Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
60,916 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler 300 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Dec 142005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Car was running and in park. When the driver took his foot off the brake, the car did not move and he was able to exit the car. After the driver exited the car and had taken a few steps, the car started to reverse. The driver went back to the car and his hand got caught in between the car door and a house. Another person got into the car on the passenger side and put the car into drive to pull forward and release the driver's hand. Dcx has a recall for this, but says the vehicle was not in recall because is was built one month before the vehicles being recalled. Dcx recall number is E14 and the NHTSA number is 05V460000.

- Warren, MI, USA

problem #13

Dec 012005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact states while stopping on an incline had to put foot on the brake pedal. Then, on the accelerator. The vehicle rolled backwards if she didn't keep foot on the brake. She contacted the dealership twice, but the vehicle has not been inspected. Also, the vehicle has been taken to the dealership twice concerning the flickering of the dashboard lights. The dealership was unable to duplicate the problem. Vehicle is still under warranty. Updated 1/11/2006 - the left front speaker made noise. The dealer flashed the PCM with new software to solve the problem of the dash lights flickering.

- Miramar , FL, USA

problem #12

Nov 062005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
I left my car running on park for a few minutes in front of my house, the car engaged it self in gear, drove itself in the garage and crashed. I have a video security system and the camera shows the car fully stopped for about 50 seconds and then it takes off. I called Chrysler, they sent an investigator and all he did was check to see if the car can be put in drive with out stepping on the brakes. I received a letter from Chrysler stating that they could not find anything wrong with my car, and that it is illegal to leave a car running unattended in the state of Florida.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #11

Mar 012005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles


The contact stated the front end shook, made noise, and pulling to the left. She took the vehicle to the dealership, and they replaced the tires. The vehicle shook for the first mile and a half. The contact stated because they were self sealing tires the material inside clumped up because of the cold weather. The tire manufacturer told her to take the vehicle to a tire dealership. The vehicle was towed. As a result, the pressure from being strapped down during towing caused the upper control arm bushing to pop out. Also, the tie rod end on the passenger's side needed to be replaced. The tire dealership told the contact to get those repaired before they could address the tire problem. The contact's husband was able to put the bushing back in, but no repairs have been made to the vehicle. The consumer had a transmission leak. Updated 01/11/06.

- Granite City, IL, USA

problem #10

Sep 132005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,540 miles
The contact's mother parked vehicle in a parking lot at a slight incline. She left the vehicle running. She got out of the vehicle, and the vehicle disengaged, knocking her down, and causing injuries. This vehicle came to a stop after hitting another vehicle. The vehicle repairs have not been made. The vehicle is still under warranty. Also, there, was NHTSA recall 05V460000.

- Pawling , NY, USA

problem #9

Nov 092005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15 miles
On Nov 9, 2005 I drove into my drive way and started turning to pull into the garage. My 2005C with hemi suddenly surged forward hitting my daughter's 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee. Her car had damage on the rear bumper and it was knocked about 15 or 20 feet. The front of my car was torn up. The air bag did not deploy but, thankfully no one was hurt. I have contacted Chrysler about the surge and they stated they have not had any complaints. I found one on this website about the car surging. This will effect my insurance and has been a problem for my family with two cars having to be repaired. I reported to Chrysler that twice that day the car had made a revving sound but had not surged forward. This is very dangerous and now makes me unsure about driving the car again. We bought this car new from benchmark Chrysler in January. The car is being repaired at trussville Mazda who does repair work for benchmark. They told us when it is repaired they will take it to benchmark to be checked out for defects. After reading the complaints on this message board I am not sure that will be of any value but, I am going to give them the benefit of the doubt until I hear from them. Does anyone know of a recall or similar happenings?

- Mccalla, AL, USA

problem #8

Nov 052005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,300 miles


The consumer had difficulty placing the vehicle into park. At times it rolled backward. The vehicle was taken to the dealership and they replaced a pin. The pin was not allowing the vehicle to stay in park. While driving the vehicle switched from drive to the neutral position. This caused the vehicle not to go anywhere. The vehicle was taken back to the dealership. They have not heard of this problem before, and have been unable to duplicate the problem. Updatd 12/07/05.

- Granada Hills, CA, USA

problem #7

Aug 052005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles
The contact stated heard clanking sound from the rear end. Contacted the dealership, and they said the transmission was going out. After they fixed the transmission 2000 miles later it went out again. He asked the dealership for a new transmission. After the initial time of fixing the transmission they didn't clean the transmission with a lint free cloth so it caused the transmission to clog up, causing the vehicle to stall. The second time to repair the transmission the parts will not be available until November 2005. The brake light comes on intermittently.. a technical service bulletin was issued concerning steering. The vehicle pulls to the right, after being fixed it pulled to the left. T he talked to the dealership about the air bag light coming on. They put it on a machine. He was told that there was a sensor that had to be replaced. They had to get the parts off the assembly line because they didn't have the parts to fix this vehicle.

- Almeda , CA, USA

problem #6

Jul 282005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,763 miles
The contact stated that there was an intermittent electrical transmission problem. While driving at any speed the service engine light will illuminate, and the transmission will shift into the lowest gear. The service dealer made four attempts to repair the vehicle. They did mention a service bulletin in regard to this problem. The dealership and the manufacturer advised him to continue to drive the vehicle until it happened again so that they could duplicate the problem. The contact stated that if he continued to drive the vehicle it would put him at a safety risk.

- Davenport, FL, USA

problem #5

Sep 012005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,322 miles
Chrysler 300 C series. In septembef 2005 the vehicle would not shift gears. When the contact took vehicle to dealer to be repaired they told him there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. While driving on September 21, 2005 the vehicle died. About 15 minutes later it started back. Then, on October 10, 2005 the vehicle died again. This time it caused another vehicle to swerve off the road. There were no injuries or crashes. When the contact took vehicle to dealer to be repaired they said that the air conditioner was leaking water and it caused the seals to mess up. The air conditioner leakage was normal leakage. The contact found a service bulletin 2101105 reva for the transmission.. the bulletin was sent out on April 23, 2005. The problem was with the design of the transmission.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #4

Jun 092005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles


2005 Chrysler town and country. The consumer states all of the fluid dumps out of the transmission and it no longer works. The vehicle is in the dealership for the third time. They originally stated the pan was defective. The dealership now states there is a hole in the crank case. The dealership cannot obtain a new crank case, so they are repairing the problem. The crank cases are on back order with no time frame.

- Oakdale, NY, USA

problem #3

Aug 082005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,494 miles
Transmission failure, A/C failure, am/fm stereo cd player failure, seat belt/airbag sensor failure.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #2

Jun 242005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Chrysler 300 touring sedan shifted into reverse with no operator action while traveling forward. This has happened twice. There has been no accident but the potential for serious accidents exist if this is a generic problem with the vehicle. Vehicle has been taken to dealer for repair.

- Fuquay-Varina, NC, USA

problem #1

Jan 152005

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The vehiclewas brought to freehold Chrysler for service for the engine light coming on, not shifting properly, hesitation, left and right side molding coming off, trunk latch broken and car pulling to the right. Freehold Chrysler stated they could not duplicate the problems and found no codes and the wheel alignment was done at a cost to me of $95, molding and trunk latch was replaced. We then brought the car back again for pulling to the right about 1 week later and again the told us it was fixed.the vehicle was not pulling as much but still was. About 2 weeks later the car was red lining, not shifting and stalling on her. We brought the car to eatontown Chrysler in which they found a transmission solenoid to be bad and replaced it. We then started to experience electrical problems such as rear window not working all the time and air bag light sometimes flashing on and off while driving and again hesitation when stating from stop. Also the moon roof interior shade opens to about an inch after driving to vehicle for about a week. We contacted freehold Chrysler about these problem and the previous wheel alignment and made an appointment for May 3, 2005. Now its May 8th and we have approx. 20,000 on the vehicle and we are being told the wheel alignment was completed based on a service bulletin and at no cost to us, even though we paid $95 originally, and the rest of the problems cannot be duplicated and there's nothing else they could do. I contacted the Chrysler Corp. Service center at 18009921997 and spoke to numerous people in reference to these problems and was told to take the car to another dealership and there's nothing else that they could do.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?