If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

9.6

really awful
Typical Repair Cost:
$4,076.00
Average Mileage:
92,418 miles
Total Complaints:
24 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. engine replacement (15 reports)
  2. not sure (6 reports)
  3. junk car (2 reports)
  4. waiting (1 reports)
2000 Chrysler Concorde engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2000 Chrysler Concorde:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2000 Chrysler Concorde Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #24

Feb 012014

Concorde 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,723 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased this car for $4,000. It looks brand new. About 2 weeks ago without warning it started knocking, then the squealing. I parked the car and the motor was done. it would not start back up. I happen to be a mechanic and scored at the junk yard with a Sebring that just had the motor replaced a month before meeting a deer. otherwise this would have cost me over $3000 to repair. I paid $600 for the motor plus I purchased a new water pump to be on the safe side invested 3 days into ripping the old motor out and putting new one in. Chrysler should replace these motors or recall the car. My aunt also has a Sebring same issue left he stranded in below zero weather. Steer clear of all Chrysler products with the 2.7 motor.

- , Arnold, PA, USA

problem #23

Feb 142013

Concorde LX 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,600 miles

I bought this concorde less then 10 months ago with 76,000 miles on it. two days ago i start to hear the engine knocking softly then yesterday it was a lot louder. I then took it to the dealer where I got it from, 1st diagnose was the timming chain tensioner. Then after replacement the knocking was still there. Now 2nd diagnose is the engine needs to be replaced. About 3 1/2 months ago the oil light was flickering while i was waiting at lights or any time while ideling. the dealer replaced the oil sensor and it seemed to be ok till 2 days ago, now the mechanic says it's oil sludge build up that ruined the motor. Thank god I got the extended warrenty. "And also I would chrysler/dodge for the great products they so firmly stand behind".............Folks please beWARE of buying crysler car with the 2.7 motor in it..............Thanks and Happy Trails.........................

- , Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #22

Jan 122011

Concorde LX

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles

I bought this car and paid 6000 dollars it looks new inside and out but now we are pretty sure i hav a blowed head i am sooo pissed i hav a 27 year old son DID NOT WANT TO GO INTO DEBT NOT THE WAY TIMES ARE RIGHT NOW!!! THANK YOU CHRYSLER YOU MAKE US PROUD !!!!

- , Scottsburg, IN, USA

problem #21

Apr 012011

Concorde LX 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this car used from a dealer. It was owned by and older woman that had passed away, and her children sold it off the estate to a dealership. After reviewing the Carfax and records of the vehicle before purchase, I came to find it had perfect maintenance history. The car had such low millage that it still had the original factory brakes. After taking the car to a 3rd party mechanic, the mechanic approved the purchase of the car saying it was a good buy and would have no problem lasting at the very least 4-5 years. I am now within the yeah and a half time frame after purchasing this car and I am already experiencing all the symptoms in relation to the oil sludge buildup for the 2.7 liter engine. My oil light constantly flickers at a standstill idle. My RPM rev has declined as well at idle, that means the engine is having problems with oil pressure. I have maintained this vehicle perfectly over the course of my ownership, and I have all the documentation to prove this. I even went above and beyond to put a higher grade synthetic oil in this engine to prevent oil sludge buildup.

- , Frankfort, IL, USA

problem #20

Dec 242010

Concorde LX 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,410 miles

I bought this car in January 2010, and read all of the horror stories regarding this engine soon after. I saw the oil light flicker at idle a few times about a week after I bought it, and immediately began to get nervous considering that many people saw that symptom a few minutes before their engine seized. Well, I immediately changed the oil to synthetic, and that I never saw that problem again. However, almost a year later, now my head gasket is failing, and these engines have such a bad reputation that not one mechanic I talked to is willing to fix it. They say the only real solution is to swap the engine out for the larger 3.5L, or junk it. So, the car still drives at the moment, but is now a ticking time bomb, and I refuse to put another engine into this car. I guess that's what I get for buying a car without doing my homework. Another crappy American car. I'm staying with the Japanese from now on.

- , Columbus, OH, USA

problem #19

Nov 152010

Concorde 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

I heard a "gurgling noise" turned off the engine, went to restart it and it went "boom" and smoked. Mechanic says all valves are bent and engine needs replacing..... it's being salvaged.

Update from Mar 13, 2012: I bought my car brand new from the Dodge/Chrysler Dealership. I was driving when I heard a ticking coming from the engine, I used my cellphone to call my mechanic who stated that it was probably my timing chain but that if it's just ticking it's not imminent danger of breaking. I arrived to work and upon leaving work, I went to start the car and it would not start. It made a grinding sound, I saw smoke come from under the hood. I called a tow truck company and had the car towed to my mechanic. My mechanic stated that the engine was blown and would cost $6000.00 to replace it. I had the car towed home ( 2 towing fees at this point at $90.00 each). I called a mechanic that specializes in intrepid/concorde repairs and he advised that I should tow the car to him as it might not be completely blown. Another towing fee ($90.00) and another mechanics opinion, yes the engine was completely blown and this mechanic stated the reason for failure was oil SLUDGE. I asked what I could have done to prevent that from happening and he stated that there was nothing I could do, it's a known defect in that particular engine and that if I were to have it repaired, it was his advice to not put a 2.7L engine back in, but rather a 3.2 or 3.5L engine in as they did not have the defect of the 2.7L. I now have a paper weight in my driveway as I do not have the funds to repair the vehicle. I had to buy another car and now have a car payment to a car that I don't even really like much. I would like to know why I was sold a vehicle with a known engine defect and why Chrysler won't do anything about it. I would like to replace the engine, but must first save up the funds to do so. I did call Chrysler to make a complaint and there were very unhelpful.

- , Independence, MO, USA

problem #18

Aug 032009

Concorde 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this car off a used car lot.Looked so nice and ran pretty good. So good my girlfriend purchased a 1999 Dodge Intrepid off the same lot.A couple days later my oil light started to flicker and her motor started what I called "the knock of death."Even though we knew our fate we changed the oil every 3000 miles my car started ticking and had low oil pressure replacing motor was the only option.Its now a yard ornament/toolshed so I guess its not a total waste of money. As for my girldfriend she DID have her motor rebuilt after it blew up after three months.Not long after that even with frequent oil changes it blew up again. She is still paying off her car and still owes her grand parents the money borrow to rebuild it. I had to go and buy another car for my self and another for my girlfriend. Thanks Chrysler and I would rather ride a bicycle without a seat than buy another Chrysler product. Same results just alot less expensive.

- , Saltsburg, PA, USA

problem #17

Mar 042010

Concorde 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 138,000 miles

i bought my 18 yr old a car today 3-4-2010- we drove the car before buying .the -car ran very good . i bought the car let my son go drive his new car (4 hours later he calls and says dad the car is ticking real bad.) so now im stuck with a car that is on its last leg and yes it is with no surprize .....2000 crysler concorde..

i would like to start a class action suit against crysler.. please e- mail me with all problems and storys about this car and tell everyone thank you. lets atleast be a pain in Chrysler ass....i also have a 2005 dodge 1500 rumble bee that im going to get rid of and never buy a crysler product again.im also going to my local news .i will have lots of signs made bad mouthing crysler and put them in front of the dealer ship in my town help me to be a thorn in the side of crysler

- , Inverness, FL, USA

problem #16

Feb 252010

Concorde LX 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles

I hate that a car with only 83,000 miles needs a new motor.

- , Pocatello, ID, USA

problem #15

Sep 152008

Concorde LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 109,000 miles

Was driving my 2000 Chrysler Concorde on a cross country trip from Ridgway, Pa to Las Vegas. I had all my possessions in my Car. Was in Oklahoma City on the freeway when all the sudden the engine started cracking and the a loud banging noise and the engine shut off on the freeway. I was able to pull it off the freeway and thank god there was an exit just ahead. So i pulled off the side of the road. Tried to restart the car and it started but the knocking was so loud i know i would not get more than a couple miles. So I had to get a hotel in OKC and the garages wanted $3000 and it would take a week to get fixed. So i called one of the wrecking yards and they took the car away. I had to get rid of 75% of my stuff and get a plane ticket to Las Vegas.

All in all I was devastated by this car breaking down and well never buy another Chrysler product again!

- , Ridgway, PA, USA

problem #14

Aug 192009

Concorde 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was so excited when I bought this car, being a single mom I needed something reliable and with lower monthly payments. After 8 months of owning this car it died for no reason and now I'm stuck with the $3000 loan and no running vehicle

- , Mcpherson, KS, USA

problem #13

Jan 012010

Concorde 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

Engine was checked for sludging at around 80,000 miles with no problems. At 130k started knocking and found metal shavings in the oil. A new engine will cost in excess of $2000, car was purchased for around $7000.

- , St. Anthony, MN, USA

problem #12

Jul 152008

Concorde V6 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 153,000 miles

I loved my baby Concorde. Bought it at 123K miles and took really good care of it. Oil changes always at 3,000 miles, cautious driving.

It was running so good - you could barely hear the engine, the mileage was outrageous - 20-25 city, 30-35 highway.

And then all of a sudden ... bam ... on morning as I was driving on the freeway I heard these cracking noises at the engine, the dashboard started to flicker and in a few minutes the engine died on me.

It would have cost $2,000 to repair, and by repair I mean getting a new engine (and by new engine I mean one from a junk yard).

Looking back, the Concorde is a great car ... apart from the engine. But the engine is the most important thing about a car.

- , Costa Mesa, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 062006

(reported on)

Concorde LX

  • 120,000 miles

I take great pains to maintain my vehicles, regular air filter/oil change, transmission maintenance, etc. This motor blew without any warning or prior indication of problems while we were on vacation, driving at ordinary highway speeds.

- , Kenosha, WI, USA

problem #10

Feb 072008

Concorde 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 102,000 miles

REALLY disappointed with Chrysler and my local service Department. I had purchased this car used with 20k miles on it for my wife to use. She was perfect and methodical with oil changes.

What REALLY REALLY IRKS ME: I took this Car to the Atlantic Chrysler dealer . I mentioned that I had just made my LAST PAYMENT on the car and wanted LONGEVITY! I told them to inspect the car from tip to tail and let me know what was needed to keep this car on the road for another year or two...Well, they took me up on my "open checkbook offer". They must have been doing high fives in the service bay. Charged for: Lube oil filter change, two tires, replaced upper water housing that was leaking coolant, fuel injection service,throttle body service, replaced light bulbs and installed 2 headlights...all for $1,100. The day after I picked the car up, it started to make a sound like a valve tap. a few days later it was soo loud that I took it back to the dealer. Atlantic then tells me that the engine is RUINED from engine sludge!!! They tell me that this is a common failure. The service tech stated "yea, these engines were known for this problem" . I stated that this is funny that it just happened two days after they did eleven hundred dollars worth of work!!! They didn't take ANY RESPONSIBILITY!! No OFFER to refund ANY of the money spent!! NOT EVEN AN OFFER TO GIVE ME A DISCOUNT ON THE PURCHASE PRICE OF A REPLACEMENT CAR!!! $1100 still on my credit card and needing to buy a new car!! very dissatisfied......

- , Galloway, NJ, USA

problem #9

Feb 062008

Concorde LX 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 52,300 miles

With only a little over 50,000 miles, regular oil changes and maintenance our Concorde's engine needs replaced. Having bought the car used, with only 25,000 miles at purchase and one previous owner I can say that 1: we are SCREWED, still have payments and NO WARRANTY 2: this car has been maintained, this was not an owner error and it seems we are FAR from alone!

We still have not replaced the engine as we can not afford to right now. Hopefully something will come along soon to help those of us stuck in this position because of a faulty engine.

- , Wilmerding, PA, USA

problem #8

Dec 042007

Concorde LX 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

I was so excited when i bought this car in august of 07'. I am a single mom just finishing up college and needed a nice, reliable car to get me through until i graduated. Well, 4 short months after i purchased the Chrysler, my engine began to knock loudly and (as i later fund out), oil sludge buildup destroyed my engine... The only fix is to replace the engine and that is out of my budget! So, here I am, stuck with 4,000 dollars in debt and without a car and without any means to fix the problem! Wow, Chrysler, me and my one year old would like to thank you for taking our money, taking no responsibility for the shotty 2.7 L engines you put in your concordes and Intrepids, and for the bus pass i just had to but in the middle of winter so i can get to school so i can graduate. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER CAR FROM YU AGAIN!!!!! I HOPE NO ONE ELSE DOES EITHER! THIS ENGINE PROBLEM IS EXTREMELY COMMON AND YOU NEED TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR IT!!! this has seriously ruined my life...

- , Toledo, OH, USA

problem #7

May 282007

(reported on)

Concorde 2.7

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles

i was driving on the highway and heard a metal on metal grinding as soon as that happened the engine shut off ( I was accelerating from 50 - 55 MPH.) I pulled over and there was no oil in the motor. 2 days prior I put 2 qts in to top it off. I put 5 qts in and the motor started long enough to get home. Now the car won't start and is leaking fluids . The transmission light is on and the engine won't turn over . it sounds like it wants to but won't ....

- , Blakely, PA, USA

problem #6

Sep 302007

(reported on)

Concorde LX 2.7L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

I am a college student and was on my way home when the engine started knocking. I had bought the car about 4 months prior and was past warranty that i had on it and now i am stuck with it sitting in my lawn with a blown engine

- , Watertown, NY, USA

problem #5

Jun 082007

(reported on)

Concorde 2.7L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles

Apparently Chrysler has had a lot of problems with engine sludge. My timing chain broke & blew my engine and I wasn't even driving the car when it happened. The Chrysler manual says to replace the timing chain at 100,000 miles. This happened at 92,000 miles. I have heard that the problem has been resolved 2 years ago, but there was never a recall on this. Now I have to pay thousands of dollars that I don't have to fix something that Chrysler should have recalled years ago. CHRYSLER SUCKS! I will never buy another Chrysler product in my life.

- , Macomb, MI, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?