Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,017 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler 300C fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler 300C:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler 300C Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #131

Aug 172016


  • 150,000 miles


Started experiencing problems last year. Car would cut off without warning, cut off while in a turn and I was almost hit by oncoming traffic. Took it to the dealer, dealer stated it was PCM. Had the control module fixed ($1000 repair) and now recently we have been experiencing an issue where the car wants to cut off at all speeds. Today, my husband drove it to the gas station and it cut off on him and then wouldn't start back up. It started up a few min after sitting but traffic was too busy so we were unable to drive it home. It is still parked at the gas station and we are hoping well be able to get it home before having to call a tow truck. Replaced spark plugs 1 1/2 weeks ago because we assumed it was misfiring (when it was wanting to cut off). We've changed the camshaft (prior to having the PCM replaced) and egr valve as well. There is no check engine light but have still attempted to get codes read... no codes. This seems to be an ongoing issue that Chrysler needs to take care of. I will never buy another car that Chrysler has had a hand in making..... how many complaints need to take place before you realize that this will kill someone... but I guess you'd rather a lawsuit on your hands for a death rather then fixing all these cars the right way. #unsatisfiedbuyer took a shot at this beautiful car and am sadly disappointed 2006 300C 5.7L hemi. Whats the point of having such a beautiful car if you can't even drive it.

- Green Bay, WI, USA

problem #130

Jun 302016


  • miles
Today for the 1st time since I've had my Chrysler 300C hemi 5.7 liter V8 just randomly stopped at a red light. After taking out the key and restarting the car back up it continued to run, but as soon as we drove off at a low speed you can hear the engine shake and stumble a bit and wanting to stop. I have never encountered problems before since I got it back in 2014.

- Pico Rivera, CA, USA

problem #129

Feb 202016


  • miles
Car randomly stalls, at any speed, dash lights flash on and off, wipers turn on by them self, horn sounds by itself. Had it at the dealership for 2 months, had at sometimes 40+ codes come up on the computer. Changed multiply modules they cant figure it out

- Castleton, VT, USA

problem #128

May 272016


  • 19,112 miles


The car will stall unexpectedly. Often when idling at a stoplight, and sometimes when I am driving the oil light warning comes on, the engine cuts out, and power steering ceases to work. I must restart the car and rev the engine before proceeding, it has yet to happen while driving at high speeds on the freeway. On more than one occasion I have had the local Chrysler dealership mechanics look at the car, and the problem still persists, usually with increased frequency after filling the gas tank to full. To reiterate, often when I am idling at a stoplight the Chrysler 300 stalls. But this sometimes happens when I am in motion driving down a road as well. The mechanics I have had look at my car have found nothing wrong. But it usually happens with greater frequency right after I fill the gas tank to full.

- Calimesa, CA, USA

problem #127

May 052016


  • 19,000 miles
After fueling, car stalled while in motion at slow speed exiting parking lot. Stalled again a mile further when entering garage, both times while turning. Car has 19000 miles.

- Blue Grass, IA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #126

May 162016


  • 128,000 miles
I own a 2006 Chrysler 300C. Since 2013, I have experienced issues with the vehicle stalling while driving at low speeds. The car stops completely, sometimes restarting on its own, sometimes it does not. Chrysler replaced the fuel tank in 2015, stating that was the cause of the issue, but the car continues to stall. Most recently, it stopped while merging onto a busy highway, while driving with my wife and children in the car. The car randomly turns off, no warning. Now the vehicle stopped and refuses to start at all.

- New Milford, CT, USA

problem #125

Dec 162015


  • miles


I bought my car in January 2015. As of December 2015 it started stalling. It would start jerking when I gave it gas. It would shut off when I either tried to take off from a complete stop or when I was just stopped or in the middle of me driving within 40 mph. I took it to the Chrysler dealership (not the dealer I bought it from) they diagnosed it was the wiring harness. I paid over $1200 to get it fixed. The same problem happened within 24 hours of me picking it up. It was there for almost 2 months, they said it did not do anything when it was there. Only said I needed a new battery. I had them replace the battery. Then it happened again about a month later. This time they diagnosed the fuel tank needed to be replaced. Once work was complete I picked it up and less than 5 minutes after leaving I was broke down again. This is the 5th time its been there in the last 5 months. Also I never received a refund after the mis-disgnosis! this is frustrating!

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #124

Apr 022016


  • miles
Vehicle cuts off while backing out of parking spots, traffic lights, and stop signs. Also while driving, the vehicle spudders like it's going to quit, and then suddenly surges at a high rate of speed. All of this is random, at different speeds, and is worse in the city when there is more stopping. No codes or lights are coming on, so a diagnostic can't be ran. My mechanic has had my vehicle for 2 weeks and can't determine the problem.

- Albertville, AL, USA

problem #123

Mar 052016


  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300C. While coming to a stop at slow speeds, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was restarted. The failure occurred multiple times after the vehicle was refueled. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. In addition, the air bag warning light illuminated. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags). The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 135,000.

- Columbia City, IN, USA

problem #122

Oct 142014


  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300C. While driving approximately 50 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road. After restarting, the vehicle, it resumed normal operation. The failure occurred only after refueling to the full capacity level. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but the mechanic could not locate the failure. The contact was advised not to fill the fuel tank to maximum capacity. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 75,000.

- Morrisville, VT, USA

problem #121

Oct 012015


  • 90,000 miles


The car will stall out at complete random times while it is in motion or sitting still in drive or in park. It has happened from 0 to 70 mph, it is completely random. I have read that this is a common occurrence on this model and Chrysler has extended the warranties on the fuel tank to lifetime but for some reason my particular vehicle doesn't fall under this circumstance despite it being the exact same year, make, and model listed on the documents. I do not feel safe driving the car because I'm worried about stalling in the middle of an intersection or highway and it causing a wreck and harm to me or my family.

- Sumrall, MS, USA

problem #120

Mar 012016


  • 20,000 miles
I have had my car for about 3 years and I noticed that when I filled up the gas tank it would cut off. I thought that I was putting too much gas in it, so I stopped filling it up. Then maybe 3-4 months ago it started acting as if it did not want to start or was not getting enought gas. So I started paying attention to what stores I went to, to get gas. Two days ago, I tried starting my car and at first it would not start as if it was not getting enough gas, but then it finally started and as I was in traffic, making a right turn, it just cut off and would not start back up. I later learned that it is an unlimited recall on the fuel tanks for my car. I called several chryslaer dealerships, and it seems that when I told them what the problem was and that there was a recall on it they said they were not able to fix it for maybe a month or two and one dealership told me that because I had more than 150,00 miles on my car they won't fix it.

- Riverdale, GA, USA

problem #119

Jan 312016


  • 60,000 miles
About a month ago, I filled up my vehicle with gas. I had my nieces in the car with me, and as I pulled away from the gas station, the car stalled and shut off in the middle of the road. I got it to crank back up before getting hit. It didn't have much power but finally gained its power back. Every time I fill my tank up (not topping off, but stop once it clicks off) and I drive off, the car quits and has to be cranked back up. It appears to only happen when the car is filled up. This is happening only when it's filled up (which one needs to be able to do). This is scary and dangerous as when you pull off into traffic, the last thing you need is to have a car die on you and you get hit. Please help! I see I'm not the only person who is having this problem.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #118

Aug 232014


  • miles
Takata inflator, engine failure, fuel tank replaced vehicle wass shutting off while driving before fuel tank was replaced and after fuel tank was replaced.. under a extended life time warranty. Took to another dealership in palestine Texas told them vehicle was shutting off while driving and fuel tank was replaced by another dealership in tyler Texas. They could not figure out what was wrong, they said it was ok to drive until they receive a response from Chrysler (a star case)or something like that.they said there was no response from Chrysler until one day II went to start the car and it didn't start. I called dealership in palestine dealership, had it towed to them. 16 miles later and 15 days later, I was told I needed complete motor. Metal pieces in intake and 2valve seats had dropped.later on 11/20/2015 had the head took off to confirm damages to the head and valves.also on 12/19/2014 when vehicle towed in, they started the vehicle and was accelerating the car I was right there in the waiting room, thinking it's fixed, then come tell me I need a motor.

- Palestine, TX, USA

problem #117

Dec 282015


  • 27,500 miles
Stalls after refueling. This is a serious problem and we have not been contacted by Chrysler about this know problem!

- Topeka, KS, USA

problem #116

Jan 042016


  • 91,000 miles
After filling my gas tank, within minutes, my 2006 300C srt8 will stall or even shut off while driving, regardless of speed of vehicle. It does this at least 2 or 3 times. I feel this is a major safety issue.

- Country Club Hills, IL, USA

problem #115

Apr 012012


  • miles
My car stalls after refueling the tank. I am using "plus" gas and it still stalls several times after refueling, usually at a stop light or slowing down but also when just driving along. The car will buck a few times and then just stall out. It takes a few tries to get it to turn over but eventually it will. This happens every time we fuel up.I bought the car second-hand from a dealer who liked to charge me for misc repairs they never actually fixed (according to my own mechanic). My mechanic has no answers. Other than this dangerous problem, I like my vehicle, do you know if Chrysler has the answer and if this can be resolved? I am guessing at when the problem started. Sometime in 2012 shortly after the purchase

- Riverhead, NY, USA

problem #114

May 062015


  • 160,000 miles
When I fill the gas to full, the engine stalls and it happened in an intersection on a yellow light. Very scarry. Has happened several times since but this needs to be fixed

- Sussex, WI, USA

problem #113

Dec 012015


  • miles
Car stalls after filling fuel tank. The stalling issue has been happening for almost 2 years now. Online forums describe a known fuel tank gas fume evac system malfunction. Only known fix is replacement of entire gas tank. If tank is filled only 3/4's full, the stalling does not occur. Chrysler should be forced to recall the defective gas fume evac system and replace the fuel tanks. Cars stalling in traffic is extremely dangerous. Please help.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #112

Dec 012015


  • 112,000 miles
When I'm driving around 55 miles per hour on the highway or bellow the car once to surge and stall in the middle of driving. It will also stall stationary at a red light or stop sign but not all the time, seems after filling my tank up as when it starts acting. I'm on a quarter tank now in my car still keeps wanting to stall

- Spring Hill, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?