Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
46,023 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

May 272014


  • 92,000 miles


While having my brakes pads and rotors replaced, my mechanic found my engine cradle was badly corroded. There are gaping holes in the frame and he said it's very dangerous to drive. I had seen a report on tv about the 2005 Pacifica having this problem and I called Chrysler. Like many, they told me my car was made in August 2004 and the window of extended warranty on the engine cradle was Feb 23, 2004-March 31, 2004. I highly doubt the problem was corrected. I live in Chicago and we do use salt on our roads, but I take good care of my car. I am very disappointed in Chrysler for not recalling the defective engine cradles! does someone have to die to get these car companies to do something??

- Morton Grove, IL, USA

problem #21

Oct 152012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 92,000 miles
Multiple issues with this car! I will start with the problems that didn't almost kill myself and my children. The ABS light would stay on and the dealer had no resolution. The car would stall while turning. I replaced the battery five times in four years. While idling in the driveway the drivers seat reclined by itself, would not respond to the controls and started smoking! the dealer claims they could not diagnose the problem! lastly, while driving my sons to school, the car was handling poorly and because it was dark and raining, initially I believed that it was wet road conditions. To maintain control of the car, I was traveling in the slow lane and my speed was approx. 30 mph. Upon approaching the top of a small hill, the steering began to vibrate violently, at this time I believed that the car had a flat tire and that was what had caused the poor handling while driving. I immediately hit the button for my hazard lights and began to try to ease into the emergency lane and attempt to stop the car. It was instantly apparent that the car brakes and power steering were not working, which left me struggling at 30 mph and accelerating because of the I was now on the downward side of the hill, to try to maintain control of the car! I was able to keep the car from completely veering to the right and ultimately hit a 5 inch concrete curb that is a turn out for the corner gas station. Upon hitting the curb the car then sprang to the left back into the highway lane. Miraculously, no other vehicles were traveling in that lane at that moment! once, we were out of the car, I learned that the car did not have a flat tire but a part of the front end had broken and caused the passenger front tire to collapse into the wheel well...unbelievable! I believe this to be a defect of the car, in addition to he multitude of other defects of this car!!

- Barnesville, GA, USA

problem #20

Sep 202006

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 10,000 miles
The emergency brake release handle has failed and has been replaced 4 times since the car was purchased in August, 2005. The most current failure event was on or about 9/15/11.the indicated date of first incident is an approximation of when the handle first broke. Since then the handle seems to brake every 12-16 months. When the brake release handle fails the entire emergency brake assembly falls to the floor, thereby rendering the emergency brake/release inoperable. It is apparent that the cause of the failure is a defective design of the handle. On each side of the part there is a small "ear" with a hole in it. The part connects to the dashboard by 2 small pins that slide into the holes. To release the emergency brake the handle is pulled outward thus causing the handle to pivot on the pins which, in turn exerts enough stress on the two "ears" that over time causes them to break, resulting in the brake release assembly separating from the dashboard and falling to the floor.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #19

Aug 232005


  • 18,480 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving at various speeds the ABS light would intermittently illuminate on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnostic. The technician stated the anti lock brake sensor needed to be replaced. After the repair was performed, the failure occurred a second time. The anti lock brake sensor and the master cylinder was replaced. The failure continued after the repairs and the ABS light illuminated intermittently on the instrument panel. The vehicle had not been repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 18,480.

- Lufkin, TX, USA

problem #18

Oct 012010

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,000 miles
The contacts owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. The contact stated that the ABS indicator would illuminate on the instrument panel intermittently and the vehicle would hesitate to stop when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic diagnosed that the anti lock brake module caused the failure to occur. The vehicle was not repaired. The dealer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted regarding the failure. The failure mileage was 55,000 and the current mileage was 100,000. The consumer stated the ABS light illuminated and the brakes went down to the floor when applied. The consumer stated the brake must be pumped prior to stopping. The brakes would sometimes catch when applied and lock up. The brake pads and sensors were replaced. The vehicle would stall upon acceleration and there was a slight kick coming from the from the front of the vehicle. The front bumper was loose. Also, there was an electrical issue underneath the ashtray; the plastic showed signs of melting and the leather on the dashboard showed signs of being parched or smoked. The shift gear would sometimes be too hot to touch. Updated 09/07/11

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #17

Mar 052011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 96,500 miles
Purchased used 2005 Chrysler Pacifica Aug 2010 and ABS light has been coming on intermittently since that time but goes off when the engine is turned off. Brake pads replaced Jan 2011. March 2011 brakes started going all the way to the floor. Have had them checked by two different mechanics and they are unable to diagnose the problem with the ABS light unless the light is on when they are looking it over. My brakes going to the floor happens at least 4 to 5 times a week. I am trying to be very cautious in driving but am still very concerned that I may be involved in an accident with my brakes failing me.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #16

Sep 042010


  • miles


The ABS light keeps coming on in my 2005 Pacifica so I thought something was wrong with the breaks so I got the front brakes repaired and the problem stopped for about 3 days, then it started again so I got the back brakes done and the same results, so finally I took it back to the car lot that I purchased it from and they cleared the code but the next day the same result. The brake pedal would go all the way down and it seem like when I hit the pedal that the vehicle doesn't want to stop. This is an on going problem that needs to be dealt with. I called a Chrysler dealership and they don't have any recall on the brake pedal. Something needs to be done before a life is lost because of a faulty brake pedal.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #15

Mar 162011

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 73,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. While driving at any speed, the vehicle would abnormally veer toward the right. The contact also stated that the brakes would involuntarily engage when driving at any speed. Once the brakes disengaged, the vehicle would surge forward momentarily. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they were unable to diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 73,500. Updated 5/24/11 the vehicle stalled while in reverse, a water pump was installed and the vehicle surged forward

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 012009

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2005 Chrysler Pacifica. Consumer states defective airbag the consumer stated the air bag light illuminated in September 2009. Also, there were problems with the transmission control module, brakes, wheel sensors, a clogged throttle body and for the past 18 months there has been a popping sound coming from the left side of the steering components. The dealership made repairs three times, but the popping sound eventually came back. The drive shaft was replaced three time and the rack and pinion was replaced three times.

- Elizabethtown, KY, USA

problem #13

Oct 042010

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
In the past two years I have had to replace the ABS vehicle sensors on my Pacifica three times... even the dealer service tech says this should be a recall.

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #12

Apr 092008


  • 57,822 miles


I own a 2005 Pacifica that suddenly began displaying the ABS dash trouble light two years ago. Subsequently the brakes pulse and grind as long as the light stays light. At times it feels as though the vehicle is approaching total brake failure. I took the vehicle to the dealer who diagnosed the problem and replaced the front right brake sensor. The vehicle returned to normal operating condition with no brake problems. A month later the same brake issues reappeared. I returned to the dealer who the replaced the same sensor and another (front left) sensor. The vehicle returned to normal operating conditions for approximately three more months. Now the light has come on again. In reviewing the internet while searching for "2005 Pacifica ABS brake problems", I have discovered that Chrysler has designed in a revenue stream for a poorly designed ABS brake system. There are many internet complaints regarding this very issue. Why has a recall not been issued" are you protecting what remains of Chrysler's assets? fair is fair. The ABS light remains lit on my vehicle and the dealer wants to bolt on the same replacements. Why is a safety issue regarding the braking system of a vehicle not high on the priority list"

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #11

Jun 052010


  • 40,000 miles
Problem #1: ABS light comes on. When brake is pushed down, grinding noise starts, and brake does not slow car down properly. Occurs daily, multiple times. Came within inches of crashing into people, property, multiple times. Mechanic says it's wheel speed sensor & expensive to fix. We do not have the money. Problem #2: gas pedal sticks. When changing car from park to drive, gas pedal will not go down. You have to press on gas hard, thus sending the car rapidly forward or backwards, just to get it to go. Happens daily, every time I change it from park to drive. Problem #3: power steering locks up while making a turn. While making a left hand turn at an intersection, power steering locked up and could not turn the car, when I hit brakes to stop, they did not work properly either, almost sending my children & myself over an embankment. This has happened 4 times in last 3 months. Car has been looked at 3 times, with a diagnostic ran on it each time. Response is that car is unsafe to drive, park it and never get behind the wheel again, is what I have heard from all 3 mechanics. Would love to park it & save my family from harm, but it's necessary to have a car where I live, and we have no extra money to buy a new car, so there's no options. Cost to repair is already at over $800.

- Oak Ridge, TN, USA

problem #10

May 302010


  • 48,000 miles
ABS seems to come on but brakes don't hold sometimes. Warning light comes on for brakes. Seems to slide right through an intersection and wont stop vehicle.

- Nokomis, IL, USA

problem #9

Mar 132010


  • 67,163 miles
The ABS system failure almost resulted in a tbone sliding through an intersection, unable to stop in Nov and in March coming down a slight incline and the ABS light came on and could not get stopped resulting in missing a pedestrian by 3 inches and having to hit a snow bank. Then the ABS light kept coming on at various times, hard to get stopped in town when it comes on.

- Cedar Rapids, IA, USA

problem #8

Dec 122009

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I was just leaving out of the gas station, went to put on brakes and ABS light came on at the same time I put on brakes and felt like a grinding against something. Took car to shop put new brakes on, but didn't resolve the problem. Took car back to the shop because the ABS light came back on. Brakes sill having the same problem. I have had this problem checked out 3 times, and they cannot find and problem, but there is something going on with the brake pedal, in it or surrounding it. I have a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica, and I think it might be concerning the Chrysler recall concerning the brake booster rod retaining clip. The brake failure occurs 2 to 3 time month. I thought putting on new brakes would solve the problem, but its coming from somewhere around the brake pedal not the brakes. Had it checked out again nothing was found wrong with brakes. Mechanic said nothing was found loose or missing.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #7

Oct 202009


  • 53,000 miles
The ABS light keeps coming on and the last time the brakes got very spongy. I have been doing some research on this problem and have found that this is very common in this vehicle. To me that should be a safety re-call. The brakes I would think are a very important part if not the most important part of the vehicle. Does someone have to be killed before they are forced to do a re-call?

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #6

Apr 012007


  • 24,000 miles
We own a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica touring edition. About 3 months after we bought it (and the warranty ended), we noticed that the ABS light would come on. Sometimes it would stay on continuously, sometimes it would come off and on. When the light is on, and you press on the brake, the pedal begins to shake a little, and it's very hard to push and you hear a grinding noise. The car does not stop quickly at all, it just slows down a tiny bit. I've had more than 2 instances where I pressed the brake rather firmly and it didn't slow down enough and I didn't stop until I was in the middle of an intersection. I had both of my children with me at the time as well!! we took it to Chrysler where they told us it would cost us roughly $80 an hour for them to figure out what was wrong. We just don't have that kind of money right now. The problem still happens frequently, but there's nothing we can do about it. From the research I have done on this problem, it is a very large problem with the Pacificas. I've seen thousands of complaints online for this exact issue. Please put a recall on it, so that those of us who can't afford $80 an hour can make sure our children are safe on the roads. I'm afraid to even drive my kids to school for fear that the brakes will completely go out. Thank you so much!

- Oak Ridge, TN, USA

problem #5

Jun 222009


  • 53,000 miles
The ABS (anti brake system) light started to come on and stay on I brought the car to the garage for repair the light still comes on I have made some research on the internet concerning that problem and discover that a lot of owner having the same type of car as me (2005 & up Chrysler Pacifica) are having the same problem. Also one time when the ABS light was on and stayed on while I was driving the ABS system cause me to loose brakes for a few seconds when I was trying to brake, this is a serious safety failure and Chrysler should address that.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #4

Jun 222009


  • 57,000 miles
2005 Chrysler Pacifica. ABS failure/ABS light comes on, lose braking ability unless brakes are pumped. This issue was reported to Chrysler a few weeks ago. Wheel sensors replaced. This issue is ongoing. Now back at Chrysler dealership. Related to this is the engine surges and almost rear ended someone in the kfc drive thru same day I brought back to dealer.

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

problem #3

May 232009


  • 40,000 miles
In October 2008 I purchased a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica and I have been having alot braking issues since. The ABS light is constantly going on and off and the brake pedal felt bumpy and non-responsive at times. This is dangerous!!!! I have 8 week old twins. I went on the internet to find alot of people are having the same problems. I have yet to go to the dealer with this but after the holiday weekend I will but the ABS systems in these cars should be recalled before people get hurt or lose their lives.

- Bay Shore, NY, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?