Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,274 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #137

Dec 052015

200

  • 17,532 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power distribution center (pdc), shifter, parking break, transmission wire, power train, and engine stopped working on 12/05/15. The care completely shut down. I had it towed to a local dealer on 12/7/15. The worked on it all week through 12/10/15. The called me and told me everything was fixed. I came to pick it up, and I drove it back to work, to the store, then back home where it was parked over night. I wake up this morning to go to work and drop my girls off at school and the same thing happens. The car will not start, the brake is tight, the system is not detecting my key fob, and the care jerks a little bit and then dies. The dash will come on but the care will not shift out of park. I have it towed back to the dealership and they tell me "it worked last yesterday once we finished repairs.' I'm frustrated and made because I only received notification that 2 weeks ago that my car was up for a recall. Then the dealer's service department tell me it's under 2-3 recalls. My insurance will provide a rental car. However, since this is mechanical and not due to an accident I can't get a rental. I call the dealer to request a loaner car, and they tell me that Chrysler only provides them with five loaner cars, and they are currently being used for higher priority customers who major engine or transmission problems. If I read this one recall correct, one of the issues can cause me to hurt myself or others in a bad accident it this issue is not correct. To top it off they won't even provide me with a loaner car until they fix a problem that was caused in the manufacturing process. Chrysler tells me that they don't usually replace cars, as they probably will only make repairs to fix the problem. The dealer here tells me that the recalls were made in February 2015. Why wasn't I notified until recently. I could have seriously injured myself and my family. Very unhappy!

- Texarkana, TX, USA

problem #136

Nov 022015

200 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/06/16 updated 04/14/16.

- Cedar City, UT, USA

problem #135

Dec 112015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V47000 (electrical system); however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #134

Jun 172015

200

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 15 mph, the vehicle was hesitating causing the engine to stall without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system). The vehicle was serviced under the recall however, the failure persisted. The VIN was not provided. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #133

Dec 102015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #132

Dec 072015

200

  • 15,771 miles
While driving on the interstate at 75 miles my vehicle caught on fire by the gear shifter I had to jump out of the car before it was stopped the car was totaled

- Sullivan, MO, USA

problem #131

Dec 092015

200

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There has been an open recall for the power distribution center electrical connector since July 2015, and I still have not been able to get it fixed because the dealer says they can't get the parts needed.

- Somerville, NJ, USA

problem #130

Nov 302015

200

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that after the vehicle was parked, the undercarriage caught fire. The contact was able to extinguish the fire. A fire report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Waterloo, IL, USA

problem #129

Sep 142015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Bethalto, IL, USA

problem #128

Oct 242015

200

  • miles
2015 Chrysler 200. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle acceleration and electrical system issues. The consumer stated the vehicle would not move, despite the fact she was pressing on the accelerator pedal. Several lights, including the check engine light illuminated. During this time, the engine was still warning. However, the consumer was unable to put the vehicle in park or drive.

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

problem #127

Oct 302015

200

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle independently shifted into neutral. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was acknowledged that the vehicle was included in an open recall, but the dealer could not rectify the issue at that time. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 4,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Whitehall, PA, USA

problem #126

Oct 012015

200

  • 1,600 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving approximately 5 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and then independently restarted. The failure recurred on one other occasion. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 1,600.

- Seneca, SC, USA

problem #125

Apr 032015

200

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power while driving approximately 25 mph. In addition the service air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was able to be operated after the vehicle was manually restarted. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000(electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 26,000. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #124

Sep 122015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at various speeds, the air bag warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Stockbridge, GA, USA

problem #123

Sep 012015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/10/16

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #122

Oct 232015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Bartlesville, OK, USA

problem #121

Nov 282015

200

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at various speeds and making a left turn, the vehicle stalled and the transmission warning indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. As a result of the vehicle stalling, it crashed into a median. The contact was injured and received medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing; however the details of the diagnosis could not be provided. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #120

Nov 282015

200

  • 15,000 miles
I was driving home and my transmission and power steering went out on me and caused me to hit a median and I almost got into a serious accident. Chrysler hasn't been professional at all in regards to this recall and I'm disturbed. I could have really been hurt and I'm not ok with the fact I have to come out of pocket for something that isn't my fault and could have potentially died. The car was in motion and I was turning in a busy intersection.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #119

Oct 222015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pittsburg, PA, USA

problem #118

Nov 192015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/28/16

- Yaphank, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?