Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.

1.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
109,952 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chrysler Pacifica engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #38

Dec 102013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Chrysler service bulletin: 13-001-10 service bulletin no.: wb-D-10-34 NHTSA id number: 10045080 motor cradle has rusted out structurally unsafe, will not pass inspection may cause a severe dangerous accident. Chrysler has extended the warranty on 2004 Chrysler Pacificas that were produced February 2004 - March 2004. My car was manufactured in May 2004. I have the same symptoms the cars produced only 30 days prior! my repair needs to be covered.

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #37

Jan 102014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 131,495 miles
Bought this vehicle used, 11 months ago and have had it serviced regularly. Recently it started hesitating and shutting off at random, usually at lower speeds, but recently at higher speeds too, mechanic could find nothing. Had to have it towed to local garage after extreme cold snap because it wouldn't start. It had been flooded. Had oil changed and plugs changed, and mechanic found the engine cradle corrosion, as many other have reported. Just a matter of time before it is unsafe to drive, and the hesitating continues. I have contacted Chrysler 3 times on this, and they continue to tell me that my car is way over the mileage and not within the extended warranty time frame. It is obviously a design flaw, and the parts made with inferior materials. Please issue a recall to include all Pacificas and make Chrysler take responsibility for this.

- Neillsville, WI, USA

problem #36

Apr 282013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 98,110 miles
On January 28, 2013 I had my vehicle checked for warranty repairs. At that time I was advised that the front and rear engine mounts were bad along with struts. Also at that time I was called back to the service area by mechanic. He proceeded to show me that the engine cradle was rusting out and showed me various places where it had in fact rusted through. I was told that this is a major safety concern. I was given a quote of $1612.05 to repair this. Due to limited finances I have only been able to have the warranty work repaired. At the time I believed this to be an isolated incident. I have researched several other problems with this vehicle and have realized that this is not an isolated incident. I contacted Chrysler about an extended warranty for this problem and was informed that the warranty only covered those built between February and March of 2004. My vehicle has a build date of January 22, 2004. I believe this should be looked into more closely at all those built in 2004.

- Terre Haute, IN, USA

problem #35

Jul 012013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car will start ok most of the time. Seems like when I drive across town and shut it off though, it will not start back up. Only clicks at the relay. I've had this car towed 3 times for leaving me stranded. I have found sometimes if I wait 30 minutes and try again it will sometimes start. This car has been a nightmare. I do not recommend a Pacifica to anyone, and I will never drive another Chrysler or again.

- Hurlburt Field, FL, USA

problem #34

Nov 192013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 143,000 miles
2004 Chrysler Pacifica engine cradle rusted out unsafe to drive.

- Highland, MI, USA

problem #33

Oct 092013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 108,310 miles
My garage told me that the engine cradle or sub frame has a substantial hole from rusting out.

- Ossipee, NH, USA

problem #32

Sep 192013

Pacifica

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have almost been in four accidents in the past week and a half due to my 2004 Chrysler Pacifica stalling in the middle of intersections and roads without warning. As I accelerate the car starts to hesitate, sputter and then just dies out. The last time it did this in the middle of a busy road with cars going by at 50mph, I had two good samaritans and two police officers that were nearby help me to safety where I had to have the vehicle towed back to my home where it sits today. The first time it happened the check engine light came on, it said bad crankshaft sensor, so I replaced it. The second time it happened it said bad camshaft, so I replaced it. The third time it happened it said bad camshaft sensor again, so I replaced thinking I bought a defective one. This did not work either as the car ended up stalling for good two days ago. I know there have been recalls in the past for this exact stalling condition of the engine, but Chrysler says my car did not show up as one of the recalled ones. I find this very concerning that this dangerous condition would not be covered by Chrysler when they know it has been an issue on thousands of other similar Pacificas.

- Broomfield, CO, USA

problem #31

Sep 182012

Pacifica

  • miles
My 2004 Chrysler pacifia has had many issues but the one that I am most concerned about is the rusted, corrosion of the engine cradle, sub frame. It is so rusted that I was told my engine may fall out. Went to several junk yards to find part and all the ones I looked at have the same thing wrong with them. They are rusted out and cant be used. Something wrong here. Please recall these.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #30

Jul 202012

Pacifica

  • 77,000 miles
After replacing a both motor mounts in July of 2012. They broke again in November 2012!! this time it was so bad that when I turned the corner the engine died and would not start back up. Eventually after trying to turn it over so many time the battery died. We had to have it towed to the shop after the holidays to find out how much it would cost to fix ($1200) and exactly what the issue was. The tech informed me that besides the mounts being broke, when I turned the corner the engine lifted and cut thru all of the wires leading to the failure of the car's power control module. This resulted in a loss of speedometer, other electrical functions, and the loss of three ignition coils. I just want to know why they keep making "rubber" engine mounts if the damn things are useless in the first place? there has to be a reason all these cars are having the same issue and if I had known about this before I financed this "pos", I would never have put my childrens lives in danger.!! I had the car fixed and everything was going fine until last night, once again! I was driving on the highway and some stupid person slammed on her brakes in front of me so I hit mine and when I did my car lunged forward and I heard the god awful "pop" sound again!!! now I am back to square one and within a years time this car will have had 3 sets of motor mounts put on it. Someone please tell me there is not a defect somewhere, because whoever handles these issues at daimler/Chrysler needs to drive one of these cars for themselves and see what we have been dealing with for so long. Also, another issue is the check engine light and it has to do with a very small leak inside the gas tank. I have been told this is a recall, but have not been able to get anyone to fix it. I just want some answers, more so for my kids sake so I can try and get it fixed completely or a new car so they are out of harms way.

- Fenton, MO, USA

problem #29

Sep 092013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while parked, the engine cradle became detached from the vehicle due to corrosion. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that there was a manufacturer's recall but the contact's VIN was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- New Richmond, OH, USA

problem #28

Aug 022013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 130,111 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2004 Pacifica has a clicking noise and had it checked out and it is the cradle assembly& rear engine mount is bad. It is rusted and cracked. Also has alot of suspension issues. Engine getting ready to fall out.

- Waterloo, IA, USA

problem #27

Jul 202013

Pacifica

  • 107,748 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that upon inspection, it was found that the engine cradle was rusted and prevented the vehicle from being aligned properly. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 107,748.

- Milwauke, WI, USA

problem #26

Jul 042006

Pacifica

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated while decreasing speed there was a loud banging sound in the vehicle and the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic who stated the motor mounts needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. The current mileage was 125,000. The VIN was not available.

- Normal , IL, USA

problem #25

Jul 012013

Pacifica

  • 129,000 miles
Four months after replacing a rear motor mount. It failed again. This time it cause the other two motor mounts to fail which melted wires leading to the failure of the car's power control module. This resulted in a loss of speedometer, other electrical functions, and the loss of three ignition coils. It was brought to a dealer who fixed the PCM, and later discovered that all motor mounts need replacing. He had no explanation why a motor mount would have failed four months after they were inspected to be safe, and when one was brand new. The cost requested by the dealer for repair totals more than $2,500.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #24

Jun 272013

Pacifica

  • 122,815 miles
Chrysler is very well aware the front engine cradle in the 2004-2005 Pacifica's are bad and are unwilling to fix mine. They are stating it is only vehicle's made after 2/23/2004 and between 3/31/2004 and mine was made 10/9/2003. There are many complaints for this specific issue. My front engine cradle is rusting and I feel that because it is at the fault of Chrysler they should fix this problem. I am also placing a call with the attorney general. This is a safety issue that Chrysler needs to fix for all those individuals that have these vehicles.

- Ionia, MI, USA

problem #23

Jun 242013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, smoke emerged from the hood and the vehicle engine caught on fire. The contact was able to exit the vehicle without injury. The fire was called to extinguish the fire and a police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Silver Ridge Township , ME, USA

problem #22

Jun 162013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that while having the vehicle service for routine maintenance, the mechanic advised that the front engine cradle was rusted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 114,000.

- Cedar Burgg, WI, USA

problem #21

Apr 212013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles
The vehicle was being driven when suddenly smoke starts coming from the engine compartment pulled over to check under the hood and flames began coming out closed the hood and the vehicle just burned down to the ground called 911 firefighter came and put out the fire it was all so fast its unreal.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #20

Mar 132008

Pacifica

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that whenever he would accelerate, the vehicle would vibrate very hard. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the front engine mount was rusted and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 107,000.

- Lynn, MA, USA

problem #19

Mar 142008

Pacifica

  • 107,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that whenever he accelerated, the vehicle would vibrated very hard. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the front engine mount had rusted and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 107,000.

- Lynn, MA, USA

Read the next 18 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?