Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The Chrysler Crossfire has a nasty habit of having the back window fall out. While there are reports of this happening to every model year (2004-08), the 2005 has it worst. Naturally this problem tends to happen beyond the standard 3 year / 36,000 mile warranty leaving owners to pick up the tab along with the shattered pieces of glass.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,252 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Crossfire electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Crossfire:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Crossfire Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #38

Sep 262016

Crossfire

  • 67,144 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light and therefore failure unless fixed due to faulty clock spring and steering angle sensor with only 67144 miles on car. The clock spring was found defective and recalled on other Chrysler models - should be extended to include this model.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #37

Jan 082016

Crossfire

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Crossfire roadster. When the contact placed the key in the ignition, the ignition switch would not turn and the check engine warning indicator illuminated.the vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not able to be diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Simpsonville, SC, USA

problem #36

Mar 152015

Crossfire

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Crossfire. When the vehicle was stopped and turned off, it was unable to be restarted. The key did not turn the ignition well enough to restart the vehicle. There was no warning indicator illuminated. The failure recurred several times. The dealer stated that the vehicle was old and was not sold by that dealer. The failure was not remedied. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 26,000. Updated 08/17/16

- N. Little Rock, AR, USA

problem #35

Jul 302015

Crossfire

  • 35,723 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

During a severe rainstorm the rear window glass detached from the convertible top allowing severe flooding of the interior of the vehicle causing various electrical failures to occur. This sudden and unexpected event caused an emergency stop in traffic that could have resulted in an accident. The residual damage from this event affects rear window visibility and electrical failures that involve the operation of the locking system, the anti fog rear window capability and other electrical systems in the rear part of the vehicle which I cannot access because of the inoperative top and trunk.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #34

Aug 032015

Crossfire

  • 26,025 miles
Rear glass in convertible has lost adhesion allowing water into car interior. Car has been kept in a garage for the last 7 years, and only driven about 3,000 miles per year.....updated 11/13/15

- Street, MD, USA

problem #33

Apr 292015

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 54,234 miles
My car has on occasion randomly just not turned over, somedays it runs then may not start for days, then start then just not start, getting very frustrated due to low miles car has and having this rediculious issue. Put in new battery nothing, changed out parts still will not fix it.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #32

Apr 302015

Crossfire

  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Crossfire. While parked, the key would not turn in the ignition switch. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 45,000.

- Rio Vista , CA, USA

problem #31

Dec 072014

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
The vehicle stopped running, check engine light came on, the air condition hesitate to come on and the tire senure light stays on.

- Bham, AL, USA

problem #30

Aug 042014

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle and not long after, the rear window of the convertible top came loose. I contacted Chrysler about the issue. I've been verbally told that there was a replacement note that affected Chrysler crossfires for 9 states. The vehicle had to be originally sold in one of these 9 states. I can't remember the 9 specifically but...my vehicle was originally sold in Kansas (which is not part of the 9 states replacement clause), I live in mo which is covered by the replacement clause. The lady that I spoke to said that it was a humidity issue that would cause the window to unglue.... so, I argued that my vehicle is now registered in a state that they claimed has the level of humidity that would cause the known issue, but, she stayed firm on the fact that my vehicle was originally sold in Kansas and that state is not part of the replacement deal../ what are my right as a consumer? I have water getting in my trunk which caused multiple electrical issues. And now, I'm stuck with the bill or keeping the vehicle as is. Thank you Chrysler.

- Cleveland, MO, USA

problem #29

Oct 012014

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Ignition sticks. At times wheel will not turn and car will not start. Don't know if it can lock up while the car is operating. Numerous on-line complaints appear regarding the Crossfire wheel lock and ignition malfunction. Recall before it causes accident would be warranted.

- Lake Winnebago , MO, USA

problem #28

Jan 122013

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought a 2005 Crossfire convertible in 2006. Was "new" but dealership put 3,000 miles on it. Security system never worked properly (car not responding to panic button, siren did not work). Was told by dealer service security disables the ignition, and panic button not working just weak battery in remote (which I did not believe). January 2013, car in garage,15,000 miles and locks would not respond to remote. Unlocked car with key. Car would not start, and was disabled. Had car towed to dealer. Had $900 repair for new electronic entry part under dashboard. End of September 2014, car 17,000 miles, locks did not respond to remote. Opened door with key. Siren went on, and ignition was disabled. Car would not start. Had it towed to dealership October 7, 2014. Car still at dealership. They believe it is electronic part in trunk, cannot open trunk. Will cost $350 to disassemble enough to get into trunk to confirm that is the faulty part. Also, told me there was water in the dash board, and other Crossfire convertible's leak water into dash and into trunk causing electronic failures. Car was towed yesterday and was in dealers lot last night stranded for several hours last night. I have kept the car in garage since I bought it, and only drove it in nice weather. I do not know what the final cost will be, but problem of electrical failure seems common with 2005 crossfires from what I have read. I no longer trust the car. I never know where or when it will strand me. I paid a lot of money for this car. I have taken good care of the car. It is a poor design leading to these costly repairs and safety concerns (car can lock you out and strand you at any time and place). This can leave one at risk in many areas and situations. There should be a recall or class action lawsuit. The owners paid a lot of money in good faith and deserve to have a reliable product in return. The consumer stated the skreem module was replaced three times, and the central timing module was replaced. Also, when the consumer went to open the door, the door handle sliced open his finger. Updated 10/28/15.

- Cherry Hill, NJ, USA

problem #27

Sep 112014

Crossfire

  • 50,004 miles
I was stopped for traffic and the car just stalled without any warning. I had to push it to the side of the rode and wait 5-7 minutes before the car would start. I went to the crossfireforum.org website and with further research found that this is a common default with this car/engine. The crank shaft position sensor apparently becomes defective, after awhile, and randomly malfunctions causing the car engine to shut down at anytime until it resets allowing the engine to re-start. I purchased a replacement sensor from autozone for $55, it is an duralast #SU4740. I purchased this vehicle in December of 2008 with 28,000 miles on the odometer and this is the first time this sensor has malfunctioned.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #26

May 252013

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
This serves as an addendum to our (and many others') complaints. The Chrysler tsb that you have on file, only lists the affected systems as "visibility", and it calls for repair (?) when it actually specifies replacement as the only recommended remedy, at a typical cost of $2,500; to be provided or reimbursed to a small select group of owners, even though this failure continues to occur nationwide. This is absurd. We should note that the term "structure" as an "affected part" no longer appears in your E-mail complaint form (we wonder why?) all modern convertible roof tops and windows are intended and designed for safe, long term use in any expected driving conditions, thus the use of dot approved safety glass and electronic rear window defrosters, especially when conditions require the roof top to be in the "up" position. The negative results of any window detachment, visibility, stability of the vehicle, safe reaction by the driver, weather protection, electrical malfunction etc., both immediate and potential long term, in a case where the vehicle must still be driven any unknown distance unprotected from whatever conditions possible, may well prove catastrophic and must be considered completely unacceptable by any standard, especially that of our U.S. government. Your publication (dot hs 808 795) states: "similarly a person May.. petition (request) NHTSA to hold a hearing on whether a manufacturer has reasonably met its obligation to notify and/or remedy a safety defect or noncompliance with a Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard. If the petition is granted, a hearing is held to assess the matter and decide what corrective action should be taken. If the petition (request) is denied, the reasons for the denial are published in the federal register". at the very minimum, Chrysler had an obligation to notify all of the potential (& inevitable) failure! please help.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #25

Feb 112014

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 56,010 miles
Thia car's problem may be withthe ignition. Sometime's it just will not start. We put a new battery in it only to find that the battery was not the problem. It has been to repair three times. They did a thorough check and found nothing wrong each time. The first time the car had to be towed. They said they did not experience the problem when they had the car. It wasdriven back home. Another time the car just stopped on the highway (at 35mph) downtown atlanta in heavy traffic. I'm afraid to drive it because it may either stop or just not start.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #24

Mar 042008

Crossfire

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Crossfire. The contact stated that while the convertible top was open, the rear glass windshield became detached from the vehicle. Additionally, water entered the vehicle through the windshield and caused the main computer to fail. The contact stated that the failure caused the headlights, the tail lights, and the brake lights to fail intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who diagnosed that the convertible top needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Royston, GA, USA

problem #23

May 252013

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 69,500 miles
Rear window glass separated from the fabric convertible top. NHTSA has Chrysler tsb on file for same exact defect, issued by Chrysler in 2011, specifying 10 year/100,000 mile warranty extension. Chrysler restricts their remedy to only vehicles first sold in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Missouri, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas, despite the fact that all of these cars were imported from the same source at the same time. There is no difference in the product defect that has occurred nationwide. The NHTSA must force Chrysler to help all affected owners! what Chrysler is doing is just so wrong! please help us! updated 05/12/14..updated 06/04/14....updated 07/09/14...updated 08/27/14....updated06/09/15 updated 11/23/15

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #22

Feb 122014

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chrysler Crossfire convertible, the key does not turn. My car does not turn on. The steering wheel is locked. This is a big safety issue. This seems to be a very big issue as I found posting from other people on the internet with the same issue. All the posting states that the ignition goes bad without any warning. Chrysler is not addressing this issue. I think the ignition switch needs to be replaced.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #21

Dec 162013

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 125,541 miles
The rear window is coming loose and it's leaking.. modules in trunk shorted due to water leak.

- Trussville, AL, USA

problem #20

Dec 012013

Crossfire 6-cyl

  • 21,750 miles
I was driving on street in my home town about 30 mph and engine dies and does not start. I walk to a store came back in 15 -20 minutes care started back again. Drove abut 6 mile very close to my house car died on street again. I checked on cross fire forum other crossfire owner has same issue. Crank shaft sensor and sensor connector wire is not connected properly to the computer board. When engine gets hot connector wire gets loose and shut the engine down it happened three time in last two weeks I am afraid to drive because it dies all the sudden while driving now it is seating in my garage.

- Port Orange, FL, USA

problem #19

Nov 202013

Crossfire

  • 52,000 miles
Recall laminate issue, convertible top failure leading to electrical damage causing top to stay open.

- Pine Brook , NJ, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?