Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
87,049 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler 300 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #109

Nov 062015

300

  • 35,780 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car began misfiring at 35100 miles. After extensive repairs now the idle flutters and engine has shut off in traffic

- Pelham, AL, USA

problem #108

Oct 212015

300

  • 139,000 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Chrysler 300. After driving the vehicle approximately 20 miles and parking it in the driveway, there was a burning odor inside the vehicle. Approximately 15 minutes later, a pedestrian alerted the contact that there was smoke underneath the hood of the vehicle. Soon after, the front of the vehicle was engulfed in flames. The fire department extinguished the fire and filed a report. The vehicle was not towed to the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The approximate failure mileage was 139,000.

- Youngsville, NC, USA

problem #107

Oct 132013

300

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. While driving approximately 30 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was able to restart after two attempts. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #106

May 252014

300

  • 186,718 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine just went out no warning had cut off an would not start.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #105

May 292015

300

  • 124,496 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the engine stalled while driving 50 mph. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the alternator and engine malfunctioned and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 124,496.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #104

Aug 202015

300

  • 60,000 miles
I first noticed surging at idle when in gear, this grew into stalling during stops and now is stalling/stumbling while driving. I've had multiple times where the car would completely stall while moving and had high potential for danger. I have no engine light and no engine codes. This car is an srt8 and driven very seldom, especially now. It's actually parked now due to this issue. The maintenance has always been meticulous and mechanics have come up dry with trying to figure this out.

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #103

Sep 102015

300

  • 121,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After work I was driving home as usuall down a very busy main road with alot of traffic and light controlled intersections. I was about 25 min away from home when I was beginnign to make a lane change and excellerate over to the right lane. As I began to get over without a warning or notice my power steering went out and I was unable to turn my wheel without excessive force. As I continued to cost into the other lane and grab ahold of the steering I realized not only did this shut off but the engine did as well. I guided the car to the safest place I could (still in the middle of the intersection and put the car in park. Hundreds of cars drove by honking and swearing at me leaving me stuck in my vehicle as it was to unsafe to get out. After about 15 min of that streess a helpful older man helped push me to a safer part of the street until my boyfriend could get to me and have the car towed home. After a week and a half and close to 500 later I was called with the news that a cylindar collapsed causing my engine to fail. It would be a 7,000-9,000 repair at the least. The problem with this is that I still owe 13000 on this vehicle and it barely blue books at 10000. So why would I pay the money when I have never had an issue with this vehicle in the 3 years of owning it and had no warning or way to prevent it. I always took my car to a dealer to be maintenced and never missed an oil change so how could this be happening to me. Now I am stuck with a car in front of my house that doesnt work and had to purchase another vehicle in the mean time while I am dealing with trying to make chrylser responsible for this horrible situation. I have done massive research on this issue and learned that this year is already known for this issue and found over 200 compaints with people just like me who this happened to. Please help me to get this repair covered or my car purchased back.

- Richmond, CA, USA

problem #102

Jul 242015

300

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. While driving approximately 45 mph, the accelerator pedal became stuck and the rpms and speed increased without warning. The contact crashed into a concrete pillar. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but the cause of the failure was unable to be determined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000. Updated 12/01/15

- Douglas, GA, USA

problem #101

Jul 232015

300

  • 81,000 miles
Started car the next day after fueling car the night before at gas station on the corner from my home it started riding real slow it making funny noise when it started riding better, but got in the car the next day no start car was taken to 2 mechanic shop 1st one you need a engine did not believe it 2nd shop broke it down need engine full of oil changed every 3 months only problem had was that plastic ring on when car would not get out of gear which I'm not the only one that this has happened too now I have no car only had for 4/ years and this has happen a lot wow wasted money and I always let this car run before I moved because years ago my grand father said Chrysler were cold nature cars warm them up I was not even ready for my tune-up.

- Chicago Heights, IL, USA

problem #100

Dec 212011

300

  • 45,788 miles
Owner of Chrysler 300 and have taken car in every 3,000 miles as instructed by service center at dealership where I bought it. It appears dealer was notified May 27, 2015 about air bag but never called to put me on alert. Took the car to the dealer once I got the recall notice and was told it would be 6 to 8 working days. Called on day 9 and it wasn't in. Told them I need the car for appointments and to go to work. Was told to call Chrysler in detroit about that problem. I will call dealer once a week until fixed. In the past I've requested a check on the sun roof and they never got the person out to check it. Said it was expensive. Asked them to check trunk because when it rains or after car washes collapses and slams shut. I was told, "there's nothing wrong with it." Has gotten me in the head twice. I'm pulling service receipts to check other problems. Radio goes bing bing when I turn it on and continues for a while after the radio comes on. Answer from service dept: "never heard that before". gps system won't work. Tried to use it and it sent a message: Check the disc drive (words to that affect) tried to check disc drive and can't get it to open. Button is frozen. Tow truck driver was out to charge a battery in another car and heard the tick tick going on in the Chrysler. He said take it in... he lost an engine because he didn't. they fixed it once and told me I got it in just in time. It's ticking again. Car appears to be in a total state of failure. Fix its: Plug adapter 7-19-13; lever shift kit (car won't come of park) 7/19/13; adj tire pressure rating - $10 for technician 1/26/13; replace right head - rocker arm inlet and exhaust 12/21/11; $640 for 30,000 mile checkup and flushed engine; never once told me there were major problems. 66,254 miles.

- Glendora, CA, USA

problem #99

Feb 152014

300

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. While driving approximately 55 mph on the highway, the vehicle stalled and shut off without warning. The contact pulled over to the side of the road, restarted the vehicle after a few minutes, and drove home. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised the contact to take the vehicle to an independent mechanic since there was no Chrysler dealer at that location. The mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure, but recommended that the fuel and fuel cap be replaced. The failure recurred several times, but the engine could be restarted each time. The manufacture did not offer any assistance and stated that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- Lagrande, KY, USA

problem #98

Sep 022015

300

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. While driving and turning left or right at unknown speeds, the engine seized. The vehicle's gear was placed in the park position, but would not restart. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 132,000.

- Mareno Valley, CA, USA

problem #97

Apr 072013

300

  • 77,430 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. While driving at various speeds, the engine stalled and all of the warning indicators illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. After numerous attempts, the engine restarted. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,430.

- Little Rock , AR, USA

problem #96

Aug 272015

300

  • 60,577 miles
I drive a 2006 300C hemi w/60K miles.I bought this car from a friend. This car has been in this city since 2006. Mid day temps 105'. I was running errands in town. I had stopped at 7 different locations, turned the vehicle off and a few minutes later returned to the car and continued with my errands. I was in the car sitting at a 4 lane intersection waiting for my turn and I looked down at the dash and the oil can light came on, then traffic started to move and I couldn't, my car had stalled. I turned off the A/C unit, the radio and put it in park. I tried 6 or so times to get the car to start but it wouldn't.I engaged my flashers while other drivers were honking and driving around me.I left it in traffic and got to the sidewalk out of danger. I was calling for help when a motorist pulled up behind my car and asked whats wrong. I told him it just died, sitting still waiting for our turn to go thru the intersection. He got in the car that had been sitting there for about 5 minutes and it started right up and he drove it to a safe parking lot. I parked the car in my garage and there it sits. I am afraid to get stranded in traffic again. I did some research on the web and found that Chrysler announced on Feb 13, 2014 Chrysler extends lifetime warranty on 2006, 5.7 and 6.1 hemi fuel tanks. Apparently, no one has died yet so it does not quality for a recall but this is a known problem. I would like to know how I can qualify for this warranty?

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #95

Jul 012015

300

  • 120,000 miles
Car goes into limp mode getting on the interstate. Stalls/shuts off at stop sign. Runs for about 10 minutes and shuts completely down while parked.

- Glennville, GA, USA

problem #94

Apr 012012

300

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. While driving at 70 mph, the vehicle stalled. In addition, while in park, the vehicle independently started and jerked and the engine and steering wheel made abnormal noises. The contact also stated that the steering wheel seized and as contact attempted to turn the vehicle off, the key failed to turn and remained in the on position. All interior lights flickered. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the engine needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- San Jose , CA, USA

problem #93

Aug 032015

300

  • 48,000 miles
Car was in the shop at the event time. I got called because my Chrysler 300 2006 would not move from park position. Will cost $435.95 to replace the gear assembly. This happened while in their care. Called Chrysler headquarters and will not make it good on their end. Even as many 300's of 2006 have had this problem my VIN along with theirs is not listed yet they are all over the internet. 48000 miles about one owner me.

- New Iberia, LA, USA

problem #92

Jul 072015

300

  • 114,000 miles
My 300 is my baby. In town miles, stored during winters, accident, none! shes mint but having said that, why the hell can U be driving down a road and the engine blows, no warning, no lights came on. I took my car in for its check ups, just 3 days prior, oil changes, all an im stranded, having it be my only car, yeah it gets towed. I have 2 children battling life illnesses I need a car, I had a licensed mechanic confirm the engines blown, now a garage ornament, sitting on brand new 22's rims an tires, $3000 tht I cant use but im paying on all B cuz ur guys Chrysler 300 have a major engine defect!. I had cleaned out my acct just to buy another vehicle. Going from work to cancer center, to krons clinics, hospitals weekly I had no choice. I am not the only one, there are websites alot of Chrysler 300 engines are blowing up at 100,000. Miles we need to be paid back, engines replaced and much more being we the people had faith these luxury cars would last longer and Chrysler has let us down.

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #91

Jun 302015

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. While at a stop light, the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic; however, the contact was unsure about what part needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the failure was unable to be diagnosed. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Durham , NC, USA

problem #90

Jul 032015

300

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while pulling into the driveway, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle failed to restart. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer nor was it diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?