Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,468 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Chrysler 300 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Jan 092015


  • miles


The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Arleta, CA, USA

problem #44

Nov 272014


  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start and the failure was progressing. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) and the dealer stated that the part and remedy were not available. The dealer and the manufacturer were not able to provide a reasonable timeframe for when the part and remedy would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 38,000.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #43

Nov 282014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 14V634000 (electric system) and stated that the parts were not available. The dealer was unable to specify a date for when the parts would become available and did not place the contact on a waiting list. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repairs. The contact was not experiencing a failure.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #42

Dec 222014


  • 61,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the vehicle stalled and the anti lock brakes and traction control warning lights illuminated. The contact was unable to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 61,000.

- Lithonia, GA, USA

problem #41

Dec 192014


  • 54,000 miles
I was driving my car and I heard a whine from the engine compartment. The battery indicator light came on and I received a "battery saver mode" message on the evic. I parked the vehicle. When I shut it off, the engine had a strong odor of burning plastic about it. When I got back into my car the power was completely gone. Attempts to jump start the vehicle were unsuccessful.

- Bothell, WA, USA

problem #40

Dec 172014

300 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
On my way home from work today, I was driving about 40 mph when I got a battery saver mode message. I had been getting the message a few days now and didn't know what to think of it. A little further into the commute, I started smelling a burning smell. All of a sudden, all of the vehicles systems start to shut down and the car just dies (while I'm driving it)! luckily I was able to pull off into an empty parking lot using the momentum of the car, but I wasn't even able to use my hazard lights. It had completely died. Scary to say the least.

- Aurora, CO, USA

problem #39

Nov 122014


  • 35,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler 300. While driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The dealer stated that the vehicle was working up to standards. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000.

- Columbia , SC, USA

problem #38

Dec 042014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #37

Nov 182014

300 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Vehicle suddenly lost all power with strong burning odor. Dealer has identified that alternator blew and caused blown battery. Additional electrical damage possible. Dealer says we are responsible for paying for repairs and hope to get reimbursed when Chrysler begins notification of recall process.

- Southborough , MA, USA

problem #36

Nov 052014

300 6-cyl

  • 45,213 miles
On the afternoon of 11/5/2014 I was driving at a speed of approx. 45-50 mph when I noticed my 2011 Chrysler 300 making a whining sound. Shortly after that I smelled what seemed like burning plastic. I then noticed that my ABS and ESC lights appeared on the dashboard. A message stating "battery saving mode" appeared on the hud and everything began to shutdown. I had zero control over the steering and braking. What's so bad is that I had my 20 month old and my 10 year old kids in the vehicle at the time. I was unable to jump start the car and ended up having to get it towed to a Chrysler dealer.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #35

Nov 012014

300 8-cyl

  • 79,700 miles


On Saturday 11-1-14 I started the car and noticed that it sounded as though there was a slight hesitation starting. No warnings were present even when I reviewed all the possible ones via the information center. I drove the car to 2 destinations and with each start I noticed the same hesitation with increasing time. Again no messages provided by the vehicle. On the 3rd destination the car would not start at all even with attempts to jump start the car. I then purchased a battery and drove to the auto zone nearby and their tester revealed a dead battery so low that a jump was not possible. I took the car to my dealer with the info about recall P60 dated 10-8-14 that my vehicle perfectly matched. The alternator was replaced then I had 4 episodes of full panel alarms displayed and loss of ability to steer. Auto has been returned to dealer.

- Mccalla, AL, USA

problem #34

Oct 302014


  • 51,500 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler 300. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle stalled and the battery saver mode light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 51,500.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #33

Oct 312014

300 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
I was driving and my battery safe mode light was on. The vehicle all of a sudden began displaying other lights such as my engine light and a car with skid lines below it light. All of a sudden I lost power in my navigation system while driving my other lights began to turn ( mind you it is 9:30 on halloween night). My car begins to stall while I have my son, and 3 other children in the car. Luckily I was able to pull off of the road (safely with my lights out) into a school. Never one did I get a warning that my car would shut completely down. Turned vehicle off and back on in hopes of getting back up and running and to no avail. Had to get my car towed the following morning. This could have resulted in an accident had I been on my way home on a busy I-10 hwy. Luckily I was dropping my brother off and never made it on the hwy. Took the vehicle to the dealership and they told me it was my alternator. The vehicle was purchased brand new 3 years ago and should not be having this safety issue. Car is outside of warranty and I paid for the dealer to repair the alternator but when I requested my defective alternator back they refused to give it to me without paying them an additional fee. I wanted to take the alternator to get inspected by another mechanic for further inspection.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #32

Nov 012014

300 6-cyl

  • 80,200 miles
Saturday morning, I was driving on the highway and my 'battery saving mode' light came on. Then the brake light came on even though the brake was not engaged. Then the wipers went on. Numerous other lights came on indicating trouble. The radio went off on its own and I tried repeatedly to get it back on and no luck. The on screen print changed to another language. I exited the highway to head to the dealer and on the exit ramp, my car lost all power. Luckily, was in one of the two lanes and cars were able to go around me. A gentleman who had witnessed my trouble on the highway pulled over to help me. I couldn't even unlock the other doors or open the trunk (where the battery is located) and he could not get in as I had the seat pulled forward to drive and it would not budge due to no electric power. I had police wait behind me for an hour and a half until the tow truck arrived. The car was towed to the dealer at my expense. The dealer advised this morning after doing a diagnostic test the alternator burned up the battery and I have to have both of them replaced! cost is approx. $1100. I contacted Chrysler and they advised this vehicle is not subject to a recall. My issues sound identical to others reported here! how in the world can this be acceptable? also this is my 4th Chrysler 300. I am very lucky this did not occur on the highway itself in the midst of rush hour.

- Manchester , MO, USA

problem #31

Oct 282014

300 6-cyl

  • 68,500 miles
In rush hour traffic going 60mph on the highway my car started losing power, the radio flickered on off and my car was still going but my gauges the radio, nothing worked. I was in the far left lane and was almost hit by a mac truck, trying to cross over three lanes to get to the service road. The engine stalled, it was hard to steer and luckily there was a gas station nearby. Three people tried to give me a jump and nothing woked and there was no prior warnings. I had to call a tow truck only to find that my alternator and battery were fried. The worst thing is I called Chrysler to tell them about the P60 recall and they did not own up to the default until the second time I called from doing my own research. This could have been really bad for me because there was nothing that I could do after the engine stalled. I have owned three diffrent 300S over the last ten years and this will be my last. Someone should do something before someone loses their life and family members to issues that deserve immediate attention. Additionally, I have spent all day on the phone trying to replace this part and the only place that carries the part is Chrysler, what a ripoff. This will cost me over a thousand dollars for a car that I have not had a year and currently still making payments on.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #30

Oct 242014


  • 65,000 miles
On morning of 10/24/14 when vehicle was started a message came on stating "battery saving mode" looked at manual there was no instructions as to what that meant. Then the vehicle was driven, while driving the RPM indicator would move up on its own and then the brake light, traction and ABS warning light came on and stayed on. After the warning came on the car despite pressing on gas pedal would not accelerate then a rattling noise came on so I quickly proceeded to attempt to exit the interstate freeway. As I tried to do that the steering started locking up, I had to push very hard on the brake to slow the car down and stop it. The vehicle completely shut off, unable to turn on or operate anything. The vehicle could not be jump started. When the vehicle was towed to the Chrysler dealership they were unable to charge up the battery and now they believe an alternator failure may be the reason for the engine to stall.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #29

Oct 202014

300 6-cyl

  • 43,590 miles
I was driving when I smelled a "burning marshmallow" smell coming from my car. Almost immediately, the ABS light, a car with zigzags icon, and the brake light flashed on my screen. Followed by the radio, air vents, and power steering shutting itself on and off. Within 1-2 miles my car was done. My alternator was toast. Chrysler refuses to acknowledge the recall on the 3.6 L engine, 160 amp alternators. So under my extended warranty they put another oem alternator in my car. I asked the service manager at the dealership that Chrysler sent me to, replace the alternator with a different one that isn't recalled. They refused because Chrysler hasn't "launched" the recall yet. How ridiculous is this? when the recall is launched I will have to again replace the alternator. Approx. Nov. 28, 2014. Hopefully I won't experience a frying out alternator before then. VIN [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #28

Oct 112014

300 6-cyl

  • miles
On October 11, 2014 I had driven my car twice that day. That evening while dropping my little cousin back home, my car started sputtering, lights started blinking and the car cut off and would not turn back on. It was completely dead, no power or nothing. I am highly disappointed in Chrysler. I have had this car not even five months and this has happened. Now it's just sitting in my yard and I am having to catch a taxi to work. It to beautiful of a car to just sit there. I took it to the dealership and they completed a diagnostic and said it was the alternator and they want $800 to repair. Can't afford to fix it, because all of my money is going towards taxi fare, and the warranty doesn't cover repairs. Just imagine if I were driving with my kids in the car and this happened.

- West Columbia, SC, USA

problem #27

Sep 152014

300 6-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Driving 40 mph when battery light illuminated and a burning smell coming from car, I immediately opened the door and began to veer off the road. All the lights illuminated on the dash, the radio shut off, gauges stopped working, power steering stopped, brakes were not functioning, wipers came on and car came to a complete stall and began to vibrate. All doors locked and windows were not functioning. The car was completely dead and I almost got trapped in it. Took it to the dealer and they said it was a bad alternator which ruined my battery. Was charged nearly $1,000.

- Hauula, HI, USA

problem #26

Sep 122014

300 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Chrysler 300. While driving approximately 60 mph, the collision, ABS, and traction warning indicators illuminated. Additionally, the power steering failed and the wipers activated independently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 69,000. Updated 10/31/14 updated 4/28/2015

- Ranson, WV, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?