Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,304 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Chrysler PT Cruiser Owner Comments

problem #11

Jun 302014

PT Cruiser

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle pulled out of business complex turn in left about a car lengths away from me when he pulled out..attempted to stop but vehicle was too close. No air bags deployed.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #10

Oct 012011

PT Cruiser

  • miles
2002 Chrysler PT CRUISER. Consumer states the wheels leak air around the rims causing the tires to deflate

- Conneaut, OH, USA

problem #9

Apr 012005

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 64,690 miles
I have had to replace or repair the front and rear wheel bearings several times: Front-April of 2005 at 64690 miles, front-April 2006 at 89223 miles, front-May 2006 at 91750 miles, front wheel bearing-July 2009 at 153048 miles, front wheel bearing-April 2011 at 182684 miles, rear wheel bearing-October 2011 at 191072 miles. I have replaced or repaired the suspension parts: Front bushing control arm, ball joint lower control arm-March 2006 at 86643 miles, left inner tie rod had excessive play-January 2007 at 107087 miles, two outer tie rods replaced-January 2008 at 127121 miles.

- Allenton, MI, USA

problem #8

Jan 012005

PT Cruiser

  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Chrysler PT CRUISER. When the vehicle was at 32,000 miles, the contact noticed that the tires constantly lost pressure. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer several times. The dealer replaced the valve system and cleaned the wheel. The failure continued. The contact called the manufacturer who advised her to take the vehicle back to the dealer who stated that the metal was corroded. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The vehicle had not been repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 36,000 and the current mileage was 62,000.

- East Haddam , CT, USA

problem #7

Apr 022009

PT Cruiser

  • 68,847 miles
Tires, leak air pressure@ 10 # per day. Balancing and rotation is difficult due to chrome peeling off rims. Mechanic told me the peeling is inside the tire also making it difficult to balance. I inserted (fix aflat) to help stop the leaking but this added to the imbalanced condition. Dealer was contacted but no response was given for this condition.

- Brazil, IN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #6

Aug 052008

PT Cruiser

  • 124,000 miles
2 of the alloy rims leak air at an increasing rate. 2 years ago it was fill more air once a month, last year every 2 weeks or less and last 2 months every 2 days. The other day I lost a tire from low air after driving 50 miles over a 7 hour time frame. I lose about 20 lbs overnight on these 2 tires because the corrosion of the base metal and the chrome is happening at an unbelievable rate. The tire dealers have scraped off the old corrosion but to no avail as it quickly recurs. I am lucky it was only a flat the other day and not a loss of steering in busy traffic.

- Crystal, MN, USA

problem #5

Jul 182008

PT Cruiser

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After replacing the original tires on the auto we had a series of problems with keeping the tires inflated. We were told that the chrome on the rims was oxidizing and it was a problem with all Chrysler Corp. Chrome rims. We had five (5) flat tires with in a two week period and decided to talk to the Chrysler dealer regarding the problem. We were told that they could do nothing about this safety problem because the auto was out of warranty. We then contacted Chrysler customer service phone number and were told they would not stand behind there product because it was out of warranty. We then sent a letter to Chrysler Corp. And have not had any response. Again we were told that there are many Chrysler vehicles on the road with rims that will cause a flat tire at any time and no one at Chrysler seems to want to correct this safety issue.

- Traverse City, MI, USA

problem #4

Feb 172006

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 60,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 45 mph on normal road conditions, the vehicle had difficulties with the steering. Upon inspection, the tires appeared flat. This became present after the renewal of all four tires at a tire shop. The vehicle was taken to the dealership who balanced the tires and performed an alignment. The problem reoccurred and the dealership did not assume any responsibility about the defect. The vehicle remained inoperable. The manufacturer was contacted who declared the problem occurred on vehicle's operated in snow belt states but provided no solution.

- Gloversville, NY, USA

problem #3

Jul 152006

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
2002 limited edition PT CRUISER - wheels defective. The aluminum alloy wheels have completely deteriorated (peeling and flaking) underneath the chrome plating (inside and out), causing the wheels to continually leak air and weaken the structural integrity of the wheel, making the vehicles unsafe. The bead lip deteriorated to the point of breaking the rim. To fix the problem, the wheels had to be replaced. This vehicle has less than 39,000 miles. This not normal wear and tear. I am reporting this to prevent injuries and crashes.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #2

May 252005

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 25,811 miles
Was losing massive amounts of air from left rear tire. Took it to sears, for tire repair, and was told that the tire was fine, but that the chrome plated wheel was severely corroded at the bead. Then took car to dealer, where the mechanic said that the wheel was beyond repair, and ordered a new one. Replaced a week later. Ok since, however I now have two more wheels doing the same thing. Warranty has expired, not sure what to do. I am afraid that the wheels may fail.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #1

May 122005

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,000 miles
Chrome plated aluminum wheels on 2002 Chrysler pt cruise limited. Chrome peels off and the rim leaks air.. local dealer was well aware of the problem.

- East Greenbush, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?