CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,074 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 12)

problem #229

Dec 212016

200

  • 36,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While in motion, overheating light and electric throttle light came up on dash display, with temperature reading at 0. the vehicle still drove as normal, I pulled over and turned it off. Restarted after 30 secs and the lights where gone, just check engine light was. Took it to a dealership and was told I had a faulty thermastat. The dealer stated that they have been seeing this issue since November 2016 with Chrysler 200 & Jeep vehicles.

- East Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #228

Aug 202016

200

  • 2,200 miles
The vehicle is consuming the oil and then shuts off with no warning has left us in 2 intersections had the car looked at both times the dealership is monitoring oil after cryselr done a reset but it is still consuming oil I have spoke with crysler but nothing has been done to ensure my families safty.

- Madison, WV, USA

problem #227

Dec 262016

200

  • 15,000 miles
Over the past six months, car has been in and out of multiple dealerships for brake system and transmission issues. The transmission shifts erratically and lurches without warning. The brake system has now caused three accidents. The brake pedal will suddenly go to the floor, and lose all braking power. This has resulted in one major collision. Dealers have "fixed" the issues but they return. Parking brake randomly activates on its own, causing rear wheels to lock and a loss of control of the car. This last occurence the parking brake activated on its own, causing us to skid into a ditch while travelling 70mph. The dealer said the issue was the battery and returned the vehicle to us after charging us because the battery apparently isnt covered under warranty. The next day the brake system completely failed. The car has been in the shop for two weeks now. The have replaced every major component of the braking system, but cannot get the cars brakes to work properly. Chrysler either has no comment or doesn't care about the safety of its customers.

- Ponca City, OK, USA

problem #226

Nov 172016

200

  • 54,340 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the switch park warning light illuminated and the vehicle stalled. The contact stated that the failure also made the vehicle difficult to start. The vehicle was not taken to be diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V470000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the failure was intermittent. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 54,340.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #225

Oct 122016

200

  • 20,000 miles
On multiple occasions, random times of day, I would attempt to start my car (or sometimes already be driving) but the engine light and parking light would turn on with a message reading "service transmission, service parking brake" and I can not get the car out of park. This happened at times when I was parked in my driveway, when I was at a complete stop at a red light and has even left me stranded in vacant parking lots. I took the car in for service and was told it was a software upgrade. I left my car, had the upgrade and the problem still occurs. I was told that the only option left is to replace the transmission. During all of my conversations and visits to the dealer, I surprised that no one has mentioned once to me that this car was recalled for electrical issues. I found that out myself when I was doing some research on the issue. This is a huge safety concern. I was left stranded in a parking lot overnight until I could find a ride to get me home, ive stalled out in the middle of the highway when I was stopped for traffic, and ive lost count of the amount of work days ive been out because was car has not been reliable enough to start when I need it to. The car is less than 1.5 years old. I shouldn't be dealing with these issues.

- North East, MD, USA

problem #224

Nov 152016

200

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that while operating the vehicle, the instrument panel gauges and lights suddenly began to flicker before the vehicle suddenly shut off. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the PCM wiring harness was replaced. The failure reoccurred where the vehicle began to jerk and stall after depressing the brake pedal. The contact also indicated that while driving approximately 65 mph while the cruise control was activated, the driver was unable to immediately deactivated the cruise control. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was unable to be duplicated. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The failure mileage was 30,000. Djr

- Corpus Crispy, TX, USA

problem #223

Dec 192016

200

  • 19,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Pulled into a parking lot and upon parking I put the vehicle in park. I hadn't turned the car off but let my foot off the brake and the car began to roll backwards. I had to shift out of park and then back to get it to stay in park.

- Freeport, TX, USA

problem #222

Dec 102016

200

  • 39,200 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle experienced a compete loss of power without warning. In addition, the contact experienced an issue with opening the vehicle's doors due to lack of power. The contact stated that the vehicle was involved in a front end collision. The failure occurred on five occasions. A police report was not filed. The contact was injured and suffered from severe migraines. Medical attention was received. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train); however, the dealer refused to do the repair. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 39,200. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Snevillville, GA, USA

problem #221

Oct 262016

200

  • 16,000 miles
My husbands Chrysler 200 2015 had huge electrical problems which would cause the vehicle to completely shut off while being driven. The car's electrical would not work, the keyfob wouldn't work, the trunk wouldn't open and you could not shift gears. The dealership could not figure out the issue but "fixed" it several times. The car malfunctioned again and my husband was involved in a car accident as a result, which totaled the car completely, with no airbag deployment. Chrysler has not fixed the issue, instead they have closed several cases/claims we have opened with them, never addressing the issue of the car turning off without notice, only the airbag concern. Again, the car was being driven when it completely shut off and loses all electrical and engine power, which resulted in the accident which totaled the car

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #220

Nov 282016

200

  • 25,000 miles
I purchased a 2015 Chrysler 200C in October 2016 and 2 weeks after purchasing it I was at a stop light and my car just completely shut down saying to service transmission service brakes etc. My vehicle had to be towed to the dealership and they said they reflashed the computer that day and it was fixed. I picked it up and have been leery about it ever since well a month of having it and on Nov 28 2016 I was going home from the store and was turning into my street when my car stalled out on the road. I was hit by a oilfield water truck and my car was totaled. I went in to the hospital with injuries to my face, leg arm and head. I ended up with a concussion and brusinings all over and a boot on my foot. And there's a possibility my jaw is dislocated.

- Bloomfield, NM, USA

problem #219

Nov 182016

200

  • 7,360 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My concern is the corrective action taken by fca regarding safety recall S55/NHTSA 16V-529. This recall identified a loss of motive power that could occur due to a faulty transaxle wire harness, possibly resulting in a crash. Solution was to replace the wire harness when parts became available. After a two month wait, fca changed the suggested repair from replacing the wire harness to re-programming the PCM and tcm. This re-programming, prevents the transmission from shifting to neutral, causing a loss of motive power, but will now place the vehicle in "limp mode". dealer service managers could not provide an accurate description of that process. We know it will cause the transmission to downshift, either to third or maybe second gear, not sure which, and a reduction of maximum speed to 30 mph or less, again not sure what it will be. The root cause, the transaxle wire harness will not be replaced until the vehicle experiences this problem. So, I am left with the original problem which could fail at any time. Whether the vehicle loses all motive power, or abruptly downshifts to a lower gear with a loss of acceleration while traveling at highway speeds could still produce a very unsafe condition if a person reacts incorrectly. Are these corrective actions, which are not those identified in the original recall, approved by the NHTSA, or can the manufacturer change them at will? I have had this vehicle for sixteen months. Five of those the vehicle remained parked in the garage due to two recalls. I do not agree with the corrective action taken.

- Converse, TX, USA

problem #218

Nov 162016

200

  • miles
Purchased/leasing car from american car center and from day 2 there had been problems but they keep giving me the run around. I've taken it to the shop 3X in less than 30 days. The air bag light light was on. They had me take it to a place that doesn't fix them then they sent me to the Chrysler dealership who claimed to have fixed it. Not even a week later the light comes on again. In the meantime I complained about the car seeming like it's going into neutral. Again, acc sends me to one of their shops who says nothing is wrong with the transmission and it just need to be reset so they reset it. Well the same day it was supposed to be fixed it does it two more times especially going downhill. It doesn't shift into gear as it suppose to. I put it in drive but it moves like it's in neutral then jerks into drive, not safe. If I stop at a stop sign it stalls to pull off. The passenger seat got stuck after it was let back for the first time. The speedometer glitches and the radio/phn connection does what it wants to. My main complaint is the transmission. What it's doing scares me whenever I drive it. The date it last happened is listed below.

- Readyville, TN, USA

problem #217

Sep 122016

200

  • 18,000 miles
Transmission shifting hard and from time to time seems like it takes longer to engage into drive from park mode. The car has been at the dealer for some type of transmission issues since it was bought new. We are currently waiting for a response on safety recall S55 / NHTSA 16V-529 received in early September 2016. I called fca and received a case number 9/12/2016 2:32 pm case number 30101893 but have yet to hear anything back. I have contacted the dealship several times and have yet to receive a call back. My concern is the car has been labeled unsafe by the recall and I haven't revived and feed back from the dealership or fca.

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #216

Mar 022015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V090000 (power train), 15V470000 (electrical system), and 16V529000 (power train); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #215

Aug 082015

200

  • miles
Dealerships are not cooperating.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #214

Oct 242016

200 6-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
Driving down the road and car went into "limp" mode then started "bucking". at the dealership and they ruled out transmission (Wednesday), still diagnosing (Thursday), now ordering a wiring harness for power distribution (Monday).

- West Des Moines, IA, USA

problem #213

Oct 102016

200

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 40 mph, the gear shifter shifted into neutral independently and the panel surrounding the shifter began to flicker. In addition, while attempting to reverse with the gear shifter in the reverse position, "put in designated gear" displayed across the message board. The vehicle failed to reverse and the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after some time. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. After the repair for NHTSA campaign number: 16V114000 (air bags, seats) was performed, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The failure mileage was 52,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #212

Oct 162016

200

  • 21,000 miles
My 200 has stalled in motion(highway) for no apparent reason. I receive an error message "put car into park to restart your engine". my vehicle has been to dealership for repair and I after one week I had the same experience in motion (city street) and my car stalled and I received the same error message.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #211

Oct 022015

200

  • 5,000 miles
Car shuts down completely during driving. No brakes steering or anything. Someone is going to die in this car. Dealer can't fix problems. Will just happen.

- Clarksburg, WV, USA

problem #210

Jul 082016

200

  • 29,000 miles
I have taken my vehicle several times to the dealership for recalls and check engine light. In July 2016 the vehicle stalled and locked up in the middle of a major intersection. The service department said it stalled on us due to a recall part. Just so happened the dealership we go to had just fixed the same recall issue in June. In Sept 2016 the vehiclevehicle stalled on the highway with my family in the vehicle. Oct vehicle went back into the shop and I picked it up today for the same part after being in the shop for 5 days with no remedy. Have to mention the service manager drove my car before it could be released to me. Funny thing they gave it back to me with the check engine light still on. I was told I would have to take the car back so they can figure out why the engine light us on. I asked what they did to my vehicle but it's like no one knows....I don't know what to do at this point with my vehicle. My wife drives our kids everyday and feels like the vehicle is unsafe to be on the road due to it constantly stalling.

- El Paso, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?