Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
77,252 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler 300C engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler 300C:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler 300C Owner Comments (Page 5 of 10)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #116

Feb 252014

300C 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling up the gas tank, the engine will stall several times. When idling at a light or stop sign and sometimes when traveling at low rpms. This engine has stalled when entering the parkway nearly being rear ended. This has occurred for the past two months several times, only when I fill up the gas tank.

- Staten Island Ny, NY, USA

problem #115

Jan 192014

300C 8-cyl

  • 82,300 miles
Car stalled multiple times on road after I filled the tank; to date dealership has replaced canister and purge valve, replace oxygen filter, and is now recommending replacing fuel tank.

- Bound Brook, NJ, USA

problem #114

Jul 012013

300C 8-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
The engine stalled as I was approaching an intersection with a red light and would not start back up. The dealer diagnosed it as valve seat failure with no compression in one cylinder, of which I have found many similar complaints on the internet. They and several other mechanics suggested that the only way to go forward was to completely replace the engine. At 7 years old the car is no longer functional, but the fact that the engine died while I was driving it could have been very dangerous. While GM is recalling cars for stalling, their cause was much more minor and they finally acknowledged it - Chrysler refuses to acknowledge it and I constantly hear from the dealer about how they've never heard of that happening before when even their mechanics acknowledge it happens a lot.

- Davis, CA, USA

problem #113

Dec 102013

300C 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In January I filed a safety complaint on this web site regarding the stalling of my Chrysler 300C after filling the gas tank (ODI # 10561779). Over the last two and a half months the problem has persisted, with the only way to avoid the problem was to only fill the gas tank to 3/4 full. On 2/24/14 I saw the abc news report that stated "us ends probe of Chrysler engine stalling" and the article states they investigated 1200 complaints and found 299 in which the fuel system allowed the gas tank to be over-filled. It also stated that "Chrysler updated the part in new cars and guaranteed it for life in cars now on the road." When my Chrysler dealer (who has been taking care of my Chrysler since I bought it there new in 2/2006) was contacted, he stated that only certain VIN numbers were being covered. He told me I could call Chrysler and speak to them. I called the 1-800-992-1997 Chrysler customer service this morning. I explained about the stalling and that I had filed a complain back in December 2013 regarding the consistent stalling when the tank is filled. I explained my Chrysler dealer stated my car was not on their list, and to call Chrysler. The representative informed me that they were only fixing certain cars and mine was not one of them and that I could take it to the dealer and pay to have it fixed. When I asked if it turned out to be the exact same part that was being replaced, would they cover it, I was informed they would not. I am unsure what factors guided Chrysler on which cars to fix, but it appears that they have left out at least my car which has exactly the same described problem I have seen on the complaint web site.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #112

Feb 252014

300C 8-cyl

  • 63,507 miles
Vehicle will stall while driving or surge while trying to stop without notice for up to thirty minutes or approximately 20 miles after normal fuel up (no topping off!). I suddenly surged while approaching another vehicle from behind at a stop light and my vehicle nearly caused a collision. While driving on a two-lane curved road the vehicle stalled causing loss of steering and near collision with on-coming traffic and had to stop quickly which caused a road hazard for other vehicles coming around a tight turn behind me. Once restarted, I continued on same road and vehicle died again in a turn on same road causing the steering to go out again which lead to veering off the road and with the potential of falling down a 30 foot un-guarded decline. Vehicle will stall and surge while in idle as well. I have been able to replicate this issue reliably on three separate occasions. I welcome any skeptics from Chrysler or other investigative authorities to contact me so that I may demonstrate the severity of this issue if necessary. This is dangerous!!!

- Yelm, WA, USA

problem #111

Feb 232014

300C 8-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
I have had this car for 7 years, never had an issue. On February 23,2014 I went to shell and filled up the car with $49. I do not remember if I ever filled the car up before. I'm sure I have but I usually put 20/30 bucks in. But I just found out about stop N shop gas savings and received a discount. I tried to put 50 in but it only took $49. I got back in the car and I tried to pull away from the pump and it shut down. I thought maybe it was a fluke since I was basically at a roll. I drove 2 blocks and at the traffic light it died. I proceeded to make a U-turn to return home. The car died 3 times in a 5 block span. I took the car to my cousin who had a computer, no codes came up but the car shut down twice. I parked the car and took out a different car. My cousin thought it was bad gas or a bad oil change which I had done on Feb 22, 2014 I just returned home and googled, "Chrysler 300C stalling" and found the article that this has been occurring, and here I am. I guess I will contact Chrysler in the morning.

- Astoria , NY, USA

problem #110

Feb 222014

300C 8-cyl

  • 106,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car stalled and restarted itself on the interstate over 10 times yesterday. I got off the interstate and the car stalled 6 times on local streets and had to be restarted with the starter 6 times. I have reported this problem to NHTSA before. The local paper reported last week (Feb 15, 2014) that Chrysler had acknowledge the problem as the fuel tank and they would extend the fuel tank warranty for life in cars now on the road. I contacted the Chrysler dealership on Feb 17, 2014 and they said to contact Chrysler at 800 992 1997. I contacted Chrysler at 800 992 1997 on Feb 17, 2014 and they took my information and said that they would pass it to the technical department and then get back to me (case # [xxx]). I again contacted Chrysler at 800 992 1997 on Feb 20, 2014 and they said they knew nothing about the problem (case # [xxx] from 2/17) and that I was not scheduled to get a letter. I have had this problem from 2006 and Chrysler has always said it might be bad gas or whatever and have indicated that I was the only one to have this problem. I have replaced 3 sensors and the PCM over the years with no change in symptoms. Chrysler might have owned up to the problem with NHTSA PE13016, however they have had the same story with me over the years, from the first time I reported the car stalling 3 months after I purchased the car in 2006. Does NHTSA take Chrysler word that they will fix the problem or do they check up on them and make Chrysler fix the problem? this car was purchased for my wife and she has refused to drive it for the last 3 years. I only drive it if I have to. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Stockbridge, GA, USA

problem #109

Apr 022012

300C 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles
After filling the gas tank the vehicle stalls periodically. The issue has become worst over time. The last time my son was driving with me in the car and stall in the middle of the highway. He was 16 and still in the learning stage of driving. The time before we were pulling out of a gas station as we were entering traffic the engine stalled. Lucky we were not involve in an incident.

- Winchester, CA, USA

problem #108

Feb 042013

300C 8-cyl

  • 141,000 miles
Every time vehicle is filled with gas, engine stalls.

- Pooler, GA, USA

problem #107

Feb 102014

300C 8-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
Everytime I fill up my tank, and begin to drive, if I slow down and/or come to a stop, the engine dies. This will happen several times until I pick up speed or park the car for an extended time. If I get on the highway, I don't seem to have a problem. Only when I'm driving slowly, right after I fill up my tank. If I let the car sit for several hours after refueling, I don't have this problem. On my way to work today, the car stalled out 4 times at 4 different lights.

- Frisco, TX, USA

problem #106

Jan 102014

300C 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stalls at slow speed and at idle also miss fires at speed after refueling gas tank. It continues until a gal. Or so of fuel is consumed.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #105

Oct 192013

300C 8-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
Going around a rotary in everett, mass. The car just shut itself off.

- Malden, MA, USA

problem #104

Dec 022013

300C 8-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Car stalls after fill-up. Will stall even without topping off tank. This will happen when pulling out into traffic. Will stall multiple times and buck while driving for a time. Can not fill up tank.

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #103

Sep 092013

300C 8-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Vehicle stalled at major intersection shortly after refueling and would not restart and stay running. Had to be pushed out of intersection and off roadway by police. No codes appeared. Numerous restarts and stalls before car was drivable. Brought to mechanic who computer scanned for diagnosis. No codes. Problem has now recurred 2 more times immediately after last 2 fill ups. Most recent was reentering rte 23S near wayne NJ after filling up. Car stalled and created a serious hazard for me and passengers trying to avoid rear end collision while pulling to shoulder with no power. Very busy road with 50-60 mph traffic. Car would not restart and stay running - requiring 5-7 restart/stalls before it was drivable. Brought to mechanic for diagnosis again. No codes on scanner. Very dangerous situation.

- Northport , NY, USA

problem #102

Dec 132013

300C 8-cyl

  • 97,785 miles
Our Chrysler 300C had begun to stall out while driving with more than 3/4 tank of gas. We began to limit the amount of gas to never fill more than 3/4 tank. This lasted for approximately 6 months. In Dec, 2013 the vehicle began to stall at other times. I had between 1/4 to 1/2 in the tank when we were driving at approx 45mph when the vehicle began to stall then restart at first. Then it stalled entirely several times that evening as we tried to make it home. I had my 2 daughters and 2 granddaughters with me at the time. The next morning I took the vehicle to local dlr, lee Chrysler, were I purchased the vehicle. The vehicle stalled on me 3 times while I was trying to make it the 3 miles. The dealer had the car until 12-16-2013 when they advised that the proportional valve/purge vale needed replaced and that all of the updates to the system needed to be made. The total of this attempt to repair was $379.45. The car immediately began to stall again so I returned it. They kept the car for approximately two weeks with their computer hooked up to it then advised that the PCM needed replaced this repair cost a total of $1,018.61. The car was on empty so he offered to stop for gas. He filled the tank up then pulled out to 5 lanes of traffic and stalled. The vehicle would not restart for several attempts. I called the dealer and they wrecker after the vehicle. They had the car for one night and called us to pick up and run the gas out to 1/4tank. We were told it would not stall again because they had disconnected the emissions system. While I was driving the car on a very busy 7 lane hwy with my daughter and 3 month old granddaughter the car came to a dead stop in 40mph traffic. I was terrified but was able to get the vehicle to the center lane. They have now called and advised another sensor must be replaced. Someone is going to get injured or killed in this car.

- Shalimar, FL, USA

problem #101

Dec 102013

300C 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Last month, I filled my 300C with mid grade gas, which is what I have always used since I bought it new in 2006, and then directly entered the turnpike. Travel speed was 70 mph. Approximately 1 hour later, exited into a turnpike plaza. There is a left hand turn into the parking area about 500 feet after you exit the highway. As I slowed then coasted around the turn, the engine stalled and the oil light came on. I coasted a short distance until I stopped. I was able to get the car started again, after several tries. This was the first time this had ever happened. I had bought gas and entered the turnpike at that same location many times in the past. I had no further problems getting home. However, last week, I filled up tank and exited my local gas station, which sits on the corner of a main road and a side street. As I turned to get on the side road, the street light turned red, as I slowed to stop, the engine died. I got the car restarted and when the light turned green I stated to go and it stalled again. I got it started drove the 2 miles home and as I pulled into my housing development it stalled a third time. I am not sure what is happening in the engine. This car has had all its maintenance performed at the dealer, including oil changes and has been a great car. I have never had any problems before these stallings started happening.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #100

Jan 012010

300C 8-cyl

  • miles
I've been having a problem with my car stalling after I fill up at the gas station for a few years now. I read that Chrysler was not recalling for this reason so I just read forums and tried not to fill up my gas tank but sometimes I forget and the problem continues.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #99

Jan 212014

300C

  • 130,000 miles
After I fill up (I do not overfill), within the first several miles I drive, the vehicle will stall when slowing down for a stop light. I have also had it that at 40-50 mph it will "hesitate/jerk" like there is a fuel mix issue. This has happened two times in the last week.

- Fennville, MI, USA

problem #98

Jan 092014

300C 8-cyl

  • 37,850 miles
After re-fueling vehicle, car stalled at 5 intersections. Vehicle was difficult to restart. Vehicle would not always go back into gear after restarting until several attempts were made. After burning off a few gallons of fuel on the highway, the vehicle no longer stalled/misfired. Tank was not "topped-off" when filled, it was filled until the pump stopped automatically. Stalling occurs every time vehicle is filled to full.

- Mapleton, ND, USA

problem #97

Jan 152014

300C 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Vehicle stalls several times after filling up the gas tank, mostly while idling. And, it is difficult to re-start after stalling. Engine also runs "rougher" after fill-up. Problem has gotten worse over the past few months. Took 300C to local mechanic who says there is a problem with the gas tank overflow valve. Solution is to replace gas tank or never completely fill it up. It seems that with all of these similar safety complaints, Chrysler should find an alternative fix.

- Vienna, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?