Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,521 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler 300C fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler 300C:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler 300C Owner Comments (Page 2 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #142

Mar 292012

300C 8-cyl

  • 94,400 miles


Car stalls at highway speed, stalls when I come to a stop. Sometimes starts again immediately. Potentially dangerous when car stalls on highway, hazardous avoiding accidents. Car is always maintained as manufacturer recommends.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #141

Mar 262014

300C 8-cyl

  • 51,069 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300C. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph, the engine stalled without prior warning. The vehicle restarted then the failure recurred. In addition, the check engine warning indicator illuminated two weeks after the first failure. The vehicle was diagnosed by an authorized dealer who replaced the faulty vacuum canister and fuel tank. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 51,069. Updated 6/27/14

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #140

Apr 212014

300C 8-cyl

  • 119,000 miles
Car stalled after refueling. Runs sluggish.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #139

Jun 032013

300C 8-cyl

  • 90,152 miles


After refueling my 2006 Chrysler 300C it would shut off at highway speed. The car would shut off at a stop light or stop sign this happens only when the car is refueled. This has caused many safety issues because of the oncoming traffic and the car stalling in the intersection.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #138

Apr 132014

300C 8-cyl

  • 97,000 miles
I had just filled up the tank and pulled across the street and into a parking lot. As I was pulling into a parking spot the car died. I was able to get it restarted after about three attempts. After leaving the store I drove home and it died on me at the end on the parking lot as I was pulling into traffic. It died once more as I was driving through a residential area at approx. 25 mph. After I got it home, I allowed it to idle in the driveway for about 5 minutes with no problem. After eating dinner I took it for a drive and it happened again at an intersection. It died and took about five attempts to get it restarted. Updated 10/1/2014

- Lompoc, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #137

Apr 092014

300C 8-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
On April 9th at approximately 6:00 P.M. I filled my car with fuel until the pump shut off. After replacing the fuel lid I drove about 1/4 mile and stopped at a traffic light to make a left turn. Almost as soon as I stopped the engine started to run rough, as if it were running out of fuel and stopped. I placed the car in neutral, started the engine and drove another block before stopping at another traffic signal. Again, the engine sputtered and stopped. I got it started and reached park manor nursing home and shut the engine off while I went to visit. When I left the nursing home, I went down the driveway and about 1/8 mile to a 5 lane intersection that had a traffic signal. The engine sputtered and stopped again just as the light turned green. I had to quickly put the car in neutral to restart it then carefully let off the gas pedal enough to put the gear shift back in "D" and drive away. This was the first time I experienced any engine stops, but it seems to be pretty dangerous, since you cannot predict when it will happen and nothing seemed to trigger the faults. Each time the engine stopped, I noticed the oil pressure indicator was displayed and watched it rise to normal when the engine started again.

- Tuscaloosa, AL, USA

problem #136

Dec 182013

300C 8-cyl

  • 50,102 miles


For several weeks every time I filled my gas tank the car stalled. I would start it and it would stall again. Several times I was almost rear ended getting on the freeway when my car dead stopped also at intersections. Every time I stopped the car at a light after fill up car would stop. I was afraid to drive the car as I feared I would be killed or severely injured. I took the car to the Chrysler dealer Jan 14, 2014. They replaced the fuel tank, evap canaster and vent valve at a cost of $1740.22. I asked if this condition was under warrenty they said no. I understand the warranty has been extended on the fuel tanks as per PE 13-016. I contacted Chrysler they said they did not know anything about an extended warrenty. Chrysler is not honoring their obligation to repair this very dangerous condition. I want to be sure my VIN# is included in this warrenty as I will seek reimbursement for this repair.

- Pleasanton, CA, USA

problem #135

Aug 012013


  • miles
The current issue with this model for me is the fuel. I just had a vapor canister installed that did not solve the issue but it did get rid of a few of the problems. When I first started having problems with my car shutting down after a fill up, I thought the gas had water in it but it's not the gas. No matter what station I fill up at, I have the same symptoms. The car will drive fine for about 3 car lengths, then it will hesitate, choke, jump, try to die, jerk forward and then finally stall and shut itself off. Then it will take 3 or more tries to get the car to restart and it may do the same things over again for another block or two. The bottom line is, in the first 3 blocks of driving this car after a fill up, I can expect just about anything and I know for sure it will die on me if I fill it up. If I only put in 3/4 of a tank of gas or less, I am safe but if I let the pump kick off on its own, I'm in trouble. The only thing the vapor canister did was stop it from jumping and jerking, all the other symptoms are still there.

- Dixon, KY, USA

problem #134

Apr 042014

300C 8-cyl

  • 78,156 miles
After fill up engine shut off five times in traffic.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #133

Nov 202013

300C 8-cyl

  • 180,000 miles
After filling the car a Chrysler 300C stalls. This is now an ongoing problem as the car now stalls after fueling. The stall occurs mostly when stopped at a red-light or driving at a low rate of speed. It has now progressed to include when accelerating onto a interstate.the stall causes all safety systems to fail ie. Breaks, steering, et. I have called the local dealership and the Chrysler hotline 800-992-1997 and was informed that the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, Chrysler will extend fuel-tank warranties does not apply to 2006 Chrysler 300C models. I was told the malfunctioning shut-off float and gas tank neck splash issue is not covered.

- Mount Carmel, PA, USA

problem #132

Mar 292014

300C 8-cyl

  • 147,000 miles


Vehicle stalls after fill up at gas stations. Has happened at least 10 times in last 2 years. Called Chrysler in reference to NHTSA action number PE13016. Despite their claim in the NHTSA action that owner letters mailing began in January 2014, I was told that as of April 2, 2014, the life time warranty has not yet been made official and no letters have yet been sent. As of April 2, 2014, Chrysler is not honoring the claim they made to cause the NHTSA to close this case. Follow up by NHTSA is needed here.

- Far Hills, NJ, USA

problem #131

Feb 282014

300C 8-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
After filling the vehicle with gas, the vehicle stalls while idling. While driving down the road the car jerks severely and then turns off while driving down the road. There was an investigation that was closed on February 10, 2014, and Chrysler is suppose to be offering lifetime extended warranty related to this issues. However, I have not been successful in having Chrysler assist me in making sure my vehicle is safe to drive down the road. The vehicle stalling occurred twice while driving until I started to research it.

- Elizabeth City, NC, USA

problem #130

Jan 022009

300C 8-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
I previously made complaint that after fueling at gas station my car would flood and stall in the middle of traffic almost causing me to be rear ended by vehicles behind me. I was told by [xxx] that Chrysler would be fixing the problem in March 2014. Today 4-1-2014 I called Chrysler who stated even though I have a 2006 300C my VIN is not covered and they denied that any owner letters were sent and that I cant go by what NHTSA has to say. My car is still dangerous to operate when filled and I haven't filled it for years pending this resolution which they now refuse to do. Therefore I am opening another complaint as nothing that was stated to me has come true and Chrysler denies everything on your site and refuses to fix my car which is clearly a 2006 300C 5.7. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sunland, CA, USA

problem #129

Apr 102010

300C 8-cyl

  • 49,500 miles
When filling the gas rank (no topping off) the motor would stall out, had car towed to service garage only to find the car would start. This has happened 2 times, after that it would occur at every fill, it has now gotten to the point where the car stalls out between 2 and 10 times, we don't dare go on the highway for at least 1/2 hour for fear of stalling in traffic! web search indicates this is a very common defect with this model, was told repair would require replacing the gas tank and fuel canister because fill pipe is too high on factory original tank? sounds like a defective factory part that needs dealing with for safety concerns, thank you much for your attention! [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #128

Apr 102007

300C 8-cyl

  • 19,381 miles
After refueling (not over-filling) the vehicle stalls, bucks while in motion, dealerships could not diagnose the reason. This happens every time the tank is filled to the point the gas pump kicks off. The dealer suggests the solution is to not fill the tank, which is a tactic that does work if you can predict how fuel you can pump before the shut-off. This is a safety issue because the stalling is not immediate and will often occur without warning once you have entered moving traffic. On line forums show this to be a wide spread problem with 300C owners. Apparently, many dealers are now suggesting the fuel tank be replaced as a solution. It is unknown if this actually solves the problem. On several occasions where this occurred I have narrowly avoided being rear ended by following traffic. I cannot imagine that no accidents have not been caused by this problem..

- Manorville, NY, USA

problem #127

Mar 202014

300C 8-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
My Chrysler 300C hemi started idling rough and showing code P0300. Oil/plugs were changed, and my car worked well for ~500 miles. After which the low oil level light chimmed. After taking to the dealer the oil pressure switch was replaced and all was right. Close to a month later, while stopped at a rail crossing the car stalled with error code P1520. I checked the oil which was low and added to the correct level. In the oil, there was no discoloration or anything to cause alarm. I started the engine up and while the P1520 was gone I had the P0300. After removing the manifold small aluminum pieces where found inside. Plugs that were close to 4K miles old were ash covered and throttle body. Valves and cylinder #3 head need to be replaced.

- North Salt Lake, UT, USA

problem #126

Mar 232014

300C 8-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
While trying to merge on the freeway the motor stalled and made a rolling drumming not a high pitch noise wouldn't re start towed it home got it started and the engine is making a loud squeak noise it won't idle on its own and it stalls when put into gear.

- Norco, CA, USA

problem #125

Sep 152013

300C 8-cyl

  • 84,304 miles
After filling up with fuel, the engine stalled shortly after. This has occurred on a regular basis when filling the fuel tank using regular unleaded gas. Several complaints duplicate this occurrence.

- Farmington, UT, USA

problem #124

Mar 312006

300C 8-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
I have had a problem with this car suddenly stalling after I fill it up with gas since I bought it. In 2006 Chrysler thought it was the computer and replaced it under warranty. That did not work. I returned it many times. The only remedy was to never fill up the gas tank completely. I recently noticed the NHTSA announced the 19 gallon gas tank for the 2006 Chrysler 300 would now have a life time warranty. I contacted the local dealership. They said my VIN # was not included. Since my car is a 2006 Chrysler 300 with a 19 gallon gas tank and I have had this problem for 8 years I am surprised my car would be one of those not covered. I would appreciate someone looking into this for me.

- West Covina, CA, USA

problem #123

Mar 052014

300C 8-cyl

  • 60,850 miles
Re: extending warranty on 19-gallon fuel tank to life-time coverage for 2006 Chrysler 300C vehicles equipped with 5.7L 8-cylinder hemi engines that may stall after refueling.(see PE13-016). reported today that Chrysler spokesman [xxx] confirmed that the lifetime warranties for the affected vehicles "will be in place in mid-April". looks like Chrysler is finally honoring its agreement reported by NHTSA (PE13-016) in February 2014. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sarasota, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?