Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,365 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #176

Aug 022016


  • 73,400 miles


Car lost all power to the wheels under full throttle going up a hill. The dash board light for a tempurator sender came on for the transmission and the car was locked out putting it into park. The car only went into the "S" position of the transmission but still had no power to the wheels. The car was locked out of turning to a any gear. I had to shut the engine off and restart several time until the transmission was free. Finally a check engine light came on and I was able to drive to the dealer. This can all be verified by the state police who stopped to help the dealer said it was as if a computer received an error message, the car had to be rebooted!~. thats fine if you're standing still; but not traveling at 60 mph on a highway. It was fortunate that I was in the right lane and could coast to the side of the road! what would happen if I was in traffic and in the left lane and all of a sudden I had no power!

- Sugar Loaf, NY, USA

problem #175

Aug 052016


  • miles
Bought the car July 2015 and by Oct 2015 the car occasionally would downshift while in motion. Took the car back to the dealer and was told there was a recall and within a couple of weeks and the recall was aconplished and the computer was updated. Within a month the car was back to downshifting at odd times while I was driving. The car has repeatly been in 3 different Chrysler repair shops and it has always gone back to downshifting while you are driving at odd times. I did get it while it was downshifted on my phone recently so I have a video. Since the video the engineers at Chrysler had the dealer change a modular in the computer and the dealer put 200 miles on the car and assured me it was fixed. The same day I picked the car up it downshifted while I was driving again. I called the dealer and they made an appointment for me to bring it back in. I just picked my car up from the dealer this morning and was told the engineers told them only to drive my car. Since it didn't do it in the 331 miles that they drove it they were told to give me my car back as repaired. I took the car down the road and had to take it right back because now my phone can't connect with the car and my radio isn't working too. They say it S the radio so they have ordered a new one. I'm in sales and my car has 29,000 miles and I lose the warranty on the computer ar 35,000 miles. A couple of months ago I contacted chrylser and was given a case worker and case number, and was told by the case worker that Chrysler is aware of the problem with the 200S. The rental car Agency says there are a lot of rentals by dealers trying to repair this problem with the 200S. I would send you the video but with it being on the phone I'm not sure how.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #174

Jul 282016


  • 31,683 miles
In June 2016 the AWD light came on while I was driving on the parkway. A call to the service dept. Said it could be a glitch in the computer, turn it off for a while and restart. The AWD light continued to light up. I took it in for service the dealer said it was a computer chip problem (ptu module was bad) that took 4 days two fix.two weeks later on 7/18/16 after noticing dark spots on my driveway I took the car in, the diagnosis was a leak of transmission fluid in the bell housing causing the transmission in a 2 year old car to be replaced. An hour ago, (7/28/18 9:30P) I was driving 60 miles an hour on the gsp when the battery light suddenly came on and "shift to P" message came on in the dash. The "D" on the gear shift panel started flashing about a min later the vehicle began to lose power. I pulled over and restarted the car. It started up I was barely able to get to the side of the road on a dark highway with lots of traffic. It was a catastrophe in the making! this is the 3rd major issue with this new vehicle.

- Roselle Park, NJ, USA

problem #173

Nov 292015


  • 27,646 miles


In November 2015, while driving to Virginia from Florida, the transmission service light came on, check engine light illuminated, paddle shifters were disabled, and the vehicle went into a limp mode. I was able to get into gas station and tried to place into park, dash then told me not able to place into park, thus I forced it to turn off. I returned to the car 20 minutes later and it started back up with the check engine light still on and I was able to drive home. The check engine light then cleared itself and took to dealer 2 days later, they stated nothing was wrong w/ it but maybe the wiring recall would fix it but they were able to find a stored code that said it was a communication breakdown with the transmission. I began to have hard shifting issues in March. I finally had to contact Chrysler customer care as the dealer would not timely fix the recall. It was then fixed in March. They did a learn and play on the transmission and it has fixed the hard shifting. Since March, 3 difference occasions with two of them in the two weeks and multiple times on each occasion the transmission service light has illuminated, check engine light come on, and the car go into limp mode. The limp mode is very dangerous as it puts me in the middle of the street sometimes and cannot go anywhere. I have been left in the middle of exit ramps of highways, I have been left at lights, etc. Each time we go to the dealer and they cannot recreate this (but they state they can only drive it a few miles) so it never gets fixed. This time, I was told by the service manager, Chrysler knows of the issue and it is a low voltage issue telling the transmission to shut down but they said they are trying to get it approved by the federal govt as a recall. I have great concerns of this car, I have paid $32,000 for a new car and it leaves me very vulnerable and not safe at all!

- King George, VA, USA

problem #172

Dec 012015


  • 3,600 miles
When down shifting from 6-5 and 5-4 the rpms increase approximatly 500 rpms car continues to roll at constant speed also when pulling into garage it shifts to 1st gear and lounges forward it has stalled to point of having to pull off highway have no luck with repairs.

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #171

Jun 072016


  • 16,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. When coming to a complete stop and depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle would continue to roll. In addition, the vehicle hesitated to accelerate when depressing the accelerator pedal and would accelerate without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed as needing a software update. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 16,500.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #170

Jul 072016


  • 7,756 miles


Driving in traffic at 30 mph approached traffic light with cars in front of me when my car down shifted to 5th gear it continued to pull the car at 20 mph until I finally had to hit the brakes to stop it this is an intermitting problem this has happened before

- Myrtle Beach, SC, USA

problem #169

Oct 092015


  • 12,000 miles
Takata recall I started to notice that the vehicle would jerk when switching gears and would almost feel like it ran into a wall soon after I purchased it. Here recently it has happened a lot more frequently. I have taken the car to the dealer 3 separate times to see what the problem is. I was told they were unable to see the problem while they drove the vehicle so was unable to fix it. If I was able to make the problem happen I would as it happens sporadically!

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #168

Jun 202016


  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact was able to slow down the vehicle. Also, when moving from a stationary position, there was a hesitation before the transmission would engage. The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The dealer stated that the vehicle operated as designed. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000. The VIN was not available.

- Jamestown, NY, USA

problem #167

Jun 202016


  • 200 miles
My original transmission was replace once, approx. (1) year after purchase. Since then there have been several revisits with the dealer to check the transmission for erratic shifting and free wheeling down hills. They have upgraded the firmware because they had issues that I have been experiencing. When travel at 25 mph the transmission will vibrate when shifting from 4th to 5th and back to 4th. When I come to a hill at 25 mph in 5th gear, it will coast then upshift to 6th (with vibrations). At 59 mph in 8th gear the car vibrates up to approx. 63 mph. Chrysler customer assistance center were working with me until I expressed I need something to be done (not feeling safe in this car), they now are stating (frank-customer service supervisor) that because the dealer who inspected the vehicle (did not allow me to ride with him when he did a test drive), cannot find anything wrong, the case will be closed. I received a communication stating that the case is closed as of 6/20/16. It is very apparent that Chrysler is now in a damage control since I asked to speak with a "Chrysler representative", frank suggested that I would not be allowed to speak to him because they do not deem the issue to warrant such a conversation. He also suggested that if I wanted a second opinion from another dealer, I would have to pay for the service cost. Frank also wanted to know who told me about the "Chrysler representative"? I do not feel safe driving a car that vibrates and free wheels at low speeds and high speeds. It is very obvious there is an issue and Chrysler wants me to go away.

- Zion Crossroads, VA, USA

problem #166

Jun 162016


  • 47,000 miles


The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at any speed, the vehicle cut off and completely shut down. On each occasion, the vehicle restarted after a couple of minutes without warning. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer where it was discovered that because the vehicle was out of warranty, the diagnostic test would not be free. The failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 47,000.

- Greenwood, FL, USA

problem #165

Jan 152016


  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the vehicle hesitated and was slow to accelerate. In addition, the vehicle coasted in an abnormal way as the failure continued. The vehicle was taken to the dealer more than four times. The dealer replaced the transmission body valve, updated the software, and made additional repairs, which did not provide a permanent solution. The contact stated that the nine speed transmission models failed and the manufacturer did not take action to address the software update failure since mid 2014. The contact also experienced the alarm system going off and, upon using the owner's manual instructions, the alarm would not turn off. The dealer stated that the software needed to be updated and that the manufacturer had not yet provided the software update necessary to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to disclose to the contact when the software update would become available. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer a fifth time because the failure continued to occur. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was not available....updated 08/29/16

- White Hall, IL, USA

problem #164

Oct 172015


  • 22,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. In addition, the contact mentioned that the vehicle violently jerked. The contact stated that the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer on several occasions where the technician informed that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 22,500.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #163

Apr 212016


  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate when the brake pedal was depressed. The check engine and transmission service needed lights illuminated. The contact coasted the vehicle to the side of the road, restarted the vehicle, and resumed driving. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the pdc electrical connector failed. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 36,000.

- Prosser, WA, USA

problem #162

Apr 282016


  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving various speeds, the transmission jerked intermittently without warning. The contact stated that the keyless entry into the vehicle seized to work and the sun roof became inoperable. The contact stated that the failures did not occur until after the vehicle was repaired for NHTSA campaign number: 15V090000 (power train). The contact stated that the remedy failed to repair the vehicle and caused more failures. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #161

Mar 102016


  • 17 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that there was a violent hesitation when driving. In addition, the vehicle jerked and vibrated intermittently. The contact stated that the brake pedal required to be depressed in order for the vehicle not to drive out of position. The contact also stated that when shifting drive to reverse, the vehicle jerked in reverse. The contact mentioned that the vehicle previously had the power train module and the transmission reprogrammed but the failure persisted. The contact also stated that a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) was received. The vehicle was with the dealer for over a month and no repairs were performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure on numerous occasions. The approximate failure mileage was 17.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #160

Nov 012015


  • miles
There have been 6 recalls on this vehicle and only 2 have been corrected by my dealership. They are waiting for parts to correct the others. The power steering part has been recalled since November 2015, and they are still waiting to fix it. I am the sole driver in my household with a family and only this car. I cannot return it, I can not trade it in I owe more than its worth. My credit is also shot.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #159

Apr 232016


  • 28,500 miles
The vehicle has just shut down in midst of driving no warning nearly rear ended on three occasions. Then will not shift into any gear it has been sent for repair twice. I am afraid to drive it again in fear of being in an accident due to vehicle shutting down with no warning. Vehicle is always in motion when this happens on busy city streets, when driving or turning. Please help! this is the 3rd episode 3/24/16, 4/16/16, 4/23/16

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #158

Oct 122015


  • 14,000 miles
"takata recall" on or about 8/25/15, I purchased w/warranty a 2015 Chrysler 200 (used). The car shut down while @ a traffic light. On or about 10/11/15. Towed to fulton Dodge, Jeep, Chrysler, sacto. Ca. for "recall repairs" I experienced the car making forward jerking motions when downshifting & coming to a stop on numerous occasions, again on or about Nov. 2015, I were at a local grocery store when the car would not start, and was towed to elk grove Dodge, Jeep Chrysler for further diagnostic and repairs. The car after several weeks driving started jerking upon downshifting and would skip the #2 gear. The vehicle in question was brought back into elk grove Dodge, Jeep Chrysler for further transmission & software repairs on or about Dec. 2015. Several letters and emails had been written to Chrysler corporation complaining about the matter. A "lemon law" complaint had been filed March 2016, settled on or about 4/13/16 with fca., buying back the Chrysler, and reimbursement of payments made, except reimbursement for keeping the car insured, I've yet to be notified when and where to return the "coffin" Chrysler. My life has been in jeopardy from day of purchase.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #157

Aug 032015


  • 2,000 miles
Takata recall well I guess I'll join in with the rest. My 200 is just about a year old. I have just a little over 10,000 miles on it. Been back to dealer twice with same problem. Speeds up when braking at about 35 mph. Then when accelerating engine dies and vehicle slows down....then speeds up. 1st time they downloaded an update... 2nd time they said nothing wrong that they could find. (according to diagnostic codes) I like my car.. let me know when they finally get a fix for this. This is on rural country roads mountainous and hilly. Itbis dangerous.

- Laurel Bloomery, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?