10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,376 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Chrysler 300 drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

May 012016

300

  • 43,448 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. While refueling, the vehicle independently rolled backwards. The contact was able to engage the brakes and shift the lever back into the park position. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 43,448. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Fayetteville, AR, USA

problem #31

Aug 102016

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. While the vehicle was parked and turned off, it went into reverse without warning. The vehicle jumped a curb and crashed into a building. The vehicle received damage to its rear frame. The vehicle was towed and a police report was filed. There were no injuries. The dealer was notified and the vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Copperas Cove, TX, USA

problem #30

Aug 062016

300

  • 43,400 miles
Transmission service warning & engine service lights come on with transmission going out of gear while the vehicle is at speed. Renders the vehicle inoperable and creates a dangerous situation to oncoming and surrounding motorists. Has happened multiple times. Reported to the dealer on three separate occasions. Requires a shut down and restart/reboot with diminished transmission ability. Yellow service engine light and ABS & traction control lights are in the constant on, lighted. Chrysler service codes detect no coded issues. Happening on a greater frequency now, started before 30,000 miles, vehicle now has 43,000 miles on it. Happens in motion, after being parked, just before parking. Frequency is such that I am afraid to drive the vehicle. Chrysler dealer(s) state that do do not have a fix resolved yet for the 2012 models.

- Carlsbad, CA, USA

problem #29

Jun 212016

300

  • 43,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the driver information center on the instrument cluster displayed that the gear shifter service warning light illuminated continuously. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 43,300.

- Harvey, IL, USA

problem #28

May 262016

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Part distribution connect.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

Jul 252016

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V240000 (power train) and 16V352000 (air bags); however, the parts for the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect and VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #26

May 142016

300

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V352000 (air bags) and 16V240000 (power train); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Baden, PA, USA

problem #25

Jun 172016

300 6-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact stated the vehicle failed to shift into the park position. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 08/30/16 updated 09/07/16.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #24

May 202016

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #23

Jun 012016

300

  • 22,000 miles
At austin Texas airport stopped left engine running, to pick up passengers put car in park got out couldn't open trunk gear shift had jumped to neutral. It has happened several times since I owned the car called dealer and was informed this item was not on recall and not to bring it in until it was recalled meanwhile me or my wife could have an accident some times it jumps into reverse with out warning. The vehicle has been stationary and has rolled back across the street from my driveway.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #22

Jun 212016

300

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 08/22/16

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #21

Dec 012012

300

  • 36,499 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the vehicle shifter was jammed. The vehicle was able to be shifted after numerous attempts. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 36,499. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 08/04/16

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #20

May 012016

300

  • 80,000 miles
On 5-01-16, while driving, heard a "thump" type noise in my right rear. This also activated my check engine light. Also I noted significant reduction in ability to accelerate, as in the car was stuck in a higher gear. Drove straight to my local mechanic and he did a obd ll test. A P1dc7-00 code came back.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #19

May 012016

300

  • 54,668 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that while driving at 25 mph, there was an abnormal noise coming from the engine compartment. In addition, the accelerator pedal was depressed but the vehicle failed to accelerate as it jerked before moving forward. The ABS and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who diagnosed that the ABS sensor and wheel sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The failure mileage was 54,668.

- Waipahu, HI, USA

problem #18

May 282016

300

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. While driving 60 mph, the transmission and check software lights illuminated and the vehicle stalled. While on a busy highway, an independent mechanic arrived and changed the battery. The contact was informed that there was an electrical system failure. The vehicle was driven to the contact's residence. The failure recurred three times. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train) and stated that the part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #17

Apr 252016

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Norco, CA, USA

problem #16

May 272015

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. While the vehicle was parked, it rolled back in reverse and knocked the contact to the ground. The vehicle crashed into a dumpster across the street. The bumper of the vehicle was damaged. The contact sustained injuries to the head from the impact of the bottom of the vehicle door. Medical attention was not required and a police report was not filed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Levelland, TX, USA

problem #15

May 192016

300

  • 7,300 miles
Has started visiting a friend in the hospital comma park the car in a parking garage and engage the parking brake. The car was stationary not moving and when I return and disengage the parking brake I noticed my ABS and traction control lights are on. I have another issue which I discovered today May 19th 2016 is that when entering the vehicle and starting it everything was normal as I progressed down the road I noticed something a little off and it not wanting to accelerate the RPM seem to be a little jumpy and I check the oil pressure which was really high I turned around immediately and parked the car back at my house. The oil pressure would jump maybe 30 to 40 psi but only reaching 20 miles an hour. I am unaware of what is causing these issues and only discovered it as I was making a turn out of my driveway. I am also unsure of the date that the ABS and traction control lights came on but I can say it was before the events on May 19th 2016. My vehicle was purchased February 14th of last year.

- Magnolia, TX, USA

problem #14

Aug 152015

300 6-cyl

  • 34,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the gear shift failed to switch into the park position intermittently. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician informed that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure and it was unknown if the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train). The failure mileage was 34,000. Updated 06/29/16 updated 06/30/16.

- Union Grove, WI, USA

problem #13

Apr 282016

300

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Chrysler 300. The contact heard an abnormal sound coming from the vehicle and the gears could not be shifted while driving 10-15 mph. The service transmission and "shut the car off to change gear" warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 16V240000 (power train), but the VIN was not included. The failure mileage was approximately 52,000.

- Covington, GA, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?