Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,077 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chrysler 200 brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Feb 022016


  • 33,000 miles


When I brake on bumpy road the car drifts to a stop instead of coming to a stop

- Redlands, CA, USA

problem #22

Feb 152016


  • 55,843 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 13V282000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. On a separate occasion, when the brakes were applied and the gear was placed into park, the vehicle accelerated through a wall. The air bags deployed. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and later towed to geico. The front end of the vehicle was replaced. The dealer diagnosed the brakes. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 51,000.

- Ocean Side, CA, USA

problem #21

May 222016


  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at 70 mph, the headlights failed without warning. The contact also stated that the traction control, the cruise control and the ABS warning lights were illuminated. The contact also stated that there was a grinding noise coming from the front of the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 112,000.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #20

Sep 262012


  • 141,885 miles


On April 26, 2012, I purchased a brand new 2012 Chrysler from an official Chrysler corporation dealership. Since then this car has been put in the shop approximately 30 times for from medium to major problems. The 1st major problem was 9/26/212 which was diagnosed as gear-rack and pinon. It has had two lifters(relative to the motor) because of loud tapping. Three heater cords; a couple of re-calls;transmissions leaks; internal engine damages; headlamps needed immediate replacements; washer fluid tank leaked and needed immediate replacement; the car horn failed to blow on demand; brakes needed immediate replacements; camshaft, rockers had to be replaced twice; heater cord experienced internal failure and had to be replaced; brake pads; brake light (dashboard) has been beeping on since 2013 and is still doing the same thing today; engine air filter had to be replaced; and a host of other vehicle problems that should not be happening on a brand spanking new 2012 vehicle!! please assist and advise.

- Oxon Hill, MD, USA

problem #19

Nov 162015


  • 52,000 miles
Transmission rebuild and three torque convertors in 6 mo heater warm on left cool on right engine stalls on highway heat worked when taken to draler. They replaced sa clicking blend door actuator in the morning there was warm air on the left and cool air on the right' dealer says need a heater core and radiator. This happened overnight? recall onairbags. No airbag light on at dealer, they flashed the tipm as per recall, now airbag light is on code reads replace occupant controle module. They claim this not on the recall,11V315000

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #18

Nov 142015


  • 60,000 miles
I purchased a 2012 Chrysler 200 from carmax located in memphis tennesse back in July 6, 2015. After a few days of purchase I noticed the brakes were not working properly. I took the car back in immediately for service and the service manager advised it was just a small problem and assured me that it was fixed. In August I had the same problem and took it back to the service department ( please be advised I am employed and I have to drive from pine bluff to memphis) at that time the service manager advised that it was some kind of fluid and the problem was fixed. This was all done during the factory warranty. On November 8, 2015 my brakes began to drag and was barely stopping I took it back to the service department and demanded for the problem to be fixed back to factory profection. Mr. Joe brown advised that it would be covered under my warranty but I advised that the car was never repaired correctly under factory warrenty. I had to pay a $50 dollar deductible and fifty towards a rental car deposit. I was called on 11/13/2015 and adivsed that my car was ready. I couldn't pick the car up until Saturday morning 11/14/2015. When I came to retreve my car my car was just sitting in the parking lot and no service worker was there to drive the car with me to ensure that it was working properly. In conclusion my brakes are still not working and it could have caused me my life on this morning 11/17/2015. The brakes are worse. I am in tears because I am a recent graduate and I am working to pay bills and student loans. This is what place american people in proverty when someone sales you something and it only works for a short period and you pay for warrenty and that doesnt help neither. Please help.

- Pine Bluff, AR, USA

problem #17

Apr 232015


  • 66,000 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. While driving at 45 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and the contact felt the pedal vibrate. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the brake pads needed to be replaced and the rotors needed to be turned. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 66,000.

- Victorville , CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 312012

200 6-cyl

  • 800 miles
Within 2 days of purchasing this vehicle, rear brakes were squealing like they would do if they were due to be replaced. I brought it back to the dealership and they supposedly inspected them and told me "its just rust from sitting on the lot and it will clear up after you drive it a while", it continued and a couple months following the first visit I returned with the vehicle and told them it still was making the noise and they checked it out again and said "oh, its just dust on the brakes and if you step on your brakes hard at about 40 mph that should take care of the problem". here we are 2 years later and the rear brakes still make the squealing noise. About June/July of this year timeframe I brought my vehicle in to the dealership because I have about 5 different spots on the hood and grill of the vehicle has the paint "blistering" and rust underneath. The dealership didn't call me and tell me what they were going to do about it so I called them about a month later. The warranty guy at the dealership told me that Chrysler was going to "send a whole new hood" which I guess didn't make much sense to me but whatever. To date I haven't heard from the dealership any further on this matter and the vehicle is nearing the limits on the warranty period for mileage. The dealership I have been dealing with is john hirsch's motors in cambridge, mn.

- Isanti, MN, USA

problem #15

Aug 082014

200 4-cyl

  • 43,851 miles
Was at a stop light and after taking off the car shut completely down with no warning no engine light indicator until after this happened. I tried to start it and it cranked but didn't start all the way, I had it towed home and now it starts. I had a six month old infant in the car with me when this happened and I don't feel safe when the car can just shut down like that. I feel there is a default in the engine, we purchase this car a year ago. Thank god there was no one behind me when this happened. I also have had problems with the brakes from when we purchased the car I brought the car to the dealer four times before someone figured it out. It was fine for four weeks and the noise is back, there is a noise in the brakes only when you press the brakes lightly. This problem has not been resolved. And the the warranty is up. I feel it's a defect. Upon my last visit to Chrysler there was a customer there who also has a 200 with the same brake problem they were trying to resolve.

- Danielson, CT, USA

problem #14

Jul 162014


  • 41,000 miles
After putting on 4 new tires and new front brakes, we noticed an issue with the steering column clunking, and feeling very loose. After three trips to the service counter at a Chrysler dealership, (you would think that they would know what the problem was), I have figured out the issue thanks to youtube. Apparently, I there are many others having the same issue. And, I called Chrysler directly, and the girl that I spoke with stated that the part had been recalled on other Chrysler products, but not on my car. This part needs to be recalled. You feel like you are driving down the road, and the car is falling a part. You feel like parts could fly off at any time. Very disappointing! and, just out of warranty. Please view this website to understand the issue. It explains it in depth. Https://

- Hemlock, NY, USA

problem #13

Jul 292014


  • 38,000 miles


2012 Chrysler 200 shut off while driving 45 mph down the hwy with 2 children in the car. I lost power steering and my brakes. Luckily, I made it to the side of the road. It restarted once I turned the key to off first, but shut off on me a second time while idling a few minutes later. I have not driven it since.

- Imperial, MO, USA

problem #12

Feb 032014

200 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
This vehicle out of service.could of cause a collision or cause body injury or death, I started the car went about 100 feet or more, car made a loud noise, car stopped suddenly by itself, then brake part flew right off right on the road. Had to push car to the nearest corner. Called dealer service, called my insurance. I have full coverage, but no response at the time. I signed hardship packet from the bank for help, but was repossessed, so dealer could not pick the car. I made a complaint February 12,2013 to bakersfield Chrysler - Jeep about my brakes squeals and my tires always display low pressure. Service dealer said there is nothing to fix they squeal because of dirt and they are wet and tires need more air because of weather change. I brought this car brand new. I sent a formal written letter addressed to NHTSA, plus documents that will substantiate my situation. Updated 03/13/14

- Bakersfield , CA, USA

problem #11

Apr 172013

200 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
This Chrysler 2012 200 started to have brake squealing issues at about 7,000 miles I went to dealership and they told me that it was probably just being broke in since I purchased this car at 200 miles on it. The problem continued and no one at the dealership would address this problem. I then told them they had to do something about it and they then told me that there was not a fix for this that Chrysler could not fix this problem. And that they the dealership dennis dillon and Chrysler had no idea what to do. I continued to drive my car and in September of 2013 my car's check engine light came on and I took into the dealer dennis dillon and was advised that my cylander head was gone and would need repaired. I was told to go ahead and dive my car while the parts came in. My car was fixed and picked up from dealer then 1 day later my car overheated on interstate and broke down was then told a clamp came off and was then fixed. Since this issue my car has not driven the same. It is sluggish. I asked the dealer about the lemon law and was told to contact Chrysler. I did so and was told by Chrysler that there is nothing anyone can do. My brakes still sqeal very loudly and chrylser told me that its becasue they replaced the brake pads and no longer have asbestos' in them. I then advised them that I have driven other models and makes and did not have that problem. They refused to be of any assistance. My steering is also an issue in which the dealership has said that it needed an alignment but since the car was only a couple hundred miles on it. It has pulled severly to the left. This is not acceptable and this car needs to fall under the lemon law and be dealt with.

- Caldwell , ID, USA

problem #10

Apr 302013

200 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
When backing up from a parking place the first time it happened in the latter part of April 2013, we heard this loud screeching noise coming from what we thought to be the front wheels. I then took the car to the dealership told the service person about it, he then said all cars have been doing it because of the dust storms in the area. The noise has been getting louder and louder it's embarrassing any more to back up ! who would think such a nice and beautiful car would be emitting such a terrible noise. Even my elderly dad has noticed it every time I pick him up and he said what a shame it is that this car makes that horrific sound. On 10-22-13 I reported this problem again our car dealership and asked them to start a case about it and I'd report it to NHTSA. The service manager agrees with me and stated there is a problem with the Chrysler 200 cars and that Chrysler Corp, refuses to admit there is problem with these cars! don"T buy this car!

- Arizona City, AZ, USA

problem #9

May 102013

200 4-cyl

  • 30,926 miles
Vehicle purchase from enterprise car sale, May 3,2013. Mileage 30926. Immediately I started having problems with loud clicking sound in front tires and loud squealing on backup. Enterprise agreed to fix the problem once identified. The inspection to tires and brakes was done and dealership stated they could not get vehicle to replicate the noise (lol). 2nd trip to dealership. Same complaint. Answer- could not get vehicle to duplicate noise. "you must be kidding me. If I can hear it I know you can hear it. So, my suggestion was to roll down the windows, turn off the air conditioner / cant miss it. Well, the front tires were replaced because it was stated that they were 1/8 inch to large.but nothing done to the brakes. There was still plenty padding. 3rd trip to dealership. Brakes are now screaming at me! the pads were replaced with different material. From ceramic to metallic pads.. two months have gone by and guess what" the noise is back!!!!. im no genius and definitely not a mechanic, but if you keep doing the same thing you will get the same results. How many times does it take to realize that something else is wrong? the question is....what ? I have read "several complaints from different owners with the same issue. So I know there is something wrong. How many complaints does it require before an investigation takes place and a recall is issued because something is wrong here". I regret not doing the research on this car because I know for sure that I would not have purchased the vehicle.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #8

Sep 102013


  • miles
Every time you reverse back-up the car you will hear a loud piercing horrendous and annoying sound.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #7

Sep 232013


  • 29,000 miles
I have made several complaints to Chrysler regarding the vehicle not accelerating when it should and not going over 35mph at times. When the vehicle won't accelerate the 6 speed does not work either. Chrysler reset the computer and this worked as a fix for roughly 2 days until it happened again. The vehicle also jumps forward when braking and seems to be jumping very hard through the gears, Chrysler has responded every time that they cannot duplicate the problem and to bring it back when it happens again. Today I was driving to work and again the car was jumping when I was braking. The car in front of me braked hard and unexpectedly therefore I had to as well. My car did not stop! although the brake pedal was pushed as hard as I could the car jumped at least 6 times and made a horrible grinding noise before I finally was able to get it to stop before rear ending the car in front of me. I did make it in to work however, the car did not make any improvements after this, now every time I try to stop the car jumps forward. This car is going to get me, my kids or someone else seriously injured and Chrysler has no sense of urgency to seem to get it fixed. From what I have read it is not only my car that is having the same problem. Add it to the lists of recalls please!!!!! also when I am driving and this happens daily the car jerks very hard between 1st and 2nd gear, this literally causes the car to and feels like it may stall out.

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #6

Sep 102013


  • 38,000 miles
In traffic, steering wheel tightened up and all interior lights were off. Tried to brake but no response, shifted into neutral restarted the car and it turned back on. Seemed to mess up the shifter a little in the process, as well as almost hitting the car in front of me. Probably going about 10-15 mph, and I was lucky to throw the car in neutral and restart otherwise I would of floated into an accident.

- Middletown, NJ, USA

problem #5

Mar 012013


  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the ABS warning light illuminated as the front end exhibited a loud metallic noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where a diagnostic was performed, which located the failure at the driver's side front wheel bearing. In addition, the ABS system was faulty. The dealer disconnected the ABS system. The driver's side front wheel bearing was not repaired. The contact also wanted to add that the water pump was replaced due to loud noises that were emitted while driving. The failure mileage was 17,000 and the approximate current mileage was 21,000.

- Shaker Heights, OH, USA

problem #4

Dec 112012

200 4-cyl

  • 11,500 miles
When in reverse brakes squeal, under any conditions. Took to dealer, was told by dealer that all cars do this when backing. Smh

- Grand Island, FL, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?