Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2015 model year is the first of the sedan's 2nd generation. Maybe they should have stuck with the 1st generation.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,244 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Chrysler 200 miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Chrysler 200:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Chrysler 200 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #51

Feb 152015


  • 12,000 miles


This car been major problems with transmission has shut off while driving several times.visbilty is 0 at times due to climate controls not being fixed properly, has been in shop for 36 days for climate control, matter still existed and said to be fix, but still major issues.rattling in door on passenger has stop rinning at all, said to be due to low oil, but not the case, has done it again and oil was done 1,000 miles prior to be done.Chrysler can not duplicate the jerking tho they claim. Has failed to answer lawyers back or 2 letters sent due to it being a lemon and no repsonse from manufacturer

- Honey Brook, PA, USA

problem #50

Sep 072016


  • 40,042 miles
I was driving my car and it went into nuetral on its on. A car almost hit me. I then tried to put it in park and it shows its in park but it was still rolling. I called the dealership and spoke to cynthia she states that they are understaff since their techs are training this week, stated that I don't have an extended warranty (just got the car March 2016) and that the recalls I found they cannot repair at this point since they don't know and don't have the parts. I then towed the car myself to golden state auto in citrus heights, ca they tried to assist. They stayed the tcm is not responding and is stuck in nuetral. They also called the dealership and was told they don't know how to fix this.

- Citrus Heights, CA, USA

problem #49

Sep 022016


  • 34,175 miles
Vehicle has hard shifts and lurches when driving, complete loss of propulsion, then the gas kicks back in and it uncomfortably lurches forward when shifting. Vehicle loses propulsion and shuts the engine off while driving various speeds and while turning, stalls, dash says shift to P to start, shows only battery symbol, shift knob D symbol blinking, loss of power steering. I shift the vehicle into park, shut the vehicle off, try to restart the vehicle and it makes a horrible dead battery starting sound, sometimes starts first try, sometimes I have to wait a few minutes. Vehicle does this every time its driven.

- Grimshaw, AL, USA

problem #48

Oct 092015


  • 12,000 miles


Takata recall I started to notice that the vehicle would jerk when switching gears and would almost feel like it ran into a wall soon after I purchased it. Here recently it has happened a lot more frequently. I have taken the car to the dealer 3 separate times to see what the problem is. I was told they were unable to see the problem while they drove the vehicle so was unable to fix it. If I was able to make the problem happen I would as it happens sporadically!

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #47

May 172016


  • miles
Takata recall

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #46

Apr 172016


  • 12,000 miles
On December 2015, I bought the 2015 Chrysler 200 limited from gilroy Chrysler dealer. (malfunction #1) on Sunday April 17, 2015, @ approximately 9:45 I drove my Chrysler less than a mile from my home when I made a right turn & my car turned off and the steering wheel locked up. I started my vehicle and was able to drive it. (malfunction #2) the vehicle has also had problems making a clicking noise when going in reverse like metal on metal contact. (malfunction #3) when I put the vehicle in drive it is delayed and changes hard. On April 23, 2015 my vehicle was serviced for an oil change & tire rotation @ (stevens creek Jeep Dodge) 4100 stevens creek blvd, ca 95129 and the service advisor was advised. He advised they were booked up for 3 weeks in order to conduct a diagnostic check under the vehicle's warranty. The vehicle was serviced and it is scheduled for the first week of May. The dealer would not give a for a temporary vehicle until the vehicle is safe to drive. I am a single mother two children.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #45

Apr 092016


  • 19,310 miles


I was about to turn right onto the street, when I felt loss of power. The car etc, mil, and etc indicator lights came on. Transmission goes into stall mode, does not go over 30 mph, speeding up and slowing down and shaking excessively. I've only had this car for 10 months. Now if this was to have occurred on a weekday I would have been on the freeway and this would have caused a major accident.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #44

Nov 212015


  • 7,668 miles
Took my perfectly driving 200 in for an oil service and tire rotation. The dealer also stated there was a software update (no detailed explanation so I assumed it was the radio security) Nov 21th, 2015. I waited for the service to be completed and upon driving home noticed the car acting weird, the transmission was not down shifting correctly and lunging forward terribly. I immediately contacted the dealership and they advised the software flash would take 1,000 miles-what? sounds like bull S* to me but I drove it over 1500 miles for christmas in in with everyone riding along asking what the heck is wrong with my car! I contacted the dealer upon my return and after some excuses and a service manger with an attitude it now goes back in Jan 9th, 2016 but they are already trying to blow it off.....drove perfect till my dealer and fca screwed it up! if they even attempt to tell me it needs to reflash or its my driving style I will immediately request a test drive in a new one and video it. Update from Dec 31, 2015 fca tells me my car had the tcm and PCM updated when the problem started. Update from Feb 8, 2016 well after two more visits......this car still does not down shift correctly without a lurch forward between 2nd and 1st. Some nice pieces of crap you have built in detroit Chrysler! Feb 25,2016-Chrysler informed me they are aware of the lunging forward while trying to stop but no known repair is available. Keep driving it! its a safety hazard and injury waiting to happen.

- Manassas, VA, USA

problem #43

Jan 152015


  • 3,587 miles
Financed this car brand new off the lot in August 2015. Since then it has been in the repair shop 4 times and the car is still jerking. The 3rd time I took it in the shop they claimed they put a new transmission in. After driving for a few minutes the car was doing the same exact thing. I then took it to a well known mechanic and they told me it was a transmission problem and that I needed a new one. I felt lied to and knew they sold me a lemon. They still have my car and I'm still paying for this car I don't even have, plus spending money on a loaner car. I feel so humiliated and sick to my stomach. I had to miss holidays because the car was not safe to drive anywhere in that condition. Please help me.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #42

Nov 012015


  • miles
Important safety recall not fixed within what I would consider a reasonable time frame. The power distribution center (pdc) electrical connector may have spread electrical terminal(s). A spread electrical terminal(s) could cause intermittent electrical connection(s) to certain electrical components. Safety risk: Intermittent electrical connection(s) may result in an engine stall or a shift to neutral event. Either of these conditions may cause a crash without warning. Issued on 10-21-15. Our local dealers have had the "parts on order", but state Chrysler has told them the parts are currently unavailable. We have experienced the engine stalling several times while trying to accelerate or while trying to begin motion after coming to a complete stop, it is an ongoing issue. I have sent emails to Chrysler directly to have the matter fixed by contacting our local dealerships, but not sure if they have reached out or not as we have not received any response from our local dealerships.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #41

Jan 042016


  • 26,300 miles


The power distribution center (pdc) electrical connector may have spread electrical terminal(s). A spread electrical terminal(s) could cause intermittent electrical connection(s) to certain electrical components. Intermittent electrical connection(s) may result in an engine stall or a shift to neutral event. Either of these conditions may cause a crash without warning. The power distribution center (pdc) electrical connector must be replaced.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #40

Sep 132015


  • 20,650 miles
This car was rented to me by enterprise leasing company in the chicagoland area. As I was in the process of making a left turn (West bound) onto a residential street, I had the passenger side front tire break away from the chassis causing me to lose control of the vehicle and hit two parked car. After the collision, I inspected the car and found the passenger-side front tire broken off and positioned 90 degrees (perpendicular) to the car in the wheel well. The hubcap side of the tire was facing backward, relative to the car, broken off from the lower control arm with the frame of the vehicle resting on the street.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #39

Oct 262015


  • miles
The safety recall letter said to contact if the dealer could remedy the defect in a reasonable time frame. The soonest they can fit my car in is January 2016. They said they are overloaded with all of the recalls and they can't do it sooner. I'm 33 weeks pregnant and I have a 3 year old. I really don't need the added stress that my car, which I bought new in February 2015, could potentially stall and crash without warning. That is a lawsuit waiting to happen if something does go wrong.

- Walton, KY, USA

problem #38

Aug 142015


  • 5,000 miles
The transmission jerks and while driving it seems to pause then every time I slow down it accelerates. The wipers make a loud noise. The low tire icon came on when I checked tires the right amount of air was in each tire but icon would not go off. I put over the amount of air in front tires and icon still will not go off. The temp gauge will not work until I reach the speed of 55 then it slowly works. This car scares me I feel my life is at risk. I have already had 4 or 5 recalls and transmission work on it. The radio technology looses signal frequently and it has started using more gas than when I first got it. I have been so afraid of this car I feel I am playing a death game every time I drive it. I live in wv and our roads are curvy and mostly 2 lanes. Can I get another safer car without being penalized this has been on going since I bought

- Gilbert, WV, USA

problem #37

Sep 302014


  • miles
Since we have had it, our vehicle has given off a funny smell from the air conditioner. In the beginning, we assumed that it was because it was a new car. Then later, we assumed that it would eventually go away. However, it still has not gone away. Not every time, but definitely frequently, we experience a foul smell coming from the air conditioning system, something like mildew or something.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #36

Jun 172015


  • 14,000 miles
The engine has locked up three different occasions all within July-August of 2015. You get no warning as to when the motor will lock up. Chrysler is not compasionate what so ever. There are 2 more recalls on my car one of which has no available parts. Its a high risk safety concern. The front right axle sounds like its going to fall off. I dont feel safe at all driving this car. Its a safety hazard for me aswell as other drivers. I asked for them if my car qualified I was told yes but never received the email and so I asked again now they say no. The 2015 Chrysler 200 is a lemon that should be taken off the highway!!!

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #35

Sep 162015


  • 8,500 miles
My airbag light was going on and off throughout the day. I brought it to the dealer and they didn't find any codes but the light was off. I went down the road and it turned back on so I went back. They found the same code that's been giving me issues regarding the passenger seat. 7 times for the same issue. I had brought my car back and forth since March 2015 for the tranny issue. It jerks, hesitates, and rattles. On a serious note my neck hurts cause it causes me to jerk forward. All Chrysler keeps doing is reprogramming my computer on the tranny but it doesn't work. I have over 17 work orders, over 30 days of staying in the shop, and all they do is reprogram it per Chrysler star orders. Recently I went to reverse the vehicle and it shot forward then knocked into reverse. The buyback program is a lie. Please do not purchase the Chrysler 200. It's just a headache and a waste of money.

- West Haven, CT, USA

problem #34

Jun 302015


  • 2,100 miles
My car jerks and/or hesitates while driving or accelerating from stop or coasting at 30 - 55mph. From a complete stop position my car has sputtered and rattled like the transmission or engine was having trouble engaging. I have a rattling sound coming from the engine compartment and you can hear it clearly coming from the passenger side with the windows down. A brand new car and it has a lot of transmission issues. Chrysler doesn't do anything unless it throws a code. 15 times in the repair shop. The car is at the shop now, and the tech is having trouble recreating the issue. Please someone do something about this.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #33

Aug 312015


  • 7,700 miles
My car jerks and/or hesitates while driving. From a complete stop position my car has sputtered without going any place. I would have to turn off my vehicle in the middle of the road and turn it back on so I can get it to go. I have a rattling sound coming from the engine compartment and you can hear it clearly coming from the passenger side with the windows down. A brand new car and it has a lot of tranny issues. The 9 speed automatic is the worst design with major flaws. Chrysler doesn't do anything unless it throws a code. 15 times in the repair shop and it is still there with the same issue that no tech can figure out. Please someone do something about this. The buyback program they offer is a sham don't believe them.

- West Haven , CT, USA

problem #32

Mar 182015


  • 5,000 miles
Driving down highway car just shuts off and are stuck in middle of road, car wont restart and have to wait 15min then it will restart. You can not push car off road. Have contacted Chrysler after 4 times to dealer ship for same problem and have been told can't duplicate or don't know what is wrong with it. Chrysler has opened up 2 cases and still no resolution. They declined to buyout the vehicle or replacement. I get same story, bring it in for service and we are sorry. No you will be sorry when my wife and kids are injured in this defective car. There has been numerous time of broken down on road and having dump truck or 18 wheelers dodging my car to avoid accidents. They have replaced computer, transmission parts and sensors. I truly believe it will never be fixed. Need to get the word out and Chrysler needs to be held responsible. I urge everyone to avoid these cars, unsafe and accident waiting to happen and dealership and Chrysler does not care!!!

- Brownsmills, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?