Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,707 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chrysler 200 miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Sep 032015

200

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While I was taking off to drive my car, the car shut down. All the lights came on, then everything shut down. The car started, but I could not drive my car. I had to have my car towed. I was told that the alternator went out. This happened in September 2015. I was at a restaurant, leaving to go home. I paid $415.45 for a new alternator.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #23

Nov 112016

200

  • 59,900 miles
Vehicle stalled and would not start while driving (2 times )towed to dealer as (both times) tow driver could not restart. Dealer reported no computer codes and car started after car started on problem. There appears to be common safety hazard that has been experienced by many owners, that reportly Chrysler and NHTSA agreed upon a resolution to avoid a recall by Chrysler of this safety hazard in Sept 2012. Chrysler doesn't acknowledge and not sharing this information with dealers so they can take corrective action. Various attempts tried to resolve this hazardous condition have included replacing the powertrain module, camscope replacement, monitoring the on board with a copilot computer-which also showed no codes. The dealer did say that Chrysler suggested an additional module be added to the on board computer, but none of their customers returned a third or more times as previous attempts were unsuccessful and appeared to give up. This life threatening safety hazard needs to beinvestigated and resolved, as we were driving on a roadway and the motor just shut off., if this not resolved it will sometime cause injuries or deaths, which could end up with a recall something that Chrysler possible replacement of on computers.

- Bullhead City, AZ, USA

problem #22

Feb 012016

200

  • miles
My cars heater core was plugged. When we went to have it fixed we were told that this is a common issue with the Chrysler 200. We had it fixed in February 2016 for $800. Now in November 2016 it is plugged again!

- Zimmerman, MN, USA

problem #21

Aug 182016

200

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Single short random high pitched beep coming from dash but no warning lights. Happened when car was off and keys was out side the car. While driving on the interstate, it beeped again. Once again, no lights. Checked all fluids, all full. My tps sensor light has been on since I bought it 2 years ago. Just needs a new sensor but it'seems never made a sound.

- Lawton, OK, USA

problem #20

Dec 012015

200

  • miles
My car heating system only heat half of the car and you can smell antifreeze coming through the vents. The passenger from window has stop working, it will come down but want go up. And the two windows in the back is trying to stop working. I just got this car on 11/01/2015 with only 32,000 miles on it.

- Maple Hts, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Nov 082015

200

  • miles
Dear sir/ madam: 11-08-15 a fire occurred at my house which was located at 5253 braidwood cv, on the above date, I parked my 2012 Chrysler 200 in the garage and went to bed. Approximately 45 minutes to 1 hour after retiring, I was awakened by a loud explosion and my neighbors beating on my front door to awaken me and my 21 year old grandson. He also was sleeping in another bedroom. When both of us attempted to escape from the house through the kitchen/garage entrance, we were met my heavy bellowing grey and black smoke that prevented our exit and almost overwhelmed us. Several months later, I am yet suffering from the shock and emotional trauma. Because of dealing with flashbacks, nightmares, intermittent waves of nervousness, deep sadness, feelings of grief/loss, periodic confusion, digestion issues, and numerous financial concerns, I am in professional counseling. I have been unable to write this letter until now. Even now, a friend is assisting me with completing this communication. This is the second contact I have had with your corporation. The first was the morning after the fire, when my son called on my behalf from his cell phone. He was informed that there was no recall of this particular Chrysler 200, however there were some known problems with the gas tank and ignition systems that were built between March and November of 2012. Please understand. I lost my house, 23 long years¿ worth of cherished belongings, and the car I recently purchased. I lost everything in the fire. I decided that, I would rather initially contact Chrysler directly. My hope is that Chrysler will understand the gravity of the situation and do the right thing without going through expensive attorneys. 901239.0809/email ldmadd@hotmail.com. Lois madison https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=cebfb7D86D50E64D!750&authkey=!aalipdbqwpwsze8&ithint=folder%2C

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #18

May 312016

200

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall: There is a problem with the electronic throttle control light that causes the car to decelerate randomly, in combination with a ticking sound that comes from the air bag area of the glove box that is exacerbated by the ac and the heat being turned on. I feel that the car is unsafe to drive, although it says there is no open recall on these components. This happened several times to me on the expressway today.

- Southfield, MI, USA

problem #17

Apr 222016

200

  • miles
When driving my vehicle I had three lights to come on which resulted in having to take my car to have a diganostic test, the out come was the throttle position censor in which I have never had any problems before from any of my Chrysler vehicle and the repairman said this is a dealer defect. I am very disappointed that I am going through and ordeal since I have owned many chrylsers with no problem.

- Bedford, OH, USA

problem #16

Feb 022016

200

  • 47,000 miles
The heater does not blow hot air on the passengers side anytime

- Marshalltown, IA, USA

problem #15

Mar 162016

200

  • 62,000 miles
Takata recall...I purchased the vehicle 2 months ago at darcars in marlow heights, md and I have already put the car in the shop 4 times for different issues. The biggest issue is after 2 weeks the engine cut off on the beltway(I 95) while heading to the store. Thank the lord that I was able to get on the side lane but I was almost hit by 3 cars, also, 2 weeks after that while driving the engine became very, very loud on the road so I ended up putting it in the shop for 3 days. It is a shame that people/dealers can sell lemons. Please help me with issue to get my money back from the dealer...$12,000 I can be reached at (301)613-8819. Thanks!

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #14

Feb 012016

200

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am an owner of a 2012 Chrysler 200 and on Feb. 1st while sitting in my driveway a fire started in the internal. I called Chrysler and I received a letter that they will not take responsibility for any manufacturing or assembly error. A week prior before the car caught on fire the heat would only work on the driver side. This vehicle is not safe and it is very disturbing that a company like Chrysler would not take responsibility for an unsafe vehicle.

- Cordova, TN, USA

problem #13

Nov 122015

200

  • 60,000 miles
My cars A/C heater blend door actuator has gone out. Upon my research I see there are numerous Chrysler 200 owners with the same problem. It is my understanding GM recalled the same part from the same manufacturer. Shouldn't Chrysler recall the part as well? the problem is persistent in the part continually clicks, cold air running through the vents when the heater is on.

- Sneedville, TN, USA

problem #12

Jan 012016

200

  • 73,000 miles
My cars A/C heater blend door actuator has gone out. Upon my research I see there are numerous Chrysler 200 owners with the same problem. It is my understanding GM recalled the same part from the same manufacturer. Shouldn't Chrysler recall the part as well? the problem is persistent in the part continually clicks, cold air running through the vents when the heater is on.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #11

Dec 272015

200

  • 51,000 miles
I bought my 2012 Chrysler 200 new. Now having heating issue, hot air on the driver side cold air on the passenger side. I live in a northeast and it's very cold. I can't get the car warm enough for windshield to heat on both sides so that it doesn't ice up. This could become a potential hazard when your vision is restricted because you cant defrost your windshield due to a design flaw in the heater system that Chrysler doesn't want to have to repair. Also my kids are freezing in the back seat. How many have to be injured or killed from this design issue and or to have a factory recall done" or kids with hypothermia"

- Burlington, VT, USA

problem #10

Dec 012015

200

  • 85,000 miles
Chrysler 200 heating issue, hot air on the driver side cold air on the passenger side. I live in a northern state and in the winter especially during storms the windshield needs to be heated on both sides so that it doesn't ice up. This could become a potential hazard when your vision is restricted because you cant defrost your windshield due to a design flaw in the heater system that Chrysler doesn't want to have to repair. How many have to be injured or killed in order for this to become a design issue and have a factory recall done. Nothing has happen to us yet but today is the first storm of the season

- Dixmont, ME, USA

problem #9

Nov 292015

200

  • 37,000 miles
Randomly shuts down while driving down the road, with no warning

- Lewiston, ME, USA

problem #8

Jun 012015

200

  • 55,000 miles
My transmission is slipping and not performing the way it should. Sometimes my car shifts hard and sometimes it won't shift out until it reaches 5 or 6000 rpms which is almost in the red zone. When going up a hill or incline it hesitates and jerks. I called several dealerships only to be told that there were multiple cars ahead of mine that were just sitting there with the same problem. I was told that they were waiting on a call from corporate to fix the problem. To this day it has not happened. Also, my airbag light has been on for almost four months now. They said they did not have a fix for it yet. Just recently there is a knocking noise coming from the passenger side dashboard. An ongoing problem has been the noise from the front brakes when I am backing up. I was told there was no fix yet for that problem. As of this day, there still is no fix for it. I am still driving my car because I can't just leave it to sit at the dealership waiting on repairs. As you all know, they do not give out loaner vehicles any more at least not in Arkansas.

- Dumas, AR, USA

problem #7

Nov 142015

200

  • 60,000 miles
I purchased a 2012 Chrysler 200 from carmax located in memphis tennesse back in July 6, 2015. After a few days of purchase I noticed the brakes were not working properly. I took the car back in immediately for service and the service manager advised it was just a small problem and assured me that it was fixed. In August I had the same problem and took it back to the service department ( please be advised I am employed and I have to drive from pine bluff to memphis) at that time the service manager advised that it was some kind of fluid and the problem was fixed. This was all done during the factory warranty. On November 8, 2015 my brakes began to drag and was barely stopping I took it back to the service department and demanded for the problem to be fixed back to factory profection. Mr. Joe brown advised that it would be covered under my warranty but I advised that the car was never repaired correctly under factory warrenty. I had to pay a $50 dollar deductible and fifty towards a rental car deposit. I was called on 11/13/2015 and adivsed that my car was ready. I couldn't pick the car up until Saturday morning 11/14/2015. When I came to retreve my car my car was just sitting in the parking lot and no service worker was there to drive the car with me to ensure that it was working properly. In conclusion my brakes are still not working and it could have caused me my life on this morning 11/17/2015. The brakes are worse. I am in tears because I am a recent graduate and I am working to pay bills and student loans. This is what place american people in proverty when someone sales you something and it only works for a short period and you pay for warrenty and that doesnt help neither. Please help.

- Pine Bluff, AR, USA

problem #6

Aug 142015

200

  • miles
I bought this car from a used car lot, just a month ago. Someone told me about the recalls on it. And it has never been been fixed, I have a 2 yr warranty on it. Do they fix or someone else. I'm scared about these recalls

- Garden City, MI, USA

problem #5

Sep 242014

200

  • 57,460 miles
4 week agao I bought a Chrysler 200, 2012. Since I heard a noise in the front wheel. I bring it back to the dealer they said they fix it but still making the noise. Please for my safety and our safety can you please push for a recall, because it is not only me with the same issue, things getting scary... please please

- Westbury, NY, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?