If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
53,124 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Chrysler PT Cruiser Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #45

Mar 012013

PT Cruiser

  • 58,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since spring 2013, all gauges/lights on instrument panel sporadically flicker off and on, usually no more than 1 minute. This occurs while idling and driving and may occur one month for 2-3 days and not again for a month. Car didn¿¿T drive noticeably different, but lights and chime are alarming. Took picture of car at 40mph and lights on to show mechanic because of course it never happens when they have car. At next oil change, took car to dealer and showed picture. They said it could be a wiring short and checked it. Told there were no codes or info stored in computer and they saw nothing wrong. Don't know if mechanic did reset, but it didn't happen again for 2 weeks. Tried to note anything else going on when it does it. Not sure if one light triggers them all, e.g., when low fuel indicator came on, they all came on. Latest incident in 9/2013, going 60mph on highway and lights did back-to-back flicker, gauges zeroed and car began to decelerate. Could not accelerate but within 10 secs (scary 10 secs!), gauges back and car powered back up to 60. Called dealer again and they want to keep 2-3 days to take another look but I hope they're not just going to take my money without fixing it. My car has otherwise been perfect and not had to be serviced other than replacing suspension. I've been doing internet searches and no one seems to know what¿'s causing this problem and this is a dangerous problem. Please find a solution.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #44

Sep 042013

PT Cruiser

  • 90,000 miles
My windshield wipers stopped working all of a sudden. Took it to the mechanic who said it was my totally integrated power module and would cost around 1000 to replace!!!!!

- East Falmouth, MA, USA

problem #43

Oct 012012

PT Cruiser

  • 52,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler pt crusior. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the vehicle stalled unexpectedly as all the gauges failed to operate normally. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing however, the mechanic was unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 52,000. The current mileage was 55,474.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #42

May 202013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 51,575 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Dashboard lit up, engine stopped, vehicle slowed allowing me to make a right turn out of traffic. Was able to restart engine. Car history prior to incident on the road. No mechanical incidents, however engine cranking problems. Battery previously replaced and starter replaced on 05/28/2013 by mcx auto service center, mcas miramar, san diego, ca., 92145, phone number (858) 536-1684. Since, first stalled incident, engine failure of the same has happened 3 more times, all in light street traffic with no injuries. Vehicle restarted after each incident. Latest incident August 01, 2013 at 4:30 pm. Internet research has provided me with information and a video of symptoms pertaining to the ignition actuator switch and pin. This video shows exact symptoms of my car and also how to replace switch. Please advise on recall information replacement or a potential safety problem being evaluated for recall. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #41

Jul 202009

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Please recall, the windshield wiper it's constantly having problem. Took to the deal and reset computer modular and it works fine. Six months later, it did it again and this time extended warranty ran out because it's a used car so I get 3 months or 3000 miles whatever comes first. So, the dealer charge me $100 for the same service. A few more months it did again. Bottom line PT CRUISER windshield wipers have serious problem and it will cause an accident someday due faultiness. Also, ac needs a recall because of the so many issue with working properly.

- Clarksville, TN, USA

problem #40

Mar 012013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
The key is stuck in the ignition...I have to unattach the battery cable so the battery will not go dead. I am women who has a disease called cancer..I am truly in some need to have someone to investigate this matter as soon as possible.the dealer wants to charge at least $330 to figure out which I am on a fixed income, still making payments on the car.I feel like this should not be a fault of mine when a key is stuck in the ignition. I need your assistance because the car can not get inspected and I am unable to get to my treatments. Please help me!...your assistance in this matter is highly appreciated.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #39

Sep 032008

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my PT CRUISER in July 2008 a couple months after I bought it I started to experience some dash problems all the dash lights (oil, engine, air bag, seat belt, ABS, etc) started turning on and off and dinging I took it to 2 different mechanics. The first one said it was the airbags censors and I had to have them replaced so I did that and a couple weeks later it happened again so I took it back and they. Couldn't figure it out so the sent me to a different one and they checked it and still couldn't find the problem. I couldn't afford to take it back again and again so I just drove it like it was for almost 2 years and then last year it went away and didn't do it again until today 5/8/2013 and its been doing it every time I drive it I'm worried because I drive my grandkids to and from school and its my only car.

- Roseburg, OR, USA

problem #38

Mar 222013

PT Cruiser

  • 80,000 miles
2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER touring edition. Right front headlight went out, replaced with new bulb, still no light. Mechanic states ticm (total intergrated control module) went bad. Research showed this is a common failure in this vehicle. Repair exceeds $900 and will cause car to fail nys inspection.

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #37

Mar 222013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 112,500 miles
Since November 2012, my 2006 PT CRUISER's dashboard has occasionally gone crazy with all gauges (speed, gas, etc) going crazy and bouncing back and forth, all lights (engine, airbag, brake, etc) lighting up at the same time. At that time, it did not affect the engine. On March 15, 2013, the car died suddenly while pulling out into an intersection after being stopped at a red light. The gauges and lights had previously been going crazy. The car restarted without a problem. I drove the car to the Chrysler dealership where it was purchased immediately. The mechanic could not recreate the issue and did a computer update. After picking the car up from the dealership on March 22, 2013, again the gauges and lights starting going off and the car started to stall and the engine sputtered. I was in stop and go traffic. When stopped, the car would not immediately accelerate and it threatened to quit numerous times. I had to put my warning lights on to avoid being hit by the truck behind me. I immediately drove the car home and took it back to the dealership the following week. After another week, the mechanic was finally able to recreate the problem with the lights and gauges but did not experience the stalling or intermittent lack of acceleration. The car is still at the dealership and he is unable to determine the cause of the problem. He suggests replacing the dashboard cluster but is not sure if this will fix the problem. After reading other customer complaints that replacing the dashboard cluster did not remedy the same problem in other PT CRUISER, I am not confident that this is the solution to the problem. I would appreciate Chrysler responding to this issue that many 2006 PT CRUISER owners are experiencing. The problem seems too prevalent to ignore and having a car die suddenly in the middle of traffic is a dangerous thing.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #36

Jan 082013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 124,678 miles
Driving on expressway all the dashlights suddenly came on and the gauges started bouncing back and forth. All went back to normal for approx 10 mls and then started all over again, this time the engine died, after coming to a stop, turning everything off, it restarted. That was my first incident since then it has happened 3 more times in different driving situations.the mechanic can not reproduce the problem when he has it, and no codes are showing, do not feel very safe in vehicle anymore.

- Commerce , GA, USA

problem #35

Feb 052013

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 52,550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My front windshild wipers stopped working. I took it into the Chrysler Dodge dealership, jackson mi and found the tipm, totally integrated power module was defective and needed to be replaced at cost of $906. I found on the internet this is a common problem on Chrysler. It is at the dealer getting repaired. I feel a recall of this is needed. If you are out driving and the wipers go out you are in big trouble. Just lucky we were in town and not on the expressway.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #34

Dec 012012

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 65,470 miles
My car was just pursed yesterday and I was so excited but now today I am furious car only has 65000 miles on it I will be driving down the road and the car acts if it want to cut of on me all the gauge lights come on the gas light goes from full to empty the temp leave goes from middle to cold all the middle lights brake oil seat belt light blink on and of on and of this isn't right the dealer at albany Lincoln Mercury dint make me away of any problems like this I just got rid of one problem to get it on other problem its not right and when I research it on the computer alot of people that own PT CRUISER have gone thru this problem with no relief I need help my 87 year old grandma bought me this car because I am terminally ill and needed reliable transportation to get to the doctor with no worries not to get scammed please help me thank you

- Albany, GA, USA

problem #33

Oct 282012

PT Cruiser

  • 133,000 miles
I was traveling on I-95 North in the vicinity of fredericksburg, va at approximately 65 mph, and without warning, the engine shut off. The brakes failed to respond; I put the vehicle in neutral. I was traveling in the left lane. I was able to put my hazards on, but because my brakes did not respond, I had to coast approximately a mile before my vehicle actually stopped. This was particularly frightening because I also had my two young children in the vehicle with me. After stopping, I tried to crank the vehicle and got nothing. The radio and lights came on, but the engine wouldn't budge. Quite frankly, I feel fortunate to be alive given that I was traveling at a high rate of speed on a very busy interstate highway. I had it towed a repair shop. At first they weren't getting any diagnostic readings, but eventually they diagnosed it as a failed fuel pump. I had the fuel pump replaced the next day, and although I did not drive very far, the car ran fine. The day after that, I couldn't crank the car. I purchased a new battery from the same people who replaced the fuel pump. Everything was fine until 19 November 2012. I drove my kids to school, drove back home, and went inside for a few minutes. When I came back out and tried to crank my car, it died after about 10 seconds. I tried two more times and the same thing happened. On my last attempt I heard a whirring sound but the engine would not turnover. I tried to jump the battery, and they didn't work either. I spent 20 minutes trying to crank it. My wife tried later in the afternoon with the same poor results.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #32

Jan 012012

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
My wife and I obtained a 2006 PT CRUISER from her father in 2008 with 12,980 miles on the odometer. In 4 years we've added about 12,000 miles. Starting last winter, both while being driven at city speeds (30-45 mph) and while idling, this 2006 PT CRUISER has periodically had a problem with the lights and gauges on the instrument panel. The needles all simultaneously switch back and forth rapidly, then go to the off position. The panel lights turn off at the same time, then after a few seconds to a few minutes, the panel returns to normal. Prior to last Friday, 10/12/2012, these incidents had not presented a danger or interfered with driving. However, on Friday, my wife was driving the car in heavy traffic, and this time the panel went haywire as described before, but the car suddenly lost all engine power. The car would not respond to her pressing the accelerator, and she was forced to coast to a slow roll in the 40 mph traffic! then, the engine reengaged suddenly and the car surged forward when she wasn't expecting it. She refuses to drive it again. Our local Chrysler service tech seemed to be completely unfamiliar with this problem when I described it to him, and a call to Chrysler Corp llc proved useless. A cursory investigation online turns up dozens of this exact complaint over the past 5 or 6 years, and virtually all of them indicate a number of attempted solutions, including replacing the battery, the vacuum hoses, the wiring harness, the fuses, or the instrument cluster, and none of these apparently eliminate the problem. Is this as common a complaint as it appears to be" if so, how can it be resolved"

- Ypsilanti, MI, USA

problem #31

May 012010

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated that while traveling 35 mph the lights in the instrument panel illuminated, the gauges dropped as if the vehicle shut down, then the vehicle stalled. The contact was able to press the accelerator pedal and the vehicle began to function normally. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where the failure could not be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 70,497...updated 11/14/12 the consumer stated the failure began occurring more often since the first incident. Mechanics have attempted to repair the vehicle but, have been unsuccessful. The consumer found multiple reports of identical incidents on an internet search engine. Updated 11/15/2012

- Burlington, WI, USA

problem #30

May 122012

PT Cruiser

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. After starting the vehicle, the contact noticed that all of the interior electrical components failed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be determined. The current and failure mileages were 45,000.

- Millburn, NJ, USA

problem #29

Sep 242011

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 71,000 miles
Driving on interstate my dash lights/gauges went crazy (on/off, on/off). Finally went back to normal. Then in Dec. I went out to start it & nothing, tried to jump it & nothing...end up buying new battery & it started right up. This month (May 10 2012) was driving to an appt. & dash lights all came on & then engine quit, pulled off road, turned key to off & back on (car started right up), no more trouble that day. May 13 2012 driving & dash lights would all come on & then go off several times, the engine didn't stop this time. What if I am on interstate again & it does this, injuring someone. I'm not happy with Chrysler, there is no recall. Mileage is 71, 200. Apparently problem seems to be in the steering column, you just shake it or turn key off/on it quits. Don't kav the money to fix & mechanic can't get it to this when he has car.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #28

Nov 082011

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
Sometimes dashboard gauges go crazy on and off same with dashboard lights. Engine sometimes turns off, no codes. Dealer has been unable to reproduce the fail, they said nothing is wrong with it.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #27

Mar 162011

PT Cruiser

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the electrical system malfunctioned. The failure caused the exterior lights, interior lights and all other electrical features to fail as well.the vehicle was diagnosed by an independent mechanic stating that the failure was contributed to the steering column. The vehicle was neither diagnosed nor repaired by an authorized dealer. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 112,000.

- Pleasent Hill , MO, USA

problem #26

Feb 232012

PT Cruiser

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Chrysler PT CRUISER. The contact stated that when braking to a stop with the air conditioning unit activated, the vehicle would start to idle roughly. When shifting into reverse, the air conditioning unit would shut off. The contact also stated that the vehicle would sporadically refuse to start. The vehicle was not diagnosed but the starter was replaced. The vehicle was in need of additional repairs unknown to the contact. The failure mileage was 90,000 and the current mileage was 100,000.

- Melbourne , FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?