. Motor replaced. Car won't turnover to start car without holding down the gas pedal. Had parts replaced. Car won't turnover to start car without holding down the gas pedal. Had parts replaced. Car won't turnover to start car without holding down the gas pedal. Had parts replaced.

- White Lake, MI, USA

problem #21

Jan 082011

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Electronic failures: Electric door opener on passenger side needed replacement harness due to lack of proper penning and failure to close; occurred Jan 2012 in 2006 Chevy Uplander;. similar problem on passenger side 2 weeks later and door opened while backing up.. alternator failure needed replacement July 2011; failure of gas gauge to function after fill up on 6 occasions. Self corrected each time after10 to 20 miles of driving.

- Springfield, PA, USA

problem #20

Mar 012011

Uplander

  • 66,248 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving at night the on going flickering light issue almost cause an accident because another driver thought I had flashed my lights to let them go causing me to have to slam on my brakes to avoid a side impact crash.

- Bridgewater, MA, USA

problem #19

Jan 172008

Uplander

  • 6,000 miles
The car has an automatic sliding door that does not always close. When we try to manually close it the automatic mechanism kicks in and opens the door back up. If we are able to get the door closed the bell dings inside the car indicating that the door is open, even though it is not. This has been an ongoing problem for the past two years. Several parts were replaced on the door at the dealership and it worked temporarily but now the door is not working again. I bought an extended warranty when the car hit the 36000 mile mark because I knew I would continue to have problems. The car has been in service probably 10-15 times since it was purchased 3 years ago. The engine light also comes on at random for no apparent reason.

- Baytown, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 152009

Uplander

  • 58,000 miles
I bought a 2006 Chevrolet Uplander used in August and ever since I got it the lights flicker and dim. You can hear the fans go down in speed. If you watch the voltage it will go from around 15 volts down to 11.9 volts and then jumps right back up to 15 volts or so. It does it all the time any time you drive it. I'm afraid its going to fry the electronics in the van and I'm going to be stranded somewhere. I have taken it in 3 times to get fixed they replaced the generator, and the regulator and still does it.

- Grandview, WA, USA

problem #17

Jun 012009

Uplander

  • 40,000 miles
Purchased a 2006 Chevrolet Uplander lt in August 2006. Currently have 45,000 miles and is out of warranty. Since it was purchased, we have had two recurring problems. 1)interior and exterior lights "flicker" at night to the degree that it is a driving distraction and appear to represent the driver flashing their lights. This was taken to the dealer multiple times, and only once under warranty was a part replaced which did not resolve the problem. Now dealer continues to state that they cannot replicate the problem. 2)automatic sliding doors will not open or stay closed. This is a safety hazard as they also will no longer close completely. We have taken to the dealer numerous times and it is apparent that they no longer know what to do. We have replaced several parts trying to resolve the problem. Their last resolution was to turn off the automatic door feature. The problems are identical on both doors. Several times we have been away from home and doors would not close and we could not manually close them. We asked dealer to contact GM for assistance with this issue and they advised that there is nothing they can do.

- Brandon, MS, USA

problem #16

Oct 172008

Uplander

  • miles
My 2006 Chevy Uplander has an intermittent electrical problem with the headlights and gas gauge, lights flicker or shut off, gas gauge will read near empty if van is parked on a hill facing downward.. it will read again if I add a small amount of gas..I would not trust the gauge..I see many people have the same two problem and GM has not issued a recall..both problem can be very hazardous in night time highway driving..

- Port Richey, FL, USA

problem #15

Sep 262008

Uplander

  • 30,000 miles
I purchased a 2006 Chevy Uplander in 12/06 with 20,543 miles on it. I began having problems with the steering about 3,000 miles after purchasing it. It was difficult to steer to the left and there was a grinding noise as I turned. The dealership replaced the steering column. I am having problems again with the steering, and it shakes and makes noise when I pull into parking lots. At about 30,000 miles, the rear sliding doors began to open on their own. When I put the van into reverse and begin to back out of the driveway, the doors sometimes will open. Parked in the driveway and parking lots with no one in the vehicle, the driver's rear door has opened. After I close the doors, they will immediately open, although no buttons have been pushed. Now, at 43,000 miles, the driver's rear sliding door will not close. I pushed the button inside the door as I always have to close it, as well as the overhead button, and the door would not close. Each time I pushed the button, the already open door pulled back as if still trying to open the door. When I tried to manually pull the door closed, it would not close. After 5 minutes of work, I finally got the door closed. The next day, 9/27/08, I experienced the same thing, and on this day as well, a chiming sound rang the entire trip. There is one sound for driving and a different sound for waiting at red lights. The loud ringing never stopped. When I called the dealership, they told me I was no longer under warranty, and will have to pay to have it fixed. I also discovered at 35,000 miles that my tires have worn unevenly on the outside edges of all 4 tires and need to be replaced. Also, the sway bar is in need of repair. I have children ages 2 and 4. I am concerned for their safety.

- Willingboro, NJ, USA

problem #14

Dec 152006

Uplander

  • 80 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chevrolet Uplander. Whenever the headlights are activated, the instrument panel lights will flicker and the headlights will eventually shut off. The contact also noticed that the power sliding doors will not open unless the vehicle is restarted after being turned off. The door failure occurs intermittently, but the headlight failure occurs each time they are in use. The vehicle was diagnosed by the dealer, but the failures are still occurring. The current mileage was 19,104 and failure mileage was 80.

- Rainelle, WV, USA

problem #13

Apr 152006

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 13 miles
I have a 2006 Chevy Uplander lt and I started to have problems around 3,000 miles of ownership. It started with electrical issues (hard drive entertainment system, gas gauge, dimming lights, radio losing settings, hard starts, service ABS, and service traction control) and gradually moved to mechanical issues (clucking noises " front end, vibrations " front end, steering binding, and grinding noises from the front end). What has been replaced in hopes of fixing the issues are the hard drive to the entertainment system, main computer module (twice and reprogrammed several times), steering column, steering box, rack and pinion, front stabilizing control arms, front brake, front rotors resurfaced, ABS control module (never fixed the service ABS and service traction control). The dealer still can?T explain the grinding noise and is trying to convince me that it is normal characteristics of the van (they actually wrote that in the service report). They can not resolve the service ABS and traction control errors. They can?T resolve the hard starts. The dealer has taken a position that no more diagnostic work will be performed to the front end until I replace a cupped tire (their opinion). I have hired a lemon law attorney to help with my problem.

- Mantua, NJ, USA

problem #12

Nov 182007

Uplander 6-cyl

  • miles
From the immediate purchase of my 2006 Chevy Uplander, I have had "mechanical/computer" issues. The battery has died twice. Upon service, it was a computer wiring issue that was apparently draining the battery. The media player has been replaced, the key remotes twice(and currently still not working), the electric side mirror has been replaced, the car constantly displays that the ABS system and traction control device needs serviced and thee brakes lock up. Each time I have taken the care in for these services they say it's just a computer issue with the vehicle. Currently it is in the shop again with "computer issues." I don't know where to turn and can't seem to be moving forward with this problem. It has been in and out of service since purchase, November of 2007.

- Centerville, OH, USA

problem #11

Aug 202006

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
After I purchased the vehicle (nesmith Chevrolet - hinesville), the first time driving it at night I noticed that the headlights and interior lights fluctuated when pressure was placed on the engine. When I took it back to the dealer, they said they could not duplicate. Problem still persists. It is very dangerous at night because some other drivers believe I am flashing at them, and in turn flash their high beams at me, by this time close to me causing me to have to take my eyes off the road. Other times giving large trucks the idea that I am giving them the ok to get back over in front of me, when in fact it isn't. none the less, it is very annoying to be driving down the road at night with the headlights and dash lights fluctuating while applying pressure on the engine. Still to this date nothing has been done.

- Ludowici, GA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?