Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
7,567 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Sep 012015

200 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2015 Chrysler 200. Consumer writes in regards to unexplained sudden acceleration when coasting or trying to slow down. The consumer stated the first problem he encountered with the vehicle, was a squeaking brake system. After two visits to the shop, the resolved the problem. Then it took three to four trips to resolve a problem with the trunk latch that would not release the trunk lid. Then it tool a couple of other trips to resolve a problem with a yellow engine earning light that came on for no apparent reason.

- Neosho, MO, USA

problem #19

May 072015

200

  • 8,500 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at an unknown speed with the cruise control activated, the vehicle rapidly shifted from 8th to 7th, then back to 8th,7th, 6th, and down to 4th gear, all within ten seconds. On another occasion, while driving approximately 20 mph, the accelerator pedal was released and the vehicle accelerated independently. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 8,500. Updated 11/06/15

- Coshocton , OH, USA

problem #18

Aug 202015

200

  • 7,205 miles
Loss of speed& shaking of car as it slowed down & showed to put it P & start. Happened also at 30 miles an hour in parking lot, then ran ok 5 miles to dealership. Fear to take it any where.

- Auburn Hills, MI, USA

problem #17

Jul 022015

200

  • 8,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle shut off while driving approx. 40 mph. Vehicle started blinking put car in park, service transmission, service park break. Then, it shut off on its own. All gears locked up and car would not restart. I was a sitting duck in the roadway. This has happened X2, July 2nd, 2015 and August 10th, 2015. Had it towed both times. First time Chrysler dealer stated they replaced tcm. This second time they are stating the car is reading multiple codes and they don't know what to fix.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #16

Aug 202015

200

  • 13,810 miles
When using cruise control it will not hold speed going down hill - will shift down more than once & will go up to 60+ miles per hour. Going over a small hill will shift down more than once usually - not all the time. This has been flashed several times with no change to the problem. When first starting the car the tach stays very high & will decrease as you shift into reverse, but not enough. Have to hold your foot on the brake all the time. When leaving from a stop sign the transmission will not go "in" right away - it takes a bit to actually "go".. as you're pulling onto a highway.

- Monroe, WI, USA

problem #15

Jul 092015

200

  • 100 miles
The forward collision warning system has never worked and Chrysler service has been unable to fix it.

- Berkeley Heights, NJ, USA

problem #14

Jul 242015

200

  • 10,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 7/19/15 I was driving my newly purchased Chrysler 200S with approximately 10300 miles. While approaching a stop light at 10mph, the car lost all power and coasted to a stop with a "service transmission" message flashing on the screen. I was not able to shift the car out of drive, and the gear selection was blinking in drive. I had to shut the car off and was stranded in the middle of a busy road for 15 minutes. I restarted the car and was able to drive it to the dealership. They replaced the tcm module and re-flashed the software. On 7/22/15 I returned to the dealership to pickup my car. While the service technician was pulling the car around, the car's transmission failed and was stuck in reverse this time, unable to shift out of reverse. They reprogrammed the valve body and performed a re-learn. I picked the car up 7/23/15 and was assured everything was fixed. While driving home from work on 7/24/15 on the interstate (75mph), the cars transmission again failed, leaving me with no throttle power on the interstate, nearly causing a collision with a semi truck. The same error messages as the first incident were flashing on the car's screen. I coasted the car to the site of the interstate and shut it off completely. After 15 minutes I restarted the car and drove it to the dealership. I am very concerned this car is going to get myself or someone else seriously injured.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #13

Jun 222015

200

  • 13,000 miles
Car will randomly shift from drive to neutral while driving and become completely unresponsive. Some times it allows you to pull over and put into park then drive, most times the entire car except the radio, become unresponsive and have to pull positive battery terminal to reset car. I've brought the car in for service 3 times now with same issue. Every time is getting more and more dangerous as problem is not easily reproducible and have almost been struck by cars from behind or on side of road.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #12

Jul 092015

200

  • miles
My vehicle has on multiple occasions experienced a jerk in which the vehicle will accelerate with and force from myself. The 9-speed transmission will shift at such a rapid and uncomfortable speed that the car jerks at ever shift. I was braking for a stoplight last week when the gear shifted and jerked causing acceleration that almost made me rear-end the vehicle in front of me already stopped. I have already had my transmission replaced two weeks after buying the vehicle. They then replaced the computer system and am now still experiencing the same issues. I was told by the dealership that there is nothing they can do until Chrysler releases a recall that provides a computer update to fix the issue. I emailed corporate but they refuse to respond to me and no one will provide assistance on this issue. I honestly just don't want to killed in an accident because of Chrysler's' negligence.

- Paducah, KY, USA

problem #11

Jun 232015

200

  • 17,500 miles
My vehicle stall on I-95 and when trying to go over 45mph, it won't go over 45mph, the vehicle overheats, check engine light is one, fcw is on and throttle service light also came on. Engine rev high when trying to go over a certain speed. Vehicle sometimes doesn't start. Vehicle is giving engine problem. Smoke is coming out, very very very loud whining noise when in drive going over 35mph

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #10

Mar 102015

200

  • 5,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Driving down the highway during rush hour traffic at 45 mph, the tranmission went into neutral even though the selector was in drive and did not allow me to accelerate at all while the car proceeded to slow to a stop. The "service transmission" message, check engine light and other messages appeared. It required me to stop my car, restart it in order to drive it again. This is a very serious safety concern. It also gets stuck in 4th gear (limp home mode) which is also dangerous because the engine has very little power when you stop and it prevents you from accelerating at the rate of traffic. It is also extremely hard to drive up hills.

- Livingston, NJ, USA

problem #9

Apr 112015

200

  • 5,100 miles
I am leasing the Chrysler 200C.I leased it in October 2014, within the first month it was back with check engine light and check transmission light. Next one headlight and back light would stay on when car was off and then sometimes both headlights would stay on when car was off.brought car back to service due to this and check engine light on again was told there was a recall on my car it was the RO8 parkrod.I was then told false alarm there is no recall I was given back car.I got in touch with Chrysler customer care to find out about this and I was told to drive the car see if check engine light came back on.while driving on an interstate the car began to bounce, steering wheel tightened, speed dropped to zero, RPM went up, and nothing happened when I tried to accelerate. I was able to pull over to shoulder.I am still trying to get car fixed.

- Lynbrook, NY, USA

problem #8

Mar 132012

200

  • 1,500 miles
While in cruise control, the car topped a hill and began a long, rather steep descent, gaining speed as it went. The cruise control was set for 60 mph and when the car's speed had increased to about 66 mph, the transmission downshifted and the engine raced to almost 6,000 RPM. I became flustered, took my attention from the road and began search the information display for problems. Finally I began to brake and slowed down to about 45 mph before the car began to act normal again. Dealer said I must have touched the "sport mode" shift paddles (standard on the 200C). I verified that these paddles are needlessly active even when the transmission shifting knob is in the D position and not in the "sport mode" and are extremely sensitive to the slightest touch, causing the vehicle to downshift unexpectedly. Dealer claimed there was nothing he could do about the issue!

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #7

Mar 242015

200

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Chrysler 200. While driving at approximately 70 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering failure seek service warning indicator illuminated. The parking brake engaged and the service parking brake warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 7,000.

- Grand Rapids, MI, USA

problem #6

Feb 242015

200 4-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
When decelerating going down a slight incline my foot was off the gas pedal. As I applied the brake pedal the car shifted but had accelerated as though I had pushed on the gas pedal. I had to forcefully apply the brakes even harder to keep from hitting the car in from of me. I have noticed this on other occasions as well but this time was different as there was someone in front of me. It is as though when the car shifts from 7th to 5th and also from 5th to 3rd the car lunges forwards. I have also notices the car will pull itself up a hill without applying the gas pedal when approaching a stop sign at the top of the hill. I am concerned I may inadvertently rear end another vehicle with this issue.

- Platte City, MO, USA

problem #5

Dec 012014

200 6-cyl

  • 500 miles
Cruse set on cruse. It is done smoothly. Example: You are on cruse control driving at speed ┐X. you want to change to speedŁ. you press the + or - button. When you reach the desired new speed. You release the button. You are now at your new speed. Chrysler 200, you are traveling at a set speed. You press the desired speed direction. The car does not change speed. Let say you held the button for 10 second. All of a sudden the car drastically changes speed. Example: I was traveling the expressway at 55 mph. I was now able to travel at 70mph. I pressed and held the ┐┐+┐Ł button. After a short but noticeable length of time. All of a sudden the car accelerated dramatically to 85mph before I hit the off button. I asked the dealer service manager. He told me to hit the change button for only one second to change 1mph. If I hold it for about 2 seconds. The car will change speed by 5mph. If I hold the button for more that a few seconds. He could tell me how far the speed will change. If you are not aware of that problem. It could be a killer. The cruse control should be limited to 5mph change and not infinity.

- Michigan City, IN, USA

problem #4

Jan 142015

200

  • 9,200 miles
Without notice the car did not want to pick up speed going up hill - NJ route 280 West. Almost got rear ended. Also when trying to stop the car - it jolts forward before slowing down. This is dangerous - I was told by an employee of the rental Agency that 2 other people had the same incident happen to them and they returned the cars. I fear someone will get seriously injured or killed. Chrysler needs to recall these vehicles before precious lives are lost or permanently injured.

- Belleville, NJ, USA

problem #3

Dec 162014

200 4-cyl

  • 5,800 miles
I'm driving a friend to the store and the car just stalls out like its out of gas on the attempted restart it had sound exactly like it is out of gas, I then call roadside assistance for a tow and they send a service that was not equip to tow this car since it has stopped, we could not get it in neutral to load it on the flat bed.the driver then suggest that I call a service with dollies to put under each wheel since the car is an all wheel drive model, after another tow truck was car with the right equipment, it is then towed to the nearest Chrysler dealer not to where I had purchased the vehicle, Chrysler roadside would only tow it 14 miles, my dealership was 6 miles over the limit, after 2days I was told nothing was wrong with the car and that I could come get it, well on the way home it stalled again in the same manner this time I after a little wait it started, and a block from my home it stalled again!!,I then called my dealership they were very good, a lot better than Chrysler's roadside assistance and a lot better than the other dealership in terms of realizing. That there was a serious problem at first they thought it was the ECU but that was last week it apparently was not and now it is going on 2weeks since I've been without my car, they did supply me with a loan car but they are still scratching their heads as to why my car keeps stalling I think I may have a lemon....

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #2

Oct 022014

200 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
Vehicle accelerates 2 to 3 mph when transmission downshifts from 8th gear to 7th and from 5th gear to 4th making it difficult to judge stopping distances and making turns. This happens when foot is off the accelerator.

- Woodhaven, MI, USA

problem #1

Oct 132014

200

  • 2,732 miles
This incident has happened on two separate occasions. While driving on the highway at speeds around 60 to 70 mph, my car will suddenly stall, and I am unable to accelerate. My electronic dash display would begin blinking, and I have no power to the pedal at all. On both occasions, I was in fact able to pull of to the side of the road to avoid any kind of car accident, however the second incident nearly caused a crash because the traffic volumes at the time were quite heavy. I was nearly rear ended due to my sudden deceleration. After the second incident, I decided to take the car in for service. As of today (3 days in the shop) I have not heard a reason as to why this is occurring. I have had the car for roughly 4 months, and this stalling has happened twice. I am worried that it will eventually lead to an accident on the road.

- Southfield, MI, USA

Not what you are looking for?