Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
88,691 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler 300C steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler 300C:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler 300C Owner Comments

problem #17

Apr 202016

300C

  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle steering wheel locked up while driving (in motion) less than 35mph going around a round about. The vehicle locked up when attempting to exit the circle.

- Fort Gordon, GA, USA

problem #16

Jul 142014

300C

  • 160,000 miles
This issue has happened to me multiple times. I am just driving down the road and the engine stalls. When this happens I loose my power steering and have to try to get to the side of the road. Once I put the car in park and turn it off it will then restart. This has happened at speeds from10-70. The second issue is sometimes the car lunges forward on its own or accelerates much more than what I am pressing the gas pedal. I have talked to other owners of these cars and we all seem to be having the same problems but when we take it to mechanics since it doesn't happen when they test drive it they can't tell us what's wrong. I have had some very close calls with these issues and came very close to being involved in accidents. I am sure there have been accidents caused by these same issues but it might not have been traced back to the car, it was probably thought that it was driver error.

- Jackson, MO, USA

problem #15

May 212014

300C

  • 100,000 miles
After filling up my car with gas the car stalls. This has happened several times after filling up and is a safety concern. The car stalls when driving at any speed. Car restarts but if on highway all power is lost - safety concern.

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #14

Nov 202013

300C

  • 63,027 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this 2005 Chrysler 300C on November 20, 2013 from hoover Chrysler dealership and ever since then the car has been stalling out every time I get gas and I do not over fill my tank but do fill it up to almost full. Anyways this problem can cause serious injuries I've had it stall out on the highway and all going at high speeds. I can't believe that this car is doing this I traded my 2010 Dodge charger SXT which wasn't the hemi for a hemi and feel like I got a worst engine. Anyways I really hope this problem is fixed by Chrysler I've spent alot on repairs and this isn't fair that the buyer has to deal with this type of problem I've owned plenty of cars and never have had this happen so obviously Chrysler is responsible!

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #13

May 012012

300C

  • 90,000 miles
Every time the tank is filled to full this vehicle stalls. At 3/4 fill it does not occur. In light of the Chevy cobalt tragedy perhaps a proper investigation into this defect will commence. This isn't a nuisance "temporary glitch" issue, because whenever a car loses power unexpectedly it should not be considered a nuisance issue. I experienced an engine stall at a high rate of speed entering a freeway just after fueling and my car lost all power. Half-baked suggestions like don't fill the tank full are silly. This is a serious issue that requires a specific repair recommendation.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #12

Jan 032011

300C 8-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
Car stalls about 1 mile after filling up with gas. Has stalled going low and high speeds, leaving me with very little control of the vehicle.a mechanic recommended that I fill up before its under half full but that doesn't seem to help any. Now I fill up before I go into a nearby grocery store and afterwards I start the car a few times and it seems to prevent it from stalling. Last week my husband decided to drive it to work (long drive) and didn't take my advice during fill up and it stalled shortly after getting on the highway.

- Skiatook, OK, USA

problem #11

Dec 192013

300C 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had just completed a fuel fill-up and upon driving away from the pump the engine died, losing all power. With 3-4 attempted restarts the car moved for short distances and repeatedly died. When it did restart, the engine would not engage in drive. Eventually, the car would run normally and would continue to run until the next fill up. The latest incident (after 3 incidents) occurred Feb 4, 2014. After my mechanic was able to duplicate the incident on Feb 7 and discovered that this problem has occurred multiple times to other vehicles. Chrysler Corp should have issued a recall in my opinion.

- Gary, IN, USA

problem #10

Nov 232013

300C 8-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
After filling the vehicle with gasoline it surges while gong down the road then dies. Vehicle restarts, may surge and die again, then drives normally tell next gas fill up.

- Hutchinson, KS, USA

problem #9

Dec 202013

300C 8-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
After fueling up my Chrysler 300C, my car stalled and completely shut down (approximately 2 miles after fill up). Luckily, I was in the parking lot of my work at the time, so I was only going 5-10 mph. Unfortunately, the power steering completely froze and I was unable to park the car, so the car was resting in the right-of-way of other cars driving in the lot. Also, I came two inches from hitting a tree since I could not steer the car away from any objects in my path. Thank goodness the breaks still worked. I was unable to restart the car for a few minutes. After approx. 10 minutes of resting the car in the middle of the parking lot, the car restarted with a "pop" noise. Once we got the car started, I was able to park it in a safe spot. I am now afraid to drive my car, especially in traffic or on the freeway at higher rates of speed. I am a single mom with two young kids and it really has me freaked out to think that we could be involved in an accident should this happen again. Obviously, the safety of my children, myself and any other innocent person on the road has me concerned. I'm the original owner, and I never topped off the tank. Please recall the fuel tank on these cars as they are not safe. Also, please include the 2005 year in your investigation.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #8

May 252013

300C 8-cyl

  • 49,755 miles
We purchased our 2005 Chrysler 300C on May 24, 2013 with 49,755 miles on vehicle. We picked up vehicle on May 25th from dealer and went to gas station to fill up gas tank. Upon leaving the gas station the car stalled and lost all power. Tried to restart vehicle and after two times it started again but still chugged and wouldn't pick up speed. This continued to happen until after the car was driven for about 10 miles. This did not happen again right away and after reading owners manual we just thought maybe it had been sitting long at dealer or something. On June 17th we again had to fill up the gas tank and upon doing so the same thing happened with the stalling, chugging and just not running correctly. While turning left the car stalled again and I had a very hard time restarting. In the mean while other cars were coming at me from both behind me and in front of me. This really scared me so I called a local Chrysler dealership and was told that they had no idea what it could be and we should bring it in. At that point I decided to look on internet to check for recalls and ended up finding the numerous complaints from people having the exact same issue with their 2005 Chrysler 300C as we have. The only way to solve this very dangerous problem is to either not fill the tank all the way or have a new tank installed at a cost of anywhere from $1500 all the way up to $2500 which is ridiculous considering this really seems to be a manufacturing defect on Chrysler's part. Is it going to take a serious accident possibly leading in a death for Chrysler to act on this problem? this is a very dangerous issue and will eventually cause a fatal accident.

- Oak Creek, WI, USA

problem #7

Jun 072010

300C 8-cyl

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This problem only after fill the gas tank. After pulling away from the pump and pulling into traffic the car died and won't start until you put in park. This happens until some of the fuel has been used up. I would have it happen make it home. Then the next time I drive it the car will die until its been driven enough to use up some fuel. This dangerous because it happen as you slow down or start up. I have had it die while turning and lose all controls because it dies! the only way to combat this is to not fill the tank. That works if I drive the car but my family members forget that and have lost control also! this has been going on for 3 years! dangerous

- Fenton, MO, USA

problem #6

Apr 252013

300C

  • 77,000 miles
Was in my father's '05 Chrysler 300C, stopped at a red light. Engine shut itself off, steering column locked, and the oil pressure light came on. I turned the vehicle off and turned it back on again, and it continued to work fine. Upon searching the internet for causes to this problem, I quickly found that this is a very common problem. Lots of people have had their 300 stall on them, and apparently the computer in the car does not have a record of the system fail, or the warning lights on the dashboard coming on. The repairs appear to be in the $1200 - $2000 range. Seems like something Chrysler should make their dealers fix for free, seeing as it is very clearly a manufacturer's error. Having learned of the treatment Chrysler's customers receive, I will be sure not to bring my money to them when I need a car of my own.

- Troutdale, OR, USA

problem #5

Jul 062006

300C 8-cyl

  • 18,972 miles
A/C has never ran cold since we purchased this vehicle, we went to the dealer numerous times over the years to see if it was a recall on this vehicle, but each time the dealer claimed no recall on the 2005 Chrysler 300C A/C system, we even checked the web for recalls but we found nothing. I found the problem myself in July 2005, it seems that this vehicle came with bad schrader valves high and low, over the years I just added freon, but now the leak is so bad it won't hold a charge more than 5 days, went back to the dealer who claimed the A/C system was not under warranty and we would have to pay for a full evac of the system, replacement of the bad schrader valves plus labor and taxes. We choose not to have the work done because of the expense involved. Over the years we have had to replace both lower tie rod ends, the tie rod ends that came with the vehicle look really cheap as well as the after market parts. We had the stability control system worked on twice, each time just before the stability light come on we notice the dash lights flicker constantly, the dash lights has always flickered on this vehicle. The dealer was notified of this problem, but claims replacing the stability part in the steering column would resolve this issue, as of today June 20, 2012 the dash lights are flickering again which means another trip to the dealer.

- Pineville, LA, USA

problem #4

Jan 152012

300C

  • 114,000 miles
2 different times this vehicle will not go out of park and strands me. I have seen many online complaints.also and crysler recalled chargers and Dodge but have not recalled the chryster 300's for the same problem. There is a cheap part that breaks and causes the gear lock up and the whole steering assembly has to be replaced per Chrysler at a high price. Should be recall as with chargers and Dodge products.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #3

Jan 242011

300C

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 chrylser 300C. The contact stated while driving 10 mph or greater, the vehicle had a vibration coming from the floor of the vehicle. The dealer was contacted who referred him to the manufacturer. The manufacturer was contacted who stated to contact NHTSA. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #2

Aug 242007

300C 8-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
We purchased a 2005 Chrysler 300C new in March of 2005, since that time we noticed the car pulls to the right, and over say several months the problem got worse, I replaced to driver side outer tie rod end around August of 2007, then early 2009 the same thing happened to the passenger side, it's April 2011 and I'm about to replace the tie rod end for a second time on the drivers side.

- Louisiana, LA, USA

problem #1

May 242010

300C

  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler 300C. While driving approximately 25 mph, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to control and there was an abnormal clicking noise inside the steering wheel. The hazard lights also shut on and off intermittently. Whenever the contact shut the engine off and restarted the vehicle it would function normally; however, the failure continued to occur intermittently. The dealer did not diagnose the failure. The failure and current mileages were 43,000.

- New London, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?