Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,095 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Chrysler 300 steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments

problem #18

Nov 242015

300

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is the 4th time that my car has done this, while I'm driving the car I just lose control of the car, I can't stop even when I hit the breaks the car want stop the car takes off while I'm behind the wheel, the speed even goes up I have to, shut the car off immediately from the ignition switch that starts the car, I have almost been in two bad car accidents because of this issue, I have took the car to a local shop I was told its nothing they can do because the car is running by computer, it is very scary I have had my kids in the car each time this has happen,

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #17

Sep 102013

300

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. Upon making a left or right turn, there was an abnormal noise, the steering wheel seized, and the contact had to apply force to turn the steering wheel each time the failure recurred. The dealer was notified of the failure several times, but was not able to replicate the failure and provide a permanent remedy. The vehicle was also included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V567000 (electrical system) and the part was not available for several months. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The failure mileage was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #16

Sep 162014

300

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. When the vehicle was started, it failed to shift into drive and the steering wheel seized without warning. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V567000 (electrical system) and 15V313000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Adamsville, AL, USA

problem #15

Jun 012015

300

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. While driving approximately 15 mph, the power steering seized and the traction control indicator illuminated. The failure recurred three or four times. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or independent mechanic. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Niles, OH, USA

problem #14

Jul 102010

300 6-cyl

  • 48,577 miles
My 2008 Chrysler 300 had received two notices for recall,1 for the ignition switch and 1 for the airbag/ I called Chrysler corporate for an update for the ignition switch recall which I received about 10 months ago and I was told it was no estimated date when the part will become available and I will have to wait ;after multiple phone calls I asked for them to give me a rental car in order to drive in a safe car while they will keep my car and fix the ignition and the airbag issue but I was denied the rental car and was told I will have to deal with the issue, they will not rent a car for my family and they do not have any estimate when the ignition part will be available;even if I insisted about the safety of my family and the fact a recall for the airbag was in to, they did not care ;I went to the Chrysler dealership too and the response was the same, it looks they are on the same page;no rental car for me and as they insinuated to me if we got into a car accident " though luck"/ I am not sure what to do now ; I tried to contact Chrysler corporate multiple times, . the Chrysler dealership the same and still not have a solution to my problem;I am ignored by Chrysler by some issues in my car very dangerous and life threatening but nothing had been done and no estimate in perspective.I will need some help to have the issue resolved;my wife was driving the car even yesterday which stalled on the middle of the street again for no reason and it happens all the time ;as my wife says " she leave her life into god's hands "I do not think this is an acceptable and responsible behavior from a such big corporation and something should be done to help customers like me in distress. Thank you for listening.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #13

Mar 052015

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while making a left or right turn. There was an abnormal noise coming from the steering wheel. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V313000 (air bags) and 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the part was not available within a reasonable timeframe to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The failure mileage was not available.

- Eclectic, AL, USA

problem #12

Oct 292014

300

  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. While driving 15 mph, the vehicle lost power and the steering wheel seized. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred numerous times. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 86,000.

- Winterville, NC, USA

problem #11

Feb 282014

300 6-cyl

  • 99,758 miles
While driving down the road the engine would just lose power and shut down completely, leaving me without brakes or the ability to steer. Sometimes the ignition switch would hang and not start the engine until about the fourth or fifth try. So, I took the car in for service and repairs to fix the problem. They said the problem was in the ignition...something to do with the wcm module or win module or forbik and only the dealer could repair it. On April 1, 2014, jim cogdill Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram, 8544 kinston pike knoxville, tn 37919 did the work. Then, after I had spent a total of $576.62 for parts and labor, I get a letter from Chrysler informing me of safety recall P57 / NHTSA 14V-567. November 19, 2014, I sent in all of the requested information and forms and receipts stating that I had paid for repairs and that I wanted a refund. On December 10, 2014, I received an email from Chrysler's customer assistance center case manager stating that they "will be able to look into my reimbursement request further when the parts are available". as of today, April 21, 2015, the "parts" are still not available and neither is my refund. My reference with Chrysler cac for this claim is case #[xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #10

Mar 022015

300

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 20 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to maneuver while making a right turn without warning. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The failure mileage was 150,000.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #9

Jan 162015

300 8-cyl

  • 116,400 miles
After exiting highway, I slowed car speed down to about 25 mph when the car suddenly experienced a loss of engine power, power steering and power brakes. Car was still in driving mode. I was able to restart car after waiting 10 to 15 minutes.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #8

Mar 012012

300

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the speedometer needle fluctuated abnormally. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. Also, the contact stated that while driving at 25 mph during inclement weather, she lost control of the vehicle and the steering wheel began turning left and right independently. The contact depressed the brake pedal and as a result, the vehicle spun to the side bank of the highway. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Redlands, CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 082015

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the accelerator pedal was applied but the vehicle failed to respond. The contact also stated that the power steering warning light illuminated and the steering wheel was hard to turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown. The VIN was not available.

- Petersburg , VA, USA

problem #6

Oct 262014

300

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system). The contact stated that her vehicle was unable to be remedied because parts were unavailable. While driving approximately 65 mph, the engine and power steering seized. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 1/13/15 the consumer stated the vehicle completely shut down while at a stop sign. It also shut down while pulled over in a turning lane. The consumer stated the vehicle would take 5 to 10 minutes to start. Each morning the vehicle would need to be jump started. Updated 06/3/2015

- Jeffersonville, IN, USA

problem #5

May 092010

300 6-cyl

  • 44,763 miles
I had been complaining for two years about a ticking sound in the engine. I was told by ginn Chrysler that it was nothing. The vehicle used to try to cut off while running. Finally, on mother's day (2010) just leaving hard rock hollywood casino while driving on the Florida turnpike at approx. 70 mph; the engine completely cut off in the middle of heavy thruway traffic. We were lucky enough to be close to an off ramp and coasted to a stop on the shoulder of the exit ramp.. we had to remain there for 3 hours until someone was kind enough to pick us up and take us home. My 83 year old mother-in-law had to stand up for a few hours until we were picked-up. The engine had to be replaced for $2450.23. A few months later, after receiving the new engine, the vehicle would have difficulty starting for four years. It seemed to want to cut off again. I reported this to massey and dadeland Chrysler and was finally told after a free 24 point inspection during a oil change that it was the tipm. Now, on 11/20/2014, I was told that it was the fobik in a recall letter. After being told of the numerous safety problems, I could not drive the car for fear of harming the public or myself and my passengers. I cannot drive this vehicle until it is repaired. I feel that I should be given a vehicle to drive until such time in the future. Until then, I do not have my own transportation. I have paid $33,000 for this car. The consumer was informed the total integrated power module was replaced. Updated 08/19/15 the consumer stated for several years he experienced problems with the vehicle not wanting to start or would cut off unexpectedly. One set of keys stopped working and the power steering would fade. Updated 08/24/15.

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #4

Jul 042013

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Chrysler 300. While driving 40 mph, the steering wheel became difficult to turn, the engine stalled, and the warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V567000 (electrical system) and believed the failure was related to the recall. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Fremont, NC, USA

problem #3

Jul 102010

300 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
I bought a new Chrysler 300 in 2008. The 300 is having very major issues in July 10, 2010 / September 09, 2011 / September 04 2012 / August 12, 2013/, June 2014 / September 2014 the 300 had to be towed many times because the car will not start; this car was shutting down while driving what is very dangerous and scary ; when we put the car in neutral the car might restart, we had some very unsafe driving concerns at this time when the vehicle was stalling repetitively anywhere (freeway, regular street, when driving slow, fast), we were told it was due to a faulty ignition module and 6 times we came to Chrysler it was something related to a faulty ignition we kept driving the 300 not feeling safe, the car stalls anytime, anywhere, the dealership seems unable to fix the issue. My wife who mainly drove the car decided to let me drive the 300 because she was not feeling safe driving with the kids scared to get into a car accident because the engine never stopped shutting down anywhere she drives ( freeway, street) the ignition issue is consistent 1 year apart, July 2010, September 2011, September 2012, August 2013 June 014, September 2014, I am certain if nothing seriously is done I will contact you again next year for the same issue. This faulty ignition issue must be fix permanently at Chrysler dealership cost; my family is not safe driving this car; ; the dealership is well aware of the issue for many years now but they ignore us. I have enough that is why I contact you to see if anything you can do to help me resolving this issue. I will ask first for a refund associated to all ignition issues and a total fix of the problem I sent a certified complaint letter to Chrysler in June 2014 but still waiting for a response.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #2

Jun 282012

300

  • 55,000 miles
Premature outer tie rod wear/failure please check the angle of the tie rod connection.

- Oak Island , NC, USA

problem #1

Aug 042008

300

  • 19,218 miles
I stated their was a rubbing type noise in right/left front wheel when turning. The result was nothing. The second occurrence was August 13, 2008 with the same problem. The third time day Chrysler resurfaced front and rear rotors. The subsided but occurred again. The brakes drag and pulsate when stopping. I continue to have noisy front wheels while driving forward. When backing the automobile up the front brake pads are not stationary meaning they should not move in brake calipers. The steering knocks when turning. I have complained to the Chrysler corporation.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?