Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,074 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 5 of 12)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #149

Jun 162015

200

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1.delayed/harsh shift from 2nd to 3rd gear. Especially harsh when the vehicle was cold. 2.vehicle lunges forward when downshifting rapidly. For example, if I was driving 55mph and had to stop quickly, as the transmission downshifted the entire vehicle would thrust/jump around 3rd-4th gears. It almost feels like the car is going to accelerate instead of stopping. 3.in a situation where the vehicle is slowed, but not stopped, and then accelerated (such as exiting a parking lot onto a major road), once the accelerator is applied, the engine rpms shoot up, but the transmission delays dramatically before upshifting, causing the vehicle to jerk. 4.at speeds between 24-26mph, the transmission jumps around wildly between gears causing the vehicle to jerk. After multiple service visits and software updates, the transmission and torque converter were replaced. The vehicle has been driven for over 3 weeks since this repair, and issues 2, 3 & 4 still exist. Other issues: 1.intermittent extended crank time┐2-3 times longer than a typical crank before starting. A.engine code showed the dealership there had been extended crank times. Dealership attempted repairs, citing an oil pressure problem, but issue continued. B.on a separate service visit, we were told this was due to a recall and they were awaiting parts. C.recall work was performed around 12/1/15, but the issue still exists. The issue has actually gotten substantially worse since the weather has gotten cold. 5.┐park┐ not engaging properly. When putting the vehicle into ┐park┐, there was a loud clunking sound. When the brake was released, the car would roll forward. A.this issue seems to have been resolved by repairs around 12/1/15.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #148

Oct 302015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning and she had trouble switching gears. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #147

Sep 012015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Beeville, TX, USA

problem #146

Sep 202015

200 6-cyl

  • 7,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of this issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/18/16

- Mayfield Heights, OH, USA

problem #145

Nov 012015

200

  • 18,230 miles
Takata recall- my vehicle was in park and rolled back almost hitting my child I reported it to dealer. Next my vehicle have been stalling and now the engine light is on and I notified the dealer. I reported that my air conditioning signal acts up. Transmission slips sometimes. I reported this as well

- Peru, IN, USA

problem #144

Sep 122015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Clinton, MD, USA

problem #143

Nov 152015

200

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle failed to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the power distribution center electrical connector needed to be replaced. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part for the recall repair was unavailable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000.

- Antioch, TN, USA

problem #142

Sep 122015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Buzzards Bay, MA, USA

problem #141

Sep 172015

200

  • 1,500 miles
After changing lanes on the freeway I turned left turn signal to off position and the right turn signal then came on. Turned the right one on then off to get it to stop and the left one came back on. Then they were switching between left and right with me doing nothing. Finally I thought to turn hazard lights on then off to see if that would work and it did. About 3 weeks later I was riding and my fiance was driving and the turn signal came on by itself while driving down the freeway. He had to turn them on and off several times to get them to actually turn off. On another occasion I was in my sister's driveway and put the car in park and pushed the button to turn the car off. The display on the dash said that the car had to be in park before it could be turned off. Since the car was already in park on the dial, I put it into reverse and back into park to try to get it to work and when that didn't work I put it into drive and moved slightly forward then put it back into park where it finally recognized that it was actually in park and allowed me to turn it off. I took the car to the dealership where they said that there were no error codes and they could not replicate the issues, but would make note of them.

- Tumwater, WA, USA

problem #140

Dec 042015

200

  • 137,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while at a stop sign, the vehicle jerked without warning. In addition, the contact stated that when accelerating, the vehicle would jump and down shift. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the electrical wiring harness was replaced. In addition, the contact stated that the technician failed to reset the transmission that caused the vehicle vibrate. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the technician reset the transmission. However, the failure recurred. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 13,700. Updated 03/16/16

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #139

Sep 152015

200

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Fort Bragg, NC, USA

problem #138

Sep 122015

200

  • miles
The contact owns 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Mountain View, CA, USA

problem #137

Dec 052015

200

  • 17,532 miles
The power distribution center (pdc), shifter, parking break, transmission wire, power train, and engine stopped working on 12/05/15. The care completely shut down. I had it towed to a local dealer on 12/7/15. The worked on it all week through 12/10/15. The called me and told me everything was fixed. I came to pick it up, and I drove it back to work, to the store, then back home where it was parked over night. I wake up this morning to go to work and drop my girls off at school and the same thing happens. The car will not start, the brake is tight, the system is not detecting my key fob, and the care jerks a little bit and then dies. The dash will come on but the care will not shift out of park. I have it towed back to the dealership and they tell me "it worked last yesterday once we finished repairs.' I'm frustrated and made because I only received notification that 2 weeks ago that my car was up for a recall. Then the dealer's service department tell me it's under 2-3 recalls. My insurance will provide a rental car. However, since this is mechanical and not due to an accident I can't get a rental. I call the dealer to request a loaner car, and they tell me that Chrysler only provides them with five loaner cars, and they are currently being used for higher priority customers who major engine or transmission problems. If I read this one recall correct, one of the issues can cause me to hurt myself or others in a bad accident it this issue is not correct. To top it off they won't even provide me with a loaner car until they fix a problem that was caused in the manufacturing process. Chrysler tells me that they don't usually replace cars, as they probably will only make repairs to fix the problem. The dealer here tells me that the recalls were made in February 2015. Why wasn't I notified until recently. I could have seriously injured myself and my family. Very unhappy!

- Texarkana, TX, USA

problem #136

Nov 022015

200 6-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 04/06/16 updated 04/14/16.

- Cedar City, UT, USA

problem #135

Dec 112015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V47000 (electrical system); however the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #134

Jun 172015

200

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 15 mph, the vehicle was hesitating causing the engine to stall without warning. The vehicle was able to restart. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system). The vehicle was serviced under the recall however, the failure persisted. The VIN was not provided. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #133

Dec 102015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #132

Dec 072015

200

  • 15,771 miles
While driving on the interstate at 75 miles my vehicle caught on fire by the gear shifter I had to jump out of the car before it was stopped the car was totaled

- Sullivan, MO, USA

problem #131

Dec 092015

200

  • miles
There has been an open recall for the power distribution center electrical connector since July 2015, and I still have not been able to get it fixed because the dealer says they can't get the parts needed.

- Somerville, NJ, USA

problem #130

Nov 302015

200

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that after the vehicle was parked, the undercarriage caught fire. The contact was able to extinguish the fire. A fire report was not filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,000.

- Waterloo, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?