Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,017 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler 300C fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler 300C:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler 300C Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #51

Aug 222013

300C 8-cyl

  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After many incidents we have determined that after filling with fuel, the vehicle stalls many times in approximately the next 5 miles, makes the vehicle very scary to drive. Difficult to get the whole family and station attendants to understand that this car can not have a full tank of gas. Terrible failure that it seems Chrysler is ignoring...

- Saugus, CA, USA

problem #50

Jan 022014

300C

  • 106,023 miles
After fueling up about 1 mile later as I left a red light the motor just stalled as soon as it took off with no warning no power steering I couldn't control the vehicle in the middle of a busy road had to put the car and park and re start the motor it happens whenever I refuel very dangerous.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #49

Dec 012013

300C

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300C. The contact stated that upon starting, the contact heard a pop as all of the electronic components failed. The contact inspected the vehicle and found that the battery had failed. The contact also mentioned that the vehicle suddenly stalled after refueling. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 92,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #48

Nov 172011

300C

  • 108,496 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300C. The contact stated that after refueling to capacity and driving 10 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 108,496 and the current mileage was 146,000.

- Plain Field , IN, USA

problem #47

Nov 132013

300C

  • 161,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300 C. the contact stated that after refueling to capacity and driving 5 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where they stated that the check valve was fractured and the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 161,000.

- Banning, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #46

Nov 272013

300C

  • 44,900 miles
Car stalled after fill up...stalled several times.

- Union City, IN, USA

problem #45

Nov 042013

300C

  • 76,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine abruptly stalls shutting down power steering and brakes while in traffic and oil pressure is reading 0. turn ignition switch off and car restarts perfectly with nl oil pressures. This has happened twice nearly causing accidents. Would probably be fatal if on interstate. There is absolutely no warning. There was also no error codes stored in the cars computer.

- High Point, NC, USA

problem #44

Nov 052012

300C

  • 105,100 miles
I bought my 2006 Chrysler 300C brand new & I've been the only owner. It was purchased straight from daimler/Chrysler, ordered & built to my selected specifications through Chrysler. I set the order in February 2005, it was built & finished 11 Nov 2005. This was done while I was finalizing my career in active duty military service & retired. I returned to the U.S. 7 Jan 2006 & that's when I saw & picked my then brand new 300C. I fell in love with that car ever since. I truly love this car & to this day still love this car. I've never had any major issues with this car from day one otherthan putting gas in it, very dependable car. In 2007 June I was diagnosed cancer of the bone & blood (multiple myeloma, stage 4). After being hospitalized for apprx. 18 mths, one day while coming from chemo it started to over heat & blowing steam, had it towed to nearest dealer & had to have the fans & the sensors replaced, 1st major problem, then after that it was the shift lever stuck in park, then the "a" frame & control arms, now in Nov 2012, after attending my grandmother's funeral, I filled it up @ a gas station & it shut off, would start back up but continued to shut off. There was no check engine light then once I got it started it would sputter, kick, & stall, this was repeated for several miles down the hwy & was fine til I had to fill it up again from then on it continued to do so every fill up. I did receive an indication of the gas cap (replaced) then June 2013 I filled it up as usual & it shut off & it was difficult to restart, I waited & start it again it did so I pulled on to the road, it began to stall, sputter, & buck, as I crept home, I heard a loud crackling sound lost all power, had it towed was told #4 vlv had fell down in the cylinder, after 3 months 2008 5.7L engine put in, problem still exist, evap solenoid, canister, pump, & filter assembly replaced.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #43

Mar 272008

300C

  • 25,000 miles
I bought a 2006 Chrysler 300C new from the dealership in may of 2006. At approximate 25,000 miles it began to shut off after filling up the gas tank completely at the gas station. I've always put the correct fuel in my car as recommended by the manual and the dealerships I've taken her to for routine maintenance. At intermittent intervals throughout the ownership of my car, it has shut off, stranded me on dark roads and have almost caused accidents on highways, busy streets with my children in the car. This car has been dealership maintained & I've adamantly followed the maintenance schedules. Have taken it to the dealership and had spark plugs, fuel pump, water pump, thermometer changed all needlessly. I've spent close to $4000 in repairs and needless parts.the dealership has ran various diagnostics and haven't found anything wrong. The car now has close to 76,000 miles on it and will shut off if the gas tank goes to the quarter of tank mark or when it's full. I never top it off because I've been warned not to top off my gas intake. I've sought second opinions on why this might be happening and the dealerships in NY, NJ and fl have informed me that this is a common complaint they receive for all of the Chrysler 300 series. This is a dangerous malfunction that could possibly cost lives plus cost an expensive loss for this car. I've spoken to other owners plus researched other forums, and there are hundreds of the same complaints about when the car is fueled especially after the car reaches 50,000 miles on it. The last incident was Oct. 30, 2013 in which I was almost in an accident due to the fact that my car shut off at a stop light after the light turned green. The cars behind me started to move and the car directly behind me had to swerve to keep from hitting me. This is a dangerous problem.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #42

Oct 042012

300C 8-cyl

  • 50,045 miles
After gasoline fill up, vehicle stalls after leaving gas station. Most likely to happen first quarter mile after fill up and sometimes within five miles. Later occurrences may happen upon making left turn. Took to dealer and vehicle checked out. Vapor canister and purge valve tested ok. Was told fuel control valve may be problem but the fuel tank would have to be removed to access the part. Cost would be considerable. Condition has continued to occur upon fill up for over a year now with rare exception. I find it quite distracting and dangerous when vehicle stalls in traffic as it takes several seconds to get restarted and may reoccur again. I have an appointment to repair tomorrow, 31 October 2013. If vehicle is recalled for this issue I would like to be eligible for reimbursement.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #41

Oct 212013

300C

  • 86,437 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling up the fuel tank from a start of 1/8 th to full tank, the car stalled after leaving the service station about 200 feet down the road while stopped at a light. After getting the vehicle restarted I began to accelerate from the stopped position but driving power train was fairly erratic as the car attempted to lurch forward or accelerate unpredictably then would pull back by nearly stalling. This continued for several miles before reaching my driveway. The car while in neutral loped substantially from 2000 RPM to 100rpm several times before stalling. Attempting to start the car after stalling was successful. Leaving the car parked and off for 60 minutes had no beneficial effect. After returning the starting was very difficult and the instrument panel gauges were not lit until the car started again. The car continues to be idle erratically both while in park and in drive and at slow speeds.

- Ambler, PA, USA

problem #40

Jan 012012

300C

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300C. The contact stated that the vehicle stalled while entering the highway at 45 mph. The contact was a able to restart the engine and the vehicle resumed normal function. The contact stated the failure was experienced multiple times when the fuel tank was filled to capacity. The fuel tank had to be filled to 3/4 full in order to avoid multiple stalling failures. The vehicle was taken to the deale, who advised the contact that the fuel vapor recovery system failed and the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000 and the current mileage was 72,000.

- Wheatland , CA, USA

problem #39

Oct 142013

300C

  • 100,105 miles
After filling up with fuel at bp gas station my engine sped up 300 RPM and shut-off in the station. I restated it and it ran with a slight hesitation. I could smell raw fuel coming out of the exhaust. It stalled 3 more times within 20 mins. One time on a sharp curve in the road. I had no power steering; good thing it wasn't my wife driving.

- Englewood, NJ, USA

problem #38

Oct 092013

300C

  • 96,424 miles
If vehicle is filled up with gas until full car will stall shortly after fill-up.

- Montevallo, AL, USA

problem #37

Sep 212013

300C 8-cyl

  • 85,799 miles
I filled up my tank at the bp service station on rt. 17 paramus, NJ and the car stalled entering the highway, (rt. 17 South) stalled three more times on the highway, had to pull into a shopping center to get it to idle. Stalled at the intersection on linwood avenue and paramus road, paramus NJ and barely made it home to franklin turnpike in ridgewood, NJ. I had to burn off a few gallons of gas at idle and high idle to get the car to normalize at idle and make it road worthy and safe to drive.

- Ridgewood, NJ, USA

problem #36

Aug 022013

300C 8-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
I completely filled up my gas tank (not just a top off) Friday afternoon. After driving a few miles, while in the turning lane and crossing traffic my car shut itself off. The steering wheel locked up and I was unable to steer to safety. I had to put the car in neutral and "coast" to the side. Luckily I was turning at the turning light and there wasn't heavy traffic. This was very dangerous and scared me! I tried to start my car and was unable to do so. It wouldn't "turn over" the first time. The second time trying to start it, it didn't seem like it would state and then finally started. The only light that came on (after the car shut itself off) was the oil light. My oil is completely full. It was just changed a month ago using synthetic oil. I had a mechanic look at it and was told that there was nothing wrong with it.

- Panama City, FL, USA

problem #35

Sep 282012

300C 8-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
As reported with other complaints, car will stall after refueling. Yesterday it stalled three times while removing my foot from the accelerator and applying the brake. It also stalled while turning through an intersection which prompted me to dig into this further since previous attempts to correct the problem have not worked!. visited Chrysler dealership today and since the check engine light was not on nor could they find anything specific to the issue there was nothing they could do. The only question I was asked was that if I topped the fuel after the pump automatically shuts off. I responded that I did not and if I did what difference would that make. Problem has been on going for about 8 months, and in those months the dealership re-flashed the engine control module, I have replaced the spark plugs, replaced all the fluids, and replaced the PCV valve. Problem still persists and would like to seek some type of resolution!

- Cumming, GA, USA

problem #34

Aug 082011

300C

  • 40,000 miles
Our 2006 Chrysler 300 srt8 dies after fueling the gas tank to full. It has died in intersections were we have almost been hit and in turns car dies, locks up and there is no power anything. We have taken it to the dealership 4 times and continuously pay money to turn run diagnostic, only to hear " we cannot duplicate the problem" I have spent $400 to be told there is nothing wrong.car becomes very hard to restart. Once I get the vehicle started, again the stalling starts, this will happen several times before the car remains on. As I drive home, I could feel the car "sputtering" or hesitating like it wanted to shut down again. When starting car in the morning it feels like it wants to die. Please help this car is my family's main transportation and I fear that one day this issue will cause a crash. I have a 3 year old and a baby on the way. Help!!! Chrysler does not care about lives, only the bottom line.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #33

Oct 192012

300C 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
After filling up with fuel while stopped at a traffic light the engine stalled. After restarting and proceeding the engine stalled again while traveling at 15-20 mph. This has happened several times since always after refueling.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #32

Mar 052012

300C

  • 65,000 miles
Car stalls many times after fill up. Car will operate normally after a few miles of driving.

- The Villages, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?