Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,181 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chrysler 300 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Jul 182008


  • 40,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shift was stuck in park. To avoid being stuck in park, the contact shifted into neutral and used the parking brake in order to park the vehicle. She then noticed that while shifting gears it didn't function normally. The contact was informed by the manufacturer that the vehicle was not included in recall 06V341000 (power train:automatic transmission). The vehicle had not been repaired for the shifting failure. The contact stated that when it rained hard outside, there were large amounts of water in the trunk; she stated that she had to vacuum at least a gallon of water out. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who repaired the electrical system as it was damaged due to the water. The failure occurred again. The current mileage was 84,032. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #18

Apr 022011

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shift selector remained stuck in park. The manufacturer advised her to have the vehicle towed to the local dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 26,000. Updated 05/24/11 the consumer stated he replaced the shifter assembly himself. Updated 05/26/11

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #17

Apr 032011

300 6-cyl

  • 59,900 miles
I have a 2007 Chrysler 300 and it is right under 60,000 miles. It is stuck in park and wont release even with the pink switch. I did some research on line with this problem.. apparently it is a common thing. I took it in to repair this and I have maximum lifetime care and it won't even cover replaceing this. There should be a recall on this.

- Sherwood, AR, USA

problem #16

Jan 172008

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,548 miles


2007 Chrysler 300 touring. Consumer states problems with shifting and power the consumer stated the vehicle would stall and then the throttle light and esp/trac light illuminated. The dealer replaced the shifter assembly. The engine light illuminated and the dealer replaced the upper intake and egr O-ring. The consumer then stated there was a noise coming from the shifter. The dealer found a delaxed engagement and the pump whined when the engine was revved. The dealer removed the transmission cleaned and inspected all the internal parts. The pump and output shaft seal were replaced.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #15

Oct 032010

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact started the ignition and observed that the gear selector would not shift out of the park position. The failure mileage was approximately 75,000. The dealer replaced the shifter assembly. Updated 01/04/11

- San Bernardino, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 152010


  • miles
Whenever the car (2007 Chrysler 300 touring) is put into "park" without the emergency brake engaged to hold the car in place, it is very difficult to disengage the transmission from park to any other gear selection when restarting the car and attempting to move it. While I know it is good driving practice to use the emergency brake when parked, it is a must in this vehicle or the transmission gear selector will be very difficult to move. The problem has existed since the vehicle was new. I have not attempted a repair, but religiously apply the parking brake only after shifting into neutral, taking my foot off the brake pedal until the car settles, then putting it into "park."

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #13

Aug 032010


  • 52,368 miles


No warning was given. I was leaving work on August 3rd, the car wouldn't move out of park. It was stuck in "park". I called the dealership and he said this was a common problem in Chrysler cars. My car is a 2007 Chrysler 300. 52,000 miles...we have a lifetime warranty on the car and thought that would be covered. When I called Chrysler, they said the "gear shift" was not covered under the extended warranty. He proceeds to tell me it will cost $150 to tow it; $150 diagnostic test to determine what the problem is before they can say whether or not the warranty covers it...and if it doesn't, then I will have to pay for the diagnostic test and the price to fix a.50 cents plastic, which is $406!!! $706 to fix a "known problem" in Chrysler cars. The "gear shifts" in these vehicles should be replaced. There are many blogs on the internet about this "common problem". Chrysler needs to issue a recall on "gear shifts" that get stuck in "park" or fix the known problem for free!!!!

- Cedar Hill, TX, USA

problem #12

May 232010


  • miles
I own a 2007 300....I purchased it 2/13/2009...on 5/23/2010 I got in my car to go to work an I could not shift the car out of I have no way to get to work...on top of that I lost my job due to having no way to get to work....I been checking on line...this should be a recall due to this happening with tons of 300's...

- Breaux Bridge, LA, USA

problem #11

May 032010


  • 94,000 miles
Car shifter locked up and could not get vehicle out of "park", after trying really hard to put it into drive, I was able to get the shifter to change to "drive, but when I got home I had to put extra pressure on the shifter to get to park. This is extremely unsafe because the car could roll by itself since it is extremely hard to place the shifter in park.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #10

Jan 152008


  • 88 miles
I bought my Chrysler 300 brand new from dealer in August 2007. My first new car. The automatic transmission and torque converter are the problem. From day one there is intermittant ":clunking" when it shifts. Park to reverse. Drive to park. But the scary one is when I'm driving, a few times a week, sometimes more than a few times a day it jumps, really lurches. Enough that at 40 mph, your head gets a good jolt. I've taken it to dealer three times. They replaced the torque converter about a year ago. Was better for a while, now getting worse so it happens every time I drive, city and highway. Basically, they can't fix the problem. They said because it's intermittant. So I had them keep it and drive home themselves. But it happened only once to them. Well, I have the extended warranty. But I wish they would at least give me something back for paying full price for a defected car. They should have given me another car the first time I brought it in.

- Sebastopol, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 142010


  • 42,000 miles


2007 Chrysler 300, 40K miles. Left in driveway in park when we went us to leave the automatic transmission shifter assembly was stuck in park. Many common complaints on line with this same issue from 2005. Why no recall?

- Missouri City, TX, USA

problem #8

May 202009


  • 28,038 miles
2007 Chrysler 300 - transmission fell apart at 28,000 miles, defective transmission plug I'd at 41,000 miles. I was driving on the highway in traffic moving at 65 miles phr- vehicle just started slowing down and would not go in gear. When I got it to the dealer they initially didn't want to fix until they realized I was still cover by initial & extended warranties. This is the 1st new vehicle I have ever purchased & I am afraid to drive it the 20 miles back and forth to work or visit my family in nc. I am sure I am not the only person this has happened too. I purchased the vehicle Feb 07 & since then been deployed 15 months, so the car was only used 21 months.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #7

Jul 102008


  • 36,000 miles
I have a 2007 Chrysler 300. I bought it used on 6/14/08. Within a month that I bought it, the car stalled on me. A Chrysler dealership/garage was not able to find anything major except the throttle had built in debris. Ever since that time, the car has not ran smoothly. Most of the times, the car feels that it loses energy/power when I start to drive it (like when I start the engine and start driving). It also makes a noise when it needs to "shift" to the next power (it is automatic transmission). In 6/09-7/09, my engine light turned on, which the garage that I had to take it to that can repair any type of emission issues needed to replace a valve and then the light did not turn on anymore. Even after this repair, the car continues to feel like if it loses power. I have regular oil changes done so I do not know what is wrong. I feel that there can be some manufacture defect; however, since I have complained about the issues to different dealerships, they seem not to find any problems.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #6

Apr 152009


  • 10,500 miles
My 2007 Chrysler 300 stuck in park under warranty dealer towed it to shop to replace shifter. Parked in garage went leave the next day would not shift from park car has 10,500 miles.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #5

Jun 032008


  • 17,776 miles
My Chrysler 300 is 1.5 years old with less than 18,000 miles on it. It has been in the repair shop (dealership) twice for major problems. This latest one is life-threatening. The engine suddenly just stops. The car immediately looses power and coasts to a stop. No warning. The engine dies and steering becomes very difficult. I just spoke to the service rep and he says they can't find anything wrong because the engine light doesn't come on. This car is a real hazard and could potentially cause a serious accident. I've filed a complaint with the Chrysler corporation but have not heard back from them. I will never buy another Chrysler product.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #4

Apr 302007

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,795 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. On several occasions and at different rates of speed, the vehicle downshifts hard, vibrates, and the speedometer illuminates and then dims. The vehicle was taken to a dealer on three occasions. The transmission torque converter was replaced and the speed sensor was changed. The current mileage was 13,800 and failure mileage was 3,795.

- Marrero, LA, USA

problem #3

Sep 162007

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Excessive torque converter shudder when shifting gears (automatic transmission. Also notice "surging at all speeds, even with cruise control on. Most noticeably at lower RPM's. dealer notes problem and recorded data related to problem. Claims Chrysler has no fix for this problem. Gas mileage has dropped considerably as problem worsens.

- West Plains, MO, USA

problem #2

Aug 292007

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles
Chrysler 300 6 cylinder auto-transmission (2007) when driving the speed limit in my neighborhood 25 mph. The car will shift between two gears back and forth causing a hopping sensation. Also on cold take off when the transmission shifts from 1st to 2cd gear, it jumps hard into 2 cd and jumps a couple of times. It does this occasionally at other speeds and other circumstances but is most noticeable as mentioned. Dealer check says everything is fine. After checking by dealer, the problem still exists and is seemingly getting worse.

- West Plains , MO, USA

problem #1

May 072007

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The vehicle was purchased on February 11, 2007 and the malfunction light remained illuminated for two days. On February 17, 2007 and February 22, 2007, the vehicle began to shake while being parked. The owner called carmax and made an appointment to have the vehicle diagnosed. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. While driving 50 mph and greater, the vehicle's shaking intensified. A forensic expert with daimler Chrysler stated that two brains were defective in the vehicle and both were replaced. After the repairs were performed, the shaking worsened. On May 7, 2007, the vehicle was towed to carmax where it currently remains. The current mileage is 2,600 and failure mileage was 8. the consumer stated vehicle makes popping sound when shifting gears and check engine light illuminated and then went off. Updated 06/07/07

- Compton, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?