Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.

4.4

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
25,680 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Oct 012010

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contacts owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the ABS indicator would illuminate on the instrument panel intermittently and the vehicle would hesitate to stop when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic diagnosed that the anti lock brake module caused the failure to occur. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted regarding the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 100,000. The consumer stated the ABS light illuminated and the brakes went down to the floor when applied. The consumer stated the brake must be pumped prior to stopping. The brakes would sometimes catch when applied and lock up. The brake pads and sensors were replaced. The vehicle would stall upon acceleration and there was a slight kick coming from the from the front of the vehicle. The front bumper was loose. Also, there was an electrical issue underneath the ashtray; the plastic showed signs of melting and the leather on the dashboard showed signs of being parched or smoked. The shift gear would sometimes be too hot to touch. Updated 09/07/11

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #22

Nov 202008

Pacifica

  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the ABS light illuminated a few months after the vehicle was purchased in October of 2008. In addition, the brakes were experiencing issues. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they stated that there was nothing wrong. The brakes continued to perform abnormally and produced a whistling sound. The brakes also pulsated and made a grinding noise as if they would lock up. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop and the mechanic stated that the pads were fine; however, the dealer installed cheap brake pads on the vehicle. The ABS light illuminates intermittently and the contact must pump the brake pedal in order to stop the vehicle. The brakes were repaired and the noises stopped; however, the ABS light still illuminates. The failure mileage was 49,000 and current mileage was 73,400.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #21

May 172008

Pacifica

  • 47,000 miles
I began having a problem about 2 months ago with my ABS light coming on. It would come on and turn off randomly. Recently the light came on permanently and my brakes began grinding. We took it to the dealer and were told that the ABS sensor is bad. Not only that, but the motor mounts cracked and must be replaced. My vehicle is only 3 years old, and has 47000 miles on it. After doing some research, I have found that both of these issues are a common problem on this make and model vehicle. The dealer that we purchased it from admitted that this is a problem, but I was not able to find any recall information regarding either problem. I feel that both problems are dangerous, since the brakes did not work properly in my situation. If cracked motor mounts are not taken care of, they could possibly cause additional damage to the engine components. I think that Chrysler should be held responsible for fixing these problems at their cost. I've seen many other people complaining that even after they've "fixed" the problem, they continue to have the same problem. I think both of these items should be considered for recall.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #20

May 152008

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 50,034 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When I apply the brakes suddenly, the car wobbles violently and almost uncontrollably. This has happened at least 3 times since I have had the car. The dealer says there was nothing wrong with the brakes, but did nothing to locate the problem.

- Mcalester, OK, USA

problem #19

Jul 012006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving 15-75 mph, the ABS warning light illuminated. The dealer was unable to diagnose the cause of failure. Approximately two weeks later, the failure recurred. The dealer replaced the rear ABS sensor, however, the failure continued. The dealer inspected the vehicle eight times and replaced the ABS sensors and the wiring harness, but this did not correct the failure. As of October 5, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The failure mileage was 12,000 and current mileage was 24,000.

- Cincinnatti, OH, USA

problem #18

Sep 112007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,400 miles
Driving car the ABS light comes on, first occurrence dealer replace the front ABS sensors under the warranty. Just 400 miles above the 36000 miles the ABS light came on again. This time it was the rear ABS sensors and I had to pay for them myself (out of warranty). There is a technical service bulletin from the manufacturer on this part recommending dealers to replace all 4 sensors for customers. This part is of poor quality and the manufacturer knows it. Lives are put at risks at customers expense. This part should be recall for all vehicles affected.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #17

Aug 292007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,977 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Faulty ABS and traction control sensor on 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. Both lights are on. Called Chrysler, they say they have not heard any complaints! I am the second owner, but the first sensor was replaced at 18,000. This seems to be widespread, and I am surprised Chrysler is not recalling this, especially since this is also a safety issue. I did a quick search for "ABS sensor traction control Chrysler Pacifica" and found quite a few excerpts from websites. I have them in an excel file--I would like to send them to you. Let me know an E-mail address. Updated 09/18/07

- Grafton, WI, USA

problem #16

Aug 282007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving 30 mph, he decelerated and sparks were present on the passenger side brakes. The dealer stated that the brake pad fell off. The brakes and rotors were repaired on the driver and passenger side. The current and failure mileages were 40,000. Updated 01/11/08.

- New Berlin, NY, USA

problem #15

Jan 132007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,715 miles
29294 miles - 04/26/07 - ABS sensor replaced again at russ darrow dealer in milwaukee, wi. Same prob from 01/13/07 did not get replaced in Jan. Problem occurred this time only above freezing temperatures. Once temps above 32, occurred every day. ABS brakes engaged when brakes were applied. Braking becomes unsure. Can't tell if car will stop. Dealer says problem is not common. I disagree. Googled "ABS sensor replacement on Chrysler Pacifica" and found many instances of problem on the internet forums and blogs. 01/27/07 ABS indicator light is on. ABS brakes begin engaging again without reason. Contacted Chrysler service dept and talked to bob in service. Explained this is the 6 or 7th time I have had a problem with the car brakes, either the ABS or the actual brakes. Would like to contact the Chrysler company to find out if this is a known problem. Bought used with 13K miles from a Chrysler dealer in April 2006 and it has been in the shop at least 7 times. Other times were not the brakes related. 26000+ miles 01/13/07 - ABS indicator light comes on again. Intermittent. Does not stay on. ABS brakes engaging when light comes on and brakes are applied. 25593 miles - 12/30/06 - ABS brakes engaging without ice/rain/water or other reason to engage. ABS sensor replaced by dealer service dept. 21715 miles - 08/06/06 - pulsating problem with ABS brakes - ABS sensor replaced by dealer service dept. 06/06 - replaced radio. 17000 miles - 05/06 - resurfaced rotors - squeaking.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #14

Jan 012006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving 65 mph the contact depressed the brake pedal and it started to move up and down. The contact heard the computer make a loud noise, and the ABS warning light illuminated. The dealer stated that the driver's side front hub and the bearings should be replaced. There had not been any other occurrences since the repair. The current mileage was 8,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #13

Feb 012007

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Since 2006, I've had to take my car to the service department because of ABS light turning on and off. At the time this occurs, the brakes also lock up and make noises when pressed. Each time, the service department tells me its a sensor and when replaced, it stops doing it until the next time a "sensor" needs to be replaced. The say there are multiple sensors, and each time it appears to be a different one.

- Odessa, TX, USA

problem #12

Feb 162006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,500 miles
: the contact stated while driving 30 mph on normal road conditions, the front passenger side door opened. The door was locked but the door light that signaled the door was open was illuminated. This was the first incident with the vehicle, which also have had an engine that stalled. The engine failure light alerted the contact for the engine problem. The ABS light also alerted the contact for the brakes failure; the sensors were replaced. The dealership had honored the extended warranty but the contact was very upset because of the six times the vehicle had to be taken to the dealership.

- Huntsville, MO, USA

problem #11

Nov 252006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles
ABS light continues to come on, vehilce has been in four times for repairs to ABS system.

- Okeechobee, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 262006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,500 miles
ABS yellow caution light came on in March 2006. Brakes were grinding and car difficult to stop. Returned car to dealership. Left wheel sensor was faulty and replaced under warranty. November 26, 2006 ABS light on again. Brakes again grinding and car became difficult to stop. Car only has 29,000 miles.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #9

Feb 162006

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Driving car the ABS light comes on, first occurrence Feb. 2006 since then 3 additional times within one month. Recently noticed when ABS comes on braking is awkward and on Sept. 12 when ABS came on felt as if/sounded something was breaking/cracking. Right/left sensors have been replaced but problem keeps occurring.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #8

Jun 112006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,000 miles
I have a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica and the ABS light is on. Has to 2 repair shops and no one can tell me what the problem is. They have tried to pull the codes but no code was available. And the light is still on. One shop replaced the left rear hub assembly because it was not reading. The problem is still there and I am out $200 dollars for the hub assembly. The codes have been cleared several times but the light keeps coming on with no code stored in the computer.

- Niles, MI, USA

problem #7

Jul 232006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,899 miles
Three of four ABS wheel sensors have failed in last 6 months. Thousand of sensors are on backorder from Chrysler.

- Belleville, IL, USA

problem #6

Jul 262006

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
The contact stated turning left into a drive or a private lot that has an incline the vehicle stalls. The vehicle restarts each time. The dealership installed a co-Pilot and determined the fuel pump was losing power. The fuel pump was replaced. The problem continued and the dealership was unable to determine the problem. The left turn signal failed, the ABS light illuminated, which resulted in the replacement of the wheel speed sensor, the left real tail light and battery were replaced. Updated 08/14/06.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #5

Jul 012006

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,475 miles
: the contact stated that while driving 25 mph on dry roads, the brakes failed to engage. During this incident the power steering would not respond to steering input. The vehicle was stopped by driving into a curb. When the vehicle was taken to a service dealer, they were unable to determine the problem.

- Fairview, NC, USA

problem #4

Mar 302006

Pacifica

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,500 miles
2005 Pacifica touring was leased in July 2005. Since then, the upgraded infinity sound system has required repair twice and regularly makes a loud popping sound. The ABS warning light came on signaling a failure in the anti-lock brake system March 2006. I scheduled an appointment for March 30, 2006 to repair the ABS system and on my way to work, I needed to turn left, put my foot on the brake, and the car suddenly sped up instead of slowing down. A few weeks prior, we slowed down to make another left turn and the vehicle stalled and shut off completely. I had leased the Pacifica for 36 months, and last week when the ABS system failed and my car sped up while braking, I took it back to the dealership and demanded that they get me out of that vehicle. I was able to terminate my lease and purchase a Jeep vehicle (the dealership sells Jeep) because after I read dozens of consumer complaints, reviews from NHTSA and Consumer Affairs about the safety issues of this vehicle, I couldn't, in good faith, put myself or my child in that vehicle ever again. Not only would driving the Pacifica put our lives at risk, but that of others. I could not live with myself if I knowingly operated a hazardous vehicle and hurt someone as a result. Push for a replacement. You'll get one!

- Wake Forest, NC, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?