Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
90,406 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler 300 fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Oct 282014

300 8-cyl

  • 120,559 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This has been going on for at least 6 months. Everytime I fill my tank up with gas, stop at a stop light, the car cuts off. It cuts off everytime I stop after filling the tank. Yesterday 10/28/2014, I filled and got on the highway, slowed to traffic and almost died. A car was coming full speed behind me, there was nothing I could do but pray. The car started and I was able to pull off. I had panic attach and I refuse to drive this car again! please help!!

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #30

Aug 152014

300 8-cyl

  • 33,365 miles
Always after fueling, car will stall several times, until it stays running. May stall as soon as start eng.,or start to drive off, or down the road or freeway. Or at stop signs, or lights.

- Granite City, IL, USA

problem #29

Sep 162014

300 8-cyl

  • 104,000 miles
My Chrysler 300 2006 has been stalling at low speeds and when stopped after refueling. I took the vehicle to the dealership to have them check the problem for the first time in June. They did not find anything so I continued to deal with the issue until September because the issue got worse and stalled on the expressway. I received a notice from Chrysler about my vehicle having a recall and to set up service. Only after I brought the notice to the dealer did the acknowledge that this was the reason my car was stalling so much. They said the repairs were covered under warranty and they would order the fuel tank. This was over a month ago the dealership still has not received the parts. I recently was in a car accident because of this defect, my vehicle stalled on on the road and caused a 4 car pile up. I have contacted Chrysler and they are not trying to resolve the issue.

- Glenwood, IL, USA

problem #28

Oct 042011

300 8-cyl

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In April of 2014 I informed my local Chrysler dealer of a stalling problem on our Chrysler 300C. This problem first occurred in 2011 after fueling the vehicle and pulling into traffic. The engine did restart and cleared itself out right away. I complained to the dealer and at that time I'm guessing it was a new issue because " we have never heard of that". after doing some research I found out others were also having this problem after fill up. In Feb 2014 I read an article about a lifetime warranty on these and other LX platform Chrysler on these tanks. Back to the dealership I go with this information and the local dealer put me on a waiting list. In Sept. 2014 we were told we were next on the list for a new tank. It is now late October and still no tank. The dealership told me there were 2000 of these tanks on backorder and the would be distributed as they are built. Today I called the Chrysler support line. The lady was very sympathetic. She called my dealer and somehow I went from next on the list to #3 on the list. I now feel that the bean counters think a lot of the cars will somehow go away and then so will the problem. A few stalled vehicles involved in lethal crashes caused by this stalling issue linked to the fuel shut off float sticking may be what it takes. We know that by only fueling the tank to 3/4 full we do not have the problem. If we should trade this vehicle the next owner needs to know that there is a lifetime warranty on the tank but there is no parts support.

- Deland, FL, USA

problem #27

Jan 222013

300

  • 70,000 miles
After filling the gas tank, in phoenix, AZ, entering an intersection, the car stalled! we were almost hit by a car coming from another direction. It did this (stalling) many times. Scary! apparently they issued an internal memo in June of 2013. In may, 2014 Chrysler sent a letter to us extending the gas tank warranty to a lifetime coverage. They said it was the "fuel shut-off float, in the multifunction control valve sticks, which may result in the vehicle stalling after refueling." "simply contact your dealer to have the re pairs performed". challenge is: The dealers do not have any fuel tanks. Glendale, ca Chrysler has a waiting list of 2,276 yesterday, October 1, 2014. We are and have been #8 at hunter Dodge in lancaster, ca since early May. We never fill the tank. It is too great a risk! help please.

- Bishop, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #26

Sep 262014

300

  • 138,000 miles
I was on the highway and the car completely power down and shut off. I was able to pull over to the side of the road waited a few mintues and restarted the car. The car is continuing to stall out. This is very dangerous this will happening at high speeds.

- Pembroke, NC, USA

problem #25

Sep 152014

300

  • 163,323 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shortly after I filled up my car it started stalling out. I was on the freeway and the car completely power down and shut off. I was able to pull over to the side of the road waited a few minutes and restarted the car. The car is continuing to stall out and I don't know what else to do. I have been to the dealership and they are not aware of what to do and just want me to bring it in an let it sit. But I need transportation that does not stall out and it is very dangerous my children were with me in the car when I lost power.

- Port Huron, MI, USA

problem #24

Aug 162014

300 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Vehicle stalls while driving. One night while slowing down from 70 mph to 55 mph vehicle hesitated but did not stall, check enginge light came on and went off. Next morning vehicle stalled while sitting at a stop sign, restarted and then stalled again after less then two blocks. Took it to mechanic he could not find anything wrong, vehicle drove fine for a few days, then stalled again. Called Chrysler customer service and was instructed to take vehicle to dealer and tell them about X-53 warranty. Dealership checked vehicle and stated it was infact the fuel tank and would order the replacement. Told me I was in line to recevie a replacement but they only receive one replacment fuel tank every 14 business days. Car was driving fine for 2 weeks now it's stalling again, does not matter amount of gas in tank car stalls at different speeds and when coming to a stop. Contacted Chrysler to see if there was anyway the shipping/ordering of tanks could be increased and this time they tell me my vehicle is not covered under the extended warranty and I had to pay out of pocket if I wanted to have the vehicle repaired. Can this case be re-opened to look at all Chrysler 19 gallon fuel tanks not just the ones on the X53 extened warranty listing. Thanks

- Converse, TX, USA

problem #23

Feb 132013

300

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. Immediately after refueling the vehicle, the vehicle stalled without warning while idling at a traffic light. The vehicle restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure occurred several times. The dealer stated that the fuel tank multi-function control failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Medford, NY, USA

problem #22

Feb 042014

300

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that whenever refueling to capacity the vehicle would stall. The contact was able to restart the vehicle each time. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the contact was advised of a manufacturer's recall however, the contact's vehicle was not included. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #21

Jan 162014

300

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that after refueling, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified about the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 92,253.

- Gretna, LA, USA

problem #20

Nov 232012

300

  • 44,237 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. The contact stated while making a turn the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the entire fuel tank needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 44,237 and the current mileage was 58,000. Updated 05/28/14 updated 7/9/14

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #19

Nov 122013

300 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that immediately after refueling, the vehicle would stall without warning. The contact spoke with an independent mechanic, who stated that the fuel tank needed to be dropped in order to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 39,860. Updated 05/28/14 the consumer stated the gas tank valve was the cause of the failure. Updated 05/30/2014

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #18

May 162012

300

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that immediately after refueling, the vehicle stalled without any warning. The contact mentioned that the failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer for a diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 62,000.

- Paso Robles, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 012013

300

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that immediately after refueling, the vehicle stalled without any warning. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 120,000.

- Colbert, OK, USA

problem #16

Aug 122013

300

  • 86,000 miles
TL-the contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. The contact stated while at a complete stop, the engine stalled with the illumination of unknown warning indicators. Upon restarting, the vehicle resumed normally. The failure occurred only when the fuel tank was filled to the full capacity. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic and dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000.

- Addison, IL, USA

problem #15

Jan 172014

300

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that gasoline was entering into the engine. The mechanic stated that the entire fuel tank would need to be replaced, in addition to several other unknown repairs. The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #14

Mar 012012

300

  • 75,000 miles
Every time we get the car filled with gas it stalls until we drive and restart it for 2 or 3 miles. It is very dangerous and I am afraid that there will be someone that runs into me during one of the stalls. I replaced the gas cap but that did not help the problem. I went on line and now see that it is a very common problem. There should be a recall by Chrysler to immediately correct this very serious problem!!!

- Columbus, NJ, USA

problem #13

Jun 282013

300

  • 50,000 miles
Everytime the car was filled up, it stalls a few times. This had been happening a lot during this pst year and still currently happens. Luckily I was able to pull over when the car stalled, otherwise it will create accident. This is dangerous when driving on the crowded traffic. After it stalls couple times, the engine got clogged and it is difficult to start(this was the same time-dame day after filling up the tank). I brought it to the mechanic and he said he can't find anything since at the time he got the car to check, it doesn't stall.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jun 172013

300 8-cyl

  • 100,850 miles
Car stalls after refueling. Difficult to restart and leaves you in a very dangerous situation. We've had it completely stall going 70 mph down the interstate and almost was involved in an accident while limping to the shoulder. Too dangerous to re-merge after car finally restarts because it will hesitate and misfire or stall again. This will happen about every 2 months with no symptoms between incidents. Also seems to happen more in hotter weather.

- Fenton, MO, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?