Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Engine cradle rot is a serious problem in the 2004-05 Chrysler Pacifica. Chrysler admits they didn't apply enough coating to the vehicle's sub-frame during assembly, but only offered to cover a very small portion of the vehicles they messed up.

So what happens when your engine cradle rots? Well, the engine could fall out for starters. It could also cause problems with the suspension and other components but did I mention THE ENGINE CAN FALL OUT? The worst part is you might not know because there's no way to see the problem without getting under the car.

If you have a 2004-05 Pacifica, make sure to have your mechanic inspect your sub-frame for rust and corrosion.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,460 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Chrysler Pacifica:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Chrysler Pacifica Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #96

Feb 252014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 113,000 miles


The engine cradle or subframe is entirely rusted through, I have been told by a mechanic that they engine could likely fall through the bottom of the car. The hole in the subframe is large enough to put your hand through on one side and cracking on the other.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #95

Feb 252014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 148,652 miles
While getting routine service the mechanic noticed both sides of the engine cradle were rotted. The car should not be driven till repairs are made. Seems that there are alot of these cars with the same problem as mine. A total recall is needed before someone dies...

- Shenandoah, PA, USA

problem #94

Jan 162014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 149,000 miles
Was informed by service center that the engine cradle was rusting thru. Svc center advised that this is a safety issue and needs to be addressed. Contacted dealer who looked into the issue and said it needs to be replaced due to rust damage. Dealer advised that Chrysler extended the warranty for 04 & 05 Pacifica's for 10 years or 150000 miles. Chrysler sent a letter to affected people on Nov 9, 2010. ( we are not part of the affected cars according to Chrysler) the dealer advised that our car was not part of the affected vehicles. Parts for replacement totaled out at $1329.55 plus tax and labor. Dealer said to contact chyrsler cust svc to see if there is any thing they can do. Contacted customer svc and they advised that the car does not fall in the affected cars and there is nothing they can do. Have sent a letter to Chrysler with no reply on this issue. So no we have a dependable care in very good condition that is not safe to drive and the manufacture is going to deny any replacement or repair.

- Esmond , IL, USA

problem #93

Jan 132014

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles


I took my car into get the power steering fixed and the mechanic told me that the engine cradle was rotting out and I would have a couple months, at best, before it could become very dangerous and even deadly.

- Marshall, MI, USA

problem #92

Jan 012014


  • 128,000 miles
My vehicle's engine cradle and/or subframe is completely corroded and rusted. I have one very large crack in the engine cradle and another forming. The bolts and many other parts are rusted and rotted through. Chrysler is aware of this issue and has been for a long time but, since my car was made 6-8 weeks outside of their extended warranty period, they have refused to help me (while at the same time offering relief to others in my exact situation). During my initial discussion with their customer service, a supervisor told me not to call again and, despite not knowing the full extent of my particular problem, told me that Chrysler would "absolutely" never do anything to help me. Chrysler has also refused to explain to me what was done differently to my engine cradle and subframe compared to vehicles made on March 31, 2004, the day the extended warranty ran through. My wife and I have owned this vehicle since 2006. It's the only car my 4- and 5-year-old daughters have ever known and to learn now, years later, how dangerous the vehicle is in saltbelt states makes me terrified about any other problems with Chrysler vehicles that the company has chosen to keep secret. I am fortunate that we learned of the problem before the engine cradle failed altogether, which clearly could have led to serious injuries and/or death.

- Canton, MA, USA

problem #91

Sep 232013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • miles
We bought our 05 Pacifica a couple months ago used we were aware of the engine cradle being lose we then found out it was corrode out on the right side of the motor and steering rack problem and was wondering if there is a recall on either of these items we see that alot of 05 have the same problem were can I take my car to get it fixed.

- Cadiz, OH, USA

problem #90

Nov 202013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles


Front engine cradle on my 2005 Chrysler Pacifica has rusted to the point that the engine/transmission could fall out while driving. Chrysler says that have no plans to issue a recall for such a condition. I called Chrysler at 1-800-Chrysler and they said it was not covered. The vehicle is in perfect condition and has 109,000 miles on it.

- Shoreview, MN, USA

problem #89

Jul 172013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
During a routine oil change my mechanic notice a dangerous rust through situation in my engine sub frame. Without repair he told me the engine could fall out of the vehicle. Contacting the manufacturer gave no results.

- Arlington Heights, IL, USA

problem #88

Jun 302010


  • 63,000 miles
In June of 2010 my wives 2005 Chrysler Pacifica with about 63000 miles began to make funny noises from the front end it was taken to her uncle who is a mechanic. Upon inspection he noticed that the engine cradle had several large holes rusted through the cradle, one was so large that it was 6" X 3" he stated that this is not normal for a part to rust like this and should take it to the dealer where we bought it so the following day we took to roberts Chrysler and told that this is not a safety issue and they would replace the craddle for $3500 and when I asked about other Pacificas with the same issue is was told that this part is only covered in high salt areas of the us. I live in Connecticut. So I contacted Chrysler and gave them the VIN number and was told that my car was not covered by any warranty. I had then searched online again found many many Pacificas with the same issue and several Pacificas that had there registrations pulled because the state inspections would not allow these Pacificas on the roads because the engines will fall out if this is not a safety issue then what is ? since then the car has had to have the entire front end replaced including ball joint both sides upper and lower all tie rods. In May 2013 my wife called me and told me that she had broken down on the highway doing about 65mph and was stuck in the travel lane and lost the steering and she could not turn the wheel the ct state police arrived and the could see the that she had to really fight to turn the wheel I any direction. We called aaa and was able to get the car off to the shoulder

- Meriden, CT, USA

problem #87

Oct 012012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Subframe under engine is rotted out.

- Dekalb, IL, USA

problem #86

May 202013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 105,000 miles


I had gotten a catalytic converter approximately 2 years ago and now the Chrysler dealer say I need another one I thought they last longer than that, instead they say its wear and tear I do not think so I think there is a defect in the emission.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #85

Aug 012011


  • 65,000 miles
I bought this vehicle in 2011. When I brought to my mechanic for an oil change he told me my subframe (engine cradle) was severely rusted and corroded and that I probably wouldn't make it through the winter...the part cost around $1200. Alone without labor. I tried to save up the money but we just couldn't do it and within the past couple months my mechanic has informed me that my car is not safe to drive until it is fixed. He also advise to check for a recall and to call Chrysler and see what they say to do. They say there was a service bulletin for that matter of the defective part but only for the month of Feb 04-March 04 and mine was made in June 04 and that my car even though it has the same issue is exempt from the replacement part. So I am paying for a car that is not safe to drive because of a defective part that Chrysler refuses to help me with. It is not from normal wear and tear this car only had 62K miles on it when I had purchased it and my first oil change came at 65K miles when the problem was first noticed. After researching the internet I found multiple complaints of the exact same thing. I contacted the attorney general and they tried their best to help but because my car was 7 years old it was out of the warranty technically even though I still have only about 80K miles on it. I was told to make a complaint on here in hopes of possibly joining others to where there may end up having a recall on this part seeing my car is not safe to drive at all.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #84

May 142013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 96,000 miles
Took car in for routine oil change. Chrysler dealer stated that the engine cradle is rusting out and needs to be replace very soon and is dangerous to drive. Chrysler had a recall for a select 2004 year cars for the same reason. Why has the recall not been extended to include a wider range of vins? I notice about 1/2 of the recent complaints are for the exact same problem.

- Buffalo Grove, IL, USA

problem #83

May 012013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 123,236 miles
Engine cradle has rusted through and made the car unsafe to operate for my teenage son. A very expensive replacement is required. Structural integrity should have a much longer lifetime. Chrysler was contacted and declined the opportunity to make things right.

- West Chicago, IL, USA

problem #82

Apr 212013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 132,426 miles
I own a 3005 Chrysler Pacifica that has been taken regularly to the dealer for oil changes repairs and regular maintenance. Today my husband noticed some rusting of the frame that the engine sits in so I went to dealer and had them look at it and they agreed and were surprised that this was happening and it shouldn't. I was told it should be fixed is very unsafe and the cost is very expensive. I called Chrysler and they simply said sorry not a recalled vehicle and there is nothing they can do. They told me to fix it and save the receipt in case there is a future recall. I am very upset by this response. I am concerned about driving my kids as well as myself any where in a car that is unsafe and apparently our safety is not a concern for Chrysler. I will make sure no one I know buys a car from this company especially after finding out that so many other Pacificas have this same problem. It should have been recalled.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #81

Mar 192013

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 124,929 miles
Just had a state inspection and oil change done on my 2005 Pacifica. The technician put my car on a lift and pointed out multiple areas where the engine cradle frame is rusting out. He had never seen anything like this on a vehicle of this age. As it turns out, while investigating this issue on the nhtsb and other web sites, this is a common problem with the Chrysler Pacifica. And is apparently of little concern to Chrysler. They have offered some people help and others have been told "too bad", based on some arbitrary manufacture date range. This is even though the defect is the same no matter the manufacture date. This total disregard for the safety of their consumers is unbelievable and should not be tolerated. While my car has passed this inspection, without correction, it will never pass again. This was not a low cost vehicle and if Chrysler was aware of this safety issue why was I not contacted. Are they waiting for some kind of serious accident with injuries or death to respond properly? I contacted Chrysler on this issue and was told they would not help me. "thank you for contacting the Chrysler customer assistance center. Thank you for your recent contact regarding your vehicle. We fully appreciate your concern, particularly in view of the expense and inconvenience involved, however, we are unable to accommodate your request for out-of-warranty consideration. The vehicle has exceeded the time and/or mileage limitations of the warranty (or warranties) we offered on the vehicle at the time it was purchased. Although we are unable to provide a more favorable reply, we appreciate the opportunity to review your request. Thank you again for taking the time to communicate with us. We're sorry we cannot provide a more favorable reply thanks again for your email."

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #80

Jan 262012


  • 119,598 miles
Car cuts back and cut off while driving and when you slow down and in part not safe to drive took it to the Chrysler dealership 3times shows no codes not light are on at all reported it to BBB and the person that sold it to me and told them about it at Chrysler dealership about it took it to advance auto parts no codes this car is not safe at this point drive at 35 or 45 less cut off or cut back some time when turning on to another road drive it at 60 cut back at 55 cut back park in drive way for it to heat up cuts off no one seen to know what is going on go on the ramp on 95 in richmond va cut off hard to turn wheel when it shut off tonight I went to the store cut off 2 time at the store and I have also reported it to the recall center and also to Chrysler center I got this car in Oct of 2012 have to problem this I have 3 kids that rides in this car and myself and my mom please help me this is very stressful I do not want us to get hurt in this car I also ask S and F to give me another car I left this car at the Chrysler dealership over night it cost me 134 dollar to rent a car this is costing me.

- Highland Springs, VA, USA

problem #79

Apr 232012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica. While traveling 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to a local mechanic where the contact was informed that the ECU needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileages were 42,000. Updated 05/17/12 updated 05/22/12

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #78

Mar 062012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Driving my vehicle in town taking my kids to school and with no warning the car just stopped. Felt like we hit a wall. Luckily me and my children were not hurt except for some seat belt bruising. While looking around online I found there was a recall on the 2005 Pacificas for this same problem. I called Chrysler to tell them I want it fixed and they claim my vehicle is not part of the recall and wouldn't help me. I asked if maybe it should have been a bigger recall than they thought and maybe they made a mistake so could they please look at it and make sure the part that was recalled wasn't the same problem I'm having. They wouldn't assist me in any way. This is unacceptable and unsafe for me and my children.

- Mason, MI, USA

problem #77

Jan 162012

Pacifica 6-cyl

  • 84,300 miles
On Jan 16, 2012 car missfired on an incline several times within 12 miles, then stalled upon turning right. During the return trip, missfired several times in an incline. Stalled backing out of a drive way. Engine light came on. Took the car to mechanic and the light register the cam shaft. Replaced it. During another incident two days later on Jan. 29, 2012. The car again miss fired on an incline then promptly stalled - not on the turn - during the incline. Had to wait several minutes for the car to start again. The miss firing has been occuring for at least two months intermittantly. I got it checked with the engine light came on, but the replacement of the can shaft didn't correct the problem. The first stall occured on Jan 16, 2012. The engine light is back on after the stall today. After researching this issue, it seems that this is not just my car, but many Pacifica's have this problem. I'll be notifying Chrysler dealer tomorrow. I'm am very concerned about this issue. I do not feel safe in this car.

- Canfield, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?