Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,536 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler 300C engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler 300C:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler 300C Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #30

Aug 032015

300C 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Fax letter from constituent seeking urgent help against Chrysler regarding complete engine failure. 2006 Chrysler 300C.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #29

Aug 182014

300C 8-cyl

  • 76,000 miles
I purchased my 2006 Chrysler 300C on 8/8/2014. One week after my purchase I filled my gas tank and soon after the car would stall when idling and/or at low speeds. At first I thought it was a fluke until it has continued to happen. I've spent the past couple of months doing research on the issue. My situation is exactly like the complaints that were made that caused the extended warranty for the issue. My concern is when putting my VIN number in it doesn't show the complaint. I wanted to lodge this complaint this way when I go to the dealership to get it corrected I have a point of reference. One day I had my seven year old son and 6 month old daughter in the car, it was raining and the car started to stall at about 35 mph I tapped the gas to prevent it from stalling. The temporary stall disengaged my traction control and I slid into on coming traffic. I was able to maneuver through it however my children could have died. I hope Chrysler does the right thing for me.

- Pine Hill, NJ, USA

problem #28

Jun 152007

300C 8-cyl

  • 9,017 miles
I have had engine stalling after refueling on numerous occasions since 2007. Received a letter dated May 8, 2014 from Chrysler group llc informing me that my model Chrysler has a condition where the furl shut-off float in the multifunction control valve sticks, causing the vehicle to stall. The letter informed me that the warranty on the tank had been extended to lifetime coverage. This is where my problem with the vehicle continues.... on 17 June 2014 took my vehicle to cutter Chrysler in pearl city, Hawaii 96782 to get it repaired (my wife will not ride in the vehicle because of the stalling). I was informed that the part is on back order (approximately 2-3 months). I went back in September and was informed it should be 1-2 weeks. I went back today 3 November 2014 and was informed still on back order with no date as to when parts may be received. Chrysler has not adequately addressed this problem with an extended warranty, when you can't get your vehicle repaired because of back ordered parts. It has been 6 months and no repair in sight. My wife does not consider this low risk to vehicle safety and has not ridden in the vehicle since 2008! how can the preliminary evaluation be closed when Chrysler has not adequately addressed fixing the problem. Warranty extended, but no parts!! investigation closed but no repairs. The problem is still a problem!

- Kapolei, HI, USA

problem #27

Sep 202014

300C 8-cyl

  • 167,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Filled up with gas. While driving 30 mph car stalled going down a hill and brakes became rigid. To try to avoid crashing into other vehicle I went over a sidewalk. Tire broke, hit a tree and had to shut off car to stop car as brakes were not stopping the car. Then I ended damage another vehicle because of busy traffic. This all happened because the car stopped less than 5 minutes after refueling.

- St. Paul, MN, USA

problem #26

Jun 142014

300C

  • 85,480 miles
I purchased my vehicle from car max used about 15 months ago and my vehicles engine has gone out already at only 85480 miles on it. I was told by the mechanic that my engine is about to throw a rod. I have researched this online and have found pages of complaints from people with the same vehicle claiming the same thing happened to their cars. When I spoke with the mechanic about this he said that he has seen countless customers with this issue and he has found that the valves in the engine are defective because they don't allow the oil to flow through the engine which causes the engine to go out.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #25

Aug 092014

300C

  • 73,000 miles
Engine stalls after filling up with gas.

- Clayton, CA, USA

problem #24

Sep 012012

300C 8-cyl

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine stalls after filling the tank. On at least four occasions vehicle would stall within 20 miles of completely filling tank. After second incident vehicle taken to Chrysler dealer for a tune-up, however problem persisted. This occurred once while entering a public parking lot with loss of power steering and brakes fortunately the car at low speed and rolled to a stop before striking anything. On another occasion this happened while pulling away from a traffic light in heavy traffic nearly causing the vehicle to be struck from behind. Temporary fix is to no longer completely fill the tank, guessing at about 3/4 tank to stop fueling. Partially filling the tank is not a proper solution. This is a recurring problem and needs to be investigated and recalled.

- Harmony, PA, USA

problem #23

Aug 012013

300C

  • miles
The current issue with this model for me is the fuel. I just had a vapor canister installed that did not solve the issue but it did get rid of a few of the problems. When I first started having problems with my car shutting down after a fill up, I thought the gas had water in it but it's not the gas. No matter what station I fill up at, I have the same symptoms. The car will drive fine for about 3 car lengths, then it will hesitate, choke, jump, try to die, jerk forward and then finally stall and shut itself off. Then it will take 3 or more tries to get the car to restart and it may do the same things over again for another block or two. The bottom line is, in the first 3 blocks of driving this car after a fill up, I can expect just about anything and I know for sure it will die on me if I fill it up. If I only put in 3/4 of a tank of gas or less, I am safe but if I let the pump kick off on its own, I'm in trouble. The only thing the vapor canister did was stop it from jumping and jerking, all the other symptoms are still there.

- Dixon, KY, USA

problem #22

Feb 282014

300C 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
After filling the vehicle with gas, the vehicle stalls while idling. While driving down the road the car jerks severely and then turns off while driving down the road. There was an investigation that was closed on February 10, 2014, and Chrysler is suppose to be offering lifetime extended warranty related to this issues. However, I have not been successful in having Chrysler assist me in making sure my vehicle is safe to drive down the road. The vehicle stalling occurred twice while driving until I started to research it.

- Elizabeth City, NC, USA

problem #21

Feb 082010

300C 8-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Vehicle often stalls after filling gas tank. Usually restarts right away. No check engine light.

- Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #20

Jan 312014

300C

  • 156,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle stalls at random. Today I was driving 30-40 mph and my engine stalls and turns off. I was stuck in the middle of a busy intersection off a freeway ramp. Where is the recalling on this" are they waiting for deaths" this has been an on going serious issue and needs to be resolved. This vehicle is very dangerous to drive!

- San Jose , CA, USA

problem #19

Jan 262014

300C 8-cyl

  • 29,500 miles
Engine stalled soon after filling gas tank. Has happened the last two times the tank was filled.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

problem #18

Oct 212010

300C 8-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Vehicle has had 3 incidents of engine stalling. 1st was early morning after being driven only.7 miles. Next was 11/5/2013 after filling up on way home. Car died at stop sign. Next was 11/6/2013 after being driven less then a mile. Car restarted after each incident.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 142013

300C

  • 100,105 miles
After filling up with fuel at bp gas station my engine sped up 300 RPM and shut-off in the station. I restated it and it ran with a slight hesitation. I could smell raw fuel coming out of the exhaust. It stalled 3 more times within 20 mins. One time on a sharp curve in the road. I had no power steering; good thing it wasn't my wife driving.

- Englewood, NJ, USA

problem #16

Oct 102013

300C 8-cyl

  • 78,513 miles
I was on the entrance ramp to route 495S, about to enter the highway, with cars behind me, and the engine stalled. This was particularly dangerous for myself and other drivers because there was no break-down lane at the end of the entrance ramp. You go directly onto the highway. If I was on the highway when the car stalled there was nowhere for me or the cars behind me to go. They would have had to attempt to stop, too. One of the restart issues with this car is that it must be stopped and in park before you can restart the engine. It is not possible to restart the car while it is moving.

- Methuen, MA, USA

problem #15

Aug 032011

300C 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
My 300 C stalls and jerks every time I fill it up now. The car was taken to the dealership and reported several times (midway Jeep and Chrysler, san diego), and the service writer said they were aware of the problem because they have had a number of complaints. I was told not to fill the car up completely as this might help. It does not !!!! I almost got killed last week when the engine stalled as I was going down hill with the loss of brakes and power steering....!!!!!!!! I called the service writer at midway Jeep Chrysler and was put into his voice mail. It is interesting that he never returned the call about the complaint. I have made several. What is it going to take for action to be taken " an injury or death " I also have witnesses that have been in the car when this has happened.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #14

Aug 032011

300C 8-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
My 300 C stalls and jerks every time I fill it up now. The car was taken to the dealership and reported several times (midway Jeep and Chrysler, san diego), and the service writer said they were aware of the problem because they have had a number of complaints. I was told not to fill the car up completely as this might help. It does not !!!! I almost got killed last week when the engine stalled as I was going down hill with the loss of brakes and power steering....!!!!!!!! I called the service writer at midway Jeep Chrysler and was put into his voice mail. It is interesting that he never returned the call about the complaint. I have made several. What is it going to take for action to be taken " an injury or death " I also have witnesses that have been in the car when this has happened.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #13

Jul 062013

300C 8-cyl

  • 38,566 miles
After I purchased my 2006 Chrysler 300C on July 6th, 2013, the salesman filled the car up with gas. He had the car running & before I could get in the car, it switched itself off, not once but twice. The next incident was after the first time I filled my car with gas, which was July 26th, I drove to my next stop & my car switched off while pulling into a parking place. The next time was July 29th, my husband filled the car up & the car switched off twice!!! the next time was the next day, July 30th, I was at a red light & the car switched off. I have not made the 1st payment on the car, however, I am concerned with this major safety issue!!!

- Dublin, GA, USA

problem #12

Jul 012012

300C 8-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
The first time I stalled was after filling up my tank, I was leaving the gas station, I was in the right lane of on coming traffic when it stalled, nearly getting hit by an on coming car. Since that time it has stalled at least six times. I went to my Chrysler dealer who claims they had no knowledge of this problem. It happened again two days later while on a busy highway. I was making a left turn into a shopping center when it stalled, leaving me in the far left lane of on coming traffic. I immediately went to the Chrysler dealership and reported it again at which time I was informed there was still no recall on the car and I was told I would have to leave it. I am going back to the dealership on 5/30/13 (hilton head Chrysler, hwy 278, fording island rd, .,hardeville, SC)

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #11

Sep 092011

300C 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
I bought my 2006 300C 9/2/2011 exactly a week later it was back at the dealship its stalling for no reason. Every month Oct, Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb, March, etc it has been back to the shop for the same exact problem and its not fixed because they don't know what is causing it. When I took it in March/2012 we almost go hit by a truck and trailer going 75 mph on the interstate because it stalled on me. I have three little kids and this is dangerous. I googled searched and there is hundreds of ppl having the same problem but no mechanic is able to tell them the problem. This issue needs a recall and soon...

- Muncie, IN, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?