Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,877 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Chrysler PT Cruiser electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Chrysler PT Cruiser:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Chrysler PT Cruiser Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #6

Jan 212011

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • miles


Purchased automobile 12/07/2010...repairs conducted on 1/21/11 (1) replacement drivers (outer) L panel driver seat switch bezel broken *same exists panel continually "breaks" down after sitting on drivers seat (2) power lock system L/R door would not lock/or/unlock * additional electrical problems with "late" automatic locking of automobile doors on 11/14/11 during oil-change (mechanic) discovered (1) broken motor mounts (upper/lower) rf engine (2) shock leaking...mechanic stated in 20 plus yrs of work as a mechanic he has "replaced" many PT CRUISER-broken motor mounts...myself, I documented all above in an email to Chrysler 11/14/2011. Suggesting "lemon" automobile & requested total compensation or (new automobile) replacement free of charge.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 312011

PT Cruiser

  • 35,000 miles
While driving at speed of 40 mph all lights on the console began blinking repeatedly, the tachometer and speedometer began going up and down, car began to rapidly decelerate and then died giving me just enough time to get off the side of the road before causing an accident. Turned off ignition and restarted the ignition car gave no indications of malfunction, drove home and have not drove since. If you google "PT CRUISER console going crazy" you will see multiple other owners are having the same issue. This is not just a simple malfunction this is a danger to not only the owner but to others on the roadway. Chrysler should be checking into the issue, but instead after contacting them and letting them know others are experiencing the same issue, they told me "unfortunately, we are unable to provide technical assistance to diagnose the situation you have outlined in your email...if you have been working with an authorized dealership but the problem is not yet resolved, seeking a second opinion from a different dealer may be a viable option." Which I take to mean take it to a dealership, get charged an outrageous amount for them to see if they know what is wrong, if they still don't know after charging you $600 then take it to another dealership which may know more about our cars than we do.
this is an irresponsible, slipshoddy way to run a company. If we want to have a good reputation for cars then the companies that make them have to stand by them and not try to send their customers off to other dealerships after charging them an arm and a leg and still not knowing how to fix it. They should know their cars better than say a Honda dealership would. I hope other people have posted complaints so that Chrysler will fix this life threatening issue because going from 40 to 0 on a busy road is dangerous!

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #4

Jul 292011

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Purchased a used 2009 PT CRUISER in May 2011, with 37,000 miles. Approximately 2 months and 3,000 miles later the instrument cluster on the dash started to light up like a christmas tree. First the seatbelt light came on, then the whole cluster lit up and then the seatbelt light came on and went off. The speedometer and tachometer also dropped. I thought this might be an alternator problem, but it checked out ok and I did not have the problem again for a few more months. This time it flashed on and off approximately 3 times. Today, 10/29/11, at 49,000 it happened approximately 10 times. I did not lose power or acceleration, but at one point I did feel a hiccup in the acceleration. I have heard that several people have stalled out in traffic and that the dealerships cannot explain this. I looks like there is a problem and Chrysler needs to address it.

- Coram, NY, USA

problem #3

Dec 102010

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 40,400 miles


2009 PT CRUISER purchased 10/2010 from rental fleet. Had 40,000 miles then, has 45,000 now. While driving (mph not relevant), the instrument panel warning lights come on and go off within seconds. Sometimes it's just the driver seat belt light, sometimes it's the entire cluster. The gauge needles fall to zero then go back to current reading. Failure occurred sporadically since 10/2010, but issue never impaired the performance until 08/09/2011 when the vehicle shut down. Got it to curb (without getting hit from behind), turned off key, waited a few seconds, restarted, and has not occurred since. Took it to mechanic 08/13/2011; could not duplicate failure. Called Chrysler dealership, described issue; they want to put on computer which my mechanic just did. No repairs made. From what I've been reading online of similar electrical problems, I'm fearful Chrysler dealership service departments cannot resolve.

- Daytona Beach Shores, FL, USA

problem #2

Feb 102011

PT Cruiser

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Chrysler PT CRUISER. While driving approximately 40 mph the instrument panel warning lights illuminated, began to flash and the reading on the gauges began to fluctuate. The contact stated the failure would occur erratically. The vehicle also stalled three times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice where the technicians were unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 25,000.

- Red Bank, NJ, USA

problem #1

Oct 132010

PT Cruiser 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
2009 PT CRUISER has a electrical problem that no one has been able to slove.while driving car all dashlights flashes off and on gauges dance up and down car looses power and shuts down while driving. Almost involved in many accidents due to this problem.

- Bellingham, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?