If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,181 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Chrysler 300 transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #39

Jun 252012

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,080 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car became stuck in park at time of leaving at end of busy work Monday....Chrysler will not honor already established recall due to VIN# not meeting criteria. However, year and model does match an already issues recall.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #38

Jun 182012

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shift seized and would not shift out of park. The contact spoke with a dealer and was informed that this was a common failure. The contact stated that they were unaware as to what component caused the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 63,000.... updated 07/27/12 updated 08/02/12

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #37

Nov 152011

300 6-cyl

  • 25,978 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shifter locked and could not be shifted. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the contact was advised that the entire gear shift needed to be replaced. The failure mileage was 25,978 and the current mileage is 26,000. Updated 01/05/12 updated 01/11/12

- Columbia, SC, USA

problem #36

Aug 312011

300 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2007 Chrysler 300, went out this am to go to work and the gear shift is stuck in park. Had to get a ride into work. Got on line and found pages of this same problem on multiple cars from Chrysler. Saw the K39 notification form called Chrysler, my VIN is not listed, they can't help me out. Per other people will cost $300-600.00 to fix out of my pocket. This is a defective part and needs to be recalled on any vehicle it affects. Called the parts dept. At Chrysler the part is 85 cents. But the dealer will charge you an arm and a leg for the labor to do it. This is ridiculous, I'm disgusted with Chrysler right now. They need to step up and do the right thing, their customer value has gone out the window.I will not be buying any more cars from them in the future.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #35

Aug 012011

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the engine was turned off and as she exited the vehicle, there was an abnormal grinding noise. The vehicle then unexpectedly rolled forward and crashed into a house. The dealer inspected the vehicle and found no failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 62,000. Updated 9/27/11 Chrysler sent out a third party inspector and no problems were found. The vehicle sustained minor damage.

- Rolla, MO, USA

problem #34

Aug 252011

300

  • 72,670 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shift selector remained stuck in park and she was unable to shift to any other gear. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer, where they repaired the shift assembly. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 72,670 and the current mileage was 72,768.

- Tulsa, OK, USA

problem #33

Jul 012011

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shift would not move from park. A local mechanic diagnosed that the transmission gear shift interlock would need to be replaced. The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the failure but denied any assistance with repair. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The failure and current mileage is 62,000. Updated 10/19/11 the consumer stated a recall was issued for the exact problem she experienced. However, her VIN was not included. Updated 11/04/11

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #32

Aug 232011

300

  • miles
I was at work today and my vehicle would not come out of park when I got ready to leave, I am a female and this is not safe with me getting off at nights. This is the second time this has happened, the first time was the day before while stuck on the highway in traffic due to an accident I could not get my veh out of park, I had to call the dealer and I was adv to take the chrome part off where my gear shifter is and pull a pink button and it should release the gears, that didn't work so I had to use a pen to push the other pink part underneath and it released my veh. This is very dangerous. This should be a recall.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #31

Aug 222011

300

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated he was unable to shift the vehicle out the park position. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who diagnosed that the gear shift was broke and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any of the recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 78,000.

- Conway , AR, USA

problem #30

Aug 092011

300

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact started the ignition and attempted several times to shift from the park position, however the gear selector failed to operate upon engaging. An independent mechanic arrived at the location and removed the gear shift cover which allowed the vehicle to be driven to an authorized dealer where they replaced the gear shift assembly. The manufacturer was made aware of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000.

- Duson , LA, USA

problem #29

Aug 052011

300 6-cyl

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Incident happened with 2007 Chrysler 300 at 61, ooo miles. This occurred one time with the consequence of being stuck where you are parked, undriveable, completely disabled. Vehicle cannot be moved, unless you remove the shifter cover and push a part of the shifter with your finger. The shifter assembly was replaced. We were first told at the dealership that this was a recalled part and we wouldn't be charged. After waiting a week and a day, we were charged, to get our vehicle back I paid the bill. I asked for my old shifter assembly back and grudgingly got it back. We are currently driving the car.

- San Angelo, TX, USA

problem #28

Aug 112011

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the vehicle would not shift out of park. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the gear shifter was replaced. The manufacturer was aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 78,500. According to the invoice, there was an internal shifter failure. Updated 09/16/11

- St Louis , MO, USA

problem #27

Aug 102011

300

  • 65,800 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that she was unable to shift the vehicle from park into any other gear. Both the dealer and manufacturer had been notified; however, they did not offer any assistance. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The failure and current mileages were 65,800.

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #26

Aug 032011

300

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated he was unable to shift gears from park to reverse. The vehicle was towed to a dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did no T offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 102,000.

- Glen Allen , VA, USA

problem #25

Jul 062011

300

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300 touring. The contact stated the vehicle failed to switch gears, after being in the park position. The vehicle was repaired by a private mechanic who replaced the park lock out mechanism. The manufacturer was contacted. The failure mileage was 35,000. The current was 35,500.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #24

Jul 142011

300

  • 108,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact was unable to move the gear shifter out of park. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the technician advised that the gear shifter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 108,000.

- Pohokee, FL, USA

problem #23

Jun 092010

300

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving between 50 and 60 mph the vehicle would begin to jerk before losing speed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the power train control module was failing. The contact was also informed that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 06V341000 (powertrain: Automatic transmission). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50,000 and the current mileage was 62,000.

- Chattanogaa, TN, USA

problem #22

Jun 262011

300 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Gear shift locked in park. Could not move it out of park even after using the reset button. Had to call a tow truck. Tow truck could not tow due to the driveway and position of car. Mechanic had to make house call. Will return tomorrow with a special jack to try to get the car into a position where it can be towed to the shop. Expect this to be expensive repair.

- Grass Valley, CA, USA

problem #21

Jun 112011

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while parked, the gear shift selector would not move from park. The vehicle was towed to a local dealer who diagnosed that the gear shifter was disconnected and would need a new assembly. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 41,000 and the current mileage was 41,200. Updated 07/26/11 the consumer stated when he stopped to get gas and attempted to leave, he was unable to shift the vehicle out of park. Updated 02/01/12

- Cooper City, FL, USA

problem #20

Apr 242011

300

  • miles
We are a used car dealership and we have sold a number of Chrysler. Recently we have been having complaints of the same problem; the shifter gets stuck in park and renders the vehicle inoperable. One of the vehicles that have had this problem is VIN# [xxx] (2007 Chrysler 300). The entire shifter assembly may need to be replaced. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Parlier , CA, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?