If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,326 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser Owner Comments

problem #14

Feb 212014

PT Cruiser

  • 104,350 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The owner of the vehicle state's he was traveling down the entering the highway on the way home. He heard pop and then something under the vehicle started rattling, the owner stated when he took the vehicle to a shop they put it on the rack. The shop notified the owner that the vehicle shouldn't be driven, both steering knuckle bushings, ball joints, front right suspension parts were all bad and needed to be replaced. Chrysler should recall this vehicle for as it not just mine as I ask the shop and they has several vehicle of that make come in with same problem. We as tax payers bailed them out, and now it time for the government to tell them they need to fix this issue and any other issues with the vehicle. There are still a lot of PT CRUISER on the road today, but I guess they greedy son of B** in detroit took the money and left the customer paying for the safety of their families. Nobody should have to die in car in order for something to be done.

- Independence, MO, USA

problem #13

Aug 022013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 151,232 miles
I was traveling down the highway with my two children in the car. I slowed at an intersection and the vehicle abruptly pulled to the right. I almost lost control of the vehicle and ended up in the ditch, but I was able to stop in time. I proceeded to have the vehicle towed home and was told by a mechanic that the subframe of my vehicle had rusted through. This is a major concern with the safety of my family and others that I could have gotten into an accident with. I feel that Chrysler should be responsible for the repairs of my vehicle, other then the subframe I needed to have my car last more then 10 years.

- Jefferson, OH, USA

problem #12

Dec 032012

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 450,000 miles
The car makes a cracking sound when you turn or goes over bumps sound like its coming from of car possible front suspension.

- Guttenberg, NJ, USA

problem #11

Oct 162011

PT Cruiser

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

10-18-2011 I just bought my car last month (09-26-2011) and my control arms and bushing have already went bad. Now 2 nights ago (10-16-2011) my headlights stopped working. I took it into the dealership to have everything checked and was told that the wiring under the dash is messed up. I see that there are a lot of recalls for that happening to the 2002 PT CRUISER and now the dealer I bought the car from will not fix it (even though I'm still within my 30 day warranty) I do not understand why I should have to come out of pocket to fix this problem. Also, the dealer I bought it from would not give me a carfax on the vehicle. Also, sold me the car with a recall already on it that was issued way back in 2004. (power steering pressure hose) that I was told could cause a fire under the hood.

- Saint Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #10

Apr 012005

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 64,690 miles
I have had to replace or repair the front and rear wheel bearings several times: Front-April of 2005 at 64690 miles, front-April 2006 at 89223 miles, front-May 2006 at 91750 miles, front wheel bearing-July 2009 at 153048 miles, front wheel bearing-April 2011 at 182684 miles, rear wheel bearing-October 2011 at 191072 miles. I have replaced or repaired the suspension parts: Front bushing control arm, ball joint lower control arm-March 2006 at 86643 miles, left inner tie rod had excessive play-January 2007 at 107087 miles, two outer tie rods replaced-January 2008 at 127121 miles.

- Allenton, MI, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Sep 292006

PT Cruiser

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Chrysler pt crusier. The contact stated that both lower control arms and the bushings failed and had to be replaced every year since the vehicle was purchased in 2005. After each failure, the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for repair. The manufacturer was notified, but offered no assistance and stated that there were no recalls or warranties addressing the failures. The failure mileage was 35,000 and the current mileage was 121,000.

- Palmyra, PA, USA

problem #8

Nov 102007

PT Cruiser

  • 28,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chrysler PT CRUISER. While driving less than 50 mph, the contact heard noises coming from the vehicle. The dealer stated that the struts needed to be replaced and the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The repair would cost $539. The brakes and rotors were also replaced. The system would not accept the VIN provided by the contact. The failure mileage was 28,000 and current mileage was 49,000. Updated 8/10/09 updated 08/13/09.

- Alpena, MI, USA

problem #7

Jun 222006

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,299 miles
: the contact stated while driving the vehicle there is a chemical smell which gave contact headaches and an occasional sore throat. The dealership inspected the vehicle and determined there was not a defect in the vehicle. The front end of the vehicle was out of alignment. There was excessive wind noise when the windows were rolled up. The speakers made a loud noise. The rear seat backing was replaced. Updated 07/25/06.

- Desert Shores, CA, USA

problem #6

Aug 012005

PT Cruiser

  • miles
2002 Chrysler PT CRUISER developed a noise in which the consumer took the vehicle to have repaired. Parts on the vehicle were replaced but the noise remains.

- Bangall, NY, USA

problem #5

Aug 152003

PT Cruiser

  • miles
While driving at 60 mph vehicle produces a loud grinding noise. Cause unknown.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

problem #4

Feb 092003

PT Cruiser

  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle severely pulled to the right, which resulted in an accident. The driver side air bag deployed, and the module fell out also.

- Marrero, LA, USA

problem #3

Dec 282002

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Since day one have had a "wobble" in front end. Steering wheel moves back and forth. Feel vibration through floor board. This at 35-40 mph. No "wobble" or vibrations at higher speeds. Tires rotated and front end balanced three times. No help. Dodge dealer no help. They said it was the Goodyear tires and to replace them with Michelin. Will be looking into front axle or driveline problems next.

- Redwood Valley, CA, USA

problem #2

Mar 152002

(reported on)

PT Cruiser

  • miles
Vehicle has significant alignment problems, the dealer has attempted several times to fix vehicle, however can not, the vehicle pulled to the right and then after a front and rear wheel alignment it started pulling to the left, midas did diagnostic measurments which show they are outside the manufacturers specifications, midas also stated that the alignment problem can not be corrected.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #1

Mar 152002

(reported on)

PT Cruiser

  • miles
Vehicle has significant alignment problems, the dealer has attempted several times to fix vehicle, however can not, the vehicle pulled to the right and then after a front and rear wheel alignment it started pulling to the left, midas did diagnostic measurments which show they are outside the manufacturers specifications, midas also stated that the alignment problem can not be corrected.

- Newport News, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?