Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,138 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chevrolet Uplander body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chevrolet Uplander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chevrolet Uplander Owner Comments

problem #20

Jun 012012

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Sliding doors don't operate correctly or they open when moving. Passenger side door is now locked and will not unlock. Also have issues with the ABS systems not working.

- Mankato, MN, USA

problem #19

Apr 022009

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 32,000 miles
We purchased the 2007 Chevy Uplander before doing any research....had we known what we know now, we would have not purchased it. Shortly after we purchased the vehicle the rear sliding doors began acting up. Sometimes they won't open and other times they randomly open on their own. When you close the door, it will stop mid-close, reopen then start closing again. When you think it is closed, it will just keep grinding and then pop back open. We were in nc on vacation when the door alarm wouldn't stop 'dinging' because the door wouldn't close all the way. Once we finally got the door to close, the kids would have to crawl through the rear hatch for fear that the doors wouldn't close again since we were so far from home. We have had the vehicle back to the dealer numerous times for this problem...they didn't find anything wrong with it! I even drove straight to the dealership within minutes of this happening...but when I got there it never happened again. Another issue we had was with the wiring harness failing at 35,000 miles. Luckily that was under warranty.

- Oakdale, PA, USA

problem #18

Sep 102013

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 47,000 miles
Starting soon after I bought the van, I ran into the issue of the passenger power sliding door not wanting to close. It would almost latch and then bounce back. I was able to fix the problem by opening and reclosing the door. This happens once to twice a week. I can find no previous service records on the doors on this van, but I cannot believe it did not occur with the previous owner. Based on the numerous other online complaints I have seen on this and similar issues, I have elected not to take it to the dealership. I do not have the confidence that GM could or would be willing to fix this problem. On that note, I am further dishearten by the fact that your own investigation resulted in service bulletins, letting GM off the hook for a clearly flawed design on the entire door and all of its moving parts. I am submitting this complaint to put it on record, any action will be totally unexpected.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #17

Dec 032012

Uplander

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Incident 1: tracking pin on driver's side rear sliding door broke, not allowing door to close, had to pull fuses and manually shut, if tried to open now, door falls off track, unsafe. Taking it to the dealership made it worse, no resolution from Chevrolet company. Incident 2: service ABS light comes on, brakes pulse, when engaged will not disengage when brakes are released without a waiting period, does not always engage immediately making it difficult to come to a complete stop in a timely and safe manner. Technician could not find issue when I took it in to be tested. (intermittent dash light not showing up when I take it in).

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #16

Dec 012010

Uplander

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Uplander. The contact stated that the rear driver and passenger side sliding doors would open independently. The contact stated that the failure also occurred while driving at approximately 65 mph as the rear driver side sliding door suddenly opened. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostics. The contact stated that both sliding doors were replaced by the previous owner for the same failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 96,000.

- Summerville, SC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Feb 152012

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 122,015 miles
I purchased the vechile in 2010. I didn't have any problems with the doors at this time. About 6 months later they would open by themselves when in park. Or they would not close a dinging noise would sound and the door would open back up when tring to close it. I didn't think much about it at this time because it only did this when in park and after playing with it for a while we could eventually get them to stay closed. Well, a couple of days ago and again today, the door opened while I was driving 65 miles per hour going down the interstate with my 2 kids in the back seat. My daughter who is 6 screamed bloody murder as I panically hit the brakes and telling my other daughter who is 8 to grab her arm, hold tight and do not let go. I got off and pulled to the side of the interstate break down lane. Took a couple of minutes to gather my self and calm my children. I put the kids in the very back and buckled them in. My main concern is my children's safety. I bought this van for the family and it has now turned into a horrible nightmare. I am now putting the kids in the very back, which thank goddness because this happened again today. I am still making payments on the van and cannot afford to get another car. We now have another baby on the way and I am not quite sure what we are to do because this will put one of the kids having to sit in the path of danger when the baby is born. I have paperwork in the van from where the previous owner of the van has already replaced the doors because of them opening when she was driving. The fix must have not solved the problem because now here my family sits with the same concern on the same doors. This is a real concern and if something isn't done about it a child's life may be lost. Van owners purchase vans for the room of their growing family and should feel that there kids are safe when in it.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #14

Nov 152011

Uplander

  • 57,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger sliding doors opening while going down the freeway at 60 mph also a bing sound going off the whole time on our way to the shop to get my doors looked at. My 3 yr.old son was sitting in the seat when this happened. Don't want to think about what could have happened, if he did not have seat belt on. Thank god there was not a death that day, do to the doors. I want my money back to buy a safer car for me and my family. This car is going to kill ppl. They should have a recall on this car I just bought this car.it is only 2 weeks old. Already 450 out my pocket to fix this. I work part time three days a week. I have five children I cant be paying for this van was not made with safety in mind I think Chevy was just turning to make a van to sell with out the people in mind like my self. I bought the car used 10,000 a whole yrof what I make to buy this death trap. Its not fair that's this car has not been recalled some one needs to do something. The public should not be the one to have to be tested. All cars and vans alike should be made to be safe for the ppl that buy them.

- Skokomish Nation , WA, USA

problem #13

Feb 212008

Uplander

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Uplander. The contact stated that the passenger power sliding door would not close sporadically. Once the door was finally able to be closed, the door would not open. The vehicle was not inspected or repaired. The failure mileage was 45,000 and the current mileage was 106,000.

- Pride, LA, USA

problem #12

Feb 052011

Uplander

  • 98,000 miles
2007 Chevrolet Uplander, both sliding door wheel bearing balls broke. The cause was the doors just fell off track. The are also electronic open and closing doors, it started with not closing all the way"unless closed manually". both doors broke within two months of each other. Through the dealer this is a little over two hundred dollar fix.

- Orrville, OH, USA

problem #11

Apr 192010

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
I have a 2007 Uplander lt. I bought it brand new Jan 2007. In April 2007, my passenger side sliding door began messing up. The door would open at time. It was taken to the dealership 6 times total, the 5th time it was taken with the door open, because it would not close. By that point, GM was involved and recommended complete replacement of the mechanical portion of the door. This was done by the dealership or so everyone thought. It began messing up again and I took it in for the last time and it was determined the technician only replaced portion of the parts. It was finally fixed that last time and I got one year free oil change and tire rotation. The story does not end. In April 2010, my driver side sliding door started messing up. It has been taken in to a different dealership 8 times, even though they officially say it is 6 times. I get the same response each time, they cannot reproduce. GM has now got involved twice and at this point has also been no help to find the root cause. This time around the door unlatches itself both when sitting and while driving. It never opens like the passenger door did. The alarm that goes off when a door is open when you have the key in the ignition and the vehicle started, sounds and there is no indication on the display that a door is open. The door will sometimes not open via remote, overhead or the side button. Most of the time it has to be opened manually, once that occurs no amount of battery power will close the door. The door has to be forced closed. The door will also, in the middle of closing, open back up and then go into alarm. Two of the times taken the service experienced the quirks of the door. Once it was back to where the service tech can look at it, it would not reproduce. No error codes have ever been shown on readouts. The vehicle currently has 66800 miles. The battery was replaced in Nov 2009 and when I took it in the first time in May 2010, they blamed it on third party. Still having problems.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #10

Sep 122007

Uplander

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2007 Chevy Uplander with in the first month the door would not close then it would come open while driving this is where the child safety seat is. It has been in the shop 15 times, they have replaced every part, they have reprogrammed over and over. Chevy is saying they would give me $2000 off a new car. To me that is not a fix!!!!

- La Grange, TX, USA

problem #9

Feb 282010

Uplander

  • 52,000 miles
I picked up my stepdaughter & her friends from the mall. My mom was in the passenger seat. My stepdaughter & her friends got in the 2nd row & 3rd row seats. We shut the door & drove off. The rear passenger door message came on & the locks started clicking. I pulled over to check the door & it was ajar. I opened the door, shut it & made sure it was closed then drove off. The whole way home the door kept clicking as if it were trying to close & the locks were trying to catch. This happened several months ago and I've been trying to get this problem fixed ever since. Every day the doors click, because the door is not completely closed. I called the dealership were I've been getting work done, because a year into having the vehicle the motors on both doors had to be replaced. This is my 2nd year going into my 3rd year of having the van; however this is the 2nd time I've had problems with the doors. I don't carry passengers, because I'm afraid the doors are going to pop open & someone will fall out! though I got this problem fixed before, the parts are no longer under warranty & they are charging me $100 just to look at the doors & assess the problem. Depending on what's going on I may be charged $800 today to fix this problem & reading the complaints on this car today soothes the fact that I'm not the only 1 having this problem with my doors; however, someone needs to do more than have us complain. These vehicles need to be recalled & fixed asap, before someone gets hurt badly or killed!

- Gwynn Oak, MD, USA

problem #8

May 022008

Uplander

  • 3,800 miles
We were driving down the road and the passenger side van door opened up by itself. Left side sliding door does the same thing, but no as often. We just bought the vehicle few months prior. This would happen intermittently. We took the vehicle to the dealership and they replaced the following right passenger sliding door: (May 7, 2008) motor retainer ( we were told, the first three motors they installed that day were not working) July 8, 2008 reprogram sliding door module April 2nd replaced right sliding door: Motor realign left side sliding door and clean the clutch note* when we close the doors with the remote, sometimes they will not shut properly. On occasion, we will shut the doors and go inside and come out and find the door open. When the problem occurs, it is a distraction while driving. The dealership has replaced the motor a few times.

- Middle River, MD, USA

problem #7

Jan 262010

Uplander

  • 49,350 miles
While dropping my kids off at school on January 26, 2010, my daughter closed our driver side rear sliding door of our 2007 Chevy Uplander. The whole door fell off in her hands. We took it to carmax where we bought it, along with their extended warranty, and were told that it would not be covered under the warranty. We would have to take it to a body shop to have it fixed because they could not repair it there. They charged us $87 to tell us this. We were also told that the only time they have seen this happen before was due to a faulty part or when the vehicle was in an accident. When we bought it in may of 2008 we were guaranteed by carmax that it was inspected for defects as well as never being in an accident. At our first oil change it was discovered to have two leaks, one in the oil reserve and one in the air conditioner unit which were covered by the original warranty of Chevy. I have been in contact with the Chevy corporate offices but they want me to take it to a Chevy dealer to have it looked at (again at our cost) and then they will fix it and help us get financing to pay for it. Why do we have to pay for it when we are not at fault and it could have done damage to my children or other cars around it.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #6

May 102008

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Uplander. The rear automatic/manual passenger sliding door failed to remain secure when in a closed position. The sliding door intermittently continued to open without assistance. The technician repaired the power door motor assembly. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer on 8 to 10 occasions for the identical failure and the repair was made four times. The vehicle identification number was unavailable. The failure mileage was 6,000 the current mileage was 33,000. Updated 11/3/09 updated 11/06/09.

- Eddyville, IA, USA

problem #5

Jan 102008

Uplander

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chevrolet Uplander. While driving less than 60 mph, the contact noticed in the rearview mirror that the driver's side dual automatic door was fully ajar. Her child was seated in the rear of the vehicle and she was concerned about safety. Oftentimes, the passenger side dual automatic door would not engage fully and would also open while in transit. The vehicle has been to the dealer three times and was scheduled for a fourth repair. The dealer once stated that the failures were caused by a small bag in the vehicle that was engaging the sensors. The bag was removed, but the failures continued. On a separate occasion, the doors began to close on the contact while she was still in the doorway. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and they replaced the sensors, the roller, and other parts that pertained to the door; however, the failures continued. As of March 18, 2009, the vehicle has not been repaired properly. The failure and current mileages were less than 12,000.

- Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #4

Jul 212007

Uplander

  • miles
The sliding passenger doors on my 2007 Chevy Uplander does not close properly. Everyday they will close partially or even fully then reopen. I even had to drive home one day with a wire hanging out and the warning signal beeping because the door did not close properly. They make an awful noise while closing. The problem is becoming progressively worse. I have had it in the shop 2-3 times already and plan on taking it back to the shop again for repairs for this problem. I have been told that they can not find what is wrong with the doors though. This poses a safety risk to my children as the doors have been reported by others to open while driving.

- Frametown, WV, USA

problem #3

Nov 242007

Uplander

  • 6,153 miles
Passenger sliding door stuck in open position and we couldn't close it with buttons or manually. Tech told us to remove fuse(s); we did and pulled door shut. Dealer service dept. Reported door jam switch shorted, caused actuator to stretch and twisted cable;replaced power door jam switch & actuator.12/19: Wind and rattle noise; service said door was out of adjustment; readjusted.03/08: Door opened on own; detent switch was shorted and door out of adjustment again. Service replaced lock/latch assembly and readjusted door.5/29/08:door starts to close then pops back open; service readjusted slider because latch was binding on striker.6/24/08:door stopped before fully closing; used inside button to reopen then closed again. Dealer requested we bring in vehicle to check if computer module was up to date. They claimed to have updated. 07/08: Door stuck open on trip from nc. Repeated removing fuses. We have started lemon law process by filing with BBB auto line.

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #2

Jan 212008

Uplander 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Numerous problems with the passenger side automatic sliding door ranging from the door opening on it's own, inability to close the door to the point it had to be towed into the dealer, locks automatically unlocking while vehicle was in motion, door automatically bouncing back open, nick in the cable of the door mechanism, and most recently a part "roller" falling out of the door and the door not closing.

- Eldersburg, MD, USA

problem #1

Apr 252007

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,450 miles
Passenger sliding door would not close correctly and it open while the car was moving. The door would close then reopen and you would have to hold the door closed in order for the door to lack closed. The repair that was done was to replaced the center hinge roller support and adjusted cables. Then a month later the cable jammed up in the motor and had to be cut to get the door to close. The repair that was done was to replace the cable and motor for the sliding door. The next problem is that the driver side sliding door will open and close fully but when it closes the motor continues to run and the rear of the door pops open slightly. Repair is pending.

- Massapequa, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?