Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,905 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chrysler 300 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #29

Jun 212016

300

  • 43,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the driver information center on the instrument cluster displayed that the gear shifter service warning light illuminated continuously. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 43,300.

- Harvey, IL, USA

problem #28

May 262016

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution connect.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #27

Jul 252016

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V240000 (power train) and 16V352000 (air bags); however, the parts for the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #26

May 142016

300

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V352000 (air bags) and 16V240000 (power train); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Baden, PA, USA

problem #25

Jun 172016

300 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact stated the vehicle failed to shift into the park position. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 08/30/16 updated 09/07/16.

- Toledo, OH, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #24

May 202016

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #23

Jun 012016

300

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At austin Texas airport stopped left engine running, to pick up passengers put car in park got out couldn't open trunk gear shift had jumped to neutral. It has happened several times since I owned the car called dealer and was informed this item was not on recall and not to bring it in until it was recalled meanwhile me or my wife could have an accident some times it jumps into reverse with out warning. The vehicle has been stationary and has rolled back across the street from my driveway.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #22

Jun 212016

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 08/22/16

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #21

Dec 012012

300

  • 36,499 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the vehicle shifter was jammed. The vehicle was able to be shifted after numerous attempts. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 36,499. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 08/04/16

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #20

May 012016

300

  • 80,000 miles
On 5-01-16, while driving, heard a "thump" type noise in my right rear. This also activated my check engine light. Also I noted significant reduction in ability to accelerate, as in the car was stuck in a higher gear. Drove straight to my local mechanic and he did a obd ll test. A P1dc7-00 code came back.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #19

May 012016

300

  • 54,668 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from the engine compartment. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate as it jerked before moving forward. The ABS and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the ABS sensor and wheel sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The failure mileage was 54,668.

- Waipahu, HI, USA

problem #18

May 282016

300

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. While driving 60 mph, the transmission and check software lights illuminated and the vehicle stalled. While on a busy highway, an independent mechanic arrived and changed the battery. The contact was informed that there was an electrical system failure. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train) and stated that the part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #17

Apr 252016

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Norco, CA, USA

problem #16

May 272015

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. While the vehicle was parked, it rolled back in reverse and knocked the contact to the ground. The vehicle crashed into a dumpster across the street. The bumper of the vehicle was damaged. The contact sustained injuries to the head from the impact of the bottom of the vehicle door. Medical attention was not required and a police report was not filed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Levelland, TX, USA

problem #15

May 192016

300

  • 7,300 miles
Has started visiting a friend in the hospital comma park the car in a parking garage and engage the parking brake. The car was stationary not moving and when I return and disengage the parking brake I noticed my ABS and traction control lights are on. I have another issue which I discovered today May 19th 2016 is that when entering the vehicle and starting it everything was normal as I progressed down the road I noticed something a little off and it not wanting to accelerate the RPM seem to be a little jumpy and I check the oil pressure which was really high I turned around immediately and parked the car back at my house. The oil pressure would jump maybe 30 to 40 psi but only reaching 20 miles an hour. I am unaware of what is causing these issues and only discovered it as I was making a turn out of my driveway. I am also unsure of the date that the ABS and traction control lights came on but I can say it was before the events on May 19th 2016. My vehicle was purchased February 14th of last year.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #14

Aug 152015

300 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shift failed to switch into the park position intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician informed that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure and it was unknown if the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The failure mileage was 34,000. Updated 06/29/16 updated 06/30/16.

- Union Grove, WI, USA

problem #13

Apr 282016

300

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact heard an abnormal sound coming from the vehicle and the gears could not be shifted while driving 10-15 mph. The service transmission and "shut the car off to change gear" warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train), but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was approximately 52,000.

- Covington, GA, USA

problem #12

Nov 262015

300

  • 45,466 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shifter was difficult to operate. The contact stated that on occasions the gear shifter would select the incorrect gear. The contact stated that the vehicle was difficult to shift into the park position. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 45,466.

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #11

Mar 052012

300

  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. While backing out of a parking space, the gear shifter stick failed to shift from the reverse position. It took multiple attempts to shift the gear shifter stick to the drive position. The failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed, but the cause of the failure was not found. The gear shifter was replaced, but the failure recurred. The contact mentioned that the gear shifter could lock up in any position. The VIN was not included in NHTSA action number: EA16002 (power train). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 50.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #10

Feb 142016

300

  • 70,000 miles
I was driving my vehicle on a city street when suddenly it started to act strange. The vehicle stability warning light went on and I began to quickly lose power and control of the vehicle. A burning smell was detected and the powertrain began to make unusual noises. Other warning lights began popping randomly and the wipers started on its own. The vehicle then stalled and came to a complete stop. All electrical systems completely shut down. Smelled like something had burned up under the hood. I immediately contacted Chrysler roadside service and had the vehicle towed to a local Chrysler dealership. The Chrysler service department later examined the vehicle and said the alternator had burned up. The alternator also caused damage to my battery. The service department indicated it would cost approximately $1,000 to repair both. The service department also indicated this repair is not covered by warranty or recall. I told the service department I was aware Chrysler had recalled almost 1/2 million vehicle for the same exact alternator problem (recall P60). I contacted Chrysler customer service and they indicated nothing can be done because my vehicle was not on the P60 recall list. They provided me a case number for the initial roadside service/tow (#28743527) and indicated no other case number would be generated. Although my vehicle is not on Chrysler's recall list, the electrical problems experienced by my vehicle was identical to the alternator/electrical problems identified in other Chrysler vehicles having the same model/engine specifications.

- Glendale, CA, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?