Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,666 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #131

Oct 252016

200

  • 21,590 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2015 Chrysler 200.I was driving it the first month when I bought it( which is July 2016) and unexpectedly the car started to slow down from 55 to 35mph. I was really surprised because I wasn't even hitting the brake.I went to the dealer and check, he told me that everything is ok. But last month I was driving home, I saw something on the road at the last minute. I slowed down but the car didn't respong, I hit that thing. I didn't even know what it was.maybe an animal or something that was laying down on the road. The front of my car was broken. One of my headlight is broken. The dealer told me that maybe something is wrong with the car. And my car need actually about $2000 to be repaired. My car is brand new and still have warranty on it. I am tried to use the insurance to repair it but nobody is really helping me with that, until yesterday when I got that letter on the mail (safety recall about my car )

- East Moline, IL, USA

problem #130

Nov 112016

200

  • 74,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While attempting to start the vehicle, it shook and failed to start. The contact attempted to start the vehicle several times. When the vehicle started, it shook and began to overheat. Also, while driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnostic testing; however, the details of the diagnosis could not be provided. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 74,000.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #129

Aug 282015

200

  • 26,634 miles
I financed the Chrysler 200 2015, used on 7/13/15. Around August 28th, 2015 I was driving and my car stalled while in motion in a busy intersection. A message appeared on dashboard: "engine warming wait to start", the knob and break locked I could not move the vehicle. The message on the dashboard then changed to: "shift to P." after pressing the push to start button on and off I got the car moving and decided to head to the dealer cautiously, on the way to the dealer it happened another 3 times and I was able to get it to move again and get it in the dealership. They had it in for a few days and told me they fixed the problem. An hour into driving after I left the dealership the car stalled again this time it was dark out and I was on a highway (luckily right lane) the car would not turn back on this time it was completely locked. I exited the vehicle and sat on the side of the highway waiting for a tow truck. (police were called too). This problem was blamed on the R24 recall, a month later I got the car back with the part that had to be replaced and everything seemed fine. The car stalled again on 4/20/2016, same message on dashboard this time it was while moving and making a turn and I almost got hit head on by another vehicle. They took the car in again, said nothing was wrong this time, happened again in June,2016 they said again nothing was wrong. It happened again, the end of Sept,2016 and I got a recall notice for the S55 recall which can cause stalling. They kept the car in dealership said they had to wait for part from Chrysler. They told me it was fixed and on 11/6/2016 I picked up the car and it stalled about 100ft away from the dealership. They took it back in, and now they said again that it is fixed and for me to pick it up. I am terrified, it is an unsafe, unpredictable vehicle. Please investigate Chrysler for the sake of safety. Help me.

- Glen Cove, NY, USA

problem #128

Jul 052016

200

  • 48,230 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving various speeds, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 48,230.

- Gwynn Oak, MD, USA

problem #127

Jul 112016

200

  • 35,000 miles
Car will stall while coming to a stop or slowing to make a turn. Took it in to the dealership and was told that the oil needed to be changed and that the engine would automatically "shut off" if an oil change is needed. Problem has occurred numerous times even after having the oil changed regularly.

- Newburg, MD, USA

problem #126

May 302016

200

  • 37,000 miles
Enterprise auto sales sold me this Chrysler 200 with an open warranty on it, which I discovered later on. From the time I drove it home, there have been issues with the transmission behaving erratically, surging or racing idle and lurching from a stopped and/or slow mph. It has also behaved as though its suddenly in idle only one to jump back into gear. It's been to the dealer for the tcm recall and that hasn't remedied the problem. Then a new safety recall was released and there is no date on when the most recent issues will be fixed. I saw that my vehicle was potentially listed under the consent agreement's buy-back option for owners. When I spoke with customer service, I was told there was no such thing as a buy-back program and my vehicle was not within the consent agreement. I requested another department and was told there was no other department. I asked to speak with a supervisor and was flatly denied by the customer service representative who had a speech impediment. I haven't ever dealt with a csr that hostile. I'm surprised she works with customers. I've only had this vehicle for about 4 months and it's been a nightmare. Definitely buyers remorse here. I do not feel safe in this car at all. Chrysler has had more than a reasonable amount of time to either repair or refund this vehicle. I believe they should repurchase it from me so I can invest in something else. And as a side note: I have managed to track down all of he work orders completed on this car except for the first safety recall, and according to Chrysler's records, it was repaired by a rental company who is now defund. Very shady.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #125

Apr 152016

200

  • 14,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving approximately 20 mph, the vehicle hesitated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that a software update needed to be performed. The vehicle was repaired; however; four months later. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to a dealer where it was diagnosed that a software update was needed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 14,500.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #124

Sep 012016

200

  • 31,000 miles
Ive had trouble with this vehicle since I took possession 6/30/2014! issues has been: Brakes(2X), uconnect (numerous times taken in for service and still has the same problem), aux- (numerous times taken in for service and still has the same problem, driver chair lever, vehicle shut down with flashing dash and gear lights while driving causing near death accidents (numerous times), radio shut down, vehicle came to a complete shut down and I had to have it towed, vehicle wouldn't start and I had it towed, vehicle accelerates on its own after the brake is released (take in numerous times and still had this problem, this ongoing issue has caused me to get into an accident and now Chrysler has denied my claim for them to fix my vehicle due to there negligent. I take the vehicle in for service for these ongoing issues and I get the vehicle back stating that there is nothing wrong but I have the same problems overtime!! I have video and pictures.

- Grosse Pointe, MI, USA

problem #123

Sep 152016

200

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that all of the indicators on the instrument panel illuminated prior to the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 35,000.

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #122

Sep 242016

200

  • 16,000 miles
Twice in the last week I was driving and all of a sudden the cate went from drive to neutral and told me to put the car in park, then you put it in park and have to restart the car in the middle of the road. The first time I almost got rear ended the second time I was stopped at a stop sign.

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

problem #121

Sep 172016

200

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle is now a year old and was purchased with 54 miles on the car. Purchase complete in June, by September vehicle needed the motor replaced (so disappointing and such an inconvenience). The car has been stalling amid traffic which is extremely dangerous. The dealership supposedly fixed that issue and yet more stalling now than before. I have reached out to Chrysler several times about this lemon and not much help has been given at all. As I type now the complaints with the car is that the car stalls displaying the battery light but starts back up. Took the car to dealership to see exactly what the problem was and of course they stated the same thing (oh the battery must be replaced) at the expense of $390 which I refused those services. Went to get battery tested from a second opinion and the battery life was fine and was not die to be replaced. Now when the car stalls it displays the battery light, traction light, power steering unavailable and shuts off. Well to top that problem and the 3 or fourth time of stalling depending on the distance, car shuts down completely for approximately 20 minutes displaying braking system notification when the car now does not shift into and gears. The air/heating system, radio, lights, etc still works but car can't go into park, drive, reverse, neutral, or low. I emailed Chrysler along with pictures and of course I am yet to get a reply.

- Pickens, MS, USA

problem #120

Sep 232016

200

  • 50,000 miles
Engine shuts off while driving, it might restart and it might not. Check engine light comes on and the battery light comes on for a short time. One time it was after work ready to go home, yesterday I was stopped at a red light and it shut off.

- Claremore, OK, USA

problem #119

Sep 192016

200

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact stated that the vehicle remained stuck in third gear. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Machesney Park, IL, USA

problem #118

Sep 202016

200

  • 17,000 miles
I was driving home from work yesterday evening doing 60 -65 mph on hwy 6 and my car decelerated like it turned off. I tried pushing the gas and nothing happened, the engine didn't even rev up. I had warning lights flashing on my dash. I tried uploading pictures but they wouldn't attach. I coasted the to shoulder of the road and my car wouldn't disengage from drive. I turned my car off hoping that would help, but when I turned it back on it wouldn't change gears from park. I got towed to the nearest Chrysler dealership. Today I received a call from the dealership that they were going to reset some computer drive and I "should be good to go this afternoon". I told that lady there's a recall on Chrysler for that very issue and I refuse to drive that car until it's fixed. This is a brand new car. I've barely had it a year. She told me that right now they can't fix it. If they can't fix it then Chrysler needs to buy back all of these cars from the people got scammed into buying them. I've had engine trouble from this car from day 1.

- Lorena, TX, USA

problem #117

Aug 162015

200

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle lost power. The accelerator pedal was depressed, but the vehicle failed to accelerate and increased in rpms. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on multiple occasions, but they could not diagnose or repair the vehicle. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V529000 (power train). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 2,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Enosburg, VT, USA

problem #116

Jul 012016

200

  • miles
Starting in July 2016, I have had issues with my parking break. On 3 separate occasions (most recent on 8/19/16), the parking break would not release and I was unable to drive. I was stuck for about 20-30 minutes each time. The car jumps as I accelerate (this has been happening since from day 1), as if it is having a problem transitioning between gears. This tends to happen when I am driving low speeds, like driving out of a parking structure, or accelerating from a complete stop. Yesterday my car would not start. Electricity was on (radio, lights etc) but the car would not start. Jumping it helps.

- La Mesa, CA, USA

problem #115

Feb 152015

200

  • 12,000 miles
This car been major problems with transmission jerking.car has shut off while driving several times.visbilty is 0 at times due to climate controls not being fixed properly, has been in shop for 36 days for climate control, matter still existed and said to be fix, but still major issues.rattling in door on passenger side.car has stop rinning at all, said to be due to low oil, but not the case, has done it again and oil was done 1,000 miles prior to be done.Chrysler can not duplicate the jerking tho they claim. Has failed to answer lawyers back or 2 letters sent due to it being a lemon and no repsonse from manufacturer

- Honey Brook, PA, USA

problem #114

Jan 012016

200

  • miles
Takata recall: My car shuts off and will not power back up or allow to start sometimes when I stop. It also will not detect my key fobs while im trying to start it. Also, it will jump very badly when going slow(street) or fast(freeway). The car also smelled like fire while I was driving one day. It also had an issue where it shut off while I was reversing. I took it to the dealership 4 times and made a complaint with corporate 2 times. They always seem to say they did not find anything wrong with my car. One of my case numbers with Chrysler corporate is 29448239 and the other is 29301258. Both were closed although I stated that the issue was not resolved.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #113

Jul 252016

200

  • 6,000 miles
I bought the car in February 2016 and was told it was bought back because of a sensor and had gone through full inspection and was cleared for sale. Two days later my check engine light came on and the car had accelerated from 60-92 on it's own. The dealership puts new parts in and every two weeks after I get my car back, the check engine light comes on and the car is accelerating on it's own. Chrysler has a team talking with the dealership but the car has been back around 10 times and is still having the same problem. Last week it accelerated from 72 to 97 on the freeway while my 2 year old son was in the car. We almost hit a semi. I dont understand how Chrysler is able to keep closing my cases and telling me they fixed it when it is still having the same problem. I've googled engine issues on these cars and found mine wasn't the only one doing this. I am paying a lot of money for an unsafe car that keeps accelerating on it's own and nothing is being done.

- Bettendorf, IA, USA

problem #112

Jun 152016

200

  • 45,000 miles
My 200 stopped on more than one occassion either on the highway (285), or on the street. Had to pull to emergency lane to sit, open and close door then car started back up and was able to drive home. No radio and saved settings have to be reset ever time the car is started. Nothing will connect (phone, blue tooth etc),

- Conyers, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?