Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
17,223 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Chrysler 300 electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Chrysler 300:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Chrysler 300 Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Oct 132014

300

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 300. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Whiting, NJ, USA

problem #17

Dec 012014

300

  • 28,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). However, the part needed was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 28,000.

- Virginia Beach , VA, USA

problem #16

Dec 072014

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). However, the part needed was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lafayette, NJ, USA

problem #15

Nov 072014

300

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start after multiple attempts. The contact mentioned that the battery had to be recharged in order to start the vehicle. The failure recurred multiple times. The contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system). The dealer was notified of the failure. However, the technician stated that the parts needed were unavailable and was uncertain when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 12,000.

- Pasadena, MD, USA

problem #14

Jan 072015

300 6-cyl

  • 12,400 miles
Death trap...I am duly noticed (P60/NHTSA 14V-634) of a defect in my 2013 Chrysler 300 purchased from bill luke Chrysler Jeep & Dodge Inc. On 11/25/2012 in the amount of $33,768.39. The notice came from Chrysler group llc to specific owners. Huge type..."important safety recall" Chrysler group tells me that they have no timeline for completing the repair...in fact they don't have the part available. It appears that the part needs to be designed and manufactured before Chrysler group can begin the repair process. A "reasonable" time for completing the repair is not on the table. Bill luke Chrysler Jeep & Dodge, Inc. And Chrysler group llc have refused to provide loaner or rental cars during the time it will take to complete repairs on the defective vehicles. I refuse to operate a vehicle that I have been duly noticed is defective and might be the instrument causing accidental property and/or personal injury or death to me, my family, or the general public. I should not have to make that choice. The death trap has been stored since 12/15/14. Actually, this Chrysler safety recall is a diabolically clever cya. Owners are forced to either park the vehicle for an indefinite period and be without the vehicle they purchased...or, drive the vehicle and by virtue of being forewarned of the defective nature of the vehicle, be held responsible for any personal or property damage resulting from an accident caused by the defect. It appears that NHTSA is a willing partner with Chrysler to this cya. NHTSA shields Chrysler from legal action. This travesty must not be allowed to continue. I have sent at least two email messages to NHTSA staff and one to the department of transportation. I can't trade a recognized death trap without suffering unreasonable financial cost and I can't drive it without accepting and unreasonable death trap risk. Recall # 14V634000. Updated 01//21/15 updated 10/05/15.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #13

Jan 052015

300

  • miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lawrence, NY, USA

problem #12

Dec 302014

300 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 300. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V634000 (electrical system) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 02/24/15 updated 6/10/2015

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #11

Dec 012014

300 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
Chrysler issued a recall notice for alternator diodes, saying car may stop or not start. Neither the dealer nor the company can tell me when parts will be available to repair the car. I believe it to be unsafe to drive a car that may/will stop without notice. I need better information from Chrysler.

- Whitefish, MT, USA

problem #10

Mar 062014

300

  • 6,000 miles
The Chrysler 300C was parked in our garage for about a week. Tried to start it and nothing happened. Electronic throttle control (etc) light flashed. All symptoms pointed to a low battery. Jump started 300 from our other car and drove to the dealer. By the time I got there the battery was charged from the generator. Dealer kept it for 5 days and couldn't find a problem. There were other anomalies on the road. Car would either not accelerate or engine would stall while driving. This became extremely dangerous on the interstate. Couple weeks passed and start problem repeated, but this time the battery was completely dead. One symptom I noticed was that the brake pedal, which you have to depress while activating the push button start was locked and wouldn't move. Repeated the above drill with the same results. This time, dealer had the car for 11 days and couldn't find problem. All along I'm paying lease and auto insurance fees for a car that's sitting at the dealer. Dealer said they updated some of the electronic controllers per some technical service bulletins, but that they weren't related to my "no start/dead battery" issues. Chrysler customer service said they knew of no complaints, recalls, etc. Related to the above. Have not experienced any problems recently. However, I've been starting the 300 more often and letting it run. I recently got a 2014 Dodge journey which ended up with a dead battery after being parked for 5 days. I filed a separate complaint on the journey. Have since bought a trickle charger. Can't believe these are coincidences. There is no question Chrysler has a basic design problem. All the electronics are draining the battery even when everything is shut "off". hope they're not covering it up like Ford with their ignition switch. My next letter will be to [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Commerce Township, MI, USA

problem #9

Nov 072014

300

  • 13,000 miles
Multiple occurrences of dead battery / loss of power. Checked that no accessories had been left turned on. Have taken vehicle to dealer with each occurrence because even with charging / jump starting battery, battery loses charge after a few days. Found recall info on NHTSA web site, provided this to dealer, dealer claims there is no recall, even stated that the print out we provided from NHTSA was fake, claims they cant find any issue with vehicle and informs us that it is owner error. I would like to know how long I have to put up with this nonsense before it will be addressed. Do I have to wait until the vehicle is completely useless or issue causes vehicle accident?

- Olivehurst, CA, USA

problem #8

Dec 022014

300 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 300. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V634000 (electrical system) however, part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/09/15 updated 02/03/15 updated 2/24/15

- Holbrook, NY, USA

problem #7

Nov 262014

300 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
No apparent driving problem. Message came on dash "battery saver mode". comments on internet about others having this issue may indicate alternator to fail and car engine cuts out unexpectedly. This did not happen to me yet but I am concerned and will contact Chrysler as soon as holiday is over.

- Ventnor City, NJ, USA

problem #6

Oct 222014

300 6-cyl

  • 22,234 miles
While driving with seat warmers on message appeared on center lcd stating battery saver mode.

- Severn, MD, USA

problem #5

Nov 132013

300

  • 25,058 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 300. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled and was able to restart after several attempts. The failure occurred intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 25,058.

- Pahrump, NV, USA

problem #4

Jul 222013

300 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Chrysler 300. While driving 70 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure occurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 16,000. Updated 10/09/14

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #3

Aug 212014

300 8-cyl

  • miles
The headlights on my Chrysler 300C are terrible. On high beam they are in the trees, low beam they are straight ahead no side lighting. Not a safe situation.

- Pickerington, OH, USA

problem #2

Jun 012013

300 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
Electronic shifter frequently, unable to change from drive to reverse or reverse to drive in a timely manner. Situation: Stopped at an intersection, auto in drive, to avoid an oncoming vehicle must shift into reverse. Often result: 1(foot must be on brake, then D>P, or D>N, or D stays D, or any combination. 2)(as most drivers have done) entering traffic in D or R. not seeing oncoming hazard, needing to change directions quickly, shifting to the correct gear often not accomplished.

- Clay, NY, USA

problem #1

Jan 052014

300 6-cyl

  • 2,100 miles
Message "battery in safe mode" comes on at about 11 to 15 mph. This is a two month old car with only 2100 miles. When I spoke to the dealership the person stated that it would come on at start up. It didn't. when I said there were several cases reported on the forums, such as the 300C forum, reporting bad batteries he laughed and said that wasn't the case. This was during a phone conversation when the person hadn't even seen the vehicle. It was also before I could say anything about the numerous posts about the alternator/regulator going bad and killing the battery.

- Peshtigo, WI, USA

Not what you are looking for?