Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,684 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler 300C fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler 300C:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler 300C Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #41

Jan 292015

300C

  • 33,140 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Filled up at costco and immediately after leaving the car stalled, restarted and stalled five more times in three miles. The stalling does create a dangerous driving situation.

- Lehi, UT, USA

problem #40

Jan 122015

300C

  • 52,000 miles
After refueling my 2005 Chrysler 300C, it will stall at low speeds. I have read the report PE13-016, which covers the 2006 Chrysler model.

- Elkmont, AL, USA

problem #39

Dec 242014

300C 8-cyl

  • 68,080 miles
Filled up tank at gas station and immediately after leaving gas station the car stalled, restarted right away but felt sluggish. Started a right turn and engine shut off again in the middle of my turn! this really scarred me as it was a busy intersection and could have caused an accident! I restarted and stalled a block later. I took car to a mechanic to test gas and he found no problem with the gas. The car ran fine the next day. On 1-17-2015 I stopped at costco to fill up, car stalled immediately as I started to pull away the gas station. Car died about 5 other times within the parking lot of costco. The car would restart immediately. I drove about 3 miles to the express way and drove 35 miles home with no problems. The unexpected stalling of the engine can cause an accident, in my case, this second time I was on a busy parking lot on a Saturday with cars turning and certainly no one expects a car to stall in the middle of a turn. Before this happened, over the years I had experienced problems with filling up the gas tank where the station gas pump would stop even after pumping less than half a gallon. I always thought it was the pump at the station and I would go to another pump or another station and it would fill up ok.

- Elk Grove Village, IL, USA

problem #38

Jan 012013

300C 8-cyl

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

For the last couple years, my Chrysler 300C would occasionally stall. Mostly it would be at lower speeds, but there have been multiple times the car would stall at highway speeds. I have spent a good amount of money trying to fix the issue. I just recently realized, it would occur when I had a full tank of gas. I have read that there is many other Chrysler 300 owners that have the same issue. It seems shocking that an issue like this could go this long without any warnings or recalls. I have been in many dangerous driving situations, due to this issue... I could see this issue becoming more of an noticeable problem, due to the lower gas prices. I usually put in the same amount of money when I fill up. Not until more recently, with the lower gas prices, that amount fills my tank. That is why it took me this long to realize that it happens when I fill the tank.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #37

Nov 142014

300C 8-cyl

  • 126,800 miles
After filling car with gas it dies just bought this car 3 weeks ago and it has happened 4 times all after getting gas, looked and no recalls. This is very dangerous and scary.

- St. Peters, MO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #36

Oct 052012

300C

  • 40,000 miles
This is message is to help you out. My 2005 300 stalled when filling the gas tank as well, and finally it was determined that the entire gas tank from front to back needed to get replaced. Dont let the dealer tell you otherwise. My car was fixed and has been fine ever since. Everything that is being said about it stalling after pumping gas to the max and the wheel locking w/O notice has to do with the gas pump.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #35

Sep 012009

300C

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300C. After refueling the vehicle, it would stall. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000. The VIN was not available.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #34

Oct 232014

300C 8-cyl

  • 129,800 miles
It began when I started pumping gas after it reach like 10 gallons of fuel the clicker will stop as if it was full tank already but still needed a long way to fill up so I automatically began to pump gas and it kept clicking and clicking it didn't want to keep pumping so I stop as I began driving the car began to pulled it self hard like if it was running out of gas check engine and the esp bas light when on started to smell like gas got me worried when on it kept doing it so I took it in to the dealer and they told me it was the egr valve, thermostat and spark plugs needed to be repair I asked if their was a recall because I have received a later stating that something that's has to do with the gas tank, he looked it up and he said no. I did the labor that needed to be done to car it was ok for couple hrs then it began to do the same thing lunging then car stalled try to restarted it wouldn't go on waited couple mins tried again and it wouldn't start gave it a lil longer time then try to turn it on again and it finally started after multiple times I really need to fix it I find it dangerous..

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #33

Jun 022014

300C 8-cyl

  • 77,000 miles
After filling my fuel tank the car would stall at speeds ranging from 5 - 30 mph causing loss of steering and braking. Upon shifting into neutral it would start but would stall 2 or 3 more times. I was not sure of the cause until June of this year when I got a notice from Chrysler about the problem and that they have issued a recall. I brought the vehicle to a dealer and they informed me that they had to order the part. This was 7/16/2014. To date they have not received the part and I called Chrysler and they say they are not producing them. The car in this state is not safe. I cannot imagine what would happen if I were going at highway speed. There must be some recourse to force a manufacturer to honor a recall.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #32

Jul 142014

300C

  • 160,000 miles
This issue has happened to me multiple times. I am just driving down the road and the engine stalls. When this happens I loose my power steering and have to try to get to the side of the road. Once I put the car in park and turn it off it will then restart. This has happened at speeds from10-70. The second issue is sometimes the car lunges forward on its own or accelerates much more than what I am pressing the gas pedal. I have talked to other owners of these cars and we all seem to be having the same problems but when we take it to mechanics since it doesn't happen when they test drive it they can't tell us what's wrong. I have had some very close calls with these issues and came very close to being involved in accidents. I am sure there have been accidents caused by these same issues but it might not have been traced back to the car, it was probably thought that it was driver error.

- Jackson, MO, USA

problem #31

Jan 072014

300C

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling up, the car died while leaving the gas lot almost causing an accident. The car started, it drove for a few seconds and died again. This happens everytime I fill the gas tank. I also notice what my mechanic calls a towing effect when I'm driving. I have had a full fune up on the car along with having the transmission fluid changed and the car still dies and has the towing effect when I drive. This is very much a safety issue and from seeing what other people are saying, why hasn't this issue been addressed. If I am involved in an accident because of this, there will be a lawsuit.

- Ellisville, MO, USA

problem #30

Jan 012014

300C 8-cyl

  • miles
Car stalls after gas tank is filled up. Car stalls while driving and at intersections. This is dangerous. Review on internet shows that many others have this same problem. Current solution is to avoid filling up the gas tank.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #29

May 102014

300C

  • miles
After filling tank with fuel, car stalled at next few intersections. Had to turn off completely for transmission to reset and engage several times. Has happened previously but not sure of date, approximately in the last 6 months. Due to loss of steering and sitting still in moving traffic, this creates a true hazard. Have owned vehicle since it was new.

- Somonauk, IL, USA

problem #28

Nov 202013

300C

  • 63,027 miles
I purchased this 2005 Chrysler 300C on November 20, 2013 from hoover Chrysler dealership and ever since then the car has been stalling out every time I get gas and I do not over fill my tank but do fill it up to almost full. Anyways this problem can cause serious injuries I've had it stall out on the highway and all going at high speeds. I can't believe that this car is doing this I traded my 2010 Dodge charger SXT which wasn't the hemi for a hemi and feel like I got a worst engine. Anyways I really hope this problem is fixed by Chrysler I've spent alot on repairs and this isn't fair that the buyer has to deal with this type of problem I've owned plenty of cars and never have had this happen so obviously Chrysler is responsible!

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #27

May 012012

300C

  • 90,000 miles
Every time the tank is filled to full this vehicle stalls. At 3/4 fill it does not occur. In light of the Chevy cobalt tragedy perhaps a proper investigation into this defect will commence. This isn't a nuisance "temporary glitch" issue, because whenever a car loses power unexpectedly it should not be considered a nuisance issue. I experienced an engine stall at a high rate of speed entering a freeway just after fueling and my car lost all power. Half-baked suggestions like don't fill the tank full are silly. This is a serious issue that requires a specific repair recommendation.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #26

Mar 192014

300C 8-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Car stalls after full or partial fill-up at gas station. Very dangerous if stall occurs when in freeway traffic or when making turns in front of oncoming traffic!!

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #25

Nov 052012

300C 8-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I own a Chrysler 2005 300C. The had no fuel problems until the odometer reached approx. 50K miles. It then started to stall immediately after filling the gas tank. I would have issues with the engine stalling while in park or driving under 60 mph. I has stalled while driving in traffic which created serious safety issues unless I got it restarted quickly. I would have to immediately put the car in neutral and restart. It appears that the problem goes away after driving for a day or so. I have asked the Chrysler dealership if there were any tsb's on the problem ans have been told no. Owners on the Chrysler's owner forum with my type of car are complaining of the same issue and say that there is an issues with the gas tanks that Chrysler does not want to address.

- Granger, IN, USA

problem #24

Sep 032007

300C

  • 22,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300C. The contact stated that after refueling, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure was recurring and whether the fuel tank was full or low in fuel. In addition, the power steering assist sporadically failed without warning. The vehicle was taken to authorized dealer, who was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 22000. Updated 04/29/14

- Amherst, OH, USA

problem #23

Dec 022013

300C

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300C. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph after refueling, the vehicle stalled without warning and could not be restarted. The failure would recur whenever the vehicle was refueled. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer however, the dealer indicated that the entire fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,00.

- 7362 First Circle Drive, FL, USA

problem #22

Dec 062013

300C 8-cyl

  • 177,900 miles
Since November 2013, each time I fill up my 2005 Chrysler 300C, it stalls for the first 5--20 minutes after the fill up. In December 2013, I brought it to my Chrysler dealership (which has worked on the car since 2006), and it said my car needed an evap canister and a solenoid. The parts were ordered and the installation/replacement work was done on December 6, 2013. This did not fix the problem. The car still stalls, starting right as I pull out from the gas station. The most disconcerting thing is that when the engine stalls, and you are steering into a corner, the power steering is gone. This makes steering very difficult and is very dangerous, particularly on the two-lane roads I mostly travel. I am now thinking it may be that there is some water in the gasoline tank or gasoline line. I sense the electronics in the engine calling for gas (or not accepting gas) when there is something bad in the gasoline line. Not sure how there is water in the tank, as the car since being purchased new is garaged when at home and at work and well cared for otherwise. I just read this evening on the web that Chrysler is aware of the problem and has known since at least may of 2013. This is very disconcerting; the dealership mentioned nothing about this known problem to me. And so I had this work done needlessly, at my expense and for no successful result. The dealership should have acknowledged the recall to me when I first brought the car in with this issue. It was suggested I might need to replace the gas tank. Has Chrysler figured out what the problem is" did this in turn result in a recall? can I ask the dealership for my money back? any suggestions on how this can be fixed"

- Somers, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?