Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,810 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler 300 engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #26

Dec 162014

300

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving at 5 mph and making a right turn, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V567000 (electrical system) and 15V313000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 72,000.

- Slidell , LA, USA

problem #25

Feb 112015

300

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. While driving 15 mph at a traffic light, an abnormal noise emitted from the engine. The vehicle stalled as the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition switch failed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Suffelk, VA, USA

problem #24

Feb 282014

300 6-cyl

  • 99,758 miles
While driving down the road the engine would just lose power and shut down completely, leaving me without brakes or the ability to steer. Sometimes the ignition switch would hang and not start the engine until about the fourth or fifth try. So, I took the car in for service and repairs to fix the problem. They said the problem was in the ignition...something to do with the wcm module or win module or forbik and only the dealer could repair it. On April 1, 2014, jim cogdill Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram, 8544 kinston pike knoxville, tn 37919 did the work. Then, after I had spent a total of $576.62 for parts and labor, I get a letter from Chrysler informing me of safety recall P57 / NHTSA 14V-567. November 19, 2014, I sent in all of the requested information and forms and receipts stating that I had paid for repairs and that I wanted a refund. On December 10, 2014, I received an email from Chrysler's customer assistance center case manager stating that they "will be able to look into my reimbursement request further when the parts are available". as of today, April 21, 2015, the "parts" are still not available and neither is my refund. My reference with Chrysler cac for this claim is case #[xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #23

Feb 102015

300 6-cyl

  • 87,242 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle has a delayed start/crank once key is turned, takes about three seconds to start the vehicle engine. The car has 87,000 miles on it and this just started to happen within the last few months. I initially thought it was the battery so I had Firestone replace the battery. But that did not cure the problem. I than brought my vehicle to the Chrysler dealership and they did an inspection and verified that the ignition switch in fact had a delay crank concern. I also received a notification from Chrysler P57 recall notice. I was than informed by the dealership that there is no part available from Chrysler to fix it! I will be on some waiting list---go figure! a second wave of owners will be notified June 2015....I feel sorry for them, take a number and wait. Wait and wonder if maybe while on the freeway going 65 to 70 mph your ignition may "spring back " from run to off...that should be interesting when your car completely stops and you have no steering on the freeway with a mac truck behind you! seriously" I smell death lawsuit. Public safety is at risk. Chrysler does not have fix for the problem either. I bought a lemon. I want Chrysler to take there car back and give me another year model, say a 2009 that does not have this problem, or pay for a rental car during the time Chrysler decides how to remedy this problem. I feel unsafe in my car. What if one day the car doesn't even start and I am stranded at night on some road" this sucks.

- Rancho Corodva, CA, USA

problem #22

Jan 012014

300 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Ignition switch issue is still not resolved. I called Chrysler and they told me that there is no eta on when they are going to receive the parts to get my vehicle fixed. I have recently had issues with my car not starting at all in addition to the ignition switch sticking. I took it to the local shop and they fixed the ignition relay. After that, I received the ignition recall from Chrysler. Chrysler is refusing to reimburse me for the ignition relay as they indicated that, at this time, they cannot confirm that it is part of the recall (relay failed due to corrosion) as the representative was not sure what would need to be fixed in the recall "????" Chrysler has also refused to provide me anything in writing of their denial of reimbursement for the corroded ignition relay. The representative would only give me her first name, [xxx], and no other assistance. She assured me that they would notify me when the ignition switch comes in and Chrysler has a record of my call and claim. This is not very comforting knowing that I am driving with a safety recall and ongoing issues; no estimation on when the parts are going to be ready; let alone when it will be fixed. Bad part in my car and dealing with a company that will not even give the courtesy of providing some type of documentation! I am required to rely on them to have a record of my individual issue when they cannot even give me an approximate date on when the parts will even be available. Unbelievable!!!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Eureka, MO, USA

problem #21

Jan 162015

300 8-cyl

  • 116,400 miles
After exiting highway, I slowed car speed down to about 25 mph when the car suddenly experienced a loss of engine power, power steering and power brakes. Car was still in driving mode. I was able to restart car after waiting 10 to 15 minutes.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #20

Dec 242014

300 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Chrysler 300 oil dipstick couldn't be remove to check oil level. Dipstick is made out of plastic and by it being expose to high temp stick seize in it's holder and couldn't be remove without it breaking. Chrysler knows about this defect and still want to charge it customers $90 to fix the problem, which might happen again because the new dipstick is made of plastic also.

- Country Club Hills, IL, USA

problem #19

Dec 042014

300

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the engine stalled. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000. Updated 3/13/15

- Huntington , NY, USA

problem #18

Jan 132013

300

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle causing a 3-vehicle chain collision. A police report was filed. There were two injuries reported from the other vehicles which required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a salvage yard. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000. Mailed out 01/13/15

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #17

Nov 272014

300 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Every time I put my car in park and turn off car key wouldn't come out had to start it back up and turn back off sometimes it did sometimes it didn't know my battery is bad I blame the ignition for that just after I started to have problems with the ignition my battery keep dying I took it to get charged I was told it was good by auto parts tested and everything for free put it back in the car now its died again.

- Columbus, NE, USA

problem #16

Oct 262014

300

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The contact stated that her vehicle was unable to be remedied because parts were unavailable. While driving approximately 65 mph, the engine and power steering seized. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 1/13/15 the consumer stated the vehicle completely shut down while at a stop sign. It also shut down while pulled over in a turning lane. The consumer stated the vehicle would take 5 to 10 minutes to start. Each morning the vehicle would need to be jump started. Updated 06/3/2015

- Jeffersonville, IN, USA

problem #15

Oct 012014

300

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while at a stop light, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred on numerous occasion. The vehicle had not been diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was unavailable. The approximate failure mileage was 98,000.

- Oswego , IL, USA

problem #14

May 092010

300 6-cyl

  • 44,763 miles
I had been complaining for two years about a ticking sound in the engine. I was told by ginn Chrysler that it was nothing. The vehicle used to try to cut off while running. Finally, on mother's day (2010) just leaving hard rock hollywood casino while driving on the Florida turnpike at approx. 70 mph; the engine completely cut off in the middle of heavy thruway traffic. We were lucky enough to be close to an off ramp and coasted to a stop on the shoulder of the exit ramp.. we had to remain there for 3 hours until someone was kind enough to pick us up and take us home. My 83 year old mother-in-law had to stand up for a few hours until we were picked-up. The engine had to be replaced for $2450.23. A few months later, after receiving the new engine, the vehicle would have difficulty starting for four years. It seemed to want to cut off again. I reported this to massey and dadeland Chrysler and was finally told after a free 24 point inspection during a oil change that it was the tipm. Now, on 11/20/2014, I was told that it was the fobik in a recall letter. After being told of the numerous safety problems, I could not drive the car for fear of harming the public or myself and my passengers. I cannot drive this vehicle until it is repaired. I feel that I should be given a vehicle to drive until such time in the future. Until then, I do not have my own transportation. I have paid $33,000 for this car. The consumer was informed the total integrated power module was replaced. Updated 08/19/15 the consumer stated for several years he experienced problems with the vehicle not wanting to start or would cut off unexpectedly. One set of keys stopped working and the power steering would fade. Updated 08/24/15.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #13

Jul 042013

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. While driving 40 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn, the engine stalled, and the warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and believed the failure was related to the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Fremont, NC, USA

problem #12

Jul 102010

300 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I bought a new Chrysler 300 in 2008. The 300 is having very major issues in July 10, 2010 / September 09, 2011 / September 04 2012 / August 12, 2013/, June 2014 / September 2014 the 300 had to be towed many times because the car will not start; this car was shutting down while driving what is very dangerous and scary ; when we put the car in neutral the car might restart, we had some very unsafe driving concerns at this time when the vehicle was stalling repetitively anywhere (freeway, regular street, when driving slow, fast), we were told it was due to a faulty ignition module and 6 times we came to Chrysler it was something related to a faulty ignition we kept driving the 300 not feeling safe, the car stalls anytime, anywhere, the dealership seems unable to fix the issue. My wife who mainly drove the car decided to let me drive the 300 because she was not feeling safe driving with the kids scared to get into a car accident because the engine never stopped shutting down anywhere she drives ( freeway, street) the ignition issue is consistent 1 year apart, July 2010, September 2011, September 2012, August 2013 June 014, September 2014, I am certain if nothing seriously is done I will contact you again next year for the same issue. This faulty ignition issue must be fix permanently at Chrysler dealership cost; my family is not safe driving this car; ; the dealership is well aware of the issue for many years now but they ignore us. I have enough that is why I contact you to see if anything you can do to help me resolving this issue. I will ask first for a refund associated to all ignition issues and a total fix of the problem I sent a certified complaint letter to Chrysler in June 2014 but still waiting for a response.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #11

Nov 012013

300 8-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
Traveling at approximately 30 mph and the car stalled - it was not after a gas fill up as so many have reported with the 2006 model year. This is a 2008 300C hemi AWD - this has happened at least 10 or 15 times since last November!!! had it back to the dealer - no codes or suggestions to fix. Read forums on line that said it could be the egr - bought one and replaced the egr but it just stalled again today. What is the problem with these hemis"?" gotta get this problem fixed before someone gets hurt or killed!! action please.

- Pine Grove, PA, USA

problem #10

Dec 112012

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted and resumed as normal. The failure recurred sporadically. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 08/27/14 updated 09/16/2014

- Springfield , IL, USA

problem #9

Oct 012009

300

  • 111,635 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was not able to diagnose the problem. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 111,635.

- Bermingham, AL, USA

problem #8

Sep 152013

300

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated while driving approximately 5 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle restarted and resumed normal operation. The failure occurred after refueling on eight separate occasions. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and they were unable to duplicate the problem. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Troutdale, OR, USA

problem #7

Mar 232014

300 8-cyl

  • 111,000 miles
The car turns off all by itself while I'm driving down the road. This has occurred four times now.

- Fair Oaks Ranch , TX, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?