Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,666 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #91

Jan 122016

200

  • 4,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car has long crank times. I have had it in the dealership twice now for flash updates and on Tuesday the 12th of January the car would not start the first time I hit the ignition button. I had a full tank of gas car is garage kept. I have reported this to dealership and other than the flash update Chrysler claims there is no issue.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #90

Nov 012015

200

  • 18,230 miles
Takata recall- my vehicle was in park and rolled back almost hitting my child I reported it to dealer. Next my vehicle have been stalling and now the engine light is on and I notified the dealer. I reported that my air conditioning signal acts up. Transmission slips sometimes. I reported this as well

- Peru, IN, USA

problem #89

Sep 192014

200

  • 500 miles
I purchased my car in Sept. 2014. The car that I test drove was nothing like the car I got. When I mentioned the difference to the sales person, he stated that they were the same and that the car had to adjust to the way I drove. I took the car back to the dealer because they forgot to do service work on the car previously and the service manager stated that the car would feel better after 250 miles. I informed him that the car had 500 miles and he stated that it should "feel smoother soon." I took the car back up to mack haik Dodge in georgetown tx, where I purchased it and a manager told me that he would like to make things right and I should look for something that I liked and they would help me. The sales person that was going to "help" me was someone that I met at another dealership who told me that his wife had the same car and that half of them came out with problems and the other half was fine. He stated that I probably got one with problems. He stated that they were either great of had issues. I am now going to a different dealership to try and have the recall fixed. The recall is for the problem that I have been telling them for a year. At one point they told me that they could not fix anything because their transmission guy was out on sick leave. My car has been dangerous since I bought it. It hesitates when stepping on the accelerator on the highway. When the car starts out, it lunges forward and feels like a bucking horse. I was embarrassed to put people in my car. I worked with a government Agency that transported children and felt terrified to place a child in my car. Mack haik has been absolutely horrible. Their solution for my problem was to purchase another car with a $200 dollar more payment. I've been so frustrated that I considered a lemon law attorney. I contacted Chrysler and they said the dealer had to correct the problem. Can you help?

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #88

Dec 052015

200

  • 17,532 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The power distribution center (pdc), shifter, parking break, transmission wire, power train, and engine stopped working on 12/05/15. The care completely shut down. I had it towed to a local dealer on 12/7/15. The worked on it all week through 12/10/15. The called me and told me everything was fixed. I came to pick it up, and I drove it back to work, to the store, then back home where it was parked over night. I wake up this morning to go to work and drop my girls off at school and the same thing happens. The car will not start, the brake is tight, the system is not detecting my key fob, and the care jerks a little bit and then dies. The dash will come on but the care will not shift out of park. I have it towed back to the dealership and they tell me "it worked last yesterday once we finished repairs.' I'm frustrated and made because I only received notification that 2 weeks ago that my car was up for a recall. Then the dealer's service department tell me it's under 2-3 recalls. My insurance will provide a rental car. However, since this is mechanical and not due to an accident I can't get a rental. I call the dealer to request a loaner car, and they tell me that Chrysler only provides them with five loaner cars, and they are currently being used for higher priority customers who major engine or transmission problems. If I read this one recall correct, one of the issues can cause me to hurt myself or others in a bad accident it this issue is not correct. To top it off they won't even provide me with a loaner car until they fix a problem that was caused in the manufacturing process. Chrysler tells me that they don't usually replace cars, as they probably will only make repairs to fix the problem. The dealer here tells me that the recalls were made in February 2015. Why wasn't I notified until recently. I could have seriously injured myself and my family. Very unhappy!

- Texarkana, TX, USA

problem #87

Aug 132015

200

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 55 mph, the engine stalled and all the warning indicators illuminated on the instrument panel. The failure occurred numerous times. When the contact depressed the brake pedal, the vehicle began to accelerate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the tcm failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 9,000.

- Jackson, TN, USA

problem #86

Nov 282015

200

  • 15,000 miles
I was driving home and my transmission and power steering went out on me and caused me to hit a median and I almost got into a serious accident. Chrysler hasn't been professional at all in regards to this recall and I'm disturbed. I could have really been hurt and I'm not ok with the fact I have to come out of pocket for something that isn't my fault and could have potentially died. The car was in motion and I was turning in a busy intersection.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #85

Oct 142015

200

  • 4,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My transmission keeps slipping and it's becoming hazardous to drive on the road. Would not recommend purchasing this vehicle!!

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #84

Oct 092015

200

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle independently slowed down and stalled as the "put into park" warning indicator illuminated. It took several attempts to start the vehicle; however, the failure recurred after driving approximately 50 feet. The failure recurred on several occasions while driving the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 24,000.

- Landover, MD, USA

problem #83

Nov 052015

200

  • 29,750 miles
Car will stall out with no warning at any speed or maneuver, disabling power steering. I drive in austin, Texas traffic and it is extremely dangerous if stall occurs on their many, many expressways and overpasses. This has happened on neighborhood streets, downtown streets and on ih 35.

- Del Valle, TX, USA

problem #82

Oct 292015

200

  • 60 miles
Bought car is October of 2014. October of 2015, car started having problems. First day it started. Car had trouble turning over. It cranked, and cranked, and finally was able to turn over. Drove it to work that day and felt shakes and vibrations at idle. Next day, same thing. Car hesitates and shakes and check engine light appeared. Towed to dealer where they stated the issue was the recalls and updates to the tcm and PCM. I stated there was something more serious, and they insisted it was just the recalls (power distribution center). Got a call the next day to pick car up. Took off with it, and at next stop light, car stalled. Lights flickered and car felt very rough. Was able to turn back on car. At this time, the A/C stopped working. The defrost was the only thing working no matter what was turned on or off on the dash. Tried to turn ac and defrost on and off and the defrost stayed on the whole time. Made it back to dealer, and told them the issues. While I stood there, the adviser felt the shake when he touched the door, and said there was definitely something wrong and got me a loaner car. Still waiting to hear back.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #81

May 152015

200

  • 8,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 65 mph, the contact noticed the brake system and service engine warning lights illuminated. In addition, the vehicle would not accelerate. The contact depressed the brake pedal and the engine revved loudly as if it were in neutral gear. The vehicle was restarted, but failed to shift out of park. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed and repaired. The details were unavailable. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 15V47000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #80

Sep 242014

200

  • miles
I have been trying to get my car fixed for a year. The dealer mac haik in georgetown tx has said that they cannot replicate the problem. My car hesitates when I step on the gas and when it is put into gear it lunges. This is particularly annoying when the car first starts. I have told them over and over and they just say that their transmission man is out on leave. This is a beautiful car that I absolutely hate because of how it drives. I contacted Chrysler and they said it has to go through the dealer. I am frustrated and very aggravated. If this is the american import of the year, we are in dire straits. This is an unsafe car! this was not the car that I demoed and when I said something to the salesperson, he and the service person said that the car had to adjust to the way I drive.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #79

Jul 102015

200

  • miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. The contact stated that the transmission warning light randomly flashed, the vehicle had a drastic reduction in speed and stalled several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice and the contact stated that they replaced two different sensors but the failure recurred. The contact also mentioned that the key fob also failed to work intermittently. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who tightened the motor mounts. The contact was waiting on instructions from the manufacturer to instruct the dealer on repairing the vehicle. The failure mileage was not available.

- Opelousas, LA, USA

problem #78

Oct 042015

200

  • 10,100 miles
Vehicle under recall without any solution or parts available for the repair. Owners are to continue driving until a solution is available. Car will stall or shift into neutral while driving at both high and low speeds. Car has stalled on the highway without warning, shifting into neutral while in drive. Car engine revved up, but would not accelerates I I could get off the road safely avoiding traffic. Warning lights flash on the dashboard instructing me to service transmission, stop safely, turn off car, place into park. Doing all of this left the car stuck in either "run" or "accessory" mode. Car would not shut down, even when key fob was away from car. Gear shift was stuck and would not shift into any gear. All lights were lit up on the gear shift. At the same time the car clock time froze and a warning came on the screen saying to service vehicle phone. Car had to be towed to dealer twice and has been in the shop for the same problem 4 times within 25 days, and is currently in the shop now. Manual park release had to be used in order to tow vehicle as the gear shift wouldn't shift into neutral or any other gear. Car is extremely unsafe to drive for owners and fellow drivers on the road as an immediate decrease in speed and loss of control could potentially cause accidents.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #77

May 072015

200

  • 10,087 miles
During test drive of 2015 Chrysler 200 engine stopped and all lights on gear knob came on. While driving 25 mph straight on colonial dr.,by blue knob dealership in duncansville, pa the engine stopped and I pulled over to side of road. If cars were parked on side of road I would have had to stop in middle of road causing a dangerous situation. All lights on gear shift were on and I could not move knob to park. Waited approx. 2 minutes and lights went off and I turned knob to park and restarted car. I assumed car engine had not been driven in a long time and was cold.

- Gibsonia, PA, USA

problem #76

Oct 282014

200

  • 8,900 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle lost power completely. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 8,900.

- Crofton, MD, USA

problem #75

Aug 172015

200

  • 420 miles
I purchased vehicle 7/31/2015, on 8/17/2015 vehicle began to jerk, miss out, try to die when driving and then the check engine light came on. I took into shop 8/18/2015 and found out that the motor was bad and it was a factory default and needed replaced. Motor had 468 miles on it. Upon further investigation, we found out that an entire line was produced where some of these motors were not put together properly (missing a seal). To this date, 10/7/2015 I still have not seen any recall or any mention of said problem. My motor was to be replaced, I told Chrysler I wanted them to take the car back. I had only 2 weeks and the major part of vehicle was junk. They suggested a replacement, we tried that solution and 4 weeks into it, they had still not moved. I am now asking them to buy back the vehicle and let me move on. I feel like the public should be aware of this, as there is potentially hundreds of vehicles out there with bad motors sitting on lots, driveways, garages or driving down the road just waiting to fail.

- Bainbridge, IN, USA

problem #74

Sep 152015

200

  • 25 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at various speeds, the vehicle would suddenly shut off, occasionally not accelerate, and lose power. When making a right turn, a beeping sound was present and the oil gauge indicator would increase. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 25.

- Manville, NJ, USA

problem #73

Oct 022015

200

  • 21,625 miles
My engine turned off while driving. I was on a one lane ramp, going about 25 or 30 miles per hour around a bend. The transmission was in drive, not park or neutral. I could not restart my engine. Additional safety features such as forward collision warning, lane sense, and park sense were disabled. I was blocking traffic - the only way to get around me was to go up onto the sidewalk, which is not safe. People behind me tried to help by pushing the car, but could not. I had to call the police to send incident response to push me out of the way. The incident response truck also could not push me out of the way, but after rocking my car several times in an attempt to push the car, the engine would start. The check engine light came on and the screen showed a message saying to service transmisison. I drove to a parking lot and called a tow truck to take me to a dealership. I have found many cases of this happening to other 2015 Chrysler 200 owners, and I think there needs to be an investigation and possibly a recall. The dealership cannot tell me what caused the issue, only that their service manual says reflashing the transmission control module should solve the problem. Chrysler coporate also cannot tell me what caused the issue. Several testimonies online say that their car was not fixed by reflashing the tcm. Having your new car die on the road while driving with absolutely no warning is an unacceptable, possibly fatal risk. I only hope if this happens again, I won't be in an intersection or in front of a semi-truck on the highway.

- Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA

problem #72

Oct 022015

200

  • 35,000 miles
There are times when I will be stopped at a stop sign waiting for traffic until I am clear to enter into the roadway. Upon a space opening for me to enter into traffic there have been times when I have pressed down on the gas pedal to go and there is a delayed reaction from the vehicle. The vehicle will not go and you can audibly hear the engine wind up. After a brief while I can feel the vehicle downshift as if it was either in neutral or stuck on a gear. Then the vehicle will launch you out into traffic. I've had close calls to where due to the delay I've almost had to slam on the brakes to prevent myself from going into traffic as the delay put me at risk. When it launched me into traffic I then had to push the gas pedal all the way to the floor in order to avoid being hit by other vehicles and speed away. There are other times of getting onto the highway where it feels like the engine or transmission is lagging behind the accelerator. You can feel the vehicle almost sputter sporadically when driving the vehicle.

- Oshkosh, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?