Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,106 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chrysler 300 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #69

Mar 012014

300

  • 50,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car couldn't be taken out of park. Finally broke into the shifter lever by removing the covers (very tricky to do, as I didn't have my tools), so my husband wouldn't have to come pick me up an hour away. I almost didn't figure this out, so lucky for me I kept trying it. There are lots (many, many) sites that talk about this same problem on Chrysler 300S, including youtube (which shows how to unscrew the whole thing), and automotive forums. There are some small neon pink plastic pieces that keep the shifter lever working properly, the only thing keeping the car from becoming a giant paperweight (unless one knows to pull apart the covers all the way to access the gears/wires - not a reasonable thing to expect from most consumers). For now, I have to pull a wire to get out of park. Happens when put in reverse also. This also leads to ppl keeping their foot on the brake instead of going into park, just so they don't have to mess with the wire. We have people accidentally going forward and hitting things as they try to stay in drive rather than putting it into park, while talking to someone they know on the street/sidewalk and forgetting to keep their foot on the brake, (be it at a slow speed, but still not good if children get in the way while one isn't paying attention). I will be taking the car back to dealer to see what can be down about it. This is definitely a problem for anyone relying on their car being able to do simple things like shift into drive (or really anything other than 'park'), and is a safety risk due to drivers attempting to use the car. What could have disturbed these plastic pieces is my mile long dirt driveway that is a little bumpy and very wet currently. I would really like to see something done on this, so that other people don't go through the same problem as I did. Thank you!

- Huntsville, TX, USA

problem #68

Jan 312014

300

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that she attempted to take the vehicle out of park but the gear shift would not move. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for inspection but the cause of failure was unknown. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 145,000.

- Rex, GA, USA

problem #67

Aug 152013

300

  • 119,416 miles
Driving 45 mph accidentally bumped gearshift into neutral brakes locked up unable to steer. Placed vehicle off road then attempted shift from park vehicle will not come out of park. You must remove the shifter cover to shift from park.

- Live Oak, FL, USA

problem #66

Oct 012013

300

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the transmission began to shift out of gear in a jerking motion without warning. On a separate occasion the gear lever failed to shift out of park. A certified mechanic inspected the vehicle and detected that the gear lever assembly would need to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number 06V341000 (power train) however, the VIN was not included in the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Ooltewah, TN, USA

problem #65

Jul 012013

300 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
Check engine light on for P1004 cel"intake short runner control valve actuator, a tsb is listed as Chrysler knowingly acknowledges a faulty part and has issued a tsb repair cost approx $2000 for a know defective actuator that may be stuck due to a poor design, will not pass California emissions due to cel Chrysler will not honor under warranty that expired in July, attempted to get repaired at dealer was denied said was not covered, should have been repaired under warranty, or at least emissions warranty that is 7 years or 100000 miles from my understanding. Please advise.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #64

Sep 072013

300

  • miles
The shifter in my vehicle has an interlock latch that isn't part of a recall. There was a recall on the same make and model of cars that were made after mine. Many people with the same make & model have had issues with this yet it isn't part of this recall. If it is a known issue I don't understand why it is not being corrected for all of these parts. It shouldn't be the responsibility of the owner when the maker is aware that this part is in fact faulty.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #63

Aug 282013

300 6-cyl

  • 75,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 8/28/13, I got in the vehicle and started it went to move it out of park and the gear-shift would not move. I also looked in the manual it has an override which didn't work. I called a mechanic and he informed me that he had to replace the exact same piece on his vehicle about 3 months prior.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #62

Aug 242013

300

  • 38,400 miles
On 8-25-13, car stuck in park. 8-26-13 at darcars Chrysler to fix. Is this a continuing problem? and is their a recall on this problem, if not it should be. This is a safety problem.

- Brentwood, MD, USA

problem #61

Aug 142013

300 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
I have a 2007 Chrysler 300 that is stuck in park. I'm aware of the K39 recall & after calling was told the dates of being built was June 25-Sept 21 2007 is the actual recall & mine was built May 30 2007, so by less than 30 days my car is not covered under the recall. The recall included 28,000 plus cars. Obviously the problem is beyond those dates listed above. The problem needs further investigated. So due to just shy of a month I'm without a car. I can't afford to have it towed & repaired at approx $300 to $400 per the dealership. I feel & believe strongly that my car should be included in this recall & should be repaired at the cost of Chrysler. As stated per Chrysler: "at Chrysler group llc, you can be assured that we are changing the way we look at quality. To prove our commitment to quality, the company is investing in and prioritizing improvements for every vehicle that we build. As part of that commitment, we are also targeting existing vehicles on the road today and contacting our customers to provide these quality improvements, at no charge, that will help to improve your ownership satisfaction. We are recommending the following improvements be performed on some 2005 through 2007 model year Dodge charger, magnum and Chrysler 300 equipped with a floor shifter. The transmission gear shift lever interlock return spring hook on your vehicle may break. A broken interlock return spring hook will result in the inability to move the gear shift lever out of the "park" position." Please contact me with further instructions to get my car at cost of Chrysler since it is a huge known problem. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bethalto, IL, USA

problem #60

Aug 082013

300

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the vehicle could not be shifted into drive. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Cutoff, LA, USA

problem #59

Aug 072013

300

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shifter could not be moved out of park. A certified mechanic inspected the vehicle and stated that the transmission interlock lever needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000. The VIN was not available.

- Hillsboro, NC, USA

problem #58

Jul 152013

300 6-cyl

  • 74,465 miles
Vehicle was parked;vehicle would not shift from park, immediately after driving.vehicle towed to hendrick Chrysler for repair.vehicle was recalled, Feb.2007 ref.#F50. I purchased same from listed dealer,10-12-2007 and vehicle was not serviced reference the noted recall before selling to me(months later);I was never advised of same recall.my vehicle meets all criteria for recall, I.e.,time of manufacture, VIN. Number specifications, plus, same symptoms noted in recall matches my breakdown symptoms(plus the un-reprogrammed computer factors into the breakdown.I have documentation of same).I called Chrysler today for repair reimbursement costs and a [xxx], hid behind the"typical" Chrysler response to this issue that I have read in numerous reviews on-line about this problem, being:"your VIN. # does not fall within range." I have paperwork which was on www.safecars.gov, that states otherwise.also, I have all needed documents to rebut the idea that my VIN.# disqualifies my claim'some generated by Chrysler.yet Chrysler believes it only has to use words to me and others to escape any and all product responsibility. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hope Mills, NC, USA

problem #57

Jul 172013

300 6-cyl

  • 140,019 miles
Vehicle cranks just fine, but I cannot shift it from 'park' into any other gear - it is locked in 'park'. internet searches identify this is a common problem for several Chrysler vehicles; the problem is a cheap, plastic, "pink" shift interlock mechanism that breaks. Although apparently common, Chrysler has not initiated a recall for this part. I talked to service managers at two different regional Chrysler dealerships and then called the Chrysler '800' number to complain. They all told me the same thing - I am on my own in repairing this part; it is not covered by warranty nor recall. However, my small town service manager says he fixes 2-3 of these Chrysler problems every week (at owners expense since they can't take it the 30 miles to the nearest Chrysler dealership), and he is sure that there is a recall for this part. He replaces the broken shift interlock mechanism with the redesigned Chrysler part! Chrysler needs to be forced to initiate a recall on this part and to reimburse owners who have had to have the part repaired at their expense.

- Carmine, TX, USA

problem #56

Jul 072013

300

  • 98,076 miles
My car will not shift out of park. I called dealership, and they told me my car did not qualify.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #55

Jun 112013

300

  • 29,930 miles
Gear shift would not move from park to drive-vehicle has less than 30,000 miles for this safety switch to already malfunction.

- Lexington, NC, USA

problem #54

May 312013

300

  • 61,500 miles
I came out of the work on 5/30/13, and started the car. I tried to shift the gear from park, but it would not budge. I turned the car off and on several times to make sure that the car was on. The gear shift still didn't move. I called the dealership to ask what was happening. They told me that this is a very common issue. And asked me for the VIN # I gave it to them and the told me my car was not on the recall list if this is such a widespread problem as the service technician said it was, why has there not been a recall issued for all of 2007 and not just for a couple of months.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #53

Sep 052012

300 8-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
When shifting into drive or reverse, there is a noticable delay in responding since I purchased the car in Sept. 2011. I purchased the car with 67,000 miles, and now has 83,000 miles. There is also a dangerous pause/delay that occurs when attempting to accelerate, especially in traffic. Once the transmission catch, it makes the car lunge in either to the right or left depending on direction of front tires. I have taken car to the dealer who indicated the 300 hemi does that with the electronic transmission because of the power of the engine and nothing can be done. This is a serious safety issue that should be repaired by Chrysler and not the owner.

- Capitol Heights, MD, USA

problem #52

May 202013

300

  • 75,970 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shifter could not be moved from park. The console panel was removed in order to engage the emergency mechanism located under the gear shift interlock lever. The temporary fix allowed the contact to shift the gear lever out of park however, when the vehicle was stationary, the gear had to be shifted into neutral with the emergency brake engaged. The manufacturer issued a customer satisfaction program related to the transmission shifter interlock lever. The contact was advised that the VIN was not included in the manufacturer's customer satisfaction program. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 75,970.

- Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #51

May 112013

300

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shifter failed to move from park to drive. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for diagnosis where it was advised that the shift level needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Smellville, GA, USA

problem #50

May 022013

300

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact started the ignition and attempted to shift the gear lever however, the gear would not shift out of park. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence where a certified mechanic inspected the vehicle. The shift interlock was replaced. There was a voluntary recall issued by the manufacturer regarding the transmission shift interlock level. The manufacturer was notified and they informed the contact that the VIN was not included in the recall. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Haslet, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?