Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.

1.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
109,952 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chrysler Pacifica engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 4 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #58

May 302014

Pacifica

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated while stopped, the vehicle suddendly accelerated independently to 65 mph. The vehicle failed to stop although the brakes were engaged. The contact mentioned that in order to stop the vehicle, the transmission had to be shifted into park. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed the engine mount was disconnected. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Sterling Heights , MI, USA

problem #57

Jun 092014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
The engine cradle has rusted out and the engine is ready to fall out of the car. Cannot pass safety inspection. No assistance from Chrysler on this after many calls. It seems to be a very, very popular issue. They said they will only fix something that has a recall. So basically they will not stand behind their products unless they are forced to. What a shame!

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #56

May 122014

Pacifica

  • 76,137 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that he was informed during routine maintenance that the front engine cradle was cracked. The contact referenced service bulletin NHTSA id number: 10045080, however when the vehicle was taken to the dealer the dealer advised that it only applied to vehicles manufactured from February to March 2004. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 76,137.

- Mount Carmel, PA, USA

problem #55

May 122014

Pacifica

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that after parking the vehicle, flames were coming from under the front end of the vehicle. Approximately two minutes later the front end of the vehicle exploded. The vehicle was destroyed. The fire department was notified and extinguished the flames. There were no injuries. The manufacturer was not notified of the defect. The failure mileage was 89,000.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #54

May 022014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 154,500 miles
I went to get an oil change and was told by the mechanic that the frame that holds the engine was rusted out and he took pictures and showed me. He said the engine could fall out at NY given time. I took pictures and it looks like an old car from the under carriage. The rust is horrible and I was not aware until now. I'm scared to drive it. And I will have it towed to a collision shop to see how much it will cost to fix it.

- Roseville, MI, USA

problem #53

Apr 162014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 850 miles
Engine stalls when turning hard left turn. This newly installed engine in my 2004 Chrysler Pacifica, was previous 2 weeks, when incident happened. The old engine went out, 9 days after I purchased the vehicle, with about 160,000 miles on it.

- Blackduck, MN, USA

problem #52

Apr 152014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have suspicion that my 2004 Chrysler Pacifica's motor mounts are below expected standards. I monitor my vehicles for complaints and recalls to insure that if I have to have work done on my cars it is for expected wear and tear of any vehicle. It is through this monitoring that I have noticed that I am not the only person to experience what sounds like substandard motor mounts. This has been my 1st vehicle of any kind to require replacement motor mounts.my 2005 Pacifica with 200K miles has had to have both motor mounts replaced. It seems that before they were replace they were no longer functioning and the motor was being held in place by 3 other minor mounts. Apparently, the backorder is so bad that it could not be guaranteed within 2 months. I had to order them through a 3rd party in order to replace before any major damage was caused. This raises red flags: Are these faulty mounts" do they no longer make these mounts for other vehicles? if so, is it due to substandard design? why has there not been an investigation? this is not right. What can I do" read more: www.faqs.org/car/Chrysler-Pacifica-2005/structure/#ixzz2yzeis2hs

- Frankfort, IL, USA

problem #51

Apr 062014

Pacifica

  • 127,000 miles
TL - the contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact mentioned that the engine cradle was completely corroded. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 127,000.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #50

Mar 282014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 112,281 miles
I am almost verbatim submitting an identical complaint that you received a day after I was shown the exact same problem, after taking my Chrysler Pacifica in for a routine oil change. This is exactly what I was told too on March 28, 2014. I was told I have a subframe/engine cradle that is severely cracked and corroded on the passenger side of the vehicle and showing wear on the driver side. I was not informed of this serious safety issue with my vehicle. I have submitted an email to Chrysler and am waiting their response but understand that customers are most often told there is nothing they can do to assist with the nearly $3000 cost of replacement, because the vehicle was not made in the narrow window of production that they claim was affected and subject to recall. And may I echo the entire last complaint that was submitted that I just read because it's exactly how I feel too. I have read that Chrysler also selectively decides who to help with the cost of repairs, regardless of their recall window and warranty, after the customer makes enough noise. If it is not their fault, why are they doing that" the nbc report also indicates that NHTSA sees no pattern with the numerous claims you have received outside of the supposed recall window, like this one, how many people have to be put at grave risk before you see a pattern" you might see a pattern if more people knew they are driving unsafe Pacificas, so that they could report it. Please reconsider your recall decision, as Chrysler's liability is certainly more than a couple months of production. "

- Perrysburg, OH, USA

problem #49

Mar 292014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 80,216 miles
On March 29, 2014, my 2004 Chrysler Pacifica, purchased in August 2003, was inspected and diagnosed, by the dealership where it was purchased, to have a subframe/engine cradle that is "rotting" or in other words, severely cracked and corroded. I was not informed of this serious safety issue with my vehicle by Chrysler. I was informed by a recent investigative story on the local Chicago nbc station, followed by internet research of the issue. I called the customer service number given to me for Chrysler and was told that there is nothing they can do to assist with the $2600 cost of replacement, because the vehicle was not made in the narrow window of production that they claim was affected and subject to recall. Chrysler told me the warranty they offered, related to the recall, was expired for my vehicle anyway. I never received any notification of the problem or that warranty, because they were keeping this problem a secret to most of their affected customers. I have read that Chrysler also apparently selectively decides who to help with the cost of repairs, regardless of their recall window and warranty, after the customer makes enough noise. If it is not their fault, why are they doing that" isn't this the same type of behavior that Toyota and Chevrolet have exhibited? the nbc report also indicates that NHTSA sees no pattern with the numerous claims you have received outside of the supposed recall window, like this one, how many people have to be put at grave risk before you see a pattern" you might see a pattern if more people knew they are driving unsafe Pacificas, so that they could report it. Sorry if I am being a bit pointed here, but the I don't understand how Chrysler and NHTSA can ignore this issue. Please reconsider your recall decision, as Chrysler's liability is certainly more than a couple months of production.

- St. Charles, IL, USA

problem #48

Mar 032014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 48,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Discovered engine support has a rust through hole approx. 1 3/4 X 3/4. also showing other areas of rust damage. This auto is low mileage & garage kept. Have photos with tape measure if desired.

- St. Clair Shores , MI, USA

problem #47

Mar 032014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
During an inspection my mechanic informed me that the engine cradle is rusted thru. The cradle is so rusted that he is afraid that the engine will fall out of the car. I have always been a Chrysler guy but this is bad!

- New Holland, PA, USA

problem #46

Jan 012009

Pacifica

  • 80,000 miles
I have had this car for six years bought it used. I have had the front motor mounts replaced four different times. If I turn sharp they break. The first two times the warranty covered them. I think this is a recall issue and Chrysler should be liable for repair charges. I just pray no one gets killed before they investigate the seriousness of this just like Toyota.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #45

Jan 302014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 123,532 miles
On Thursday, January 30th, my 2004 Chrysler Pacifica was taken to jack williams tire and auto service center in camp hill, pa because of a drivability vibration and/or shake. The mechanic called and said, you were lucky to get the vehicle here in one piece; the engine cradle is so badly corroded that you are lucky that the engine did not drop out of the vehicle. He would not release the vehicle until the engine cradle was replaced because of this severe safety issue. On Saturday, February 1, 2014, I did some research only to find that this is not news to the Chrysler group llc.... in a letter dated November 9, 2010, Chrysler group llc states this is an issue with some vehicles, especially those driven in areas of high salt usage on roadways. The letter informs owners that the warranty period for the front engine cradle (of Chrysler Pacifica model years 2004 thru 2005) has been extended to 10 years or 150,000 miles whichever occurs first. I did email Chrysler group llc customer assistance about my situation and my request for reimbursement and the response I received was: The vehicle has exceeded the time and/or mileage limitations of the warranty. Since my vehicle is 2004 and under 150,000 miles I sent a letter to them asking them to please review their decision and in a letter dated 2/21/2014 I received a letter with one sentence stating "after thoroughly reviewing your request and our files on this matter, we respectfully concur with our previous decision." This is an extreme safety issue. The mechanic said that our engine could have dropped out while we were driving and I have 3 children - - I would hate to even think about what would or could have happened if that would have happened!

- Newport, PA, USA

problem #44

Feb 222014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
I have a major corrosion problem on the right side of the engine cradle. I complained of a noise coming from that side and asked my mechanic to take a look as he was fixing a tire. What he found was startling to say the least. I'm in fear of my life and possibly others, if this engine were to break through the rest of the corrosion. He warned me not to drive it and to get another car. I called Chrysler today February 24th to find out what my options were and was told I'm out of warranty and to go to the local Chrysler dealer for assistance.tomorrow I will go there and find out what could be done. The feeling I'm getting is the cost will be in the thousands. Money I don't have. I search the web for information and found that many others have the same problem yet Chrysler won't issue a recall. Some owners were informed and some Chrysler shared the expense. If Chrysler wanted to protect the public I would think Chrysler should issue a recall. People's lives are at risk.

- Laurence Harbor, NJ, USA

problem #43

Mar 012012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
We had our 2004 Chrysler Pacifica looked over by a mechanic around March of 2012 because our teenage daughter got her drivers permit. We wanted to make sure that the car was safe for her to drive. He looked over the car and told us that we should start thinking about replacing the engine cradle. He said that engine cradles in the Chrysler Pacifica were known for corrosion. We continued to due our normal maintenance on the car and as of today we are not able to drive the car until we get the engine cradle fixed. The car is not safe to drive and it only has 107,000 miles. This is very expensive to fix. I did research online and discovered that Chrysler group llc Pacifica's front engine cradles warranty has been extended to 10 years or 150,000 miles, whichever occurs first in 2004 - 2005 model years. I called Chrysler customer service and read them off my VIN # and they said it was not covered. I asked why and was told recalls are based off of VIN # not what was printed in the letter. I asked to speak to a supervisor and they would not give connect me to one but would have one call me back. I called back and filed a complaint with Chrysler customer service on 2/19/14. We work very hard for our money and to have Chrysler not cover our car is upsetting. This is a safety issue and I it is being ignored.

- Aurora, OH, USA

problem #42

Feb 182014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler pacific. The contact stated that the engine cradle was corroded and the engine had become partially detached from the engine cradle. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who diagnosed that the engine cradle was severe corroded and would need replacing. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 105,000. Updated 3/14/14

- Lowell, IN, USA

problem #41

Feb 132014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
My Chrysler Pacifica"S engine cradle has extensively corroded with rust and has become a danger to drive.this was a national problem reported on Chicago television nbc channel 5. Chrysler claims that they are investigating..I would appreciate if someone from your organization can look at this cradle and the danger my family has been put in. Chrysler also claims that my car was built prior to the problem metal on 2004/2005. Need for someone to inspect thank you

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #40

Jan 222014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 146,000 miles
I took my car to a mechanic for an oil change and I was shocked by what I've seen. The engine cradle is rusted out and it also has cracks on it. It is a real life-threatening situation where the structure can fall out at any moment. I could imagine myself driving on the highway and be involved in a car accident because this car manufacturer builds cars like this. I'm shocked. I have a son that we drive in this car and now I prefer to have it parked than put my son's life in danger. I've never seen such corrosion and it is definitely a problem Chrysler needs to address to all cars. It seems a lot of people are having the same issue even in Florida so don't tell me that it's a normal situation due to salt on the road.

- Sayreville, NJ, USA

problem #39

Dec 022013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
Engine cradle is rotted.

- Orland Park, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?