Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,521 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler 300C fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler 300C:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler 300C Owner Comments (Page 3 of 9)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #122

Mar 182014

300C 8-cyl

  • 116,518 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Immediately after refuling car, departed gas station and car stalled completely when in middle of left hand turn into oncoming traffic. Placed car in neutral and restarted it. Departed and stopped at a stop sign 100 yards away from turn. Car died again. Placed car in neutral and restarted it. It ran slowly for 50 yards or so and died again while slowing down in traffic. Restarted the car in traffic and it ran fine for 1/4 mile when it died completely again at a stop light. Again, I restarted the car and was able to keep it going without stopping for 3-4 miles. Have not had the problem since turning off the engine overnight.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #121

Feb 082010

300C 8-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Vehicle often stalls after filling gas tank. Usually restarts right away. No check engine light.

- Flower Mound, TX, USA

problem #120

Mar 052014

300C 8-cyl

  • 60,850 miles
Re: PE-13-016 covering 2006 Chrysler 300C vehicles with 5.7 L hemi engines that may stall after refueling I spoke today by phone with "[xxx]", a supervisor with Chrysler customer assistance (1-800-992-1997 and 1-905-440-7694). He told me that contrary to the announcement in ODI resume (PE13-016), Chrysler did not begin mailing letters in January 2014 to the 153,817 owners of affected vehicles extending the warranty period on 19-gallon fuel tanks to lifetime coverage, he told me that the mailing (inot-PE130016-58863.pdf) would in fact begin in April 2014. Owners of the 153,817 affected vehicles should look to receive this letter in April 2014. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #119

Mar 012014

300C 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After refilling my gas tank to full, my engine stalls forcing me to pull over and restart my engine. This occurs only after refilling my gas tank and last for about the first 10 miles or so. Another key point is that it only happens at low RPM usually while I'm decelerating between 5~10mph. I see that these symptoms have been reported by many people. It appears Chrysler has an extended warranty, but when I've called the (800#) and visited my local service department they have no understanding of Chrysler acknowledgment. Is this a true extended warranty" why was this investigation closed"

- Washougal, WA, USA

problem #118

Mar 082014

300C 8-cyl

  • 21,520 miles
After filling the car up with fuel the car stalled and had to be restarted after stopping at a traffic lights. It also sputtered and wanted to quit running at approximately 55 mph. The car was taken to lustine Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, and Ram ltd. In woodbridge. We were told the fuel tank and carbon canister needs replaced because some flapper is bad allowing fuel to enter the canister on fill-ups.

- Dumfries , VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #117

Jan 212014

300C 8-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
On multiple occasions, my wife and I have experienced the symptoms specified in NHTSA action number PE13016. Our mechanic has confirmed this also. However, action PE103016 leads us to believe Chrysler will fix this problem. We have contacted two Chrysler dealers' service dept's and have been told they have no 'recalls' listed for my car's VIN. How do I go about getting Chrysler to meet the agreement stated in PE13016?

- Huntingtown, MD, USA

problem #116

Dec 142013

300C 8-cyl

  • 84,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Right after pulling away from a filling station the car stalled, immediately restarted, drove out on the street and stalled again before reaching the next signal light. Restarted kept slightly more pressure on accelerator, and was fortunate not to have stop or slow down in order to reach home it has did the same thing about a month later. The only way I can be sure of the incident not occurring again is to guess how many miles I have gone based on cars? approximate miles per gal since your Agency has completed your inquiry ( NHTSA action number PE13016 ) and the manufacturer has agreed to extend the fuel tank warranty to " lifetime ", how do I obtain an authorization to have my vehicle repaired. I have received no information from Chrysler as of this date ( 3/15/14 ).

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #115

Mar 032014

300C 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Exactly like the situations described in the NHTSA investigation (PE13-016), my 2006 Chrysler 300C 5.7L engine has stalled at low speeds on numerous occasions after refueling. My local dealer's service department informed me that my VIN is not included in the "?select?" vehicles that have been given extended warranties by Chrysler group llc in response to PE13-016. In order to correct the problem with my vehicle, the entire gas tank needs to be replaced. I contacted Chrysler customer service and they also informed me that there is no extended warranty on the fuel tank of my vehicle because it was manufactured in a different plant than the vehicles identified with PE13-016. Clearly there is an malfunction with the multifunction control valve (mfcv) fuel shutoff float at more than one manufacturing location. Although the NHTSA investigation determined that it is not a safety issue, the last time I refueled and pulled onto the street, the engine stalled and I was nearly involved in an accident. It stalled 2 more times during the same incident before it would drive more than a short distance. It is just a matter of time before there is an injury or fatality due to this malfunction. The car is not drivable if I am unable to refuel and drive without the risk of injury to myself or others.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #114

May 142009

300C 8-cyl

  • 23,409 miles
Engine stalls after refueling at very low speeds and or if I have stopped for any reason. Over the years I have replaced all contiguous parts to the fuel system with the exception of the 19 gal fuel tank. This same problem appears on many internet owner forums.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #113

Mar 132014

300C 8-cyl

  • 60,850 miles
In May 2013, the NHTSA began an investigation (PE13-016) into numerous complaints about engine stalling in 2006 Chrysler vehicles equipped with 5.7L 8-cylinder engines. In February 2014, Chrysler announced that it had developed improved parts to address this problem, and would extend the warranty period on 19-gallon fuel tanks to lifetime coverage for the 153,817 affected vehicles. In February 2014 the NHTSA accepted this solution proposed by Chrysler and closed the investigation.Chrysler sent me an email on March 13,2014 informing me, without explanation, that they would not honor their agreement with the NHTSA, and would not provide a lifetime warranty for my 2006 Chrysler 300C fuel tank.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #112

Mar 072014

300C 8-cyl

  • 93,267 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After filling gas tank. Engine stalled and cut-off.

- Bloomfield, NJ, USA

problem #111

Feb 262014

300C 8-cyl

  • 103,050 miles
Filled up the car with gas drove down the road then the engine died did it twice to me.

- Evansdale, IA, USA

problem #110

Mar 052014

300C 8-cyl

  • 60,650 miles
Immediately after refueling, my car stalled three times on my drive home, each time when I was traveling about 5 mph approaching a stop sign. Since then, I have driven about 200 miles and have had no stalling problem. I took my car to a local Chrysler dealer and they could find no computer code error, and told me that I needed a new fuel tank, Chrysler received more than 1200 complaints about the 19-gallon fuel tank on 2006 Chrysler 300C, a problem where the fuel shut-off valve sticks, causing the vehicle to stall after refueling. In response to these complaints, Chrysler agreed to extend the warranty period to lifetime coverage. I called Chrysler customer service today. They refused to honor the extended warranty for my 19-gallon fuel tank as they agreed to in their letter -PE1016-58863.pdf.

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #109

Jan 012014

300C 8-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
After refueling, I was driving North in I-35 at 65 mph and the engine completely died in the middle of heavy traffic. Fortunately, I know a bit about cars and got it to restart before I dropped below 50 mph. However, there were heavy trucks in the dense traffic and had one been directly behind me I do not think I would be here to write this complaint today. I have delayed this complaint as I did not know the nature of my problem until yesterday. After the third fill up and the same problem happened, I figured it out and went to the dealer for a fix. They told me the problem and said there was no recall and that the cure was to replace the gas tank. I have an appointment for next Tuesday to get this work done as I feel the vehicle is unsafe to drive in traffic.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #108

Sep 302013

300C 8-cyl

  • 36,500 miles
On 2 occasions, 09/30/13 and 10/02/13 I filled my vehicle up with gas and within a mile of the gas station it started missing real bad and then shut off, once while merging onto interstate 95 and the other time on a less traveled road. On both occasions I was fortunate enough to pull to the shoulder and restart the vehicle. I took the vehicle to whitten bros Chrysler (richmond, va) a few days later and I was told that the gas canister was contaminated and needed to be replaced along with a detector and solenoid, total cost of $516 and was told the gas tank needed to be replaced because of a defective valve in the tank. Seems the valve was stuck open and allowing gas to overflow into the canister. Since the valve is part of the tank and cannot be replaced a complete tank is needed at a cost of $1200 to $1500. The next week I called the service advisor at whitten brothers, [xxx], and told her to go ahead and order the tank. She said it would take 3-5 days to be received and would call me when it was in. That night I read an article about a gas tank problem on the 2006 vehicles like mine and saw that if you did not fill the tank you should not have a problem with it shutting off. I figured for the amount of money I was going to have to spend I would go this route so I called and cancelled the order for the tank. I was told the tank order could not be cancelled but they would keep it in inventory. I have only put 600 miles on the vehicle since all this happened and have only put gas in it twice but did not fill it either time, only enough to get the gauge to about 3/4. I have to remember when I loan the vehicle to one of my sons to tell them whatever they do please do not fill the tank if they put gas in it. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #107

Mar 082014

300C 8-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
Stalling 2-3 times after filling tank up. Then will drive fine. Called Chrysler said there was no extended warranty to fix problem.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #106

Nov 052013

300C

  • 75,000 miles
After filling tank, the car stalled on exit from gas station. The car stalled a few miles later after stopping and then trying to go. Filling the tank with gasoline has become extremely slow since then. 20 to 30 minutes to fill the tank. Most recently on 3/4/2014, the car stalled again when stopped at red light. The stalling and slow fill have been continuing since November 2013 and happening more frequently recently. The nhsta has a case number PE13016 which describes exactly my situation as a defective fuel tank valve. In that case, Chrysler has agreed to extended warranty on gas tanks for 2006 Chrysler C cars in the case file write up, but both the dealer and customer service do not acknowledge the existence of the case findings or the problem itself. I am hoping the NHTSA will stand behind their findings and support the completion of manufacturers solution. Right now Chrysler does not appear to be honoring its solution.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #105

Jan 092014

300C

  • 37,850 miles
After re-fueling vehicle, car stalled at 5 intersections. Vehicle would not always go back into gear after restarting until several attempts were made. After burning off a few gallons of fuel on the highway, the vehicle no longer stalled/mis-fired. Tank was not "topped-off" when filled, it was filled until the pump stopped automatically.

- Mapleton, ND, USA

problem #104

Oct 012013

300C 8-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler 300C. The contact stated that when the fuel tank was full, the engine would stall sporadically and recurring. The vehicle would always restart and resume normally. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The dealer advised the contact that fuel was entering the system purge line and causing the fuel valve to fail. As a result, the fuel tank needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 41,000.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #103

Feb 232009

300C 8-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
After filling the car when we begin to accelerate the car stalls. We have repeatedly asked the dealerships if they have had complaints and they said "no". finally, on 2/14/14 we saw on the news that Chrysler is extending the fuel warranty to lifetime due to a defect in the fuel tank causing stalling after filling. We again have contacted Chrysler dealerships and Chrysler complaint center and they said because there isn't a recall they can't fix it. How can this be if they agreed to a lifetime warranty on the fuel system. The dealership said they don't have a part to replace until there is a recall. The complaint center said they can't help us if there isn't a recall. We also have an article from the detroit news on 2/18/14 that states that the ntl highway traffic safety commission ended its investigation after Chrysler and a supplier developed a solution to the problem extending lifetime warranty coverage. Is there anything your dept. Can do to help consumer" why should we have to wait for someone to Ram us in the backend entering a freeway because our car stalls"

- Chesterfield, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?