Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.2

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,321 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chevrolet Venture brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chevrolet Venture:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chevrolet Venture Owner Comments

problem #12

Feb 222007

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,301 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Chevy Venture with 62000 miles. Have replaced right front hub and harness etc 2 times (Jan 3, 2003 at 10800 miles and Feb 22, 2006 at 62000 miles left front hub, harness etc July 17, 2003 at 19800 miles all by dealers. ABS inoperative shorted module AWD disable from above.

- Lambertville, MI, USA

problem #11

Jul 152005

Venture

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
ABS brake failure with AWD disable. ABS light came on with AWD disable message, both are connected. With ABS failure, AWD is disables. Failure required replacement of part. No consequences because it was summer and no snow, winter would have been different story. Only part that failed was replaced but there is a service bulletin and re-engineered part due to obvious problems. Bulletin is #03-05-25-004A. Concern is that ABS and AWD fail at same time, I feel this is a serious safety hazard in winter driving, the type you buy a AWD for. I have contacted GM and the refuse to replace other part.

- Gardnerville, NV, USA

problem #10

Aug 212005

Venture

  • miles
I own a 2002 Chevy Venture and had the problem of ABS dis-engaging and the ABS warning light come on intermittently at first when the car is in motion (mostly at low speeds) and then permanently. The first two times I took it to the dealership, I was told that there were problems with brakes and tires. I got them replaced and even then the problem persisted. Finally, I was told that the front left hub assembly needed to be changed and it was done at no cost to me (the car is under manufacturer's warranty). During the time the hub assembly was changed, I got an uncomfortable feeling that I was not being given the reason for the ABS problem in a straight forward way. I now see that certain Chevrolet vehicles (Venture is not one of them) have been recalled for a front end hub assembly problem. The symptom for the recall seems a little different but I would like the NHTSA to investigate and make sure that Chevy Venture does not have the same hub assembly corrosion problem. The incident date I mention below is the latest incident date, but I have had the problem at least for the past six months.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #9

Aug 162002

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Crancking extensvly, brakes front and rear, uneven wear and tear, hydroplaning noise, vibrations, steering and unalignments problems, emmision repaired and treated, as the created sulphur odors, and stalling. Uneven driving, ABS light coming on at speed exceeding 60 mph.

- Suffern, NY, USA

problem #8

Dec 062002

Venture

  • miles
The design of the ABS on the 2002 Chevy Venture (AWD) is that the ABS is tied to the AWD for traction control. The front left and right ABS sensors have cracked 4 times in the past 2 years on our vehicle, with the 5th time occurring this month. When the ABS sensors (hub assembly) malfunctions, it disengages the AWD. While the ABS and AWD should be tied together for traction control, they should not disengage each other. In addition, there is no warning when the ABS malfunctions, and once it malfunctions, it does not stay malfuntioned. This means that the next time you start the vehicle, the ABS warning light is no longer on. If you are braking at the time of the malfunction, it is very difficult to stop, which could result in an accident. We bought the Venture specifically for the AWD feature, and it is unfortunate that due to poor design or lack of quality control on the part, we do not have the reliability of the AWD, not to mention the possible accident(s) that could occur.

- New Woodstock, NY, USA

problem #7

Jul 022004

Venture

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
The owner had the automatic sliding door repaired at the dealership on four occasions. The door opened unintentionally, however the dealership stated there was nothing wrong with the door. After the owner pulled out of the dealer, the problem occurred again. No one was willing to assist the consumer with the problem. Also the all wheel drive system has gone bad and the sensors have gone out twice. Also, the ABS light stays on as well. Provide further details.

- Chicora, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 012004

(reported on)

Venture 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Consumer complained about an ABS brake system problem. ABS brakes were repaired at least 6 times. Consumer stated all wheel drive became disabled when the ABS brakes malfunctioned.

- Land O Lakes, WI, USA

problem #5

Feb 252004

(reported on)

Venture

  • 15,000 miles
Under snowy weather conditions ABS light illuminated, then the wheels suddenly locked up. This caused the driver to slid, nearly resulting in a crash. Driver felt this vehicle was very unsafe, and small children were aboard.

- Oakland, MD, USA

problem #4

Dec 232003

Venture

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
When the brakes were applied there was a delay before the vehicle would stop and the pedal would go down to the floor. The dealer attempted to fix this problem but it recurred. Failure of brakes and AWD system has occured three times. There was a delay in stopping when brakes were applied. The brake pedal would go to the floor board when depressed.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #3

Sep 052002

Venture 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,548 miles
While driving our 2002 Chevrolet Venture, the ABS light comes on and "all-wheel drive disabled" appears in the display. This has occurred on three separate occasions, each time while driving, each time after having been repaired by the dealer. In for service on 9/5/02, 11/19/02, 12/2/02 and today, 9/29/03 for a total of 47 days and counting. This last incident occurred after the part was "redesigned" to eliminate the known defect. There was a failure of the ABS and all wheel drive system due to a faulty wheel speed sensor. The consumer requested a refund under the New York lemon law. The fuel evaporator leaked.

- Boston, NY, USA

problem #2

May 302003

Venture

  • miles
While traveling on the highway and without prior warning the ABS braking light appear on the dashboard. Also, brake pedal goes all the way down to the floor. Please fill in additional information dealer is aware of the problem.

- Ewa Beach, HI, USA

problem #1

Jan 012002

Venture

  • miles
While traveling on highway ABS braking light and all wheel drive light appeared on dashboard. Dealership was aware of problem.

- Weston, ID, USA

Not what you are looking for?