If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

2008 Chevrolet Uplander electrical NHTSA complaints: Electrical System

NHTSA — Electrical System Problems

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
50,371 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chevrolet Uplander electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chevrolet Uplander:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chevrolet Uplander Owner Comments

problem #18

Oct 172014

Uplander

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Uplander. The contact stated that the onstar emergency system activated and directed him to contact onstar to subscribe to the services every 30 seconds. The contact stated that the solicitation was a distraction while driving. The onstar manufacturer was notified of the issue. Onstar stated that the resolution was for the contact to subscribe to the service or take the vehicle to a dealer to have it deactivated at the contact's expense. The failure was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Fairview, NC, USA

problem #17

Apr 102014

Uplander

  • 88,664 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Uplander. The contact stated that the driver's side sliding door opened independently and without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who replaced the door actuator however, the failure continued to occur on the passenger side. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 88,664.  

- Shelby, OH, USA

problem #16

Nov 012008

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
Transmission went out. Dash light go out, seat belts all of them unlatch by them self, I replaced the brakes 6 times already, emission vapor canister went out, the engine light always on. It all ways say check gas cap, know my van not working. I can't clean any hard codes, passenger right side door unlatch when I was and the bottom half of the door hit the ground on the freeway with my 5 kids in the car, my 20 yr son was sitting by his eight yr old brother. My eight yr old was on the side that came unlatch thank god he un did his brother seat belt and grab him and held on to him tight until I stop the vehicle. The started went out, the back air condition won't work, the passenger right side joint broke, the van over heats all the time which cause the transmission to go out and the starter went I replace transmission starter and thermostat.the van a piece of [xxx] and I want my money back I paid for in cash. I brought the van in 2008 and paid cash for it.I had nothing but problems with it since I brought it in 11/1/2008. The problems started 2 days after I brought the van home. I wish never had gotten it. The [xxx] thing a lemon they need force Chevy to recall the god [xxx] lemon 2008 Chevy Uplander and give me my money back so I can go some were else and by my family a real van, I'm a single mom of 5 children and I need a reliable van, not a piece of [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #15

Mar 202014

Uplander

  • 85,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We have a 2008 Chevy Uplander van (bought new) that between Aug. 2010 and March of this year had to be jump started 9 times because the battery was totally dead. When calling a towing service truck the van started up immediately and I was able to drive it to a service station. It has now been looked at by 3 different Chevrolet dealers & 2 independent garages. After through analysis, neither have been able to figure out the root cause of the problem. Three times I was told the van needed a new battery, but after a few months the vehicle would again not start. The GM customer service (1-800-222-1020) would not help me and referred me to have the Chevy dealership resolve this problem. I recommend that GM recall this vehicle and fix it after figuring out what the cause of the problem is.

- Shelby Twp., MI, USA

problem #14

Nov 152013

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 91,136 miles
In the last couple weeks I've noticed that my door locks are not unlocking when pressing the all door lock release button. I went to the store on Saturday, November 16, 2013 and was locked inside the car for 45 minutes. There is only one key entry on the entire car, driver door. (my remote has not worked since I bought the car used in March 2012.) I had to flag a person down in the parking lot and have them use the key to open the door. Because this is a fire/safety hazard, and I have 3 small children, I am afraid to drive the vehicle anywhere.

- Camden, AR, USA

problem #13

May 142013

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 22,000 miles
Drove the van home that same night, before we pulled in the drive way, the van over heated, the brakes had a spongy feel to them after 15 mins of driving, temperature gauge never went pass the half way make when the red indicator came on the van totally shut down no power, I almost flip the van over. I have replace the brake twice in 3 weeks of each other.then light on the dash came on when temperature were cold, rainy, foggy, out side, and when it got hot temperature out side the dash light at night time started to flicker on and off, then about 30 seconds later the dash lights stayed off and never came back on. Also the van started to have engine not wanted to turn over, and would also loss all power to vehicle leaving us stranded out in horrible weather conditions outside with are children.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 172010

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Alternator went out, rear passenger door fell off the top hinge hit the payment, brakes started falling again.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #11

May 082013

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 72,005 miles
The rear driver door will not close. It has been to the dealer three times. The first time they were unable to diagnose. The second time we were charged $80 to clean the contacts. The third time they have recommended replacement of the motor due to an internal timing failure at a cost of over $1000. This door has been used very little since we have owned the van and it poses a potential safety hazard since it closes, the alarm sounds and then the door reopens on its own. The dealer reported that this is a common failure and that there is no way to adjust the timing on the motor without replacement.

- Fairlawn, OH, USA

problem #10

Feb 182013

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 55,761 miles
On Feb 18, 2013 my door came off on my Uplander, along with numerous electrical error messages at the same time. I had my vehicle in the shop for over 3 weeks until I finally was able to pick up. I also had the engine stability and the air pressure monitor and air bag, and traction control repaired costing a total of $2,336 dollars of repairs completed. After reading other complaints on this vehicle, I am trying to trade in my vehicle where I purchased it, but I owe more then what it was appraised for. I have asked the dealer for a trade, but they are not working with me. I am afraid for the safety of my family, and other vehicles on the road when operating this vehicle. Please, do not take this complaint lightly, and assist me in making GMC replace my vehicle as soon as possible.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #9

Aug 312012

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 70,005 miles
While sitting in my drive way the engine made a popping sound and than the "charging system failure" came across the dash. After this approximately 3 days later the same thing happened while at a stop sign and after this the electrical system crashed and discharged the battery.

- Wewoka, OK, USA

problem #8

Dec 092008

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 7,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dash indicator shows side sliding door is open, when it is not. Bells ding, inside lights come on, doors become inoperative from inside vehicle. Has occurred approximately 50 times. We have had in shop somewhere between 10 and 15 times, both door modules have been replaced, and body control module now being replaced. Chevrolet states that it doesn't set a trouble code, so they have no record of the occurrences, though service department manager has seen this happen in person. My concern is when this happens, my wife, myself and or children cannot get out of the vehicle, and I feel this is unsafe. Chevrolet does not agree that this is unsafe. I really want to move on to another vehicle, but Chevrolet will not assist. The vehicle is paid for, free and clear, so this is not an issue of owing money and wanting out. Chevrolet should make the vehicle safe, and is not doing anything to ensure this. They have been handling this under warranty, but this last time vehicle is in shop for two weeks - no loaner, no alternative transportation for us.

- Mcminnville, OR, USA

problem #7

May 062011

Uplander

  • 41,000 miles
Third brake light lens broken at attaching points.

- Beaver Falls, PA, USA

problem #6

Feb 132011

Uplander

  • 27,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Uplander. The contact was driving and the recharge system failure indicator light and the battery light came on and within a few seconds the vehicle stalled. The battery was recharged and the contact was advised that the alternator had failed. The alternator was replaced; however, after the vehicle was started, the recharge system failure light came back on and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not inspected. The failure mileage and current mileage was 27,000.

- Montebello, CA, USA

problem #5

Dec 012008

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles
File complaint with NHTSA ODI 1-888-327-4236; tty: 1-800-424-9163 file complaint with the ftc 1-877-382-4357 ; tty: 1-866-653-4261. Chevy Uplanders have a major problem that Chevrolet doesn't want to do a recall. The reason they don't want to do the recall because the engines in these vans has to be dropped in order to get to the alternator out and put in a new one. Charging system failure comes up in all the Chevy Uplanders. I spoke to the district office and spoke to the executive office. The gentlemen in the executive office stated, "there is nothing that Chevrolet is going to do in regards to these Uplanders. There is no recall." When I asked him, "are you going to do a recall", he refused to answer the question the 3 times I asked him. Purchasing these Uplanders by the consumer is a rip off, and it's not fair that a product like this is sold to the public, and Chevrolet knows that there are severe problems with theses Uplanders, and there are no manuals on how to fix them, and the consumer has to pay the penalty. Fixing these Uplanders are extremely expensive, and even if you replace the alternator you don't know, if that is going to solve the problem. Check the internet by putting in charging system failure Chevy Uplanders. It will shock you. I urge everyone to file a complaint with the ODI and especially with the ftc. The more people file complaints with the ODI and especially with the ftc a class a litigation can come about and we can make Chevrolet recall these vehicles and to pay back everyone who paid to have this problem fixed in their Uplanders. File those complaints now with ODI and the ftc now-don't wait. The consumer stated the battery had to be replaced three times, because it would not hold a charge. The battery was constantly loosing amps and the vehicle failed to start on one occasion. The alternator was also replaced. Updated IVOQ 09/01/10.

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #4

Aug 152010

Uplander

  • miles
Purchase 2008 Chevy Uplander from [xxx], roseville, ca since then I have replaced the battery 3 X's. 17 months later after the purchase charging system failure pops up. Put in the new battery 8/15 it won't hold charge. The alternator has gone they said. There are over hundreds of complaint about the alternators in the Chevy Uplander and Chevy hasn't done recall to fix. My van has been in the shop for over week and the specialist at GM (dave 1-866-790-5600 X1317) said he would get a resolution. I haven't heard from the specialist since 8/19. www.greenflagauto.com/forum/index.php"showtopic=1885, chevroletforum.com/forum/showthread.php?T=21063, www.aboutautomobile.com/complaint/2008/Chevrolet/Uplander/electrical+system, , www.fixya.com/cars/T2589497-getting_charging_system_failure, www.chevroletforum.com/forum/showthread.php?T=21063, www.justanswer.com/questions/1wl3T-I-have-A-2005-Chevy-Uplander-my-headlights-were-flickering, www.justanswer.com/questions/3wozj-alternator-not-charging-battery-how-can-I-check-the-alternator, www.fixya.com/cars/T4092277-december_2_batteries "by decoblue21 on Feb 09, 2010 since Dec we have had 2 batteries and an alternator replaced in our 2008 Uplander. The battery is constantly loosing amps. And the car has failed to start on a number of occasions. We charge it but eventually the battery just doesn't hold the charge. The really weird thing is that when it's idling it gains amps and when the car is being driven it loses amps.eventually however, it just doesn't even take the charge. No one can figure out what is going on. Do you have any advice" " those are the links. Can you please help me. My van has been at [xxx] for over a week. Month after I had the van charging system failure came on and went off hour later. Chevy said don't worry. Please help me. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rocklin, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 022009

Uplander

  • 32,000 miles
The rear sliding doors open while driving, do not shut all the time and the alarm telling you the door is open goes off all the time when the doors are closed.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #2

Feb 042010

Uplander 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I have a 2008 Chevrolet Uplander ls minivan. When driving in wet weather when I have to drive through standing water, such as in an intersection, I loose all power. Especially the power steering. I also get a "charging system failure" alert on my dashboard. In a few moments the power will return. This happens every time I drive through any standing water. I have taken the vehicle into the Chevrolet dealer and have been told that they cannot find anything wrong, defective or out of place.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #1

Sep 232008

Uplander 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chevrolet Uplander. The contact stated that the door open warning indicator remains illuminated. It fails to dim and hides other information on the instrument panel. The dealer stated that this was normal and she could call the GM manufacturer. The contact called GM and they stated that it was a design flaw that they are aware of; however, there was no remedy. The current mileage iss 23,100. Updated 03/04/09. The door open warning system did not operate properly/ when the vehicle was starte with the door opened, the message remained illuminated even when the door was closed. The only way to clear the message was to turn the vehicle off and restart it. The parking brake message also illuminated. Updated 03/04/09.

- Berlin, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?