Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,666 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

May 252015

200

  • 17,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine is revving high, vehicle stall on the highway over five times, vehicle over heats, vehicle has a winning noise, vehicle transmission jumps plenty of time, vehicle rev, vehicle has slow acceleration, vehicle has slow start up, vehicle steering is rattling.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #30

Jun 152015

200

  • 6,600 miles
Pulled out of my parking spot and engine stalled and shut off said to put in park and it struggled to turn over, then drove down the road and stalled again happened about 6-7 times already also happened to me 3 times within 5 mins

- Elmhurst, NY, USA

problem #29

Jun 162015

200 4-cyl

  • 34,886 miles
I was driving 70 mph on I-64 in va, there was a little bit of an incline after leaving the tunnel and crossing the bridge, every time I tried to accelerate the car felt as if I was slamming on the brakes. It started to do it constantly and eventually the car starting flashing all sorts of error messages and completely locking up. I was in the passing lane and had to swerve onto the grass to avoid being rear ended. Unfortunately the butt of the vehicle was still partly in traffic and I had to wait until the car decided to restart to pull the rest of the way off of the road. I waited some more time to try and drive it again, at least to the right shoulder. When I started it again I was able to get to the right before it started locking up again. At this point when I tried to turn the car off, it would just shake and stay in run, several times it did this and wouldn't let me shut the car off. After about 10 minutes I was able to shut it off and wait for towing to come. The car is currently at the Chrysler dealership for repair. I hope Chrysler is able to resolve the issue because I am terrified to drive a vehicle that chooses to shut off whenever it wants to....updated 08/06/15

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #28

Jun 052015

200

  • 5,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Friday: While wife was driving the car suddenly vibrated and stalled. The vehicle indicated it was still running even though it was off. Was unable to shut off completely for a few minutes, after about 10 minutes car restarted, check engine light remained on. Dealer said to continue to drive. Engine light went off over the weekend. Sunday: Driving at approximately 25 miles per hour car suddenly stalled and we were able to coast to side of road. Car indicated it was still on and running even though it was off. Was able to put car in park and eventually shut it off. Car would not restart. Car would not change gears, so unable to put it in neutral when tow arrived. Towed to dealer and they held it until Friday. Said that the pins in the power distribution center were loose and that was the problem. Friday: Picked car up from dealer, wife drove it less than 1 mile and it stalled and shut off again in an intersection. After approximately 10 minutes the car restarted. Is now back at the dealer.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #27

Jun 102015

200

  • 5,800 miles
Driving down the road and the car stalled. Tried to restart but wouldn't turn over. Finally got it started again and got home. Was towed to dealership. I was just called and they said I had a wire that was not connected right. I looked on line and there seems to be a lot of complaints about this car stalling while driving. These is very dangerous.

- Bellport, NY, USA

problem #26

May 012015

200

  • 5,000 miles
On a few occasions going down hill on a highway, there is an unintended acceleration. Then the transmission will stall into gear going downhill as well. The engine will be at very high RPM for the speed I go which is 45-50. Often when I back out in reverse, the brakes make a humming noise.

- Lake Elsinore , CA, USA

problem #25

May 202015

200

  • 108 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While driving car home on my first day from the dealer the engine stalled at 40 mph I was able to pull over and re-start the car, start driving again thinking nothing of it it stalled again and again 2 blocks from home. Next morning bringing back to dealer it stalled 3 times on reverse getting out of driveway. Only 100 miles on new car and it's at the dealer for major issue, I do not feel comfortable driving the car special with my 5 year daughter in it. This could happen at highway speeds during traffic hours..... at the moment I'm waiting to hear back from the dealer, they told me it's was fist time that they heard of this problem with 200C.

- Hudson, MA, USA

problem #24

May 202015

200

  • 108 miles
While driving car home on my first day from the dealer the engine stalled at 40 mph I was able to pull over and re-start the car, start driving again thinking nothing of it it stalled again and again 2 blocks from home. Next morning bringing back to dealer it stalled 3 times on reverse getting out of driveway. Only 100 miles on new car and it's at the dealer for major issue, I do not feel comfortable driving the car special with my 5 year daughter in it. This could happen at highway speeds during traffic hours..... at the moment I'm waiting to hear back from the dealer, they told me it's was fist time that they heard of this problem with 200C.

- Hudson, MA, USA

problem #23

May 212015

200 4-cyl

  • 1,878 miles
I was driving down the street going 25 mph and when I pushed down on gas pedal it felt like my transmission jerk and stalled for a second and then started driving normal. I jus bought this car on April 29 2015 and it's and it's doing this already.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #22

May 052015

200

  • 15,779 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle stalled. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 15,779.

- South Gate , MI, USA

problem #21

May 032015

200 4-cyl

  • 10,876 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On May 3, 2015 while driving down the highway with my children, the car stalled and I lost complete control of all steering and braking function. I immediately placed on my hazards as cars swerved left and right to avoid slamming into me. I attempted to restart the car and it wouldn't restart. After sitting for approximately 5 minutes, the car finally restarted. As I finally started to go, the car would accelerate quickly and then slow down. Within 10 minutes, it stalled again while driving. It did this 2 more times. Service was called and the car was taken to the shop. The next day I received a call that the car was fixed. I picked up the car and drove it for one day. Driving home from work on May 6, 2015, it again stalled while I was driving and almost caused me to crash as I lost all steering and braking ability. Again, the car would not restart. Service was called and took the car to a different authorized dealer. I received a call today May 8th that the car was fixed and ready to go. I picked up the car and drove home. Before arriving to my home, the car stalled again and again I lost all steering and braking ability. Service was called once more and the car was taken back to the shop it went to the first time this happened on May 3.

- Townsend, DE, USA

problem #20

Apr 202015

200

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at 40 mph, the vehicle began to slow down and then stalled. The contact mentioned that the engine and traction warning lights illuminated. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the software needed to be updated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 12,000.

- Ypsilanti , MI, USA

problem #19

Apr 192015

200 4-cyl

  • 814 miles
Stop at a 3 way stop started to pull out and throttle went completely dead, no response and in front of on coming vehicles, finally came back and was able to clear just in time. Next morning, same issue but this time when it came back it would not run but lurch and spit and sputter. Both stop engine and check engine cams on. Towed to dealer and could not find anything wrong, but I insisted it was a safety related issue. The dealer keep it for another day and heard nothing, then I received a call the third day that it had been test drove and did not make it out of the dealers lot. So I am concern on the safety of the brand new vehicle with hardly any miles and issues right out the gate. I am seeing other related issues of the same nature on the net all huge safety related with throttle response. I am hopeful that it does not turn into someone losing the life over something known.

- Fayetteville, GA, USA

problem #18

Apr 242015

200 4-cyl

  • 21,300 miles
My finance and I went on trip to Tennessee. On the expressway I was driving around 70 miles per hour. The car started to slow down on it own in the middle of traffic. It dropped from 70 to 60 and then to 45 without me doing anything. It started shifting gears automatically on it owns. Then I pushed the gas and it went back up to 70. Once we arrived to Tennessee we had to go up mountains and the car started to stall again in the mountains. This was very scary. As I was going into the mountains the car almost stopped while driving. The car kept shifting gears even when I am barely pressing the gas. I had to pull over and shut the car off and start it again. The car started stalling the first day of purchasing it but I thought it was suppose to this until it did it on the express way. I have a brand new car that I am afraid to drive it on long distance trips because of this issue. Talk about disappointing.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #17

Apr 212015

200 4-cyl

  • 14,998 miles
My family and I where exiting the freeway off-ramp, when all off a sudden the car stalled on me. My kids where absolutely scared, they where very nervous when a car almost hit us. On one occasion a car came from the side swerving towards us honking nearly side swiping us. At this point in time I am very dissatisfied with the safety of the car. My family means the world to me, never did I think a brand new car will give me an absolute turnaround on the safety outcome it's given us up until now. I received a letter along with a phone call about the recall on the make and model that I purchased (Chrysler 200) recall status. I immediately set up an appointment with the dealer to take it in for the following recall service: 14113 RO1 recall wc 0.50 reprogrammed PCM and tcm module. Then 14 days after the service, the car broke down on the freeway putting myself and my family in harms way of a tragic accident. My wife is terrified at the idea of driving that car again for fear that something might happen while she's driving alone just her and our kids. At this point I am very concerned for my family's safety with this car because it could it been a lot worse. I expect a speedy solution to this issue and I am seriously considering trading in this vehicle for another with a better safety record.

- Lakewood, CA, USA

problem #16

Apr 202015

200 6-cyl

  • 9,485 miles
My wife was driving home from work last night, and the car shut down without warning. We have had the car for 10 months now, and this is the second time in two weeks that has happened. What I am most concern with is, if we are driving the car at the posted speed limit of 70 mph, and the car shuts off, what the consequences of that may be. I ask that you would please, please look into this issue, as it will eventually cause someone with this type of car to have a deadly accident, which I know can be avoided if it is taken care of in a timely manner. What is even worse for us is, the car dealership will not be able to even look at the car until 30 Apr 15, due to their overload of vehicles that they see on a daily basis, which now puts us at even more of a risk of an accident. My wife and I both work, and need both cars, but I will sacrifice missing work to ensure she makes it to her job safely. Again, I ask that you please, please take a look into this issue. I have been online and have seen many other complaints about the same issue with this particular car.

- Fort Knox, KY, USA

problem #15

Apr 032015

200

  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 5 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and caused the vehicle to shift into neutral. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the sensor module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 13,000.

- Lake Havasu City, AZ, USA

problem #14

Feb 272015

200 6-cyl

  • 600 miles
An unexpected surge from the engine and drivetrain occurs occasionally with no accelerator pedal application - most often while slowing down around corners. The first time this happened was within a day of buying the car. It startled me and have since approach corners much more cautiously. The unexpected surge has happened approximately six times since late-January to varying degrees of power. I finally have time to take it in tomorrow, 8 April 2015.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #13

Apr 062015

200 4-cyl

  • 882,460 miles
After driving all day, I was on road after 8 pm. Driving 60 on highway. Car hiccuped then started decelerating quickly. Transmission light came on. Then, before I got to safe place to stop the dashboard started blinking message to put car in park and turn off. Had same problem less than 5000 miles ago. After a week and working with corporate, they said it was faulty power distribution box.

- West Friendship, MD, USA

problem #12

Aug 012014

200 4-cyl

  • 2,292 miles
Coming down expressway at about 65 mph. Suddenly warning indicated potential transmission failure and car was losing power. Pulled off highway and shut engine down. Restarted and warning was cleared except for check engine light. Took car to dealer and wiring harness was replaced and computer reset. On April 7th, 2015 in heavy traffic car lost engine power and began to stall I was able to get car (barely into turnaround lane before engine stalled out. Mileage on car was around 9500 miles. Warning again related to transmission failure and all transmission indicator lights were illuminated. Car locked up and could not be moved as wheels would not turn. Car towed to jim riehls in Warren, mi. Dangerous situation as auto completely locked up in heavy traffic. Police demanded immediate movement and called a tow truck and stood by until truck arrived.

- Troy, MI, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?