Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,317 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler 300 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments

problem #18

Jan 012015

300 6-cyl

  • 166,000 miles


I starting driving from the intersection the light had just turned green. After getting out of the intersection the car made a loud noise from the rear and stopped and would not move. I had to have the car towed. My work associate who was in the with me said the car sounded like I had just loss my rear-end. When I got the car to my private mechanic he said the rear-end was bad and needed replacing.

- Flossmoor, IL, USA

problem #17

May 012014

300 8-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
My daughter (12yrs.) and I were on the freeway/car pool lane (double yellow lines) and the car stalled/turned off completely. I tried not to panic but I daughter did when the lights, engine and not to mention the steering wheel was very hard to turn. At this time I had to cross over the double yellow line and cut off a few cars who all most rear ended me, all cars honked at me and my little one was freaking out. It took 24 minutes to get off the freeway because it kept stalling and wouldn't continue to stay on. This is a very un safe situation, I pray no one gets hurt from this. Car continued to stall and turn off and at this time it's just sitting because of funds and just fed up with this car.... not mention my parking lock mechanism broke last month and my engine blown due timings chain stretching. Had to rebuild the whole engine that cost me $5,000, so you know at this time I will never purchase a Chrysler ever again. I new I should have stayed with Chevrolet! !!!!!!

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #16

Jan 252005


  • 25,462 miles
There was an oil leak at the rear of vehicle and the dealer replaced the rear axle pinion seal and yoke. Also on this day the trim piece around the drivers seat came loose and they replaced the six (6) screws that had fallen out. Next the driver side sun visor clip broke and they replaced it. As of this report, June 6, 2013, both visor clips are broken. Lastly, the carpet on the floor board front passenger side is coming up. 02/17/05, there was a recall on vehicle D29 reprogram PCM and tcm08-D2-91-82, recall on vehicle D28 battery cable stud fasteners recall D28 inspect bulkhead stud 08-D2-81-82 ; recall on vehicle D50 radiator isolator brackets. The bolts were broken and replaced with rad support brackets 07-30-10-50 07-D5-01-82. I was charged $32.05 for labor, G.O.G., epa plus tax. 08/24/07, slack in left outter tie rod end. The seeing oil light was replaced on 05/22/09 for $166.63 and it was recommended that the bleeder housing (leaking) $197; water pump & thermostat $854. Replaced throttle body on 07/02/12. The key comes out of ignition switch while car is in motion, check engine light is on 8/7/13. The ECU replaced on 8/22/12, car wouldn't go over 25 mph and RPM stuck @ 1000. The radiator was replaced on 05/13/13, had a leak. The timing chain, water pump and plenum gasket was replaced on 06/03/13 and my check engine light and that etc light are still flashing in the dash. The reason "supposedly" now is that Chrysler issued a bulletin for mechanics to have car owners to return the vehicle to dealership and pay to replace the crankshaft position sensors and this is as of June 6, 2013. I don't have anymore money, time nor patience for this vehicle! obviously, it is a lemon, by no stretch of the imagination. The company should be ashamed of the obvious fraudulent advertisement of their products. I am seeking to sue the company. They knew vehicle was no good.

- Brandon, MS, USA

problem #15

Aug 232012


  • miles


I was driving with the A/C on and it just completely shut down. The air conditioning does not work at all now, wont light up or anything. Since this has happened, the air light has been on as well.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #14

Sep 292009

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact stated the vehicle would intermittently stall while driving various speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but offered no assistance. Updated 12/16/11

- Richmond, KY, USA

problem #13

Nov 252010

300 6-cyl

  • 144,000 miles
Motor locked.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #12

Apr 102009

300 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles


1. the events leading up to the failure. There are hundreds of reports on the internet about long term and systemic oil sludge problems causing sudden catastrophic engine failures in Dodge and Chrysler vehicles using the 2.7L V6 engine spanning from approx 1998-2005. My well maintained 2005 Chrysler 300 engine failed suddenly and dangerously while driving. And this was 1 month after paying the Chrysler dealer $850 to change the transmission fluid and coolant at factory suggested dates. With only 56,000 miles and oil changed every 5000 miles (owners manual suggests 7500) the Chrysler dealer initially wanted over $2000 to fix an unexplained internal water pump leak, and timing chain failure. Only after heated discussion did they back down and repair it for a $100 deductible under the 7/70 drivedrain warranty. 2. the failure, how often it occurs, its consequences. Simply using google and entering "Chrysler 2.7L engine failure" leads to hundreds of reports of suspected oil sludge (due to poor engine design and oil not flowing properly) that causes sudden and dangerous unexplained engine failure involving thousands of dollars. Chrysler and its dealers first attempt to blame customers for not changing the oil enough or using the right oil etc. In my case my dealer said "...Chrysler is being very quiet asking us to use all new parts and not giving us alot of information...". 3. what was done to correct the failure; I.e, parts repaired or replaced (and if old part is available). My dealer said Chrysler told them not to talk about it and to use new and modified parts they gave them and not to use any of the old parts.

- Acton, MA, USA

problem #11

Mar 012007


  • miles
Engine in 2005 Chrysler 300 limited has been using oil since bought. The car was but from the car dealerships owner. It was his wife's car and had 18,000 miles on it. Have taken it back to Chrysler dealership for service and have complained about the oil usage. To date they have done nothing to determine where the oil is going. Have notified Chrysler by certified letter with no response from them at all.

- Jenkinsburg, GA, USA

problem #10

Mar 012008

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
Engine failure on highway due to sludge. I have all proof of timely oil changes. Chrysler does not want to take responsibility.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 212007

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,000 miles
Engine light comes on and vehicle hesitates. Told by extended warranty company that there is a design flaw with my 2005 Chrysler 300. Dealership says there is a carbon build up on the valves and combustion chamber that causes the valves to stick creating a misfire. Updated 09/18/07

- Monroeville, PA, USA

problem #8

Jul 162007

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300C. The contact stated that the driver's seat failed to move and the vehicle would stall and shut off every two months. The failures usually occur without warning and while driving 15 mph. On July 17, 2007, the vehicle was towed to the dealer and they found nothing wrong. The current mileage is 37,000 and failure mileage was 8.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #7

Aug 012006

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
: the contact stated the vehicle stalled while making a left turn on multiple occasions. Also, the vehicle vibrated due to carbon build up. The engine vibrated until it would stall, and always stalled while making a left turn. The service dealer determined the vehicle needed a new ignition coil and cylinder heads.

- Streamwood, IL, USA

problem #6

Oct 132006

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 15 mph on a street, the instrument cluster panel and gauges intermittently flickered off and on, followed by the engine stalling without warning. Afterwards, the contact shut off the engine and restarted without further incident. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who was unable to duplicate the problem. The problem persisted, and the manufacturer was alerted.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #5

Feb 072005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25 miles
This is my second new Chrysler 300 passenger vehicle that has had the same problem. The problem occurs when the car is put into the reverse position. Once, you start to back-up the car cuts off. The first car was returned to the dealer and exchanged for a second new Chrysler 300. The same problem exists. The dealers mechanic said the problem was the "throttle". I believe this is a serious problem, because if it continues to cut off -- another car may hit me and cause an accident.

- Washington, Dc, DC, USA

problem #4

Sep 232005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
Have leased my Chrysler 300 C for a little over a year. The vehicle has had a random stalling issue which has occurred 3 times in the last year. Dealer was unable to reproduce the condition but did re-flash the PCM with a driveability update. Vehicle just recently stalled while turning left onto a main road. The vehicle stalled in the middle of traffic lanes and I was nearly hit by two vehicles while trying to restart the car. The car restarted and I promptly drove it to the dealership. I just received a call that they can not duplicate the problem but are investigating further. I do not feel that this vehicle is safe and am concerned that I may be injured or injure someone else in the event that the vehicle stalls in traffic again.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #3

Nov 122004

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,703 miles
Steering wheel vibrates speedometer goes from 65 to 40 engine light comes and stays on dates 2/24/05 4/1/25 4/11/05 4/25/05 the dealer wanted the consumer to continue driving the vehicle without determining what the problem was. The only the thing that they were willing to do was change the sparks plugs. There was also a whistling noise while on the freeway. The windshield was removed an re-installed. The air bag light illuminated on several occasions

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #2

Feb 152005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles
While making a left hand turn vehicle stalled. Consumer pulled over and restarted the vehicle. Dealership was notified, but did not resolve the problem. Updated 12/14/2005. The sunroof shattered when the consumer closed his door. The dealer claimed this occurred because the glass was binding in the track. The headliner was coming down in the rear..

- Riverview, FL, USA

problem #1

Jul 082004

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Intermittently while driving on California freeway between 55 to 65 mph vehicle stalled. This caused loss of steering and brakes. Dealership inspected vehicle several times, but could not duplicate or correct the problem.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?