Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,774 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #131

Mar 312015

200

  • 4,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car has terrible gas mileage. Well below govt average/window sticker. I was only getting 17 mpg where the min city rating was 23. After many visits to the dealer and dealing with the terrible Chrysler customer service, the service dept finally did the tsb that dealt with the transmission calibration. They reflashed/updated the trans software and now I'm getting 24 mpg which is the bare minimum I basically should get. Highway is still fairly below specs and I do not get near the combined 28 mpg either. I had almost 4700 miles on the car before they realized they needed to do the tsb on it. Now of course after spending much more money on gas than I should have, Chrysler doesn't care at all and basically laughed at me when I asked for fair compensation since it was their fault they let a car out of the factory that was not calibrated correctly nor did the dealer do the tsb before the car was sold. I doubt I'll ever buy another fca vehicle again in the future. Also the car had jerky transmission issues that prompted them to look into the trans to begin with then they found the tsb info.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #130

Oct 242015

200

  • miles
2015 Chrysler 200. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle acceleration and electrical system issues. The consumer stated the vehicle would not move, despite the fact she was pressing on the accelerator pedal. Several lights, including the check engine light illuminated. During this time, the engine was still warning. However, the consumer was unable to put the vehicle in park or drive.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #129

Aug 302015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the vehicle would not start. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and an unknown repair was performed, however, the failure recurred. On another occasion, the contact stated that while coming to a complete stop and the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle continued to move and swayed left and right. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and was diagnosed that the vehicle needed an alignment. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #128

Jun 032015

200

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 55 mph, the vehicle came to an abrupt stop without warning. The contact stated that the drivers side seat belt failed to unlatch. A bystander hit the seat belt button with his fist to unlatch the seatbelt. The contact and the passengers opened the doors and exited the vehicle. While the doors were still opened, the locks independently locked. The key fob failed to unlock the doors. The vehicle was unable to be shifted into park or neutral. The vehicle was towed to an impound lot and was eventually towed to the dealer. After the incident, the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system). The dealer diagnosed that the pdc and the PCM needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unavailable.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #127

Nov 212015

200

  • 7,600 miles
Purchased 6/29/2015 had no issues with the car at all until I took it in for oil service on Nov 21st, 2015 and was told there was a software update that had to be done. (wasn't given an option). Since that update the car shifts extremely rough when down shifting from 2 to 1 and lurches violently forward, it also shifts hard from 1 to 2. the dealership gives you the explanation that I need to drive it 1K miles and it should be ok? it is a danger to drive and my wife won't use it.

- Manassas, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #126

Nov 182015

200

  • 13,552 miles
I had a safety recall on my 200, take it to the dealership on Nov 18th, 2015. They reprogram module, powertrain control (PCM). Right after that my transmission started to act all crazy, not shifting right or down shifting. I called the dealership again, got it back on December 2nd, 2015. They said they re did the transmission and they have advised me to drive it like that for two weeks to relearn drivind and to bring it back if it doesn't improve. The car is acting even worse, the tachometer seems like it is not coordinated with the speed, the transmission seems like not releasing when I brake. I feel unsafe driving it, this is not the car I bought a year ago. I drive at least 50 miles per day in a car that doesn't give me a good feeling about it.

- Lisle, IL, USA

problem #125

Nov 282015

200

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at various speeds and making a left turn, the vehicle stalled and the transmission warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. As a result of the vehicle stalling, it crashed into a median. The contact was injured and received medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing; however the details of the diagnosis could not be provided. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #124

Sep 152015

200

  • 18,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle would shift gears and get stuck in between gears. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 18,500.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #123

Oct 232015

200

  • 15,995 miles
My vehicle was parked in front of my house, got in it and it would not come out of park. The lights began flashing stating my transmission needed serviced. My transmission had failed and resulted in a total replacement needed. Chrysler cannot verify that the root cause of the transmission failure has been corrected in the replacement transmission.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #122

Nov 022015

200

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the transmission failed and the engine stalled. In addition, the vehicle shifted into neutral. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that there was a failure with the software. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000. Updated 12/31/15

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #121

Oct 312015

200

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at approximately 45 mph, the check engine and the transmission warning lights illuminated. In addition, the vehicle failed to accelerate and reverse. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the transmission sensor needed to be repaired. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- Phenoix, AZ, USA

problem #120

Jun 012015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V090000 (power train) and 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- North Glenn, CO, USA

problem #119

Jun 152015

200

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While the vehicle was parked, the vehicle started on its own while unoccupied. In addition, when the gear shifter was shifted to drive, the vehicle remained idle even when the accelerator pedal was depressed. The failures recurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 9,000.

- Belle Vernon, PA, USA

problem #118

Apr 262015

200

  • 9,500 miles
Purchased this car in the spring, the car had 100 miles. Although the car is an automatic the car was down shifting hard, mentioned this to service where they stated the car was getting used to my driving. I have driven manual transmissions for many years where the transition between gears was far smoother. This continued until around 10,000 miles when engine light finally came on. Transmission completely failed and was replaced. Since then two recalls have been performed and the down shifting issue has worsened. Again told, car needs to get use to my driving as it is all digital. Drove a 2015 Dodge journey while car was worked on for a recall, it had 9,000 miles all digital...had zero issues with down shifting. It is completely unacceptable to have payments on a car that clearly should not be on the road. 1st and last Chrysler I will ever own. I am frequently on the highway with children in the car and do not feel this is a safe vehicle.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #117

Jun 152015

200

  • 19,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 20 mph, the vehicle stalled, would not engage when placed into park, and did not supply enough power for acceleration. When the failures occurred, all the warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and repaired, but the failure recurred four times. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was made aware by Chrysler that they do not have a remedy for the transmission failure. The failure mileage was 19,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lawrence, KS, USA

problem #116

Oct 092015

200

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle independently slowed down and stalled as the "put into park" warning indicator illuminated. It took several attempts to start the vehicle; however, the failure recurred after driving approximately 50 feet. The failure recurred on several occasions while driving the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 24,000.

- Landover, MD, USA

problem #115

Apr 152015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. When the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle jerked and accelerated independently. The contact also stated that when the accelerator pedal was depressed, the vehicle reduced in speed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. In addition, the vehicle experienced an abnormal noise coming from the brakes. The vehicle was scheduled to be taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #114

Oct 282015

200

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 chrsyler 200. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle lost power due to a faulty transmission that needed to be replaced. The vehicle was taken to a dealer to be repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 22,000. Updated 02/05/16

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #113

Oct 272015

200

  • 1,700 miles
Car began lurching forward upon acceleration so when I took it in for a recall, I asked that the dealership look at it. They stated that it was fixed with a software update that they completed. The next day the car began lurching forward every time I came to a stop. Once I come to a complete stop it shifts and lurches like it wants to go. I took it back to the dealership, where two employees tell me they are aware of many with issues like this but according to Chrysler nothing is wrong. The paper work they gave me states nothing is wrong. The car lunges every time you stop. This is not "normal". the dealership says that once another software update to fix it is available they will call me. I don't understand, if "nothing is wrong" why would they need to call me when a fix is available? this car is dangerous and it has 2,300 miles on it.

- New Brighton, PA, USA

problem #112

May 012015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V090000 (power train) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 1/20/16

- Pacifica Palisades, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?