If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

5.3

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,451 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler 300 wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Nov 302009

300

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a 2005 300 in Nov of 2008, early in the new year I had to have the door locks examined for malfunctions and 3 tires had rim leaks, have recently repaired one of those tires again 02-09 had cold start issues severe knocking noise when starting car in cold temps, two rocker arms were replaced needlessly as problem not fixed turned out to be defective motor mounts, March 09 replaced tie rod ends and steering gear also strut tensions 6-09 airbag light sensor malfunction also door lock mech replaced 12-09 currently having the cold start issues again sunroof problems and a severe squeak when driving over speed bumps and dips in road also have had a very musty smell when activating fan for A/C or heat in certain weather mostly noticeable in rainy conditions this has been an ongoing problem since the spring of 09 I have never had so many problems with a used vehicle very disappointed in this product.

- Windsor, 00, USA

problem #25

Jan 162009

300 8-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The vehicle has Continental tires, size P/225/60/R18. The contact noticed abnormal tread wear on the tires. The dealer would not assist because the tires were not under warranty. The tires were replaced at the cost of $785. The contact still has possession of the tires and is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure mileage was 24,000 and current mileage was 25,000. Updated 3/19/09 updated 03/23/09.

- Hammonton, NJ, USA

problem #24

Feb 172007

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,567 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The vehicle has Continental tires. The contact noticed that all four tires had abnormal flat spots, as if they were out of round. He took the vehicle to the dealer and had the tires replaced with an identical set. The tires were also rotated. Shortly after the repair, he took the vehicle back to the dealer and had the two front tires replaced along with a wheel alignment. A technician from the dealer added that the tires were manufactured defectively. The contact still has possession of two of the tires. The manufacturer did not assist. The failure mileage was 18,567 and current mileage is 26,000. Updated 03/17/09. The steering rack and pinion was loose and had to be replaced. Updated 03/18/09.

- Chesnut Ridge, NY, USA

problem #23

Feb 012007

300

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Tie rod ends went out at 35,000 miles and again before 60,000 miles. Two sets, one under warranty one not. Having electrical problems with driver window, estimate over $400 - replaced tires before 60,000 - I "baby" this car and it still is not holding up! won't buy another Chrysler - ever.

- Milan, MI, USA

problem #22

Feb 102007

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
At 22,000 miles, the tires on my 2005 Chrysler 300C are completely worn. The tires are Continental 225/60R18 and should last at least 50,000 miles.

- Southaven, MS, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #21

Apr 172007

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
My wife's 2005 Chrysler 300 AWD pulls to the right. Dealer service center told me all tires have abnormal wear that was called cupping, and that they should not be rotated they are in the best position. Also, an alignment cannot be performed because of the wear, but all tires should be replaced and quoted a Goodyear tire price of $650. The tires are Continental CH95 with sealer. The car has aproximately 18,500 miles.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #20

Feb 222007

300 6-cyl

  • 16,385 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Chrysler 300 customer states that the tires were bad when he purchased the car and wants to be reimbursed* the consumers vehicle would not pass state inspection. The consumer discovered the tires were self sealing tires.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #19

Jul 212006

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,300 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300. The contact called regarding the Continental contitouring tires. While driving 45 mph he heard a loud noise. The driver side rear tire exploded, but the contact was able to maintain control of the vehicle. The road conditions were dry, and there were no injuries. The contact has the tire and pictures available. This was the second time this failure occurred. The tires were previously replaced by the manufacturer because they failed to balance. The tire mileage was 16,000. The current mileage was 43,000, and failure mileage was 43,000. Update 05/10/07

- Grundy, VA, USA

problem #18

Apr 042007

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,800 miles
Vibration in front end. Had tires balanced 5-10-15000. Dealer said tires were the problem early on. At less then 18000 tie rods replaced along with new set of 4 tires. Tie rods under warranty, no help on tires.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #17

Jan 152007

300

  • miles
I leased a 2005 300 C in December 2005. Currently, as of January 2007, I have 14000 miles on it. I took it to the dealer because it is pulling to the right and it shakes at 65 mph. They say I need four new tires and the tires are worn down completely. These are Continental self sealing tires. The dealer also stated that Chrysler is no longer putting these "crappy" tires on their cars. I am furious about replacing tires on a lease car that only has 14,000 miles on it!!!!! chrylser can keep their cars!

- Shelby Township, MI, USA

problem #16

Dec 052006

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2005 Chrysler 300 limited with 41,000 miles has had numerous problems. The latest problem is with the keyless remote entry keyfobs. Both fobs now do not work. The control panel indicated the battery was low. After replacing the battery, the panel still indicated the battery was low. After opening the spare fob to replace its battery, found the housing that holds the battery had completely separated from the circuit board. Took the car back to the original dealership, where all the other problems have been dealt with. The dealership told me since my car was now out of warranty (the car is only a little over 2 years old), I would have to pay $311 for two new key fobs and programming. In the meantime, I am dealing with locking the car, and then unlocking it through the door, letting the horn sound and the lights flash, looking as if I am stealing my own car until I can drop all my packages in my hand and get in behind the wheel and insert the key into the ignition. Other problems, after 15,000 miles, the Continental self sealing tires had to be replaced. Fight for this problem with Continental people! after numerous phone calls and faxes, Continental did replace the tires at a charge of $250 for four new tires. The navigation system on this car was replaced three times. The button which controls the view broke all three times. All the speakers have been replaced in the car. Since it is now out of warranty, they can't be replaced again. They sound awful and that is the way they have to stay until I can afford to upgrade my "premium" Chrysler stereo system with a premium system from an electronic store. The sunroof was not closing properly. Took it to the dealership before the warranty expired. They performed a "software update" and supposedly fixed the issue. Two weeks later, I took the car through a car wash and was flooded with water coming through the sunroof. Z

- O'fallon, MO, USA

problem #15

Dec 182005

300

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a new Chrysler 300C in the spring of 2005. After 13,000 miles, I am told the tires are bad and I am being told I have to buy four more tires. I am not aware that they are high performance tires and am being told that Continental will not cover the new tires.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #14

Jan 162006

300

  • miles
Goodyear integrity tires on new car worn to belt at 19,000 miles. I have been involved in 2 separate incidents where my car spun in a circle turning in an intersection at 10 miles an hour.

- Mauston, WI, USA

problem #13

Jan 042006

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
Tires on Chrysler 300C need to be replaced at 15,000 miles. Tire is Continental contitouring contact CH95. May be safety issue as consumers are not expecting to replace tires so early. Continental says tires not covered until consumer replaces them, and Chrysler did not disclose these are very high performance tires and would need to be replaced every 15,000-20,000 and say they cannot do anything either. This may also be a problem on the Dodge charger and magnum also. Very pleased with the car, but not with tire wear and possibility of accident resulting from premature tire wear.

- Lyons, CO, USA

problem #12

Mar 012005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,500 miles
The contact stated the front end shook, made noise, and pulling to the left. She took the vehicle to the dealership, and they replaced the tires. The vehicle shook for the first mile and a half. The contact stated because they were self sealing tires the material inside clumped up because of the cold weather. The tire manufacturer told her to take the vehicle to a tire dealership. The vehicle was towed. As a result, the pressure from being strapped down during towing caused the upper control arm bushing to pop out. Also, the tie rod end on the passenger's side needed to be replaced. The tire dealership told the contact to get those repaired before they could address the tire problem. The contact's husband was able to put the bushing back in, but no repairs have been made to the vehicle. The consumer had a transmission leak. Updated 01/11/06.

- Granite City, IL, USA

problem #11

Oct 202005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,154 miles
Tires defective, I own a 300C Chrysler vehicle that have Continental tires on it size 225/60hr/18 that am being told by my dealership [meadowlands of carmel, NY) that they need to be replaced, these tires should have lasted 60,000 miles and my vehicle only has 21,000 miles on it, and Continental would only give me 50 dollars per tire, was also informed by service rep billy O'brien that they had another 300C that tires had to be replaced at 12,000 miles, and these tires are after market and they have less tread on them. If anything becomes of this letter I would like the Continental tires that are put on Chrysler vehicles looked into, this could become a safety problem, accident waiting to happen. The tire size I mention was not listed on your form so I just clicked what you had.

- Putnam Valley, NY, USA

problem #10

Sep 282005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
Tires on 2005 Chrysler 300C prematurely wore out, dealer referred to Continental tires, Continental tires made modest and ineffective adjustment. Tires were rotated every 4 to 5000 miles and 95% of driving was highway. Only tire made for his car is Continental. Forced to buy same tire again.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #9

Aug 272005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,049 miles
Rapid wear of tires on new car. Severely cupped and down to tread wear indicators in under 20000 miles. Tire manufacturer and car manufacturer unresponsive in replacement of tires.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

problem #8

Aug 032005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
Rapid wear of tires on new car. Severely cupped and down to tread wear indicators in under 12000 miles. Tire manufacturer and car manufacturer unresponsive in replacement of tires.

- New Lexington, OH, USA

problem #7

Aug 062005

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,000 miles
Rapid wear of tires on new car. Severely cupped and down to tread wear indicators in under 19000 miles. Tire manufacturer and car manufacturer unresponsive in replacement of tires.

- Lancaster, OH, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?