Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
33,010 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Chrysler Pacifica transmission problems

transmission problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments

problem #12

Aug 152011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 121,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the vehicle would stall intermittently. The contact pushed the accelerator, but the vehicle would not respond. The contact researched NHTSA campaign id 04V113000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)) recall, but the VIN was not associated with the recall. The dealer diagnosed that the power train control module would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 121,000. Updated 09/07/11..updated 10/04/11 status update. 10/07/11 updated 11/01/11. Updated 2/23/12

- Bomoseen, VT, USA

problem #11

Apr 122011


  • 104,432 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving approximately 35 mph the vehicle stalled. The vehicle rolled to a stop but would not immediately restart. After waiting a few minutes the contact was able to restart the vehicle. The failure recurred moments later and the contact was able to take the vehicle to an independent mechanic where it was repaired. The failure continued. An authorized dealer was notified and the contact was told that the vehicle was not included in the recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 04V113000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)). The failure and current mileages were 104,432. The VIN was unavailable.

- Plainfield, NJ, USA

problem #10

Aug 312010

(reported on)

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Letter from senator graham on behalf of constituent re safety issues pertaining to the Chrysler Pacifica reply to greenville office (dot/I#2010-1232) the consumer stated the engine light illuminated. The technician found a code in the PCM for the transmission sensor out of range. The transmission would chatter when accelerating. The technician found a defective engine support. The battery was replaced due to the vehicle not starting.

- Anderson, SC, USA

problem #9

Jan 082008

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


NHTSA complaint num-04V113000- my vehicle was not apart of this recall, but I need the exact same component. Is there a way I can be added to the recall since the affected unit number is just a potential number.

- Brookhaven, PA, USA

problem #8

May 302007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. On May 30, 2007, the vehicle lost power while driving 25 mph. The contact stated that the same failure occurred the previous day. On both occasions, the vehicle restarted but the most recent loss of power took a little longer. The contact stated that there is safety recall # 04V113000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)) for her vehicle. The engine size was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 80,000.

- Colechester, CT, USA

problem #7

May 062005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. While making a left turn, the vehicle completely shuts off and has to be restarted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times and the failure was unable to be duplicated. There is recall # 04V113000 (power train:automatic transmission:control module (tcm, PCM)) on the vehicle but the contact's VIN is not included. The failure continues to persist. The engine size was unknown. The current mileage is 30,000 and failure mileage was 8,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #6

Feb 152005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles


: the contact stated when the vehicle was started, the engine sputtered and died twice. The vehicle was able to be started, and while driving 30 mph, flames were observed coming from the underside of the engine compartment. The vehicle was stopped, the fire department was called, and the vehicle was taken to a service dealer. The dealer was unable to determine the cause of the fire. The manufacturer was also notified. The following day, the check engine light illuminated constantly. The vehicle was taken back to the service dealer several times, however the dealer was still unable to determine any problems. Since that time, while driving at various speeds, the engine sputtered briefly on several occasions. On one occasion, the vehicle sputtered and stalled completely. The vehicle was able to be restarted immediately and was driven to a different service dealer, who replaced parts of the fuel system and the oxygen sensor. The problems persisted. There was a NHTSA recall #06V432000, which pertains to the automatic transmission control module. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #5

Oct 032006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
: the contact stated while attempting to turn at various speeds, the engine stalled without warning. After stalling, the engine was easily restarted. Upon inspection by a dealer, it was determined the automatic transmission computer software needed to be reprogrammed. After the transmission software was updated, the problem persisted. There was a NHTSA recall, # 04V113000, regarding the automatic transmission. The vehicle was not included in the recall due to the VIN. The manufacturer was notified.

- Summerville, SC, USA

problem #4

Oct 062004

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
I purchased the car from carmax 08/03, with 500 miles on it. At the end of 09/04, with 2200 miles, I began to have problems with the fuel light. I took it in for service for the fuel light on 10/6, 10/11, 12/18, and 12/27/04. Each time service said it was due to a gas cap not being tightend, and or gas was being topped off. They didn't tell me they replaced a C34 fuel line clip on 12/18, and on 12/27 they replaced the egr system. I continued to have the same problems 1/11 and 1/17/05. On 1/17/05 they replaced a detector for general evap system failure/replace nvld pump. 1/25/05, service again for the headlamps not working, they found no problem. I was not told they did a recall on 10/06/04 on the auto transmission powertrain controle module. I found out, via the internet there was a recall on the headlamps, and they could go out anytime. I received another recall in the mail on the seat control module and drivers door handle, so I took the car in for both recalls 03/31/05. I got home that evening, and now I can't get into the car through the driver's side! this whole car is a lemon and should be recalled!

- Pearland, TX, USA

problem #3

Mar 112005

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,682 miles
After having my Pacifica for 1.5 years and experiencing 19 problems (54 days in the shop!); 2-3 of which are recurring (I.e. the engine light coming on), even the service department at my dealership stated that they would stand behind my efforts to get a vehicle replacement! we are completely happy with the dealership's service as they have stood behind this "lemon" better than the manufacturer appears to be able to. After talking with the Chrysler representative, Mr. Craig kishner, I was informed that the "best" Chrysler could do was to refund my extended warranty price. I pushed back and my boyfriend also called to announce our dismay at the manner in which we are being treated after being tremendously patient for 1.5 years to see if this "lemon" could be repaired to a reasonable level of usability. Mr kishner then came back with the answer that Chrysler would only "step up" for the previously laughable answer. We had hoped for a laudable answer. I find it difficult to believe that a manufacturer, with the questionable track record of Chrysler, would want to create more adverse publicity than they already have chalked up over the course of their existence. Nonetheless, we will pursue this through the courts and undoubtedly tell all of our friends and business colleauges of this horrific experience.

- Mt. Pleasant, SC, USA

problem #2

Apr 052004

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Consumer received NHTSA recall 04V113000 concerning the automatic transmission control module. After having the automatic transmission control module software reprogrammed, the vehicle jerked and stalled. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer for inspection but mechanic could not duplicate the problem.

- Fishers, IN, USA

problem #1

Jun 152004

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
Safety recall regarding the power control module on the 2004 Chrysler Pacifica. Vehicle stalled without warning while driving. Vehicle was taken to a service dealership, but they said that there's nothing they can do to duplicate the problem.

- Lake Worth, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?